6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Dell XPS M1210 Support Thread #1, COD4? No problem...

AzeL
post Jun 18 2007, 05:46 PM

304 posts

erm people...should i just get the xps 1210 while it's cheap now or wait for the sure-exp-brand-new-cool 1330?..i noticed the graphic there stated only 8400 gt...thats almost comparable to a 7400 go..or issit?
AzeL
post Jun 18 2007, 08:46 PM

304 posts

whoa...thats like almost 6.4k...add summore can get asus g1s already hehe...that's way outta my budget...so i guess i better get the 1210 while its still cheap n in stock hehe...not hardcore gamer anyway and i sure don;t mind knocking settings down to med hehe...btw...any idea how long it is for them to deliver to east msia?
AzeL
post Jun 19 2007, 09:49 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 19 2007, 12:23 AM)
Most of the time, delivery to WEST Msia takes about 5-7 days (there was this lucky dude who got his in a record 3, but that's an exception to the rule), so add a few more days (say 7-10 days) for East Msia... sweat.gif

But that's just my estimate, alright?

And IMHO a HARDCORE gamer is someone who would rather mess with his game's settings and config files to get the best out of crappy hardware... I mean, isn't tweaking and adjusting everything already half of the fun?  icon_idea.gif
well at least thats a lil faster than what's estimated in the website hehe...well i'll mess with the settings alright...dun mind bumping down reso if can see pretty effects hehe...btw...can this gpu play cnc3?...i hear can play at med settings...and the dedicated memory confirm 64mb?...i read all over the place and some says its 128mb dedicated..pretty noob with this things hehe
AzeL
post Jun 19 2007, 05:53 PM

304 posts

hmm...funny i read the forums on notebookreview about that card and some say it's 128 dedicated..oh well dun care hehe

lol the free 2gb ram is the 3699 one...but if i select the 2999 one and add in 2gb ram with the built in webcam the price is like 3650+...so the promotion kinda pointless.
AzeL
post Jun 20 2007, 11:00 PM

304 posts

hey just ordered mine lol rclxm9.gif...now waiting for the confirmation of order...after get confirmation only can track it online right?...coz the one it ask me to print dun have the info needed to track online
AzeL
post Jun 21 2007, 07:35 AM

304 posts

well my dad say my max budget would be like 3500...never would have thought i could buy a 12 inch laptop with gpu for that price hehe

i forgot to take into account 2 days for order confirmation >_<...hope it arrives before i need to go somewhere early next month

anyways my specs are: T5500, 1gb ram, 120gb s-ata 5400 (free upgrade lol), vista home premium, 7400 go, sound blaster audigy, 9-cell batt, dvd-rw dual layer...didnt put the webcam tho hehe...all for RM3465 after free delivery...last time this setting 5K+?

hmm mebe sometime next year when warranty about to expire ill have some kids "accidentally" knock it down from a 2nd floor balcony...make sure it's totaled...if not...then arrange for a car to "accidentally" drive over it...then it's xps 1330 for me! lol jkjk

This post has been edited by AzeL: Jun 21 2007, 07:47 AM
AzeL
post Jun 21 2007, 09:13 AM

304 posts

yupe it's a bargain...dun mind getting it eventho new model coming out soon coz i definitely can't afford the new model de

well i don't think i can do a better job of reviewing compared eiraku notworthy.gif

now just hoping my "B" key won't pop out or something hehe

argh 2 days for confirmation...seems like ages...scare after 2 days they say cant confirm coz lack parts/out of stock parts lol...btw anyone have had any problem during confirmation of order?
AzeL
post Jun 21 2007, 04:59 PM

304 posts

oh crap i just noticed in the printout i fogot to write the city im at in the billing n shipping address doh.gif ...i sent an email to dell correcting that mistake..but do u guys think its better if i called them?

yupe derreds right...in computer stuff cant always want the latest things...if u think like that...ud be regretting every time u buy something new lor right?...besides i wanted a 12 inch lappie...m1330 is 13 inch..so..no regrets there haha
AzeL
post Jun 21 2007, 07:23 PM

304 posts

how to test it silly?...follow what you did on ur "chronicles of Dell"?...im pretty much noob when it comes to comp..just know the basics doh.gif

eh can someone answer?...is the email i sent enuf for address correction or issit better if i call them just to be sure?
AzeL
post Jun 21 2007, 09:44 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 21 2007, 09:37 PM)
Call your Sales Agent (if you have one), if not just give them a call... At least sure confirm already they got your update... Rite?
hmm did everything online so no sales agent for me i think..that's only for orders via telephone right?

which number should a call..theres a few >_<

this? 1800-88-0301

AzeL
post Jun 21 2007, 10:12 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(dingding @ Jun 21 2007, 09:53 PM)
you can call to any number actually....
they'll forward you to the correct department if you get it wrong....
but 1800-88-0301 should be the one....
juz call.... no harm trying =)
man i have this mentality of calling official looking phone numbers that always gives me the jitters sweat.gif ....like an ant asking something from an elephant (for my case im ignorant to the fact that the elephant is actually very friendly and helpful)

yea i know thats not good...but hey i called jus now and the recording asked me to call back during office hours...guess the friendly n helpful elephant is resting lol

This post has been edited by AzeL: Jun 21 2007, 10:13 PM
AzeL
post Jun 22 2007, 07:59 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Jun 21 2007, 11:29 PM)
@AzeL

u pay them a couple thousands and they promised you what they promised. It is ur right. We are not trying to be a jerk or sumthing, it is just something important to us, like ur previous posts which concern alot about the product. You actually dont have to have such feelings or miserable, so just call em, they will assist u. I thot tech support is 24/7, probably u r not considered as customer yet as u has not received the product. So prob in ur case, ur just still in order phase, that would be under Sales and Marketing or wuteva it shud be. Definitely not tech support or sumthing.
yea i realise that...now im just waiting office hours to call them...following the choices in the recording my prob is System Sales i think so no 24/7 for that...oh and the order tracking is only when ur order have been confirmed right?....still waiting for confirmation...the agony of waiting! (bane of buying online lawls)...last time bought books online...was in the dark for weeks and weeks until it arrived, no info whatsoever >_<...so kinda phobia now lol

hmm small gaming mouse?...i have big hands so i dun like small mouseys...looks like im just cupping my hands and moving them on the table hehe...i thought logitech quality better than A4tech?..i had a few A4tech mouse over the years and ALL of them died on me within months >_<

edit : call them up already...its in preproduction...still cant seem to track my order online though

This post has been edited by AzeL: Jun 22 2007, 10:50 AM
AzeL
post Jun 22 2007, 04:06 PM

304 posts

wow so detailed a discussion about mouse...for me as long as it moves okay and doesnt have a mind of it's own to wander about (my school office BALL mouse doh.gif, it's ALIVE!) im a happy guy haha...well if the in flight meal tables not large enuf can always use the mouse on another surface...my fren used his thick textbook as a surface when he's in the express bus (and bus no table again lawl)
AzeL
post Jun 23 2007, 12:23 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(asrolsani @ Jun 22 2007, 08:47 PM)
received it this afternoon. all i can say is WOW rclxm9.gif
will do the test....
walaoweh so fast u get and u ordered on monday shocking.gif ...mine still in preproduction sobs

QUOTE(ahteok @ Jun 22 2007, 10:46 PM)
hi every 1... i m getting myself a laptop for the 1st time...still wondering which and wat to buy... found this XPS in newspaper...find it is quite cheap and worth to buy for a 12" laptop~

however, i heard of some complaints about DELL's laptop, the screen is not tat good and easy to spoil... no durable an etc...

so...do u guys experience any "serious" problem so far?? especially hardware problems (LCD, HDD, Graphic card).... i m trying to sign for the 1 year warranty...wat do they cover actually?

beside, any recommendation or comment for a newbie like me??
well if ur unlucky then u might have serious problems..but so far i read the whole thread no one complained of serious defects yet (touch wood) laugh.gif ...besides...thats what the completecover is for and what derred said about the 14day rule

the best case scenario in a worst case scenario is u find out something really serious within 14 days...then u can ask for a replacement laptop lor rclxm9.gif

dopod arh...if u have money to buy s41 then by all means get it...if u have limited budget like me and don't really care about santa rosa and dx-10..then xps shud be ok for u thumbup.gif

ps:it just occured to me that the xps series sound like weapon names lawl...like Barret M109 whistling.gif

This post has been edited by AzeL: Jun 23 2007, 12:29 AM
AzeL
post Jun 23 2007, 10:09 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 23 2007, 06:38 AM)
3) Get the webcam (as some ppl have said that there's a higher probability of getting a better quality screen if you order one with the webcam).

4) Get the 2GHz Core 2 Duo (the 4MB L2 Cache helps speed things up somewhat), and at least 2GBs of RAM (Vista chokes with 1GB, runs buttery smooth with 2).

uh oh i just up my chances of getting a lemon lcd..i didnt get the webcam!..hm and the 2gb upgrade kinda pricey...can get for half the price if upgrade at shop right?

hm true...but i hear the s41 is linux os?...if u want change to vista need add money again

plus..these two are 2 diff classes of notebooks...if u want 14 inch go for s41...or u want smaller like 12 inch go for xps...and if u compare xps to other 12 inch laps out there..it's superior

This post has been edited by AzeL: Jun 23 2007, 10:14 AM
AzeL
post Jun 23 2007, 02:56 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Jun 23 2007, 10:44 AM)
dont u have desktop b4? If u have then hook up with external monitor. Better viewing and more efficiency in terms of working. Im on dual-monitor if im using single card and have to disable one when enabling SLi.
ya i do actually...but the 19 inch monitor died alr...so now the desktop using the old non flat screen 15 inch monitor leftover from the previous desktop...i call that the eyeburn inducer lols

This post has been edited by AzeL: Jun 23 2007, 03:13 PM
AzeL
post Jun 23 2007, 03:17 PM

304 posts

nope it died a week or so after warranty expired...coincidence?...lol...yupe it's still working...huh that means i have to go back there into the cobwebs n dead insects and what not to unplug the cable everytime i wan connect it to the xps?...lol id rather use the 12 inch display...besides cant look long at the monitor...eyes feel weird after a few hours blink.gif

uh btw what do i do when i get the laptop?...format to get rid of bloatware?,partition it?..if yes can recommend software that can partition?..can somebody teach me how to format and stuff,oh ya can i just burn the entire ms office,music,movies etc from my xp desktop to dvd and put it in the vista lappie?..or issit gona have some compatibility issues or stuff?,coz i cant find my office disc sigh, certified noob here doh.gif
AzeL
post Jun 23 2007, 04:44 PM

304 posts

oooh thanks....bt dun need to drag it all out for me la...just gimme a link or sumting and ill read it up myself =)...hmm so cant just simply transfer things from xp to vista huh...need special methods...ill try googling for some answers =)

Added on June 23, 2007, 5:05 pm

is this the one for formatting vista?

im worried about the recovery partition bit and MD not working if that's gone

This post has been edited by AzeL: Jun 23 2007, 05:14 PM
AzeL
post Jun 24 2007, 09:20 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 24 2007, 02:59 AM)
That's IF you want to delete the recovery partition AND keep MD... Problems come because there's something in the RP that MD wants... sweat.gif

I just delete MD (but keep the recovery partition, for some reason), not THAT useful IMHO... I can boot up Vista for my DVD playing needs... icon_rolleyes.gif
ya the md things sounds kinda pointless too coz can just boot the lap up...but then if md gone then the cool buttons would be for show only? lols..is the recovery important?...coz if u recover using that all the bloatware and stuff would be there...or i might as well leave those 2 alone and just use add/remove program to get rid of bloatwares...oh ya my order comes with all the installation cds right?

QUOTE(hi54ever @ Jun 24 2007, 07:51 AM)
so dell really phasing out m1210?anymore solid information to confirm this?if its true then it "might" b a good news for some. most of us will be planning on Operation-Destroying-1210-For-1310 mission with all sort of reasoning,lol. i wish i could get a new 1310 too but too sad that i might be heart shaking to "accidently" totaled my 1210...
better not destroy all at once or dell might get suspicious haha

AzeL
post Jun 24 2007, 11:25 AM

304 posts

oh ya about my question about transferring files....seem to find a good answer..sems that vista has this easy transfer thing...and i only need to install the easy transfer to my xp desktop and can use certain media to transfer the files like LAN..here's the link to what i found

http://www.windvis.com/how-to-transfer-fil...s-easy-transfer

but i'm not sure if this applies to INSTALLED programs in xp to vista..like ms office...can i just move the whole ms office folder the same way?

so now my question is does the windows vista dvd come with the laptop?

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.2600sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:54 PM