154 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Bracesians' Place, Bracesians' Support Group

kentcp
post Dec 5 2008, 12:53 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(-jEssica- @ Dec 4 2008, 11:17 PM)
well, dat's wat the doctor told me and my mother.
he is charging quite expensive coz he prefers to do cases which is challenging.

i didnt do bracesians b4 so im not sure wif all the process.
dis is wat he told me, so im juz trying to inform here.
who knows it might be useful one day?

my dad forced me to do but i think im over aged to do it (I THINK FOR ME).
i wont be goin bek so soon, probably next mth.
if i remember to ask further, i shall update here again.
JEssica, no worry.. we all are friendly and sharing the info only. oya.. giving support to each other to "over come" the suffer period too tongue.gif

old ? you are not, ok.. if you consider old, i am on "Grand" level lioa.. wink.gif

Back to the braces.. RM6K ++ you can consider clear type braces like Nikki one.. Damon 3 non-clear type like mine is RM5k++ Tranditional type is RM4.5k. Hope you have some idea of market prices..
white_tulip
post Dec 5 2008, 10:39 AM

QUOTE(kentcp @ Dec 4 2008, 11:13 AM)
No la.. it is just my self estimation tongue.gif
but looking at ur teeth condition i bet ur going to debrace urself next yr... dont forget to share the joy ya... mine still a looooong way to go wink.gif

wheelq
post Dec 6 2008, 12:03 PM

hmmm..
for ppl who interested to do braces out there, pls be advised that there are true orthodontist and orthodontically-trained dentist. true orthodontists r fully trained to preform braces etc, usually 4 yrs full time postgrad. while a normal dentist can get 'sufficient training' to do simple braces, usually in few days training. hence, the price's difference.
do ask the Dr where's he/she's trained b4 commencing treatment.
baby_boi
post Dec 7 2008, 04:32 PM

YOO PPL!
phew...its been a while...i see we get new members in there bracerians club!
my next appointment is next thursday..itll be three months!! and im loving the results.

On my 2nd appointment last month,dr changed by upper wire to a damn thick one,no major pain,but the tight feeling is back.
He said my bottoms move real slow,so he slipped thru 5 seperators,that wasnt a pain,but the feeling of having 'food stuck in between ur teeth' the whole time is annoying.But i got over it haha..he wanted to change my bottom wire too,but he sez that that will hurt me like hell cuz theyre not ready.

Ive had these for almost a month now (3 weeks ++) major movements,i notice them especially when i floss,the spaces between each ther get tighter.Especially the uppers and theyre straighter than before now.Dr sez that he wont change my upper wire for another 2/3 months.The bottoms might get the seperators removed and wire changed.He sez that this coming 2 - 3 months will be "honeymoon" month before he puts me back in pain..GULP.

Im happy with them,for 3 months now,theyre like apart of my daily life.The routine i do every single day,haha i just cant wait to see my teeth go straighter and straighter.i notice changes on my facial esthetics.they differ than before..

p/s: my wire is sticking out again.huhuhh

Keep each other updated..and Nikki,how are things with urs!?
martiolativo
post Dec 8 2008, 09:54 AM

QUOTE(kentcp @ Dec 4 2008, 10:25 AM)
Nikki, no worry. Be patient. after a month plus, you will see the different.. no one like the bite stoper.. so do I. To me, feel like can't close property. At night, when side sleep, the saliva will flow out sometime.. blush.gif  Not sure you guys have this issue or not.. pei sei.. Now, the teeth is better, no more this issue smile.gif
hahahha I think I have the same problem with saliva. Does anybody know how to prevent this? Now need to regularly change pillow cases. I always crash at my friend's houses over the weekend and now I need to bring my "personal" pillow along with me. Sometimes it's quite embarrassing to hug a big pillow from the carpark down the street all the way to up to a friend's apt. Then do the opposite way on the next day. Do that almost on every weekend... sweat.gif
kentcp
post Dec 8 2008, 07:11 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(martiolativo @ Dec 8 2008, 09:54 AM)
hahahha I think I have the same problem with saliva. Does anybody know how to prevent this? Now need to regularly change pillow cases. I always crash at my friend's houses over the weekend and now I need to bring my "personal" pillow along with me. Sometimes it's quite embarrassing to hug a big pillow from the carpark down the street all the way to up to a friend's apt. Then do the opposite way on the next day. Do that almost on every weekend...  sweat.gif
opss.. i got buddy tongue.gif The only is sleep with face up to prevent the saliva flow up accidently..wink.gif I know i know.. sometime when sleep, we just forget and turn body to side.. Hai.. what to do.. After few month, the situation will getting better when the teeth is move better position then you will have less "incident" lioa..

Added on December 8, 2008, 7:14 pm
QUOTE(wheelq @ Dec 6 2008, 12:03 PM)
hmmm..
for ppl who interested to do braces out there, pls be advised that there are true orthodontist and orthodontically-trained dentist. true orthodontists r fully trained to preform braces etc, usually 4 yrs full time postgrad. while a normal dentist can get 'sufficient training' to do simple braces, usually in few days training. hence, the price's difference.
do ask the Dr where's he/she's trained b4 commencing treatment.
Referring to the "certification"..I did checked on Dr. How @Bangsar.

Dr How Kim Chuan
BDS (Singapore)
MSc in Orthodotnics (London)
FDS RCS (England)
FDS RCSEd (Edinburgh)
MORTH RCS (England)
MORTH RCSEd (Edinburgh)
Cert Oral Implantology (Frankfurt)
FICOI (USA)
Diplomate ICOI (USA)
AM (Malaya)

This post has been edited by kentcp: Dec 8 2008, 07:14 PM
white_tulip
post Dec 9 2008, 08:36 AM

QUOTE(kentcp @ Dec 8 2008, 07:11 PM)
opss.. i got buddy tongue.gif  The only is sleep with face up to prevent the saliva flow up accidently..wink.gif  I know i know.. sometime when sleep, we just forget and turn body to side.. Hai.. what to do.. After few month, the situation will getting better when the teeth is move better position then you will have less "incident" lioa..

Added on December 8, 2008, 7:14 pm
Referring to the "certification"..I did checked on Dr. How @Bangsar.

Dr How Kim Chuan
BDS (Singapore)
MSc in Orthodotnics (London)
FDS RCS (England)
FDS RCSEd (Edinburgh)
MORTH RCS (England)
MORTH RCSEd (Edinburgh)
Cert Oral Implantology (Frankfurt)
FICOI (USA)
Diplomate ICOI (USA)
AM (Malaya)
ngeeee... kentcp is always efficient... thumbup.gif

NikkiDaTeddy
post Dec 9 2008, 12:30 PM

QUOTE(martiolativo @ Dec 8 2008, 09:54 AM)
hahahha I think I have the same problem with saliva. Does anybody know how to prevent this? Now need to regularly change pillow cases. I always crash at my friend's houses over the weekend and now I need to bring my "personal" pillow along with me. Sometimes it's quite embarrassing to hug a big pillow from the carpark down the street all the way to up to a friend's apt. Then do the opposite way on the next day. Do that almost on every weekend...  sweat.gif
Since i cant close my mouth, i will drool when i sleep also. So i keep a handkerchief beside my pillow. Hehehe....like baby.

Added on December 9, 2008, 12:34 pm
QUOTE(baby_boi @ Dec 7 2008, 04:32 PM)
YOO PPL!
phew...its been a while...i see we get new members in there bracerians club!
my next appointment is next thursday..itll be three months!! and im loving the results.

On my 2nd appointment last month,dr changed by upper wire to a damn thick one,no major pain,but the tight feeling is back.
He said my bottoms move real slow,so he slipped thru 5 seperators,that wasnt a pain,but the feeling of having 'food stuck in between ur teeth' the whole time is annoying.But i got over it haha..he wanted to change my bottom wire too,but he sez that that will hurt me like hell cuz theyre not ready.

Ive had these for almost a month now (3 weeks ++) major movements,i notice them especially when i floss,the spaces between each ther get tighter.Especially the uppers and theyre straighter than before now.Dr sez that he wont change my upper wire for another 2/3 months.The bottoms might get the seperators removed and wire changed.He sez that this coming 2 - 3 months will be "honeymoon" month before he puts me back in pain..GULP.

Im happy with them,for 3 months now,theyre like apart of my daily life.The routine i do every single day,haha i just cant wait to see my teeth go straighter and straighter.i notice changes on my facial esthetics.they differ than before..

p/s: my wire is sticking out again.huhuhh
Keep each other updated..and Nikki,how are things with urs!?
Hey Ronnie,
I had my second adjustment last week. I've posted some pictures also. Check my previous post. smile.gif
I had my lower jaw installed now with bite stopper too. Everything seems alright now.

Am a bit worried for next appt. Cos there will be 4 teeth to be extracted, 2 screws to be installed and doc will do a minor surgery for me also. I think also i stress... icon_question.gif Worst is that, next appt will be 2 days b4 my birthday! cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by NikkiDaTeddy: Dec 9 2008, 12:34 PM
kentcp
post Dec 9 2008, 01:52 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Dec 9 2008, 12:30 PM)
Since i cant close my mouth, i will drool when i sleep also. So i keep a handkerchief beside my pillow. Hehehe....like baby.

Added on December 9, 2008, 12:34 pm
Hey Ronnie,
I had my second adjustment last week. I've posted some pictures also. Check my previous post. smile.gif
I had my lower jaw installed now with bite stopper too. Everything seems alright now.

Am a bit worried for next appt. Cos there will be 4 teeth to be extracted, 2 screws to be installed and doc will do a minor surgery for me also. I think also i stress...  icon_question.gif Worst is that, next appt will be 2 days b4 my birthday!  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Nikki, I tot you told us that you willing take any pain but just want to fasten the process wink.gif No worry, we are giving you a fully mentally support here.. smile.gif
leng_leng
post Dec 9 2008, 03:24 PM

131 posts

I wana do braces too!

Is DR Yeeny Huang frm Lim Dental surgery at Pudu good? how much probably is the cost would be (including all)?
NikkiDaTeddy
post Dec 9 2008, 03:29 PM

QUOTE(kentcp @ Dec 9 2008, 01:52 PM)
Nikki, I tot you told us that you willing take any pain but just want to fasten the process wink.gif  No worry, we are giving you a fully mentally support here.. smile.gif
I know... But birthday is a special day, i dun want to be in pain on my birthday... cry.gif
kentcp
post Dec 9 2008, 09:23 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(leng_leng @ Dec 9 2008, 03:24 PM)
I wana do braces too!

Is DR Yeeny Huang frm Lim Dental surgery at Pudu good? how much probably is the cost would be (including all)?
I just able to answer you on the cost..Just able to give you some idea roughly.. you still need to ask the quote from Dr.

Old Technology, painful, longer treatment period, high chances to extract 4 teeth:

Tranditional bracet - ~RM4500 or less (depend on your condition)

New Technology, less pain, fast treament period, most cases no need to extract teeth:

Self-ligating bracet - ~RM5500
Transparent/clear type Self-ligating bracet - ~RM6500

Please refer to page 1 for some detail of the cost as well..

Added on December 9, 2008, 9:25 pm
QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Dec 9 2008, 03:29 PM)
I know... But birthday is a special day, i dun want to be in pain on my birthday... cry.gif
Tell you what, call the receptionist and schedule it 3 day later.. which is after your birthday.. Just don't delay to long, else will slow down your process..

Added on December 9, 2008, 9:29 pm
QUOTE(white_tulip @ Dec 9 2008, 08:36 AM)
ngeeee... kentcp is always efficient...  thumbup.gif
haha.. i need to check because i am concern too..he is dr for my teeth le..

------------------------------
Positions Held
Director, How’s Orthodontics & Dental Surgery
Former Treasurer of Singapore Dental Health Foundation
Current Board Member of Singapore Dental Health Foundation
Part-Time Lecturer, University of Malaya
Part-Time Lecturer, University Kebangsaan Malaysia
Panel Dentist for International SOS
Visiting Orthodontic Consultant, Lee & Ong Dental Surgeons, Singapore
Visiting Orthodontic Consultant, Pantai Medical Hospital
-------------------------------

This post has been edited by kentcp: Dec 11 2008, 09:18 AM
snowy_sharz
post Dec 10 2008, 10:53 PM

42 posts

Can you all recommend me any good orthodontist in penang island? preferable those that open on saturday due to my packed schedule sad.gif Thanx in advance!

This is one that i found (Prestige Orthodontic) and do you all think it's too expensive (pls refer 'getting my braces->financing' for the price)? and what type of braces should i go for?
http://www.prestigeortho.com.my/index.html

This post has been edited by snowy_sharz: Dec 10 2008, 11:16 PM
TSgreen_apple
post Dec 11 2008, 12:08 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(snowy_sharz @ Dec 10 2008, 10:53 PM)
Can you all recommend me any good orthodontist in penang island? preferable those that open on saturday due to my packed schedule sad.gif Thanx in advance!

This is one that i found (Prestige Orthodontic) and do you all think it's too expensive (pls refer 'getting my braces->financing' for the price)? and what type of braces should i go for?
http://www.prestigeortho.com.my/index.html
wah, the website is very informative. thumbup.gif

The appliance looked very scary though, especially the head gear & herbst appliance. shocking.gif

Anyhow, in my opinion, you can choose either Damon or In-Ovation.

Good luck!! icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by green_apple: Dec 11 2008, 12:10 AM
snowy_sharz
post Dec 11 2008, 06:06 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(green_apple @ Dec 11 2008, 12:08 AM)
wah, the website is very informative.  thumbup.gif 

The appliance looked very scary though, especially the head gear & herbst appliance. shocking.gif

Anyhow, in my opinion, you can choose either Damon or In-Ovation.

Good luck!!  icon_rolleyes.gif
i've heard of damon that it is less painful and a faster treatment but i'm afraid this clinic doesn't offer this type of braces sad.gif (from here: http://www.prestigeortho.com.my/typeofbraces.html )

Are damon and metal the same type?

This post has been edited by snowy_sharz: Dec 11 2008, 06:09 PM
NikkiDaTeddy
post Dec 12 2008, 10:40 AM

QUOTE(snowy_sharz @ Dec 11 2008, 06:06 PM)
i've heard of damon that it is less painful and a faster treatment but i'm afraid this clinic doesn't offer this type of braces sad.gif (from here: http://www.prestigeortho.com.my/typeofbraces.html )

Are damon and metal the same type?
Both Damon 3 and In-Ovation are in 'self-ligating braces' category in the website you mentioned.
Damon and In-ovation are just the brand names. Both Damon and In-Ovation offers METAL brackets and ceramic brackets.
Though they are metal but they are not the same as TRADITIONAL METAL BRACES. (which kentcp had explained many many times in the thread...)
sweat.gif
However according doctor, Damon and In-Ovation are the same system. Both offers same treatment, function and results. Just different brand names and manufactured in different country.

Me myself and Baby Boi are using In-Ovation ceramic system. We went to the same orthodontist. Reason why we chose In-Ovation Ceramic over Damon 3 is because we want it transparent (less obvious). Though Damon also offers ceramic brackets, but for Dr. How's experience he says, Damon 3 ceramic is not as good as In-Ovation ceramic. But if for metal, they are both the same.

Kentcp and a few others here also using Damon 3 system with metal brackets.
My opinion, Take some time to read thru this thread. it helps you to get a better picture before getting braces. I was reading this whole thread also before i decided. icon_rolleyes.gif

Hope these helps... biggrin.gif

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Btw, gosh i think i need to get Dr. How to replace my bite stopper! Because, i think i ground my teeth too hard in my sleep. I crushed the bite stopper. Slowly bit by bit every night. My stopper is now getting smaller. And i think i swallowed the bits. oops.gif

This post has been edited by NikkiDaTeddy: Dec 12 2008, 10:46 AM
white_tulip
post Dec 12 2008, 01:14 PM

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Dec 12 2008, 10:40 AM)
Me myself and Baby Boi are using In-Ovation ceramic system. We went to the same orthodontist. Reason why we chose In-Ovation Ceramic over Damon 3 is because we want it transparent (less obvious). Though Damon also offers ceramic brackets, but for Dr. How's experience he says, Damon 3 ceramic is not as good as In-Ovation ceramic. But if for metal, they are both the same.
Thats true... Dr How told me the same thing... ooo yeah, btw, In-Ovation Ceramic... sis, count me in! rclxm9.gif

Well, im now part of this braces community (2 weeks n 2 days)... i should say, for those who wanted to do braces, do search for braces information thru internet, and ofcourse u can get so many comments, suggestions, ideas n such thru this forum... i read so many information bfore get it done... eventho im still new, but theres lotsa sifu like kentcp here to tell their experiences... notworthy.gif . Do get some idea on how the braces work for ur teeth, cost, procedure, dentist etc... all we can do is to support each other... but the accurate info is always come from the experts... its ur dentist... and finally the choice is urs... so happy hunting!

Btw, gosh i think i need to get Dr. How to replace my bite stopper! Because, i think i ground my teeth too hard in my sleep. I crushed the bite stopper.  Slowly bit by bit every night. My stopper is now getting smaller. And i think i swallowed the bits.  oops.gif
Swallow a bit shudnt be a prob i guess... as long as it doesnt affect ur digestion system... last time i was about to swallow the dental wax put right behind the wire... doh.gif . But seriously after reading lotsa "prob" caused by the bite stopper, im kinda scared to get mine... sooner or later the doc will put that thing inside my mouth... huwaaaa shakehead.gif

Nikki, do update us about ur bite stopper thingy after u get it replaced ya...

Guys... suddenly i miss KFC so much lahhh... cry.gif

This post has been edited by white_tulip: Dec 12 2008, 01:16 PM
NikkiDaTeddy
post Dec 12 2008, 03:12 PM

QUOTE(white_tulip @ Dec 12 2008, 01:14 PM)
Thats true... Dr How told me the same thing... ooo yeah, btw, In-Ovation Ceramic... sis, count me in!  rclxm9.gif

Well, im now part of this braces community (2 weeks n 2 days)... i should say, for those who wanted to do braces, do search for braces information thru internet, and ofcourse u can get so many comments, suggestions, ideas n such thru this forum... i read so many information bfore get it done... eventho im still new, but theres lotsa sifu like kentcp here to tell their experiences...  notworthy.gif  .  Do get some idea on how the braces work for ur teeth, cost, procedure, dentist etc... all we can do is to support each other... but the accurate info is always come from the experts... its ur dentist... and finally the choice is urs... so happy hunting!
Swallow a bit shudnt be a prob i guess... as long as it doesnt affect ur digestion system... last time i was about to swallow the dental wax put right behind the wire...  doh.gif .  But seriously after reading lotsa "prob" caused by the bite stopper, im kinda scared to get mine... sooner or later the doc will put that thing inside my mouth... huwaaaa  shakehead.gif

Nikki, do update us about ur bite stopper thingy after u get it replaced ya...

Guys... suddenly i miss KFC so much lahhh...  cry.gif
Woah.... I had ayam penyet for lunch just now. Bite stopper getting even smaller. Hahaha... I think Dr. How's clinic is closed today. Maybe tomorrow will get it fixed.

Girl, you're on braces for 2week and 2 days? Should be able to eat KFC already. smile.gif I had KFC after one week.
Just dont rip the meat directly with your teeth. You peel the chicken into smaller pieces first, then put in your mouth and chew slowly. As long as there's no pain, should be okay.

Just remember to brush teeth after that... bits and pieces will get stuff in between very easily... Especially when eating rice shakehead.gif
So i always have tooth pick in mirror casing. After meals, i will excuse myself to dig the rice out.... So embarassing blush.gif
white_tulip
post Dec 12 2008, 04:09 PM

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Dec 12 2008, 03:12 PM)
Woah.... I had ayam penyet for lunch just now. Bite stopper getting even smaller. Hahaha... I think Dr. How's clinic is closed today. Maybe tomorrow will get it fixed.

Girl, you're on braces for 2week and 2 days? Should be able to eat KFC already. smile.gif I had KFC after one week.
Just dont rip the meat directly with your teeth. You peel the chicken into smaller pieces first, then put in your mouth and chew slowly. As long as there's no pain, should be okay.

Just remember to brush teeth after that... bits and pieces will get stuff in between very easily... Especially when eating rice  shakehead.gif
So i always have tooth pick in mirror casing. After meals, i will excuse myself to dig the rice out.... So embarassing  blush.gif
Hohoho... Nikki, ur reply cheers me up! rclxm9.gif
U had ayam penyet for lunch huh... must be delicious... ngeee...

Yes, Dr How's Clinic is closed on Friday...

I afraid i might loosen the bracket or broke the wire again... my wire broke after 3 days i had my braces... and then on the 6th day, i tried to eat rice... i chewed slowly and mission accomplished... but later on, i found that one of the bracket loose a bit and had to get it reinforced the next day... since then i kinda reluctant to eat anything hard and i put rice as the par value... anything harder or equivalent to rice, i wont eat... now i just eat porridge, extra soft noodle (i found it is easier to chew noodle compared to rice), tofu soup, cake, fruit juice... huhuhu... now im craving for KFC... i'll give it a try as u said... guys, wish me luck... hahahaha... if succeed, i want to give prosperity burger a try... waaa so ambitious hahaha... drool.gif

Hehe... food can easily stuck between each bracket... I always brush my teeth after meal... bcoz i afraid there will be white spot around each tooth as what i saw on a site due to improper care of teeth while having orthodontic treatment... the white spot will be permanent and i dont want my teeth to end up like that shakehead.gif . Yeah, u r right... it is so embarassing to dig out food in front of ppl... i always excuse myself n go to ladies each time after meal... if i dont get the chance to brush my teeth, i will etlis rinse thoroughly and gargle as much as i can... i dont want other ppl to spot chilli between my bracket... ouch! so embarassing... blush.gif

This post has been edited by white_tulip: Dec 12 2008, 04:10 PM
snowy_sharz
post Dec 12 2008, 04:34 PM

42 posts

Both Damon 3 and In-Ovation are in 'self-ligating braces' category in the website you mentioned.
Damon and In-ovation are just the brand names. Both Damon and In-Ovation offers METAL brackets and ceramic brackets.
Though they are metal but they are not the same as TRADITIONAL METAL BRACES. (which kentcp had explained many many times in the thread...)
sweat.gif
However according doctor, Damon and In-Ovation are the same system. Both offers same treatment, function and results. Just different brand names and manufactured in different country.

Kentcp and a few others here also using Damon 3 system with metal brackets.
My opinion, Take some time to read thru this thread. it helps you to get a better picture before getting braces. I was reading this whole thread also before i decided.  icon_rolleyes.gif

Hope these helps...  biggrin.gif

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Btw, gosh i think i need to get Dr. How to replace my bite stopper! Because, i think i ground my teeth too hard in my sleep. I crushed the bite stopper.  Slowly bit by bit every night. My stopper is now getting smaller. And i think i swallowed the bits.  oops.gif
thanx for the informative infos biggrin.gif in fact, i already read all the pages in this thread, well not all actually coz i skipped some.. lol..

154 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0349sec    0.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:11 AM