oh..thanks..if let's say i m in singapore...so..can i call the service support here to deliver my same warranty??
Dell XPS M1210 Support Thread #1, COD4? No problem...
Jun 23 2007, 01:06 AM
31 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
oh..thanks..if let's say i m in singapore...so..can i call the service support here to deliver my same warranty??
Jun 23 2007, 06:38 AM
7,037 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(ahteok @ Jun 22 2007, 10:46 PM) hi every 1... i m getting myself a laptop for the 1st time...still wondering which and wat to buy... found this XPS in newspaper...find it is quite cheap and worth to buy for a 12" laptop~ Well, I've had mine for, what, 3 months? And so far nothing major has cropped up... however, i heard of some complaints about DELL's laptop, the screen is not tat good and easy to spoil... no durable an etc... so...do u guys experience any "serious" problem so far?? especially hardware problems (LCD, HDD, Graphic card).... i m trying to sign for the 1 year warranty...wat do they cover actually? beside, any recommendation or comment for a newbie like me?? Well, as far as the screen is concerned, with the right drivers and some tweaking, it's as vivid as my bro's Sony C series laptop (to my eyes anyway), so I don't think it's THAT bad... About the durability, it has a magnesium chassis and a magnesium lid... I guess if anybody would want more durability, get a Dell Latitude (or an IBM ThinkPad)... But there have been reports of some lemons (problematic M1210's) and some heat issues (easily rectified with a visit from your friendly neighbourhood Dell on-site repair people)... The keyboard is a bit, well, sub par... It's enormously comfortable, but my "B" key popped out a few days after receiving the M1210, so enough said... Everything else is just perfect... For me anyway... As for the warranty, if you're getting CompleteCover, it covers almost everything (including drops and spills) except for intentional damage to the laptop (accidental drops = covered), the infamous "act of god" (floods, fire, struck by lightning) and theft... And in my opinion, try to get the 3 Year option, if it's within your budget... The extended peace of mind is well worth the monetary investment... Recommendation's? Well, if your budget allows: 1) Get the GeForce 7400go if you're planning to play any form of games beyond Diner Dash or Solitaire. 2) Get the 9-cell battery = 4 hours of use (but it sticks out the back by one inch). 3) Get the webcam (as some ppl have said that there's a higher probability of getting a better quality screen if you order one with the webcam). 4) Get the 2GHz Core 2 Duo (the 4MB L2 Cache helps speed things up somewhat), and at least 2GBs of RAM (Vista chokes with 1GB, runs buttery smooth with 2). 5) Don't get the SoundBlaster Audigy whatever upgrade, it's just a software thing (I got it anyway though, not worth the money IMHO). 6) *MOST IMPORTANT* Get the 3-Year CompleteCover... 7) Think about it first, the M1330 is slimmer, faster, better looking and it's coming in a few months... Singapore? If you're staying there, buy from Dell Singapore then... Better that way... I dunno about warranty/service transfers to another country though... QUOTE(dopoD810 @ Jun 22 2007, 11:24 PM) hi to all xps sifu here. just wanna ask for ur opinion. should i get the m1210 now since the price has drop or go for the santa rosa base, benq s41 which cost rm3999? i need it for multitasking purpose, designing, 3d rendering, autocad. thanks Well, as always, it depends on what you need... The S41 has a better processor, better 3D card (M1210's GF7400go is a lot slower then the S41's GF8600GS), and santa rosa, and is comparatively cheaper then the M1210... Why? The specs that the adverts are listing is the lowest end... When you pick a better card , better processor, more RAM etc. etc. for the M1210, its price easily becomes more expensive then the S41... But if you only need it for Autocad and lightweight 3D rendering, the M1210 should be okay (but you'll have to get the GeForce 7400go upgrade for it to be worth anything)... And Dell has the best warranties in the business... That's why I got myself a Dell in the first place... If you plan to play ANY serious games, do consider the S41 though... It's 8600GS, like I previously said, is miles better then the optional 7400go that the M1210 can be configured with... This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 23 2007, 06:38 AM |
Jun 23 2007, 10:09 AM
304 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Kota Kinabalu |
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 23 2007, 06:38 AM) 3) Get the webcam (as some ppl have said that there's a higher probability of getting a better quality screen if you order one with the webcam). uh oh i just up my chances of getting a lemon lcd..i didnt get the webcam!..hm and the 2gb upgrade kinda pricey...can get for half the price if upgrade at shop right?4) Get the 2GHz Core 2 Duo (the 4MB L2 Cache helps speed things up somewhat), and at least 2GBs of RAM (Vista chokes with 1GB, runs buttery smooth with 2). hm true...but i hear the s41 is linux os?...if u want change to vista need add money again plus..these two are 2 diff classes of notebooks...if u want 14 inch go for s41...or u want smaller like 12 inch go for xps...and if u compare xps to other 12 inch laps out there..it's superior This post has been edited by AzeL: Jun 23 2007, 10:14 AM |
Jun 23 2007, 10:44 AM
1,238 posts Joined: May 2007 |
I read m1330 is coming out July 10th, hmmm and it is said it will be available globally.
Dell's m1330 impressive. At first i wouldnt mind they have the mousepad more to the left, but now almost all of em have the same feature so im sick of it. My m9700 wont be special anymore. Added on June 23, 2007, 11:51 amAzeL, dont u have desktop b4? If u have then hook up with external monitor. Better viewing and more efficiency in terms of working. Im on dual-monitor if im using single card and have to disable one when enabling SLi. This post has been edited by derred: Jun 23 2007, 11:51 AM |
Jun 23 2007, 02:31 PM
326 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Deldrimor Warcamp |
QUOTE(derred @ Jun 23 2007, 10:44 AM) I read m1330 is coming out July 10th, hmmm and it is said it will be available globally. The m1330 only has 2 USB ports compared to 4 in m1210... and the headphone jack is still located in front :\ The fingerprint scanner looks kinda out of place.Dell's m1330 impressive. At first i wouldnt mind they have the mousepad more to the left, but now almost all of em have the same feature so im sick of it. My m9700 wont be special anymore. |
Jun 23 2007, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(derred @ Jun 23 2007, 10:44 AM) dont u have desktop b4? If u have then hook up with external monitor. Better viewing and more efficiency in terms of working. Im on dual-monitor if im using single card and have to disable one when enabling SLi. ya i do actually...but the 19 inch monitor died alr...so now the desktop using the old non flat screen 15 inch monitor leftover from the previous desktop...i call that the eyeburn inducer lolsThis post has been edited by AzeL: Jun 23 2007, 03:13 PM |
Jun 23 2007, 03:10 PM
died? if its still under warranty then get a replacement for that. That 15 inch is working isnt? So sounds good to me, use it. My fren still using 17 inch Dell's CRT with his XPS. The monitor couldnt fit and tilted over the table, looks like it almost came off.
Jun 23 2007, 03:17 PM
nope it died a week or so after warranty expired...coincidence?...lol...yupe it's still working...huh that means i have to go back there into the cobwebs n dead insects and what not to unplug the cable everytime i wan connect it to the xps?...lol id rather use the 12 inch display...besides cant look long at the monitor...eyes feel weird after a few hours
uh btw what do i do when i get the laptop?...format to get rid of bloatware?,partition it?..if yes can recommend software that can partition?..can somebody teach me how to format and stuff,oh ya can i just burn the entire ms office,music,movies etc from my xp desktop to dvd and put it in the vista lappie?..or issit gona have some compatibility issues or stuff?,coz i cant find my office disc sigh, certified noob here |
Jun 23 2007, 03:36 PM
go few pages back, Eiraku have a tutorial on how to format everything, i have a couple of tuts too, but i dont think it applies to u if ur using Vista.
Windows itself can let u do the partition, but there are still alot of powerful HDD software to make partition etc. I couldnt recall by heart, it states somewhere in last month mags or sumthing, ill get back to u if im not lazy enuf to check it for u. I think there's a easy way for to transfer everything from XP to Vista, again i couldnt recall. That one is in PC gamer special summer edition. Im getting bad in memorization skills, really need to sharpen it back. |
Jun 23 2007, 04:44 PM
oooh thanks....bt dun need to drag it all out for me la...just gimme a link or sumting and ill read it up myself =)...hmm so cant just simply transfer things from xp to vista huh...need special methods...ill try googling for some answers =)
Added on June 23, 2007, 5:05 pm » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « is this the one for formatting vista? im worried about the recovery partition bit and MD not working if that's gone This post has been edited by AzeL: Jun 23 2007, 05:14 PM |
Jun 24 2007, 02:59 AM
QUOTE(AzeL @ Jun 23 2007, 04:44 PM) oooh thanks....bt dun need to drag it all out for me la...just gimme a link or sumting and ill read it up myself =)...hmm so cant just simply transfer things from xp to vista huh...need special methods...ill try googling for some answers =) That's IF you want to delete the recovery partition AND keep MD... Problems come because there's something in the RP that MD wants... Added on June 23, 2007, 5:05 pm » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « is this the one for formatting vista? im worried about the recovery partition bit and MD not working if that's gone I just delete MD (but keep the recovery partition, for some reason), not THAT useful IMHO... I can boot up Vista for my DVD playing needs... |
Jun 24 2007, 07:51 AM
744 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Slumberland |
so dell really phasing out m1210?anymore solid information to confirm this?if its true then it "might" b a good news for some. most of us will be planning on Operation-Destroying-1210-For-1310 mission with all sort of reasoning,lol. i wish i could get a new 1310 too but too sad that i might be heart shaking to "accidently" totaled my 1210...
Jun 24 2007, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 24 2007, 02:59 AM) That's IF you want to delete the recovery partition AND keep MD... Problems come because there's something in the RP that MD wants... ya the md things sounds kinda pointless too coz can just boot the lap up...but then if md gone then the cool buttons would be for show only? lols..is the recovery important?...coz if u recover using that all the bloatware and stuff would be there...or i might as well leave those 2 alone and just use add/remove program to get rid of bloatwares...oh ya my order comes with all the installation cds right?I just delete MD (but keep the recovery partition, for some reason), not THAT useful IMHO... I can boot up Vista for my DVD playing needs... QUOTE(hi54ever @ Jun 24 2007, 07:51 AM) so dell really phasing out m1210?anymore solid information to confirm this?if its true then it "might" b a good news for some. most of us will be planning on Operation-Destroying-1210-For-1310 mission with all sort of reasoning,lol. i wish i could get a new 1310 too but too sad that i might be heart shaking to "accidently" totaled my 1210... better not destroy all at once or dell might get suspicious haha |
Jun 24 2007, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(hi54ever @ Jun 23 2007, 06:51 PM) so dell really phasing out m1210?anymore solid information to confirm this?if its true then it "might" b a good news for some. most of us will be planning on Operation-Destroying-1210-For-1310 mission with all sort of reasoning,lol. i wish i could get a new 1310 too but too sad that i might be heart shaking to "accidently" totaled my 1210... hmm i dont think is as easy as that man. Especially when ur already mention it to public. I dont know if it is as easy as that. Even for warranty u need to send pictures as evidence of your claim. What if ur totaled ur system, and ur not eligible for the replacement. U'll be This post has been edited by derred: Jun 24 2007, 09:51 AM |
Jun 24 2007, 11:04 AM
6,447 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
QUOTE(hi54ever @ Jun 24 2007, 07:51 AM) so dell really phasing out m1210?anymore solid information to confirm this?if its true then it "might" b a good news for some. most of us will be planning on Operation-Destroying-1210-For-1310 mission with all sort of reasoning,lol. i wish i could get a new 1310 too but too sad that i might be heart shaking to "accidently" totaled my 1210... hey man , u paid Rm3000++ and get a world class warranty support + 12' notebook .... be appreciate dell is the only 1 who offer tis kind of warranty support in M'sia ....if everyone do the same thing like u , the so-called Operation-Destroying-1210-For-1310 mission , u wil only caused the new user hard to claim for warranty as dell will be a little bit strict for the policy ..... and pls lar , u didnt paid Rm10k for the notebook , even Sony also din offer such a complete cover for their notebook .... |
Jun 24 2007, 11:21 AM
steventan is absolutely right. Even Alienware, Dell's dearest cousin, dont have such support except for ALX systems maybe. Please be mature and responsible consumer and customer, will ya
Jun 24 2007, 11:22 AM
1,546 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jun 24 2007, 11:04 AM) hey man , u paid Rm3000++ and get a world class warranty support + 12' notebook .... be appreciate dell is the only 1 who offer tis kind of warranty support in M'sia .... Clearly, you haven't learned how to properly cheat the system.if everyone do the same thing like u , the so-called Operation-Destroying-1210-For-1310 mission , u wil only caused the new user hard to claim for warranty as dell will be a little bit strict for the policy ..... and pls lar , u didnt paid Rm10k for the notebook , even Sony also din offer such a complete cover for their notebook .... http://consumerist.com/consumer/insiders/2...ager-268831.php QUOTE(22 Confessions of a Former Dell Sales Manager) 3. Extended warranty for laptops - Do it for as long as you feasibly see using your laptop, and include accidental. Two years is typically the lifecycle from "new product" to "no longer produced/no more refurbs" though YMMV. Once your model is off the refurb site, drop it. Voila! New laptop. The standard warranty will not cover any screen defects. |
Jun 24 2007, 11:25 AM
oh ya about my question about transferring files....seem to find a good answer..sems that vista has this easy transfer thing...and i only need to install the easy transfer to my xp desktop and can use certain media to transfer the files like LAN..here's the link to what i found
http://www.windvis.com/how-to-transfer-fil...s-easy-transfer but i'm not sure if this applies to INSTALLED programs in xp to vista..like ms office...can i just move the whole ms office folder the same way? so now my question is does the windows vista dvd come with the laptop? |
Jun 24 2007, 11:31 AM
then u only got fixed spec from the cover and might be the new system that they give u will be refurbish ones. And prob that will left u only like a year warranty and eventually, u still have to afford new one for ur future usage.
Added on June 24, 2007, 11:33 amand it will not be as easy as u think. It is quite a process to replace a new one especially when it drop 2 years after the product in no longer available not even the refurbished. This post has been edited by derred: Jun 24 2007, 11:33 AM |
Jun 24 2007, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(yetieater @ Jun 24 2007, 11:22 AM) Clearly, you haven't learned how to properly cheat the system. Hahahahaha... Clearly you haven't heard that Dell read that blog post already (they even responded on Direct2Dell, Dell's own blog), so don't expect them NOT to be on their guard for "accidents"... And do you really expect them NOT to know the difference between accidents and "accidents"... http://consumerist.com/consumer/insiders/2...ager-268831.php QUOTE(22 Confessions of a Former Dell Sales Manager) 3. Extended warranty for laptops - Do it for as long as you feasibly see using your laptop, and include accidental. Two years is typically the lifecycle from "new product" to "no longer produced/no more refurbs" though YMMV. Once your model is off the refurb site, drop it. Voila! New laptop. The standard warranty will not cover any screen defects. Besides, dropping the laptop --> report send to the insurance office for further investigation --> insurance office confirm it as accident --> repair --> repair --> repair until kenot repair anymore --> then you'll get a replacement --> only get M1330 if there's absoluteeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeely no M1210 stock left... Quite a long way to cheat the system, isn't it? IMHO not worth the time and effort, so better just use your M1210 to the full until it REALLY dies on its own/by actual accident... This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 24 2007, 11:44 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0284sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:36 AM |