125 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2

HaHaNoCluE
post May 21 2007, 06:16 PM

628 posts

cstkl1, maybe u take a couple shoot of vodka then oc ur proc... coz it seems like it bottleneck liao.. hahaha...

arjuna, if u manage to buy a 2nd 8600gt at very very cheap price otherwise no point cause it's not cost effective leh...
dattebayo
post May 21 2007, 07:15 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(jeromeccm @ May 21 2007, 04:26 PM)
dude... a question here..

when i run 3Dmark01 with my 6800GS, the result is about 20K but when i run my 3Dmark01 with my 8600GT, the Result only shows 23k... do you face this as well? atually i expect the 3Dmark01 to be more than 25k... looking at forumer cstkl1 result, it is so huge difference...... wow....  shocking.gif
i cant run 3dmark 01, due to stupid vista
to further test out ur card, try running some 3d demanding games like COH and NFSC, COH has an inbuilt graphic test, and that will answer the question on the card's actual performance

This post has been edited by dattebayo: May 21 2007, 07:17 PM
akachester
post May 21 2007, 07:33 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Consider it in this case, i am quite desperate to get myself a GC and have a budget of roughly RM600 in hand. Which should i get the best?

And assuming i am going to get the 8600GT/GTS, i know its a little hard for it to handle a 22" LCD at native resolution during gaming. If in the future i have decided to get myself another GT/GTS and SLI it, will it be able to handle it by that time?Thanks..
dattebayo
post May 21 2007, 07:41 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 21 2007, 07:33 PM)
Consider it in this case, i am quite desperate to get myself a GC and have a budget of roughly RM600 in hand. Which should i get the best?

And assuming i am going to get the 8600GT/GTS, i know its a little hard for it to handle a 22" LCD at native resolution during gaming. If in the future i have decided to get myself another GT/GTS and SLI it, will it be able to handle it by that time?Thanks..
http://www.theinquirer.net/default.aspx?article=38988
Not everything is great - 8600GTS has 32 scalar shaders and even in SLI mode, the boards cannot reach performance of single 8800GTX card, and even 8800GTS will prove faster than G84-SLI. This is a deciding factor when compared to fully-fledged, 96 or 128 scalar shader monsters such as 8800GTS or GTX. Money-wise, spending money for a SLI-capable board and this GPU does not make sense.

and not every game as of now is SLI/multi GPU aware
akachester
post May 21 2007, 07:45 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ May 21 2007, 07:41 PM)
http://www.theinquirer.net/default.aspx?article=38988
and not every game as of now is SLI/multi GPU aware
Thanks for the info there...Gosh, and i wish the 8600Ultra is here now at a good price. The reason i am thinking of SLI is because i could not afford a single 8800GTS now. Therefore, getting something that i could afford and then try to add another in the future hoping it will perform better in gaming especially on native 22" resolution.

And i realise i am using Xfire board..lol..Doesnt seem practical anyway after seeing that qoutation..
arc_archive
post May 21 2007, 08:31 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ May 21 2007, 04:09 PM)
eh for 8800 series... does all manufacturers use the same fan?

because last time, even 7900gs came with various fans, coolermaster, zalman, and other oem type

so for 8800 is universal for all brands rite? All major brands look almost the same, except the winfast TDH extreme version, looks like transformer biggrin.gif
eVGA had their modified hsf for 8800 series aka ACS3.this hsf only installed on OC version of their card...but seems that it not that effective...temp seems that darn high,can consider la coz the card OC extremely high for factory stock OC spec.
jeromeccm
post May 21 2007, 11:01 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ May 21 2007, 07:15 PM)
i cant run 3dmark 01, due to stupid vista
to further test out ur card, try running some 3d demanding games like COH and NFSC, COH has an inbuilt graphic test, and that will answer the question on the card's actual performance
dude.. i run couple of test already with OC up to 675/950

seems crash.... i think the memory max stability is 900 because i the core clock/shader domain went beyond 1500MHz and hang....

so i tune down to 675/900... runs stable with 3Dmark result at 10403

check out my screenshot...
hian
post May 22 2007, 12:22 AM

418 posts

Any sifu here tried Asus EN8600GTS TOP before? Planning to replace my 7300GT Sonic, and that's the only one available from my supplier, in terms of mid range DX10 card. Asking for RM950 tho... ohmy.gif What's the price like in West M'sia now?
jeromeccm
post May 22 2007, 12:54 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(hian @ May 22 2007, 12:22 AM)
Any sifu here tried Asus EN8600GTS TOP before? Planning to replace my 7300GT Sonic, and that's the only one available from my supplier, in terms of mid range DX10 card.  Asking for RM950 tho... ohmy.gif What's the price like in West M'sia now?
expensive ler... for 950 i can top up another 100 ti get a 8800GTS320MB... check in the forum... some are selling that price...

IMO, If the 86GTS go beyond 790, I rather save for the extra 250 to go for 8800GTS320... if you budget max is about 700, you can check out the forum... got 8600GTS-OC version for sale....

good luck
hian
post May 22 2007, 12:58 AM

418 posts

Thanks for the reply, mate. Really appreciate it. smile.gif
jeromeccm
post May 22 2007, 01:08 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(hian @ May 22 2007, 12:58 AM)
no problem.... i just got my self a 86GT also...upgrade from 6series to 8series very satisfy with the performance and the overclockability....
arc_archive
post May 22 2007, 01:24 AM

386 posts

how much 8800gts 320mb can be OC stable??really curios coz some say that the OC ability dont go much beyond 600 core...
hian
post May 22 2007, 01:31 AM

418 posts

Just had a look around in the trade zone, the 8800GTS price sounds good...but I'm afraid that no one here accept credit card. laugh.gif

Orderzone.com is asking for 1.2k (accept credit card), do you think it's a good buy? smile.gif
arc_archive
post May 22 2007, 01:49 AM

386 posts

ive got my BFG 8800GTS 320mb OC2 from karom...price at RM1260...spec 580/1700/1350...but ive heard that bfg had another OC2E version at 620/2000!!and even some 11 jynx'ed buyer of OC2E found that thier card swapped wif OC2 version...hope im the lucky one 2 get their so called OC2E version xD !!juz kidding
also there r several choices there, fast and reliable bulk...donno either he accept cc or not.
rendude
post May 22 2007, 01:59 AM

Look at all my stars!!!
642 posts

QUOTE(hian @ May 22 2007, 12:58 AM)
go for 8600GT if u r in a tight budget..buy d oc version like Palit and Galaxy (600/1.6GHz) version. Read Here if u want to know d oc capabilities of 8600GT cards. U can find those cards in Bulk Sales for less than RM500.
dattebayo
post May 22 2007, 02:08 AM

5,366 posts

erm... can someone give me the measurement of 8800gts's cooler's height, google said that the height of the card is 1.43" , but is that the cooler utilized 100% of the height? shocking.gif

If yes, it will have problem with my mobo... I hope the HSF wont exceed 1.2"

Added on May 22, 2007, 2:40 am
QUOTE(jeromeccm @ May 21 2007, 11:01 PM)

seems crash.... i think the memory max stability is 900 because i the core clock/shader domain went beyond 1500MHz and hang....

ya.. coz the card has limited power supply, it has draw the maximum allowable of power I think

This post has been edited by dattebayo: May 22 2007, 02:40 AM
cstkl1
post May 22 2007, 03:05 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ May 21 2007, 06:16 PM)
cstkl1, maybe u take a couple shoot of vodka then oc ur proc... coz it seems like it bottleneck liao.. hahaha...

arjuna, if u manage to buy a 2nd 8600gt at very very cheap price otherwise no point cause it's not cost effective leh...
dude 8800gtx and ultra.. ure forever bottleneck..

second point
the mobo seems to be limited on the vcore i can go...
was tring to go 4ghz but the mobo failed...
the vdroop fluctuation my guess
need to do a pencil or volt mod

but nah this 24/7 already kicks ass and beats a lot of ppls comp ..and its already overkill for stalker..

Added on May 22, 2007, 3:09 am
QUOTE(obefiend @ May 21 2007, 03:02 PM)
damn 20 K for 05? holy god in heaven. i only trust 05 scores since it doesnt take into account the CPU speed as much!

btw people.. does the RAM efect the score. i suspect it doesnt. so anyway this past few days my GTX is idling at 78C. weird.. it normally at 71C..
it does...

if ure running ure bus speed at stock.. ure bandwidth is less..
running 1:1 ratio always gives u high scores...

just to give u an example
3.46 8800ultra sli = 15k
3.73 8800 ulta sli = 15-16k
3.6 , 9x400 8800 ulra sli = nearly 17k///

reason y i didnt bother...
if i wanted that 9x400 might as well went out and bought a e6600

extreme proc just to strees the proc and leave the rest at stock

Added on May 22, 2007, 3:12 am
QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ May 21 2007, 04:49 PM)
cstkl1... why dun you push your proc more?? I think it still can go a little beyond that...
nah cause this was not some benchies thingy.. if i wanted to do that no point to beat m own scores cause i know it will be way higher...

so wanted to post realitic scores...24/7... whats running everday .. every game i play...etc

Added on May 22, 2007, 3:14 am
QUOTE(jeromeccm @ May 21 2007, 11:01 PM)

tip i usually remove heatsinks of all my graphic card and use either arctic ceramique or silver 5..

this time tried the arctic cooling mx1
gives a bit headroom or cooler temps by a few degrees.. usually.. but didnt check on the ultra...

This post has been edited by cstkl1: May 22 2007, 03:19 AM
jeromeccm
post May 22 2007, 08:42 AM

545 posts

Added on May 22, 2007, 3:14 am

tip i usually remove heatsinks of all my graphic card and use either arctic ceramique or silver 5..

this time tried the arctic cooling mx1
gives a bit headroom or cooler temps by a few degrees.. usually.. but didnt check on the ultra...

[/quote]

hmmm... i think i dont face any heat problem because i check very constantly the GPU temp,, The max it went was about 76C.

I think it is the limiting voltage as what dattebayo said.... really itchy to mod... he he he.... but i know i for sure need a better coller if o further mod it..... unfortunately i dont know what other cooler/hs for my card.... mine is Galaxy and it comes with thecooler master hs/fan which looks like a zalman type...
akachester
post May 22 2007, 09:00 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(jeromeccm @ May 22 2007, 08:42 AM)

hmmm... i think i dont face any heat problem because i check very constantly the GPU temp,, The max it went was about 76C.

I think it is the limiting voltage as what dattebayo said.... really itchy to mod... he he he.... but i know i for sure need a better coller if o further mod it..... unfortunately i dont know what other cooler/hs for my card.... mine is Galaxy and it comes with thecooler master hs/fan which looks like a zalman type...
Do you know whether the Galaxy 8600GT could support other third party HSF?I mean those particularly used on 7series one like Zalman etc?
jeromeccm
post May 22 2007, 09:28 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 22 2007, 09:00 AM)
Do you know whether the Galaxy 8600GT could support other third party HSF?I mean those particularly used on 7series one like Zalman etc?
ha ha... good question... i am searching for this answer as well... you got it do share here ok...

i noticed there are a few types... the once most commonly seen is the fins are fully copper and another one is mixture of aluminium and copper.... which one give the best heat dissipation? for sure the pure copper is much more heavier than the mix one...

125 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:21 AM