LYN Christian Fellowship V14 (Group)

SUSTheRant
post Sep 17 2019, 12:12 AM

688 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Sep 17 2019, 12:00 AM)
Alright, we'll just move on first.

Do you think assurance of salvation is a legitimate teaching taught by scripture? referring to your last sentence.
Well of course. What God had given, He will not take back.

Actually talking about salvation. How sure are you that you are, worshipping the correct Jesus.

You see. It's a pretty important topic when it comes to salvation but then for some reason people dun talk about that.

Maybe you can explain to me how sure you are worshipping the correct Jesus.
thomasthai
post Sep 17 2019, 09:02 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(TheRant @ Sep 16 2019, 11:20 AM)
Just curious. Is the real food of the Word perfect?  Or the food of the word is not perfect.

So the "food of the Word" contains this text?
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.biblegatew...V&interface=amp

With the footnotes as such?
1 Timothy 3:16 Greek Who; some manuscripts God; others Which

Just curious.

What is the difference between
[B[God[/B] was manifest in the flesh
Versus
[B/He[/B][a] was manifested in the flesh,
Versus
Who was manifest in the flesh
Versus
[B]Which[/B[ was manifest in the flesh

So the ESV cannot even identify the entity that is manifest in the flesh?

So tell me. How have you really benefited from the "food of the Word " then.  And I dun mean from the pastor or any other sources but directly from the "food of the Word".

Because if you are only hearing from second hand sources, it's no better then what those guys are experiencing.

Do you even search the scriptures like the bereans do or you just assume whatever the authority figure tell you is true.

Be honest.
Granted, my opinion on 1 Tim 3.16 is that the TR/KJV is the correct one (we can tell it's a scribal shorthand error). Even so, from the context we know Christ was manifested in flesh.

I have been speaking to some overseas greek scholars in the textual critic field for the past year or so, although they think that the word of God is better preserved in the Byzantine/TR texts, they don't hold that there is a 'perfect' manuscript.

Every word and reading of every manuscript still needs to be compared and sorted, and they reckon there are probably still years of work to be done.

If you hold that the KJV bible is 'perfect', you have to say that the translators of the KJV, with imperfect and multiple versions of TR manuscripts, managed to create a perfect text, and therefore are equally inspired as the new testament writers?

This post has been edited by thomasthai: Sep 17 2019, 09:14 AM
alexkos
post Sep 17 2019, 09:09 AM

2,275 posts

So he is KJV only? The original language is in Hebrew and Greek btw. Please defend yourself.

Do you mean fake Jesus as derived from the Scripture? Can i have some examples?
thomasthai
post Sep 17 2019, 09:41 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(TheRant @ Sep 16 2019, 11:56 AM)
While we are on it,
Is there a differences between those 2 passages.
KJV
5 Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus:

6 Who, being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God:

7 But made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men:

ESV
5 Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus,[a] 6 who, though he was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, 7 but emptied himself, by taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men.

Are you sure they both passages preaches the same doctrine as you claim?

So the Jesus could not even understand why He is God. Does it make sense?

But of course, ESV is the better version right?

How about you answer those questions first. So that at least I "know" which is the "word of God" I should follow.

By the way. Is "made himself of no reputation" the same thing as "emptied himself"

What does "emptied himsellf" actually mean? Do you know in Yoga meditation, people actually "emptied themself"

So should I go and do Yoga meditation then.

The Bible supports "Yoga meditation"?

Maybe before criticizing other churches, one should look at one owns self right?
The base word of robbery here in both Alexandrian and TR is the same, harpazo.

Can be translated as to rob, to seize, to grasp, to snatch, to retain.

The context has to explain the meaning here.

Then to empty Himself, all greek texts (even in the TR texts, KJV based text) word by word translation is heauton ekenosen, self empties. Nothing about reputation here. This is a case of the KJV translators putting their theology into the text.

I used this to check the TR texts. You are welcome to check ny sources:

https://www.scripture4all.org/OnlineInterli...Greek_Index.htm

This post has been edited by thomasthai: Sep 17 2019, 09:51 AM
pehkay
post Sep 17 2019, 10:41 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(thomasthai @ Sep 17 2019, 09:41 AM)
The base word of robbery here in both Alexandrian and TR is the same, harpazo.

Can be translated as to rob, to seize, to grasp, to snatch, to retain.

The context has to explain the meaning here.

Then to empty Himself, all greek texts (even in the TR texts, KJV based text) word by word translation is heauton ekenosen, self empties. Nothing about reputation here. This is a case of the KJV translators putting their theology into the text.

I used this to check the TR texts. You are welcome to check ny sources:

https://www.scripture4all.org/OnlineInterli...Greek_Index.htm
Actually, both translations are fine and is not an issue.

Christ was in the form of God and actually was God Himself. Because He had such a standing, it was not robbery for Him to be equal with God. I believe that as Paul was writing this, deep within he had the feeling that some of the Philippian saints were committing robbery. For example, suppose I do not have the ability to be a leader; nevertheless, I desire to be a leader. In this matter, I rob others of their leadership.

Christ, however, did not commit robbery in being equal with God. Rather it is a robbery if He is not equal with God biggrin.gif.

Although it was not robbery for Christ to be equal with God, He emptied Himself, not insisting on this equality. Furthermore, He humbled Himself, being found in fashion as a man and taking the form of a slave. This means that Christ gave up His high standing and took not only the form of a man but the form of a slave. This is an example and pattern for us.
Roman Catholic
post Sep 17 2019, 05:42 PM

3,520 posts

Thank goodness I have got Delusional Disorder because with God everything is possible.
Roman Catholic
post Sep 17 2019, 07:29 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ Sep 16 2019, 12:03 PM)
Why can't you both be right?

Fact: we know there is salvation through belief and repentance alone. Jesus said so himself to the thief on the cross.

Fact: we know there are works to be done in the world, we have a duty. Amongst many other writings, Jesus said, give away (actually, invest) what you have, it is easier for a camel than a rich man... you know the rest.

Above all things I believe God is not stupid. He would know where is the limit of one's ability to act on one's faith. He would know if one who does many good deeds is truly a believer or not. His knowledge is not bounded by space-time, he would know before we do ourselves what our future acts will be. He would even know what the potential acts of people would be - maybe that's how children and those who have never heard the Word are judged.

The first shall be last and the last shall be first. We think we know who is who now, but there will certainly be many surprises when we meet again in heaven. God is not mocked. Actions are all we can see, but he sees the heart.

Hence why I respectfully disagree with bolded above.

Happy Malaysia day to all my fellow Christians, may God bless you in all that you are
Hi bro.,

Nice to hear from you. Ah the good thief. Yes, it is true that salvation came to the good thief because of belief and repentance alone. However I cannot possibly take that route that the good thief was in, because the circumstances are completely different. Besides, from our Lord's teachings, it is clear that repentance and belief are only a subset of salvation, there are many other subsets that must be fulfilled too.

Yes, our Lord looks at the heart of each and everyone of us.

Perhaps my initial question about how is one born again wasn't accurate, since it did sound very much like plagiarizing Nicodemus words, when it rather should be, do we really want to be born again ?

My hope is that each and everyone of us here will meet again in our Father's heavenly kingdom someday, no matter which route one decides to take, or some of the subset or all of the subset. God bless.

De_Luffy
post Sep 17 2019, 08:37 PM

737 posts

pehkay Unknownwarior this thread is almost reaching it capacity, please decide who among you will open the new thread next week.
TSSophiera
post Sep 26 2019, 03:06 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

I sudah bersara liao. Closing this thread so UW can open a new one.

Byebye

63 Pages « < 61 62 63Top

0.0200sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:14 AM