197 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!

swn525
post Mar 5 2018, 09:15 AM

877 posts

QUOTE(~mingwei~ @ Mar 5 2018, 08:23 AM)
Hi, been searching hi and low but can't find any. How can I get from Narita terminal 2 airport to Ryogoku station? I plan to stay at Daiichi Hotel Ryogoku as they provide free shuttle to Disneyland. Your help is very much appreciated. Thank you
should no problem if 2 transit station
narita to ueno (skyliner train)
ueno to ueno-okachimachi (line G, just one station, change line E)
ueno-okachimachi to ryogoku (line E)
~mingwei~
post Mar 5 2018, 09:41 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(Chaud @ Mar 5 2018, 10:12 AM)
Hi, thanks.. is the transport cover by Pasmo-Suica card?
tohff7
post Mar 5 2018, 09:47 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

Only 1 month to go and I only did detailed route planning up to 5th day (out of 14 days) rclxub.gif

Welcome any feedbacks or comments

swn525
post Mar 5 2018, 09:53 AM

877 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Mar 5 2018, 09:47 AM)
Only 1 month to go and I only did detailed route planning up to 5th day (out of 14 days)  rclxub.gif

disneyland & disneysea should put together, then you can buy 2 days ticket with discount
don't have tokyo skytree & tokyo tower??
Chaud
post Mar 5 2018, 09:56 AM

1,119 posts

Only 1 month to go and I only did detailed route planning up to 5th day (out of 14 days)  rclxub.gif

i 1 month to go but still haven't plan yet laugh.gif

DisneySea and Disneyland I think can go on the same day since they open at 8am and close at 10pm

This post has been edited by Chaud: Mar 5 2018, 10:50 AM
Belphegor
post Mar 5 2018, 10:10 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(midnightsunray @ Mar 3 2018, 06:01 PM)
BTW, the currency exchange from RM to Yen has risen quite high these past two weeks. Nasib baik I already bought my Yen but my mum still wants to buy more.
IMO anything below RM37.50 still worth to change. But entirely up to you to gauge between the rate and the travel date. Just make sure you don't press panic button like my friend here. laugh.gif *hint hint*

Anyone been to Kabukicho in Shinjuku? I heard there is good ramen restaurants there. I'm going with my 60 plus year old mum so I don't know if it's appropriate since it's a red light district.
I stayed at Kabukicho with my gf last year February. I was worried at first but proved that I worry for nothing. The place is safe and no people kacau us, except some blacks who came to me and ask you want to happy?, despite my gf was beside me laugh.gif But needless to worry if you only go Kabukicho for ramen, just try not to stay until too late as nothing good comes after late night. innocent.gif

We are ramen freaks so I think I'll be hunting down ramen-ya throughout my trip. Normally, I go for tonkotsu soup base as I find it's the most tasty.

Let me know! Thanks smile.gif
Guess you need not to be introduce to Ichiran and Afuri right? laugh.gif Can consider Rinrin ramen shop located north of Tokyo. One of the cheapest and tastiest ramen and they serve gyoza as well.

If you are tempura hunter as well, can consider Kamakura's Tempura opposite Budhha statue or Shinjuku's Tempura Tsunahachi Shinjuku Main Store

Hope my suggestions aided a little to your upcoming trip! thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(Chaud @ Mar 5 2018, 09:56 AM)
i 1 month to go but still haven't plan yet laugh.gif

DisneySean and Disneyland I think can go on the same day since they open at 8am and close at 10pm
IMO if you are only planning to check the place out, yes you can. If you planning to play all the facilities, you definitely need to split two days. The queue are at least 1 hour and above if you do not have any fast pass.

This post has been edited by Belphegor: Mar 5 2018, 10:11 AM
~mingwei~
post Mar 5 2018, 10:48 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(swn525 @ Mar 5 2018, 10:15 AM)
should no problem if 2 transit station
narita to ueno (skyliner train)
ueno to ueno-okachimachi (line G, just one station, change line E)
ueno-okachimachi to ryogoku (line E)
Estimate time of arrival? Cos i'm going to do the same return to airport as my flight is at 10.30am. btw..all the transport you mention can use Suica card?
swn525
post Mar 5 2018, 10:54 AM

877 posts

QUOTE(~mingwei~ @ Mar 5 2018, 10:48 AM)
Estimate time of arrival? Cos i'm going to do the same return to airport as my flight is at 10.30am. btw..all the transport you mention can use Suica card?
for return, if your luggage heavy, take lift will use more time, estimate 2 hours better
quadcube
post Mar 5 2018, 11:27 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Mar 2 2018, 05:42 PM)
Can anyone recommend place for kobe beef in Osaka? budget 3k JPY per pax. Too many to choose from  rclxub.gif
Osaka Kuromon market.

if go Kobe, better prepare 17k/pax brows.gif
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 5 2018, 11:45 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

I suggest Ghibli on a weekday instead of weekend. Over the weekday I went, it's already packed, if you go on a weekend, there'll be even more people.

As for ShirakawaGo... if you go after Winter, it's usually just the greens and gassho zukuri houses. Winter is the most beautiful there, but since you have already made plans... no harm.

For Takayama, I recommend this restaurant for dinner: Tenaga Ashinaga Hommachi
I don't take beef but friends said the beef was good. The noodle and chashu meal is ichiban as well.

Ginza is best over the weekend, to enjoy the pedestrian's heaven. However if it's hard to rearrange the schedule, just leave it. Odaiba is also a nice place if you can make time for it.

*P/S: Lastly, theme parks or high energy activities are best to be placed in the early phase of the trip as you're still fresh and excited. Towards the end of a trip you're usually tired and worn out, so going to a theme park will probably sap even more of your energy.

tohff7
post Mar 5 2018, 12:11 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Mar 5 2018, 11:45 AM)
I suggest Ghibli on a weekday instead of weekend.  Over the weekday I went, it's already packed, if you go on a weekend, there'll be even more people.

As for ShirakawaGo... if you go after Winter, it's usually just the greens and gassho zukuri houses. Winter is the most beautiful there, but since you have already made plans... no harm.

I don't take beef but friends said the beef was good. The noodle and chashu meal is ichiban as well.

Ginza is best over the weekend, to enjoy the pedestrian's heaven. However if it's hard to rearrange the schedule, just leave it. Odaiba is also a nice place if you can make time for it.

*P/S: Lastly, theme parks or high energy activities are best to be placed in the early phase of the trip as you're still fresh and excited. Towards the end of a trip you're usually tired and worn out, so going to a theme park will probably sap even more of your energy.
Ohh, I still can swap Ghibli Museum around (initially) but I think there shouldn't be much different between weekdays and weekend? Since their tickets practically got sold out on all days anyway. Planning to have a more chillax day before hitting DisneySEA

I split DisneySEA and Disneyland for 2 reasons. One is because Tokyo Disneyland 35th Celebration only starts after 15 Apr. 2nd reason - I can book back the same hotels and ask them to keep my big luggage till my return back to Tokyo. brows.gif Plus, I can't really move the other timing around (Takayama Festival, Kurobe Alpine Route)...

Energy level should be alright for Disneyland since I just planning to chill in Shirakawago and Takayama...unless Kurobe Alpine Route crowd hit me hard rclxub.gif

GF is not a fan of paying for visiting towers, hence the skip over Tokyo Tower or Skytree
jeff10012003
post Mar 5 2018, 01:00 PM

Format Complete
2,117 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Mar 5 2018, 11:27 AM)
Osaka Kuromon market.

17k as in yen or myr??
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 5 2018, 01:02 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Mar 5 2018, 12:11 PM)
Ohh, I still can swap Ghibli Museum around (initially) but I think there shouldn't be much different between weekdays and weekend? Since their tickets practically got sold out on all days anyway. Planning to have a more chillax day before hitting DisneySEA

I split DisneySEA and Disneyland for 2 reasons. One is because Tokyo Disneyland 35th Celebration only starts after 15 Apr. 2nd reason - I can book back the same hotels and ask them to keep my big luggage till my return back to Tokyo.  brows.gif Plus, I can't really move the other timing around (Takayama Festival, Kurobe Alpine Route)...

Energy level should be alright for Disneyland since I just planning to chill in Shirakawago and Takayama...unless Kurobe Alpine Route crowd hit me hard  rclxub.gif

GF is not a fan of paying for visiting towers, hence the skip over Tokyo Tower or Skytree
Hahahahaha coz Ghibli is very loved by the Japanese and comes as no surprise to see parents bringing their children there on weekend. Sometimes there will be school trips there too. Generally weekday will have a smaller crowd as far as I know. Yes on the tickets. You can get them online now. Ticket Sales are open 1-2 months in advance, on the 10th of every month @ 9am Japan time (if I'm not mistaken). You'll notice the earliest slot sells out very fast - within minutes sometimes. Friends commented it could be scalpers.

Hmm best to do both Disney together so that you don't have to travel there twice and it's certainly more enjoyable at the beginning of the trip. Also, I heard you can bring outside food/ drinks in except alcohol. So if you don't want to queue in the restaurants for food, just tapau bento or something in. But I guess dining there is also part of the enjoyment wink.gif

Are you staying overnight in ShirakawaGo? If yes then yep you'll get to chill. First time ever in Japan, I actually slept @ 930pm... because there is basically nothing to do at night. We chat and laughed, watched some TV and then it's bed time sweat.gif

Tokyo Skytree Tower has a mall attached to it - Solamachi Mall. It's a nice place to shop or even take a walk. The 2F (forgot ady, it's the F&B area), I think the Food Marche, has lots of souvenirs you can buy home - Tokyo Banana, Castella cakes, It even has a Ghibli store. You can dine upstairs 6th Floor and grab a bite at Toriton (kaiten sushi), it's one of the most popular sushi place in Tokyo: http://www.tokyoeats.jp/kaitensushi-toriton/

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Mar 5 2018, 01:05 PM
quadcube
post Mar 5 2018, 01:56 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(jeff10012003 @ Mar 5 2018, 01:00 PM)
17k as in yen or myr??
17k yen laugh.gif that's for a decent one..I seen pricier ones

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Mar 5 2018, 11:45 AM)
I suggest Ghibli on a weekday instead of weekend.  Over the weekday I went, it's already packed, if you go on a weekend, there'll be even more people.

must try Hida beef at Takayama, one of my favourite drool.gif
jeff10012003
post Mar 5 2018, 01:59 PM

Format Complete
2,117 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Mar 5 2018, 01:56 PM)
17k yen laugh.gif that's for a decent one..I seen pricier ones
rm600++ is still acceptable.
well japan is indeed the land of real kobe/wagyu so spending that amount is still worth it.

midnightsunray
post Mar 5 2018, 02:43 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Mar 3 2018, 11:57 PM)
Well... as long as its related to Japan, I have no issue  unsure.gif
Most people who had been to Tokyo would not miss Kabukicho. Its relatively safe and fine, not as per your image of Chow Kit (I guess?). Dont worry and just bring your mum there. At the most you will see some yakuza but they are not an issue if you dont cause trouble.

Also, be careful not to fall for "cheap" buffet or eat-all-you-can in the area. Some of them are scams.
Alright, thanks for the tips!
Green_lemontea
post Mar 5 2018, 03:01 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(Neo|ofGeo @ Mar 4 2018, 04:19 PM)
Hey~!

Just want to ask how's clothing wise in Tokyo for middle of march?

i been to Tokyo in dec before and wear wind breaker+2 layer can tahan most of the days
but middle of march seem like hovering 17-19 and 5 at coldest
anyone been in this period have advice?
I've just came back from Japan and was there for 2 weeks, mostly in Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto, Nara and Fuji.
The last day before I fly back to KL from Tokyowas around 18 degree Celsius during afternoon, and was around 12 during night time (~9pm-ish).

You wouldn't need more than a sweater for your upper body during day time but for night time, you will need a decent windbreaker plus a tee shirt. It's just the strong wind.

Neo|ofGeo
post Mar 5 2018, 03:14 PM

Stop Complaining and Read
3,142 posts

thumbup.gif
thanks for the advice

kinda feel lonely without the extra pocket this time but at least i can travel lighter.

it's been awhile Tokyo wub.gif
Lynixx
post Mar 5 2018, 04:08 PM

Gooner
1,916 posts

2 more weeks to Osaka,

now feel excited yet nervous, scared will get lost and difficult to communicate with japanese.
mugenz
post Mar 5 2018, 04:48 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Mar 5 2018, 11:27 AM)
Osaka Kuromon market.

A5 grade?

There are some affordable ones like steakland. Even some restaurants do serve lunch menu from 4K yen to 8k yen for dinner menu for normal kobe beef (150gram with soup, grill vege, rice and fruits).

I think not everyone can afford A5 grade but going to visit kobe but still can try of kobe beef for normal grade without burning hole in the pocket.

If going to chinatown of Kobe, there are some small shops that serve kobe beef as snacks.

This post has been edited by mugenz: Mar 5 2018, 04:49 PM

197 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0393sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:17 PM