485 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

Mazda CX5 Gen 2 Owners Club V2, Kodo: Soul of Motion

tkhengong
post Aug 26 2018, 09:48 AM

QUOTE(faizal3178 @ Aug 25 2018, 11:40 PM)
Congrats bro. I've collected my 2.2D GLS DCB yesterday evening... 😊 And yeah, really enjoying the ride very, very much no regrets!
Congrats, bro!

My first comments on the car are that the i-Stop system is not very smooth. There is a very discernable jerk when you step on the accelerator to move. The lane keep assists worked great. Each time the car touched the white line, the alert comes on and you could feel a very slight pull of the steering as the corrected to keep between the white lines.
ketupatlazat
post Aug 26 2018, 11:28 AM

555 posts

The rotating knobs and the small volume knob is really a godsend. So glad I didn't opt for a Honda
wkevin
post Aug 26 2018, 11:42 AM

hi all, do check out my post if you are a diesel cx5 owner.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4645126

i made a map to show all gas station that provide euro 5 diesel in one viw.
minibeany
post Aug 26 2018, 01:03 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 23 2018, 03:19 AM)
Thanks for the review.. But I'm referring to diesel.. Prior to this, used to pump mostly Petron and later Petronas (cuz cards purchase savings) for my previous car and both fared okay. Petron fared better in terms of performance and fc. Bare in mind, this was with an extra tuned car..so I believe that the engine plays a part too.
Because if you can tahan the 2.0 GLS power delivery, then no point getting the 2.5 as both share the exact same specs.. Just engine different. You get the 2.5 if you can live without the extra specs of diesel and or its engine, but want significantly better power delivery than the 2.0. Another would be that others come with 19" rims and tires that IMO, looks better. Of course, replacing the tires will cost mor later over the 17". Non-issue here.

Went for the 2.2, not for FC..but this helps as previous car had an avg range of 350km.. So getting twice that is already a plus. Got the diesel purely for its power and additional features (which IMO, worth the extra cost..the difference between it and the 2.5 is..what.. RM4k?)..Even the full circle color LCD was important to me. I'm sorry but my mini-OCD won't be able to stand looking at that rectangular screen daily for years. Coming from a rev happy fast car that only struggled on certain hills climb and overtaking. We wanted something close to the power delivery and driving dynamics of the 5 series MS, but in the practical SUV form. The CX-5 is no match but comes damn close. Plus it's Japanese (more reliable than conti on avg) and is recognized as the best diesel engine in the world. So far, there hasn't been a hill climb or overtake where it struggled.. With or without full load. Just last night, even managed to overtake a "struggling" 2.5 that graciously gave way on the right-most lane. You would be surprised how many cars don't think it's a fast car, only to watch me pull away.. Can go toe to toe with an AMG (forgot the exact model) some more..

Lastly, with the diesel, I don't have to deal with the incessant droning and whining of the petrol engine as it tries to power up.. Even at 150km/h, you'll see the needle hover around 2K RPM and you'll barely hear the engine. Step on the pedal some more and it'll still pull with little effort and remain stable. At such points, I become concerned about surprise road bumps than the car itself..  biggrin.gif  As you can see, we wanted power first.. Always.. Doesn't mean others don't have sufficient power for your needs. Just for ours, we wanted effortless power delivery and handling. That was our top criteria for purchasing a new car that trumps the older one. Would have gone German or Swedish, but you know, I know, what people say about conti cars and expensive repairs. sweat.gif
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
faizal3178
post Aug 26 2018, 03:26 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(tkhengong @ Aug 26 2018, 09:48 AM)
Congrats, bro!

My first comments on the car are that the i-Stop system is not very smooth. There is a very discernable jerk when you step on the accelerator to move. The lane keep assists worked great. Each time the car touched the white line, the alert comes on and you could feel a very slight pull of the steering as the corrected to keep between the white lines.
Yeah Bro Agreed!!! That's why am really thinking to visit someone really soon to get my i-stop disabled permenantly... 😅

And yes the lane keep assist works wonders! Btw, i just remembered to release some air out of the tyre this morning and the ride feels so damn good now! The tyre pressure was almost 50 psi initially.... 😂 Been driving with that tyre pressure for almost 200km already... Huhu....
faizal3178
post Aug 26 2018, 03:27 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(ketupatlazat @ Aug 26 2018, 11:28 AM)
The rotating knobs and the small volume knob is really a godsend. So glad I didn't opt for a Honda
Agree on this also! Very smooth and can keep our eyes on the road much better! 😊
faizal3178
post Aug 26 2018, 03:28 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(wkevin @ Aug 26 2018, 11:42 AM)

Great info bro! Really appreciate your effort there! Thanks a bunch!!! 😊👍
Isendir1
post Aug 26 2018, 04:15 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(faizal3178 @ Aug 26 2018, 03:26 PM)
Yeah Bro Agreed!!! That's why am really thinking to visit someone really soon to get my i-stop disabled permenantly... 😅

And yes the lane keep assist works wonders! Btw, i just remembered to release some air out of the tyre this morning and the ride feels so damn good now! The tyre pressure was almost 50 psi initially.... 😂 Been driving with that tyre pressure for almost 200km already... Huhu....
Yes, i got my CX-5 too yesterday. My impression similarly:

1. I-Stop has this jerk when i press on brake during traffic light, air cond -50% power and resume to normal after a while. Not sure the benefit does outweigh the nuisance here?

2. When going down hill, press slightly harder on brake, i do hear the tuk-tuk-tuk sound

3. The back bumper really kinda soft, softer than my previous Vios. So be careful when loading stuff and watch out for the knee.

But the plus points to this car indeed makes it a solid ride: the looks (saw a lot heads turning), the torque, the handling, the feel etc. icon_idea.gif

btw may i ask what is the recommended tyre pressure, back and front?
faizal3178
post Aug 26 2018, 04:35 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(Isendir1 @ Aug 26 2018, 04:15 PM)

1. I-Stop has this jerk when i press on brake during traffic light, air cond -50% power and resume to normal after a while. Not sure the benefit does outweigh the nuisance here?

2. When going down hill, press slightly harder on brake, i do hear the tuk-tuk-tuk sound

3. The back bumper really kinda soft, softer than my previous Vios. So be careful when loading stuff and watch out for the knee.

But the plus points to this car indeed makes it a solid ride: the looks (saw a lot heads turning), the torque, the handling, the feel etc.  icon_idea.gif

Yup, agree with your impressions listed above bro.

For the tyre pressure, because i normally travel 2 person only, it is stated that the ideal pressure for front and rear tyres are 36psi but i put 37psi instead.... 😁
voncrane
post Aug 26 2018, 07:44 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(ketupatlazat @ Aug 26 2018, 11:28 AM)
Kek.. Knobs were the game changer for you over the CRV.. laugh.gif

Nice work .. Thanks.. Duckies, kindly add this into first page.. notworthy.gif

But the plus points to this car indeed makes it a solid ride: the looks (saw a lot heads turning), the torque, the handling, the feel etc.  icon_idea.gif

Majority don't like the istop.. Some can live with it though. If only Mazda gave an option to permanently turn it of within the car's settings.. That'd be great. Else for now, it's natural for me to start the engine, disable istop and side mirrors out.. Muscle memory knows where all buttons are.. smile.gif There's a link to an online store that sells an OBD2 device which claims to be able to auto-switch off istop with every engine start. Will try to dig up the link again and share if found. Haven't used em myself.. but handy for those interested.

Cuz its just 1 - 2 people mostly. So mine's typically set at either 260 or 270... if going long distance and taking more folks onboard, I increase to 280 max. When back, let air out to 260 - 270 again. I've found this range to be the most comfortable using stock Toyo tyres. Though, recently I've been looking ad the tyres front and back and it does look front carries more weight when parked on a flat surface. So will switch next time to 270 for front wheels and 260 for back. or just 270 all around since air leaks naturally over time anyway.. Just concerned about uneven wear. Plan to rotate every 6 months during service.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Aug 26 2018, 07:46 PM
ericme
post Aug 26 2018, 09:50 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(tkhengong @ Aug 26 2018, 09:48 AM)
Congrats, bro!

The lane keep assistance only available on 2.2 and 2.5 ? 2.0 tak ada ker ?
Toshiakiz
post Aug 26 2018, 10:10 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(ericme @ Aug 26 2018, 09:50 PM)
Only 2.2D.
2.0 & 2.5 takde.
nabelon
post Aug 26 2018, 11:46 PM

Walk of Life
1,714 posts

still undecided, tested the tiguan today, very spacious and good torque but service cost pretty high
Not A GTR fanboy
post Aug 27 2018, 12:32 AM

QUOTE(nabelon @ Aug 26 2018, 11:46 PM)
still undecided, tested the tiguan today, very spacious and good torque but service cost pretty high
turbocharged engine + conti car = don expect the maintenance cost is similar to the sushi brands
Well u still got 4 days time left to decide biggrin.gif or else just wait to year end as car dealers will throw out big promo
nabelon
post Aug 27 2018, 12:52 AM

Walk of Life
1,714 posts

QUOTE(Not A GTR fanboy @ Aug 27 2018, 12:32 AM)
turbocharged engine + conti car = don expect the maintenance cost is similar to the sushi brands
Well u still got 4 days time left to decide biggrin.gif  or else just wait to year end as car dealers will throw out big promo
yeah 4 days ! would like to get the cx5 but interior space is tight.
voncrane
post Aug 27 2018, 06:25 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Aug 27 2018, 12:52 AM)
yeah 4 days ! would like to get the cx5 but interior space is tight.
If space is a priority, then for sure have to leave the CX-5 out. The Tiguan drives good too and honestly I don't think it'd be as bad as most of us think it'll be. So it's worth a shot provided it suits your needs. Else, get the tcp CRV and be done with it. Won't be complaining about space with that.. No sir.. biggrin.gif
widget
post Aug 27 2018, 08:24 AM

1,156 posts

I for one doesn't like the i-Stop feature as I use the auto-hold most of the time and by stepping hard on the brake to enable auto-hold will automatically triggered the i-Stop.
The jerking feeling also doesn't help either.
Already becomes a habit for me to switch-off the i-Stop every time I started the engine.

If you want to permanently disable the iStop, can get bro Sidek Salleh to disable it via the MZD.
But should you want to enable it again in the future, you have to get back to him unless you have the know how with the coding and what not.

ze2
post Aug 27 2018, 08:44 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Aug 27 2018, 08:24 AM)
I for one doesn't like the i-Stop feature as I use the auto-hold most of the time and by stepping hard on the brake to enable auto-hold will automatically triggered the i-Stop.
The jerking feeling also doesn't help either.
Already becomes a habit for me to switch-off the i-Stop every time I started the engine.

If you want to permanently disable the iStop, can get bro Sidek Salleh to disable it via the MZD.
But should you want to enable it again in the future, you have to get back to him unless you have the know how with the coding and what not.
Same here.

That day a moron taxi driver just cut right in front of me which he was in the wrong as I was going straight on the main road, as usual I emergency brake and the iStop is activated as I need to turn the steering wheel to avoid that moron from hitting me. Steering wheel is not functioning as engine is stopped.

This iStop system is not good under such situation. mad.gif
TSDuckies
post Aug 27 2018, 09:47 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 26 2018, 07:44 PM)
Nice work .. Thanks.. Duckies, kindly add this into first page..  notworthy.gif
Thanks for the good work wkevin! I've added to the first page.

QUOTE(ericme @ Aug 26 2018, 09:50 PM)
Yea it's only on the diesel variant. Not on the 2.0 and 2.5 variant. Another reason to go for the 2.2 diesel variant.

QUOTE(nabelon @ Aug 26 2018, 11:46 PM)
How about Peugeot 3008? You should look at the interior. It's like a high tech spaceship! If not because of Peugeot's infamous bad services, I would have go for it instead of CX-5.

QUOTE(ze2 @ Aug 27 2018, 08:44 AM)
Same here.

That day a moron taxi driver just cut right in front of me which he was in the wrong as I was going straight on the main road, as usual I emergency brake and the iStop is activated as I need to turn the steering wheel to avoid that moron from hitting me. Steering wheel is not functioning as engine is stopped.

This iStop system is not good under such situation.  mad.gif
They should modified the iStop to kick in like after 20-30 seconds idling, not by the brake pedal itself sweat.gif
WiredBrain
post Aug 27 2018, 09:59 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(Not A GTR fanboy @ Aug 27 2018, 12:32 AM)
Well u still got 4 days time left to decide biggrin.gif  or else just wait to year end as car dealers will throw out big promo
I thought CKD cars are SST exempted. CX5 is CKD, right?

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...-losers-of-sst/

485 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:17 PM