63 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

Dell XPS M1210 Support Thread #1, COD4? No problem...

n20nine
post Jun 22 2007, 01:06 AM

909 posts

hey guys,

just wanna ask, for those of you who have the 1.3MP Logitech webcam, how is the quality? Mine is simply horrendous. The noise is exorbitantly high. It certainly does not justify the price paid for it. My previous webcam, 0.3MP made by AVF does wayyyyyy better than this. Everyone facing the same thing or is it only me? Appreciate the answers.

NewbieBetta
post Jun 22 2007, 02:20 AM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

with good light environment,the webcam performe well..clear..totally clearer then 0.3mp webcam
TSEiraku
post Jun 22 2007, 02:37 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(asrolsani @ Jun 22 2007, 12:13 AM)
Hello,
Add me into the list.... i've ordered it on monday and will receive it tomorrow...
my configuration:
Processor:Core 2 Duo T7200
Operating System: Windows Vista Home Premium
Warranty Options: 1Yrs XPS Premier Service + 1Yrs CompleteCover
Display: 12.1" Wide Screen XGA TFT Display With TrueLife(tm) - 1280 x 800
RAM: 2x512MB DDR2 667MHz Dual Channel SDRAM
SATA Hard Drives: 120GB 5400rpm (free upgrade)
Internal Optical Drives: Internal 8x DVD +/- RW Combination Drive with dual layer write Capabilities
Bluetooth Module: Dell(tm) Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module
Wireless Network Connection: Intel (R) PRO/ Wireless 3945ABG Dual-Band 802.11a/b/g 54Mbps Wireless Mini Card
Sound: Intergrated SigmaTel Sound Card
Video Solution: Intel GMA 950 (up to 224MB Shared)
Primary Battery: 6-cell 56Whr Lithium Ion Primary Battery
No case
free delivery
Total: Rm3,682.00....  what a bargain! isn't it?
Roger that... Enjoy your buy, and don't forget to test it thouroughly in the first 14 days (The 14 Day Rule), so that you can claim for a replacement (or a refund) if anything goes wrong... icon_rolleyes.gif

Welcome to the club... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(n20nine @ Jun 22 2007, 01:06 AM)
hey guys,

just wanna ask, for those of you who have the 1.3MP Logitech webcam, how is the quality? Mine is simply horrendous. The noise is exorbitantly high. It certainly does not justify the price paid for it. My previous webcam, 0.3MP made by AVF does wayyyyyy better than this. Everyone facing the same thing or is it only me? Appreciate the answers.

I don't have it so can't comment... Sorry... icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on June 22, 2007, 2:39 amMORE A4TECH X7 MOUSE SAGA UPDATES: Well, I FINALLY found a stable way to customize the X7's side mouse button... I had to download AutoHotKey, and modify a couple of script files to come up with my own... icon_rolleyes.gif

Now, the X7 mouse buttons do the following:

4th = Page Up
5th = Page Down
Double Click Middle = Flip3D
Click + Hold Middle = Minimize All Windows
Windows Key + Alt + X = Toggle script on and off (theoretically good for Far Cry)

... and that's only the beginning... I can even slave Click + Hold 4th & 5th buttons to Cut & Paste, but decided otherwise (can sooo easily cut and paste by accident)... sweat.gif

For people who are interested (AutoHotKey is one of the best, most flexible hot-key programs I know of), I can't quite do a HOW TO for AutoHotKey cause it's just toooo technical (even I'm just trial-and-error'ing), but I can give quick hints to people who want to:

a) Create hot keys to launch programs, minimize windows, etc. etc.
b) Remap multi-button mice without the (sometimes bloated) bundled software (Logitech = SetPoint, Microsoft = Intellimouse)

The whole thing only eats up 2MB while running, and (as of rite now) is rock stable in Vista... icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on June 22, 2007, 2:59 am
QUOTE(derred @ Jun 21 2007, 11:29 PM)

Added on June 21, 2007, 11:30 pm@Eiraku,

could it bcoz of Vista? U think? haih
Well, truth be known, I think they just didn't think much when they integrated the X7 control panel into the mouse control panel (thus overriding the Synaptics options)... Even in XP I think people would experience the same thing... sweat.gif

Thank God for AutoHotKey... Working fine as of rite now... icon_rolleyes.gif

EDIT: Works fine (suspended) in Far Cry too!

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 22 2007, 03:12 AM
derred
post Jun 22 2007, 03:13 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

I would support if u want to do the how-to's bcoz i myself will get a gaming mouse, say in, next year? I need to try every mouse out there to ensure comfortability b4 buying online. That's one of the disadvantages of buying things online. Haih.
TSEiraku
post Jun 22 2007, 03:36 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Jun 22 2007, 03:13 AM)
I would support if u want to do the how-to's bcoz i myself will get a gaming mouse, say in, next year? I need to try every mouse out there to ensure comfortability b4 buying online. That's one of the disadvantages of buying things online. Haih.
If you want good gaming mice for cheap, the A4Tech line-up (especially the higher end lasers) is seriously well worth the money... I think they're also selling it under the OCZ brand over there in the States... OCZ Equalizer or something (rebranded A4Tech laser mice), comes with a loooong extended warranty... icon_rolleyes.gif

Personally I think they're more comfortable then the Razer and Logitech lineup, but I'm just biased against huge mice (I mean, who else makes mini, notebook sized gaming mice?) so I don't think my preference speaks for anything... sweat.gif

But I've long had this fascination with mice (not gaming, just normal ones) and I've gone through a couple, with the ranking going something like this (for people who are interested):

But yeah, it's a totally subjective experience... And buying online robs you of the oppertunity to test so that you can find out if that particular mouse is the right mouse for you... sweat.gif
derred
post Jun 22 2007, 03:42 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

yup, thats why i need to test each one before i buy it. So it might skip this year for me to get a longer-lasting mouse (for my use). I own razer krait i bought at lowyat like 2 years ago. Couldnt stand it especially while having important matches! damn u krait. But still have to give it a credit for some aces and clutch that sometimes just hit at the right moment.
TSEiraku
post Jun 22 2007, 04:19 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Jun 22 2007, 03:42 AM)
yup, thats why i need to test each one before i buy it. So it might skip this year for me to get a longer-lasting mouse (for my use). I own razer krait i bought at lowyat like 2 years ago. Couldnt stand it especially while having important matches! damn u krait. But still have to give it a credit for some aces and clutch that sometimes just hit at the right moment.
Hmm... I nearly got a Krait myself, shame it didn't have any extra buttons... Then it was the MX518, shame it was too big... The life of a Technophile... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 22 2007, 04:20 AM
AzeL
post Jun 22 2007, 07:59 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Jun 21 2007, 11:29 PM)
@AzeL

u pay them a couple thousands and they promised you what they promised. It is ur right. We are not trying to be a jerk or sumthing, it is just something important to us, like ur previous posts which concern alot about the product. You actually dont have to have such feelings or miserable, so just call em, they will assist u. I thot tech support is 24/7, probably u r not considered as customer yet as u has not received the product. So prob in ur case, ur just still in order phase, that would be under Sales and Marketing or wuteva it shud be. Definitely not tech support or sumthing.
yea i realise that...now im just waiting office hours to call them...following the choices in the recording my prob is System Sales i think so no 24/7 for that...oh and the order tracking is only when ur order have been confirmed right?....still waiting for confirmation...the agony of waiting! (bane of buying online lawls)...last time bought books online...was in the dark for weeks and weeks until it arrived, no info whatsoever >_<...so kinda phobia now lol

hmm small gaming mouse?...i have big hands so i dun like small mouseys...looks like im just cupping my hands and moving them on the table hehe...i thought logitech quality better than A4tech?..i had a few A4tech mouse over the years and ALL of them died on me within months >_<

edit : call them up already...its in preproduction...still cant seem to track my order online though

This post has been edited by AzeL: Jun 22 2007, 10:50 AM
unknowndevices
post Jun 22 2007, 01:24 PM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(n20nine @ Jun 22 2007, 01:06 AM)
hey guys,

under good lighting...can say good...but under dark areas...really bad... shakehead.gif
example of photo by my webcam:

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Jun 22 2007, 02:20 AM)
with good light environment,the webcam performe well..clear..totally clearer then 0.3mp webcam
tested my friend's 0.3mp webcam...the picture quality is good...but slow during recording... sweat.gif
compared with 1.3mp webcam...slightly better(for me)...picture isn't that good... sad.gif
really wondering if lighting really playing a big roll during recording or what... hmm.gif

but overall...i like the design with webcam built-in...no problems to worry as nothing to attach...ugly having all wires around the XPS... icon_rolleyes.gif
but cool having everything built-in... thumbup.gif
derred
post Jun 22 2007, 01:54 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

i think about the webcam, it has nothing to do with the pixel. Pixel is just to capture how clear and sharp ur picture is, and th playback will be smoother (like 30 frames per sec etc) so the yellow problem might be caused by white balance. Things like computer, camera they dont have brain so they dont know how to distinguish that, so i pratically dont know how to set the white balance on ur XPS. My suggestion is try Skype and when trying the video beta, try to check the box "auto white balance" or sumthing like that or u can manually do it urself.

I dont know if this is true, it just a theory as i have a camera that need to manually change the white balance according to our preference. From unknowndevice pic, it looks like it is a white balance issue, try to change to a light bulb temp(I dont remember how many K is that) i think by doing that u will be getting whiter pics. If u want as clear as the sun burns the field, change it to highest K given etc.

Added on June 22, 2007, 1:58 pmabout the mouse, im thinking habu or logitech. Wanna give em a try since razer disappoint me. Krait to be exact. I need a comfy mouse that built for right-handed user.

This post has been edited by derred: Jun 22 2007, 01:58 PM
TSEiraku
post Jun 22 2007, 02:43 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(AzeL @ Jun 22 2007, 07:59 AM)
yea i realise that...now im just waiting office hours to call them...following the choices in the recording my prob is System Sales i think so no 24/7 for that...oh and the order tracking is only when ur order have been confirmed right?....still waiting for confirmation...the agony of waiting! (bane of buying online lawls)...last time bought books online...was in the dark for weeks and weeks until it arrived, no info whatsoever >_<...so kinda phobia now lol

hmm small gaming mouse?...i have big hands so i dun like small mouseys...looks like im just cupping my hands and moving them on the table hehe...i thought logitech quality better than A4tech?..i had a few A4tech mouse over the years and ALL of them died on me within months >_<

edit : call them up already...its in preproduction...still cant seem to track my order online though
Hmm... I didn't say that Logitech had less quality then A4Tech, I just said that A4Tech was more feature packed (and comfortable too) for the price and therefore a heck more value for money... icon_rolleyes.gif

But I guess A4Tech managed to up the production quality somewhat nowadays: the X7 doesn't really feel THAT cheap... It's part of the premium gaming line, so I guess that's expected... But about them dying after a few months, well, I hope not... If it does die, though, that's what the 1-year warranty is for... icon_rolleyes.gif

I need them small cause I just feel huge mice are a waste of desk space (and I don't have a lot of THAT) and luggage space (I carry my lappy around a lot)... But in terms of comfort, yeah, I guess no small mouse can take the place of a well designed mouse... Plus the fact that the cables on the MX518 and G5 (fabric covered, very durable looking) are just super... icon_rolleyes.gif

The flimsy ones on my X7 sometimes worry me... sweat.gif

QUOTE(derred @ Jun 22 2007, 01:54 PM)

Added on June 22, 2007, 1:58 pmabout the mouse, im thinking habu or logitech. Wanna give em a try since razer disappoint me. Krait to be exact. I need a comfy mouse that built for right-handed user.
Habu = Huge, not so comfortable IMHO... Get a Logitech MX518 (cheap, but optical and wired), G5 (more expensive and still wired, but laser) or G7 (most expensive, wireless and laser)... All 3 are really comfortable for righties, and Logitech makes mice with the best wires on earth... icon_rolleyes.gif

And give the Razer DeathAdder a shot, although its a bit large, it looks comfy to me... For one thing, it uses infrared tech in place of lasers = theoretically better tracking... For another, it's designed for right-handers (something the Krait, Diamondback and Copperhead was NOT designed for)... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 22 2007, 02:44 PM
derred
post Jun 22 2007, 02:49 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

I read somewhere about the "on the plane" mice which u can move like an inch and the cursor already move like to the other end of the screen. I think its the ProType by razer if im not mistaken. That definitely suits u i think.
TSEiraku
post Jun 22 2007, 03:02 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Jun 22 2007, 02:49 PM)
I read somewhere about the "on the plane" mice which u can move like an inch and the cursor already move like to the other end of the screen. I think its the ProType by razer if im not mistaken. That definitely suits u i think.
If what you mean is the ProClick, it's just a rebranded Copperhead (if I'm not mistaken), sold for much much more (just because it's entirely white? Ah the Ipod generation)... icon_rolleyes.gif

And I only have a 12 inch screen... Even 1000DPI would be enough, 2000DPI (Copperhead, the higher end A4Tech mice) would just be overkill... It'll be like playing CS with sensitivity set to full... sweat.gif

Ah, it's been a while since I last played CS... It was an obsession back in high school, skipping class to play, "pow"ing my tuition teacher a bit for the money to play after tuition (she was a really nice lady)... Those were the days... nod.gif
derred
post Jun 22 2007, 03:11 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

lol not that one, it is definitely a small mice that is made certainly for "on the flight" meals table. It is not even at their official site as i can search for now. I think i read somewhere in the mag and got some insider email about it. I'll check and get back to u later.
yetieater
post Jun 22 2007, 04:03 PM

pur.skill
1,546 posts

Did you guys see the new XPS m1330 pictures on Engadget? Two photos were taken from a Chinese forum earlier today, and some more were just posted. Take a look!

http://www.engadget.com/2007/06/22/dells-m...retail-july-10/
AzeL
post Jun 22 2007, 04:06 PM

304 posts

wow so detailed a discussion about mouse...for me as long as it moves okay and doesnt have a mind of it's own to wander about (my school office BALL mouse doh.gif, it's ALIVE!) im a happy guy haha...well if the in flight meal tables not large enuf can always use the mouse on another surface...my fren used his thick textbook as a surface when he's in the express bus (and bus no table again lawl)
asrolsani
post Jun 22 2007, 08:47 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 22 2007, 02:37 AM)
Roger that... Enjoy your buy, and don't forget to test it thouroughly in the first 14 days (The 14 Day Rule), so that you can claim for a replacement (or a refund) if anything goes wrong... icon_rolleyes.gif

Welcome to the club... thumbup.gif
received it this afternoon. all i can say is WOW rclxm9.gif
will do the test....
ahteok
post Jun 22 2007, 10:46 PM

31 posts

hi every 1... i m getting myself a laptop for the 1st time...still wondering which and wat to buy... found this XPS in newspaper...find it is quite cheap and worth to buy for a 12" laptop~

however, i heard of some complaints about DELL's laptop, the screen is not tat good and easy to spoil... no durable an etc...

so...do u guys experience any "serious" problem so far?? especially hardware problems (LCD, HDD, Graphic card).... i m trying to sign for the 1 year warranty...wat do they cover actually?

beside, any recommendation or comment for a newbie like me??
SUSdopoD810
post Jun 22 2007, 11:24 PM

319 posts

hi to all xps sifu here. just wanna ask for ur opinion. should i get the m1210 now since the price has drop or go for the santa rosa base, benq s41 which cost rm3999? i need it for multitasking purpose, designing, 3d rendering, autocad. thanks
AzeL
post Jun 23 2007, 12:23 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(asrolsani @ Jun 22 2007, 08:47 PM)
received it this afternoon. all i can say is WOW rclxm9.gif
will do the test....
walaoweh so fast u get and u ordered on monday shocking.gif ...mine still in preproduction sobs

QUOTE(ahteok @ Jun 22 2007, 10:46 PM)
hi every 1... i m getting myself a laptop for the 1st time...still wondering which and wat to buy... found this XPS in newspaper...find it is quite cheap and worth to buy for a 12" laptop~

however, i heard of some complaints about DELL's laptop, the screen is not tat good and easy to spoil... no durable an etc...

so...do u guys experience any "serious" problem so far?? especially hardware problems (LCD, HDD, Graphic card).... i m trying to sign for the 1 year warranty...wat do they cover actually?

beside, any recommendation or comment for a newbie like me??
well if ur unlucky then u might have serious problems..but so far i read the whole thread no one complained of serious defects yet (touch wood) laugh.gif ...besides...thats what the completecover is for and what derred said about the 14day rule

the best case scenario in a worst case scenario is u find out something really serious within 14 days...then u can ask for a replacement laptop lor rclxm9.gif

dopod arh...if u have money to buy s41 then by all means get it...if u have limited budget like me and don't really care about santa rosa and dx-10..then xps shud be ok for u thumbup.gif

ps:it just occured to me that the xps series sound like weapon names lawl...like Barret M109 whistling.gif

This post has been edited by AzeL: Jun 23 2007, 12:29 AM

63 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0247sec    1.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:01 PM