Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2

Eoma
post Jun 15 2007, 08:30 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

QUOTE(rockmaniac85 @ Jun 15 2007, 06:41 PM)
Ok, i need some clarification on this one.

Using everest ultimate, There's four sensor on the gpu temperature, namely
GPU
GPU diode
GPU Memory
GPU Ambient

so, now ur saying it's idling at 58c-60c, so this temperature is which temperature?

im guessing it as the GPU temp, not the other 3, am i rite?
You should be looking at GPU diode.

Aoshi_88
post Jun 15 2007, 11:03 PM

Talking isn't difficult. Speaking is.
4,670 posts

You guys should count in 8-series Mobility users like me. Or pending users as the BenQ S41 will only start arriving next week.
zhen^wei
post Jun 15 2007, 11:37 PM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 15 2007, 02:24 PM)
Non OC version, go for Palit.Save yourself the extra RM100- RM150 as most of them are as off reference..

My MSI 8800GTS 320MB OC is idling at around 58c - 60c..
huh.. idle 60C, then load 70-80C lor ?lol
my 7900gs aruond 50C only when idle. really much different
rockmaniac85
post Jun 16 2007, 12:00 AM

453 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Jun 15 2007, 08:30 PM)
You should be looking at GPU diode.
hmm, now that's the problem i facing.. i do look at the gpu diode temperature, but it's nowhere near 58-60C, it's always around 69 to 72C. So i am freaking wondering, what the heck you do to keep the temperature at that level?
akachester
post Jun 16 2007, 12:05 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Jun 15 2007, 11:37 PM)
huh.. idle 60C, then load 70-80C lor ?lol
my 7900gs aruond 50C only when idle. really much different
Yea, its idling at roughly around 58c for me. Have yet to check the load temperature. Will do so during the weekend and will test it out on my new LCD..
mars
post Jun 16 2007, 07:02 AM

294 posts

i think those 8 series card with OC version is slightly hotter.....
stevenlee
post Jun 16 2007, 07:55 AM

look @ my Star *o* ...hoho
3,158 posts

TSHyde`fK
post Jun 16 2007, 10:29 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

rockmaniac85
post Jun 16 2007, 10:59 AM

453 posts

TSHyde`fK
post Jun 16 2007, 11:08 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

zhen^wei
post Jun 16 2007, 11:38 AM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Jun 16 2007, 11:08 AM)
I see. I always set my fan 100%. Don't know how long it will last. sweat.gif
if alwasy 100%, the fan won't last long 1 meh ?
i thikn i will get a 12cm fan to blow it at side panel..hehe
Phoenixwunin
post Jun 16 2007, 11:58 AM

841 posts

tell me guys... if a person A gets a normal 8800GTS while person B gets the eVGA 8800GTS Superclocked... and the person A overclock his normal 8800GTS to stay in par with eVGA 8800GTS Superclocked.. is the temperature of normal 8800GTS will be the same with eVGA or higher??

Which one is better actually?? To get a normal one and oc.. or to get eVGA Superclocked then. Actually... I'm trying to see if normal 8800GTS can tahan it if we oc it to be in par with eVGA's version.
TSHyde`fK
post Jun 16 2007, 12:41 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Jun 16 2007, 11:38 AM)
if alwasy 100%, the fan won't last long 1 meh ?
i thikn i will get a 12cm fan to blow it at side panel..hehe
Maybe I guess so, but I do care less.

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ Jun 16 2007, 11:58 AM)
tell me guys... if a person A gets a normal 8800GTS while person B gets the eVGA 8800GTS Superclocked... and the person A overclock his normal 8800GTS to stay in par with eVGA 8800GTS Superclocked.. is the temperature of normal 8800GTS will be the same with eVGA or higher??

Which one is better actually?? To get a normal one and oc.. or to get eVGA Superclocked then. Actually... I'm trying to see if normal 8800GTS can tahan it if we oc it to be in par with eVGA's version.
Getting a normal one to clock till an overclocked card will not be the same as shader clock would be around the same. I think higher shader clock also tends to give higher temp as well.
akachester
post Jun 16 2007, 04:58 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Do you guys normally turn on AA when gaming on the 8800GTS 320MB? I tried that today when i installed C&C3 on my PC.Turned everything to the max, even the AA to Level 8. Still playable but slight lag felted. Thats only on 1024 * 768 resolution for your information..

What does turning on AA affect?I cant seem to see any difference though..LOL...
dattebayo
post Jun 16 2007, 05:04 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 16 2007, 04:58 PM)
Do you guys normally turn on AA when gaming on the 8800GTS 320MB? I tried that today when i installed C&C3 on my PC.Turned everything to the max, even the AA to Level 8. Still playable but slight lag felted. Thats only on 1024 * 768 resolution for your information..

What does turning on AA affect?I cant seem to see any difference though..LOL...
that's no point in setting more than 4x AA for that resolution

CNC3 in game level 8 AA means 16X AA alrdy, the maximum of G80 can support.

AA stands for anti-aliasing, when it comes to 16X AA, it means the ROP of the GC will sample the frame at 16 times of the current resolution, then it will downsample back, so that it will look smoother.

but even an 8800gts will lag at CNC3, slightly disappointed, so with other settings max out, with the AA set lower to level 2 or 4, can u get 30 FPS under all circumstances?
akachester
post Jun 16 2007, 05:07 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 16 2007, 05:04 PM)
that's no point in setting more than 4x AA for that resolution

CNC3 in game level 8 AA means 16X AA alrdy, the maximum of G80 can support.

AA stands for anti-aliasing, when it comes to 16X AA, it means the ROP of the GC will sample the frame at 16 times of the current resolution, then it will downsample back, so that it will look smoother.

but even an 8800gts will lag at CNC3, slightly disappointed, so with other settings max out, with the AA set lower to level 2 or 4, can u get 30 FPS under all circumstances?
Erm, have not really tested the game with FRAPS yet. Was rushing on my way back to hometown to get my LCD. Will be testing it again tomorrow with the LCD when i am back..

In term of what i have seen in the game, i tested the game for a few rounds, with no AA, Level 4 AA, and Level 8 AA. AA off, and Level 4 seems to be fine. Everything was smooth so my best guess is that its running above 30fps but slight laggish for Level 8 AA when i turn it on. Even during the early part of the game, you can feel the slight laggish (really slight ones) especially when you drag your mouse all over the screen. Game is still playable, graphic is nice but if you look closely, you can see the lag...
dattebayo
post Jun 16 2007, 05:11 PM

5,366 posts

but anyway, unless u re using some big monster monitors like apple cinema 30", theres no need to use 16X AA (level 8 AA), u wont notice difference between 8xAA and 16xAA on most monitors nowadays. Even 4xAA is very very good alrdy.

in CNC3, the max fps is locked on 30

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Jun 16 2007, 05:12 PM
akachester
post Jun 16 2007, 05:14 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Oic..Didnt know that though.Anyway, i will go back and test it again with FRAPS and post the result here. But one thing for sure, i dont see any lagging when on Level 4 AA and no AA at all..

If Level 8 AA is said to be 16X AA, does this mean Level 4 is on 8X already?Then i guess turn it on to Level 2 is more than enough right?
kmarc
post Jun 16 2007, 05:31 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 16 2007, 05:14 PM)
Oic..Didnt know that though.Anyway, i will go back and test it again with FRAPS and post the result here. But one thing for sure, i dont see any lagging when on Level 4 AA and no AA at all..

If Level 8 AA is said to be 16X AA, does this mean Level 4 is on 8X already?Then i guess turn it on to Level 2 is more than enough right?
I'm playing C&C with all max setting at 1280 x 1024. Antialiasing also at max.

Getting about 25-30 fps most of the time in the earlier levels (on fraps) with max units.

Can't really try with later campaigns (when there's a lot of structures/unit) as I just deleted my saved games!!! Will try later on as I advance in the NOD campaigns....

Wonder whether your proc is bottlenecking the 8800 GTS..... hmm.gif or your settings are incorrect?
akachester
post Jun 16 2007, 05:45 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 16 2007, 05:31 PM)
I'm playing C&C with all max setting at 1280 x 1024. Antialiasing also at max.

Getting about 25-30 fps most of the time in the earlier levels (on fraps) with max units.

Can't really try with later campaigns (when there's a lot of structures/unit) as I just deleted my saved games!!! Will try later on as I advance in the NOD campaigns....

Wonder whether your proc is bottlenecking the 8800 GTS.....  hmm.gif or your settings are incorrect?
O...Is my proc bottlenecking it?Maybe i could go home and OC it to around 2.5Ghz and see whether the result is still the same. Could not OC it higher cause i dont know how..LOL..

Anyway, i tested everything on stock at that point and get around 23k on 3D Mark03. Most of the review i have seen said the mark should be around 26 - 27k i pressume. So, mine is abit low..

125 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:10 AM