Mazda CX5 Gen 2 Owners Club V2, Kodo: Soul of Motion

Isendir1
post Aug 19 2018, 11:29 AM

26 posts

Hi.

I just paid the deposit and signed the loan for the car. i am picking up next week my new CX-5 2.0L GLS (Meteor Gray). Booked since 16th July and got the car one month later, SA said i am lucky coz of high competitor from GST holiday shoppers.

Do you guys have a checklist i should carry along during the pick up of car? anything i should look out for?

Usually how long does the demonstration for new car will take? by current SA the service not that good and he tends to rush things, hence i need some preparation and advise.

tq bros
Isendir1
post Aug 19 2018, 05:02 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(skeith @ Aug 19 2018, 01:31 AM)
We have tested the alarm, it onli triggered when an illegal key is trying to ignite the car.

Even if without a key, someone break your windows, no alarm.

If someone without a key break your windows and open the door from inside, no alarm too.
Can other verify this? It is very different from what stated in website:

http://owners-manual.mazda.com/gen/en/cx-5...s/04080300.html

Theft-Deterrent System
Isendir1
post Aug 19 2018, 10:14 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(skeith @ Aug 19 2018, 08:19 PM)
We dont have that. Period
that's too sad.

Isendir1
post Aug 20 2018, 11:05 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Aug 20 2018, 01:38 PM)
Could take about 1-2 hour. SA should show you what each button does, how each functions works and behaves. You should also look around the car to see if there's any scratches or dent. Check to see if there's any missing stuffs. Check the VIN to make sure it's the correct VIN registered to your name and also it's a 2018 car.

You can also request to drive around to find any abnormality.
thank you duckies sir!
Isendir1
post Aug 23 2018, 11:16 AM

26 posts

Hi, can i get help to clear a rumor, i plan to drive my new CX-5 up genting. But i have heard someone said new car cannot push it too hard and drive up hill, can you guys tech expert give me some insight and advise?

Isendir1
post Aug 24 2018, 10:45 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Aug 23 2018, 12:13 PM)
Before 1k servicing, there are some recommended guidelines on how to “break-in” your engine, including the “Do’s” and “Dont’s”
Try searching a few pages back as some members have posted these pointers.
You can google it too or even read the Mazda manual
Thanks bro for sharing. But it did not mention about going up hill (mountain hill) as do or don’t.

I will take it as a don’t first until someone says otherwise then.

Isendir1
post Aug 24 2018, 10:48 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(ketupatlazat @ Aug 24 2018, 07:57 AM)
Yo peeps, just collected my car yesterday.

Upon inspection, as I was opening the boot and leaning for stuffs inside, my knees were pressed hard against the bumper and I was surprised on how easily it caved in.

So soft meh the bumper?

Other than that, it's a really solid car. no ragrets whatsoever.
I saw a video from YouTube for euro ncap cx-5. The bumper is design to be elastic and softer due to pedestrians crash reducing impact.

I don’t see that as a problem as long as it bounces back up immediately on light pressing.
Isendir1
post Aug 24 2018, 11:14 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Aug 24 2018, 11:07 AM)
If you drive up hill, just watch out for your Rev counter.
Try not to be Rev happy and performs many overtaking up hill during the break-in period
Thanks for advise guys. smile.gif
Isendir1
post Aug 26 2018, 04:15 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(faizal3178 @ Aug 26 2018, 03:26 PM)
Yeah Bro Agreed!!! That's why am really thinking to visit someone really soon to get my i-stop disabled permenantly... 😅

And yes the lane keep assist works wonders! Btw, i just remembered to release some air out of the tyre this morning and the ride feels so damn good now! The tyre pressure was almost 50 psi initially.... 😂 Been driving with that tyre pressure for almost 200km already... Huhu....
Yes, i got my CX-5 too yesterday. My impression similarly:

1. I-Stop has this jerk when i press on brake during traffic light, air cond -50% power and resume to normal after a while. Not sure the benefit does outweigh the nuisance here?

2. When going down hill, press slightly harder on brake, i do hear the tuk-tuk-tuk sound

3. The back bumper really kinda soft, softer than my previous Vios. So be careful when loading stuff and watch out for the knee.

But the plus points to this car indeed makes it a solid ride: the looks (saw a lot heads turning), the torque, the handling, the feel etc. icon_idea.gif

btw may i ask what is the recommended tyre pressure, back and front?
Isendir1
post Aug 27 2018, 08:56 PM

26 posts

Damage from highway, eg, plus, you can claim from them
Isendir1
post Aug 28 2018, 09:13 PM

26 posts

Just start the car and zoom zoom immediately. I never waited for 1 minute. All the cars I drove engine was fine and never got damage. (Touch wood). So far my Cx-5 in the morning start up at reasonable noise. Same throughout the day.

Waiting for car to heat up only apply if you live in cold country. The morning temperature of 25c and above is just nice and don’t think it will effect the car.

If your car is vibrating or have louder noise, bring it to service Centre instead
Isendir1
post Aug 28 2018, 09:18 PM

26 posts

https://www.keffermazda.com/blog/faq-let-car-warm-first/

Isendir1
post Aug 29 2018, 05:56 PM

26 posts

I feel this Konica Minolta Skytint is passable, just took me 1 minute to cool car (i toggle to 20c aircond on auto). If i need privacy, maybe i will just get that sunshades. changing a new tint really waste of 1.5k worth of tint IMO.
Isendir1
post Aug 31 2018, 08:53 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(zymenthz @ Aug 31 2018, 08:37 PM)
Anyone experience sound coming from in front when you break suddenly ? Like when you completely press the brake pedal at around 20 ~ km/h then the sound comes out?
Yes tuk tuk tuk sound
Isendir1
post Aug 31 2018, 09:16 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(zymenthz @ Aug 31 2018, 08:54 PM)
yea i also have the sound, do you think it is normal? cause i just collected my car ytd only  sweat.gif
pressing the brake harder = tuk tuk tuk

slamming the brake due to emergency = no sound except screeching of tyre on floor (short distance) for emergency brake which is normal

i guess it is a design flaw which does not effect the performance. I will just highlight to the service centre during my first 1000 and won't expect any immediate replacement. it only happen maybe 1/100 times i brake
Isendir1
post Sep 1 2018, 10:52 AM

26 posts

GLS = LED sweet
GL = halogen, no no no no no
Isendir1
post Sep 1 2018, 12:38 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(inverstorG @ Sep 1 2018, 12:00 PM)
Only yourself can answer to this.
Budget tight but still want for cx5 then GL is option.
If budget is not an issue, then go for 2.2 diesel...

I am careful driver so only Front parking camera is most attractive in GLS feature  which will draw me to buy GLS than GL.

I can live with the feature less car yet enjoy same comfort while driving.

Example...Imagine your sensory side mirror in GLS damaged by motorist and you need replace the side mirror with few thousand..

Your budget shld included the accident
My 2 cent...
Your GLS has front parking camera? Why my one don't have? Kena conned by different showroom?

Isendir1
post Sep 1 2018, 05:34 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Sep 1 2018, 04:33 PM)
I believed only front parking sensor, not parking camera.
Malaysian model is not equipped with front parking camera
i suspected that biggrin.gif
Isendir1
post Sep 5 2018, 08:12 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Sep 3 2018, 11:52 PM)
Wow, everyone seems to be in a agreement of CRV for bigger boots and cabin space.
Unfortunately, wife didn't like CRV. Went to Audi but only got Q3, Q5 no stock until next year. Planning to drop by Mazda showroom tomorrow to test CX5 again kaw kaw, will bring my daughter's carseat and probably a luggage to gauge its boot space.
Bro I think u compare to wrong car. You should consider between BMW X5 and Audi Q5.

CX-5 is different game
Isendir1
post Sep 6 2018, 08:52 PM

26 posts

GL too kosong. If you have budget concern just increase to 9yrs for that GLS..

0.0273sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:49 AM