Astro Version 13A, All about Astro Malaysia offerings

brianklc
post May 19 2019, 04:42 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(ONGEDWIN @ May 19 2019, 09:30 AM)
Hi sifus here, can I know after you all enroll for the beta, how to update the PVR to the latest beta? Because I enrolled yesterday already, and also received email about the enrollment, and in the email it stated to let my PVR for minimum 4hours standby time, I did that, but after almost 12hours already, still cannot see any update  :confused:

Anyone can help?
Per their email, they push the updates during certain hours. And if u turn on the recorder, it will affect the updates. Hence, best to leave it on standby at mid nite till morning.
brianklc
post May 19 2019, 04:44 PM

372 posts

Btw, the UI looks like Android... a bit difficult for IOS users like me ... ;(
brianklc
post May 19 2019, 10:40 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 19 2019, 09:02 PM)
Finally a modern UI of Astro. This is current trend of TV UI.
Depends on personal preference. Age group distribution for Astro vs Apple TV might be very diff. Still a lot of SD n not so tech savvy... Those older generation might not like it.
brianklc
post Aug 12 2019, 02:43 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(brandonkl @ Aug 11 2019, 10:28 AM)
The sign up page not working.
Only those users with 1 decoder are eligible. Sight!
brianklc
post Aug 16 2019, 12:45 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(AMstrong @ Aug 16 2019, 11:04 AM)
tried to signup for beta v1.2, but it go straight to feeback page. does it mean that im not eligible?
Most likely yes. Do u fulfil their eligibility requirements?
brianklc
post Aug 16 2019, 12:46 PM

372 posts

All, kindly note tht after u signed for V1.2, all your rebates (if any) will be cancelled...
brianklc
post Aug 16 2019, 01:33 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(AMstrong @ Aug 16 2019, 12:52 PM)
yes. but never mind, can wait for next Oct  to upgrade
U can try not to log in instead... key in ur name, IC number n the form will lookup ur smart card number for u
brianklc
post Nov 14 2019, 08:06 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(skycrew @ Nov 14 2019, 06:41 PM)
damn u astro

if I upgrade to ultra box, my rm25 rebate will be cancelled

fek!
Tht is for beta users only, where u got this info?
brianklc
post May 6 2020, 08:59 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ May 6 2020, 04:38 PM)
I got a confirmation from Astro about the "quiet/silent" changes in Super Pack 3 pricing.

All Super Packs and Super Pack Plus does not bind with any contracts. Only Starter Pack and Value Pack has 6 months contract.
If you sign up as new Astro customer, or change to new Astro box (like Ultra Box), then the 24 months contract you would get, is actually the contract for the Astro box and/or Astro account itself, not the package that you've chosen.
Anyhow, it's better that you clarify with Astro on what type of contract agreement you're getting from Astro.
You won't be getting any contracts upon subscribing to any Super Pack and Super Pack Plus. Sorry for the wrong info previously.

The difference between the older Super Pack 3 (RM172.80) and latest Super Pack 3 (RM154.80)
Same package but different price? Yes, it is confusing.

Before you continue reading...
As of time of writing (6 May 2020), Movement Control Order (MCO) is still being enforced.
As long your subscription has Sports pack (which all Super Packs has that), you'd get to enjoy complimentary viewing on ALL channels (aka Super Pack Plus 4) until at least 12 May 2020. Who knows it would extend again...
Because you can literally watch ALL channels now, you won't feel the difference in what channels that you can still watch when the complimentary viewing on all channels ends at a later date.

Reminder:
All Super Packs comes with HD-PVR service, Family, Sports, Movies, Korean and Baby TV as well as any 3 mini packages of your choice.
For Super Pack 3, it also comes with New Emperor and Dynasty pack.
Study this table below to know what are the changes occurred in detail on Super Pack 3 and Super Pack Plus 3 since 5 April 2020.

When you're on Super Pack 3 before 5 Apr 2020Existing Super Pack 3 customers from 5 Apr 2020Whoever just subscribe to Super Pack 3 from 5 Apr 2020Super Pack Plus 3 from 5 Apr 2020
Price excl. 6% SSTRM163/monthRM163/month (unchanged)RM146/month (revised)RM178/month
ABO Tayangan Hebat (115)NoNoYesYes
ABO Thangathirai HD (241)NoNoYesYes
Astro BollyOne HD (251)NoNoYesYes
Star Chinese Channel (315)NoYesYesYes
WWE Network (821)NoNoNoYes
Golf Channel (822)NoYesNoYes
RugbyPass TV (823)NoNoNoYes
Astro Cricket (824)NoYesNoYes
Total cloud recording storage200 hours (default)200 + 200 = 400 hours200 hours200 + 200 = 400 hours

- Star Chinese Channel (ch315)?
Previously this is included in Super Pack Plus 3, or you'll need to pay extra RM5/month to watch this.
Now, this channel is now "automatically" included as long you're on Super Pack 3 (regardless old or new).

----------

Eh, I'm already an existing Super Pack 3 customer before this, and I'm still paying RM163 (RM172.80 incl. tax) instead of RM146 (RM154.80 incl. tax)! How?
Don't cry.
If this sentence makes you a little happier: "Astro treat you like VIP" because you're getting something "extra" without additional charges. brows.gif
Meanwhile, those who subscribe to Super Pack 3 after 5th April 2020 that enjoy RM146 rate won't be getting, which are:
- Golf Channel (ch822)
- Astro Cricket (ch824)

- Total of 400 hours of cloud recording storage

On top of the free 200 hours of cloud recording storage that every Astro customers has, you'll get another 200 hours of cloud recording storage for your Ultra Box / Astro Go, which makes a total of 400 hours.
Hmm, if the show you want to watch is already available on Astro Go or On Demand, just watch and stream it from there.
Not necessary have to solely rely/depend on cloud recording to do the job, which it can takes up your cloud recording storage.
Unless, if that programme isn't available in Astro Go or On Demand library, then the cloud recording would be useful in this situation.

Anyway, if you don't use Ultra Box or cloud recording feature on Astro Go, then this "additional 200 hours of cloud recording storage" is useless to you.

...Mmm, that's all?
Yes, that's all. What else you want? "Automatic" bill rebate? The answer is no. 🤣

Erm, hello~ I'm an existing Super Pack 1, or 2 or 4 customer...
No. Don't get excited. You won't be getting any of these.

----------

As long from 5 April 2020 onwards, whoever just subscribe to Super Pack 3, will only get the revised RM146/month rate
The previous Super Pack 3 with the price tag of RM172.80/month has officially dead, and no more.

From business perspective, Astro want its existing RM163 (RM172.80/month incl. tax) customers to continue paying as it is, but "don't mind much" giving you some additional premium sports channels, that you might not watch.
And also, total 400 hours of cloud recording? Do you think you would use until that much? If yes, then good for you then.
And I doubt that Astro will purposely go and inform those who still paying RM172.80/month to migrate to the newer Super Pack 3 that costs RM146.
That will hurt their profit/revenue for sure. For those who don't "catch up" with news/info/updates about Astro like these, and aren't aware of this, then too bad for you la.  cry.gif

Golf Channel? Astro Cricket? +200 hrs cloud rec? Can I say no?  dry.gif
If you're an existing Super Pack 3 customer that been paying RM172.80/month, and you want to enjoy the newer RM146 (RM154.80/month incl. tax) rate,
you'll have to manually contact Astro customer service (03-95433838).
No need to wonder "when can I start to do that?", you can actually do it right now at this instant as long within their hotline operating hours.
But then as usual la, because it is considered as "downgrade" (cuz your total bill amount become lesser), so a one-time RM10.60 switching fee will be charged, and package change will take into effect on your next bill.
Yeah, as straightforward as that. No "beating around the bush".

And no, they won't be so kind hearted to call you and downgrade. Come on la, you first day know them meh?  :thumbsup:
If you don't do anything, then nothing will change and whatever you pay now will stay the same life goes on as usual.

Yes. This is official and correct information.
So, dear existing Super Pack 3 customers that still paying RM172.80/month, how are you feeling after read this post?  biggrin.gif

I contacted Astro earlier, and they say Super Pack 3 still costs RM172.80/month. What the heck is this? Are you spreading fake news?
For Astro, this is very normal. Because not every Astro CS agents are always informed and up to date with the latest information. Maybe because company too big, information cannot spread too far.
You speak to this agent, you get this answer. Later you speak to another agent, you get totally different answer. Don't be surprised. It's been happening for many years already.
When this happens, don't panic. Tell that CS agent to ask the colleague/respective team/respective department/anyone in Astro to double double double triple quadruple and make sure super confirm with the information before you continue talking with that agent.
Otherwise, hang up the phone, call again to speak another CS agent.
Any idea if the current rebate tht I entitled during sign up (RM25x24 months) still applicable if I “downgrade” to the new super pack 3?

brianklc
post May 7 2020, 09:27 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ May 6 2020, 10:24 PM)
The RM25x24 months rebate, what is it about?
What is the package that you're on now? Did you subscribe to Astro & Broadband, or Astro IPTV?

If can, open your latest Astro bill in PDF, scroll to page 3, and then screenshot that page.
RM25 x 24 months rebate is given to new subscribers during their promo period which ends some time last year. I am currently on Super Pack 3, pure Astro without Broadband/IPTV bundle.

This post has been edited by brianklc: May 7 2020, 09:28 AM
brianklc
post Sep 20 2020, 05:08 PM

372 posts

Hi sifus, can I know if the signal for Tuner 2 for Ultra Box important? Mine seems like tuner 1 is ok, strength 203, quality 100 and CNR 18.2 but tuner 2 signal strength 193 quality 10-20 and CNR is 11.2db only.
brianklc
post Sep 20 2020, 05:57 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Sep 20 2020, 05:22 PM)
When you see the Tuner 2's CNR is 11.2dB, what channel were you tuned in that time in the background?
411, 412, 551, 552... i tested for 310, 311... both are more less same at 204, 100 and 18.2+

Also noted that 780 will have some degradation in tuner 2 at 190 strength..
brianklc
post Sep 20 2020, 06:47 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Sep 20 2020, 06:46 PM)
Hmmm... As long it doesn't affect your normal viewing of TV channels, then just leave it...
Ok thanks
brianklc
post Feb 22 2021, 08:09 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Feb 19 2021, 10:25 PM)
Survey Invite: Share your experience on Ultra Box latest software update
Dear participants, 

We have upgraded your Ultra Box software with the sprint release version 20.3.1.75 and would like you to invite you to participate in our survey to understand your experience on the Ultra Box. Your honest feedback is incredibly important in ensuring that we can improve our product and service.

This survey invite will close by Monday, 22 February 2021, 12:00PM
Thank you!

user posted image    user posted image

Live Pause and Hide from Continue Watching
GIF animation:
For those who've got this software update (example: me), go try out the features now, and share your review here  biggrin.gif
Hopefully they can roll this out ASAP.. it’s very useful...
brianklc
post Feb 22 2021, 11:21 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Feb 22 2021, 11:11 PM)
You got this update already?
Errm, don't get too excited too soon.

I've tried using this feature on my Ultra Box, and it has lots of bugs.  sweat.gif
Overall, not very stable for public use.
Not in their trial list... really tht bad?
brianklc
post Mar 18 2021, 09:43 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(John42 @ Mar 18 2021, 01:22 AM)
Well I did contact astro regarding changing the remote control. I told them that I might suspect the liquid from the battery might have spill inside the remote board. He then asked me whether I did try to put a different battery or not and I told him yea and it was working. Then he ask me to bring the remote to the service centre which is at Damansara UPtown if the remote stops working. He said they will check and will change it for free if it is not customer fault. Then I casually ask him how much does the ultra box remote cost and its RM 79.90 🙄. So guys becareful when using the remote. Try to avoid dropping it too often. Unless you OK using the cheap DIY remote controls. BTW should I get the Panasonic evolta battery? I suspect either it has to do with energizer durability or the remote control board issue.
In Lazada u can get for less thn RM50, with free batt
brianklc
post Apr 7 2021, 05:08 PM

372 posts

Guys, I just noticed tht ultra box can pause. And after you pause, u can rewind up to certain minute... I maybe outdated, but is it something new?
brianklc
post Apr 8 2021, 01:45 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(John Chaser @ Apr 8 2021, 12:11 AM)
Live shows?
Yes
brianklc
post Apr 8 2021, 02:36 AM

372 posts

Does not work on 780. For others, the function is even better thn pvr, u can rewind until start... pvr can only rewind up till the point u tune into tht channel... good, I m impressed...

This post has been edited by brianklc: Apr 8 2021, 02:38 AM
brianklc
post Apr 8 2021, 02:39 AM

372 posts

Previously they released to certain users to beta test, now they push into production... weird, why they didn’t market this function? Or did they?

This post has been edited by brianklc: Apr 8 2021, 02:40 AM

0.0402sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:26 AM