5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!

mugenz
post Jan 29 2018, 12:06 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 29 2018, 09:46 AM)
USD > JPN > KRW are fix rate
No matter how economy of world change. The rate are fix since World War 2. Because Japan & Korea are US little bro.
Japan & Korean Currency are control by US

1 USD = 100 Yen Since 1945 // 1 USD = 1000 Won since 1953

If you used MYR to USD to JPN...you losing alot money.
Ic. Initially i thought of exchange some USD for emergency, thought that will get better rates.
Can i change MYR in Japan?

mugenz
post Jan 29 2018, 12:25 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Jan 29 2018, 12:23 PM)
Its very difficult to find a shop that do except MYR. As this is for emergency use, you should not think about the rates. You can also use your credit card or just bring more yen.
True dat. But like RegentCid said if really change into USD might lose alot. Well then i will just change extra more.
According to Japan Guide, CC is not widely used?
mugenz
post Jan 29 2018, 12:44 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

https://www.japan-guide.com/sakura/

Alamak Osaka prediction is April 3 to April 11 and i am arriving April 11, 2018. Hope it delay for a few days
mugenz
post Jan 29 2018, 11:18 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

Yo guys,

i still planning my trip. I will arrive KIX - Osaka - Tokyo - Narita - Malaysia.

It seems that flying from KIX to Narita seems more budget than using train.
Flying is around RM400 for 2 pax while train for 2 pax one way is around RM900.

Did i miss something.

Those who stay at Airbnbs, how the overall cleanliness?
Any hotels within RM200 budget to recommend for Tokyo?

mugenz
post Jan 30 2018, 09:59 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Jan 30 2018, 09:22 AM)
You can use credit card in shopping malls. Most of the time electronic stores like Bic Camera or yodobashi have discount of up to 8% if you use MasterCard or Visa- cannot remember which one. As for extra charges I dont think so. Maybe there is but you wont see it in your CC statement. Better to check with your bank.
Thats correct. There are lots of low cost carrier in Japan now, thats why the low cost. Also the train you are taking is a bullet train. Hence the price. If possible, try to find flight to Haneda instead as its much close to the city.
Trying to finalize all the JR usage and see if it meets the 7days pass.

7 Days Nationwide Pass - RM1000 x 2 pax = RM2000

My initial plan:-
1. Use JR Kansai Wide pass (5 days) - RM321 x 2 = RM642 - with this pretty covers all transportation within Osaka - kyoto - Himeji - Kobe - Nara right? Most attractions recommended to be assessed via JR line.
2. Air tickets KIX to Narita x - RM155 x 2 = RM400 (Include baggage allowance and plus plus)
3. Tokyo Subway pass 72 hours pass - RM55 x 2 = RM110 (Do i need use JR line in tokyo city? subway pass would be sufficient?)
4. Extra for others airport transportation (go back KIX and from Narita)- RM200

Total = RM1352 vs RM2000 7 days pass which cant cover my whole trip as i will be there for 10days.

Did i miss any thing out?
mugenz
post Jan 30 2018, 10:01 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Jan 30 2018, 09:22 AM)
You can use credit card in shopping malls. Most of the time electronic stores like Bic Camera or yodobashi have discount of up to 8% if you use MasterCard or Visa- cannot remember which one. As for extra charges I dont think so. Maybe there is but you wont see it in your CC statement. Better to check with your bank.
Thats correct. There are lots of low cost carrier in Japan now, thats why the low cost. Also the train you are taking is a bullet train. Hence the price. If possible, try to find flight to Haneda instead as its much close to the city. As for hotel, you might be able to get some guesthouse or hostel with share toilet at that price.
With RM200 budget for April season, probably to get Airbnb in Tokyo? 1 bed with toilet studio?

mugenz
post Jan 30 2018, 11:29 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 30 2018, 11:18 AM)
mugenz it depends where you stay in Tokyo. For me, I normally stay near yamanote and/or chuo JR line, so normally I don't bother with the metro pass.
Ah... Just saw Chuo line. Seems majority of the attractions can be accessed.
If just pay by travel without pass it wont be expensive rite?

Coz now i still thinking need get those JR pass. Really dont see we gonna spend almost to the price of 7 days JR pass.
mugenz
post Feb 1 2018, 02:56 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

Those who stayed in Lake Kawaguchi,

Can recommend nice place to stay? Nice view of Mt. Fuji and onsen.

mugenz
post Feb 1 2018, 05:04 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Feb 1 2018, 04:32 PM)
From your experience, is there anything to do during the visit to Lake Kawaguchi? Cause I was there last year and I only did a day trip instead of overnight trip. I don't find there much stuff to do except for scenery viewing. hmm.gif
In fact this is what i thought as well. Personally its about relax , scenery and having a dip in the hotspring.
mugenz
post Feb 1 2018, 10:43 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Feb 1 2018, 09:32 PM)
It's mostly just sight-seeing and scenery.

I stayed in Hakone the day before, then check-out roughly 10-11am. Shop and eat and Gotamba around late afternoon before reaching my hotel around 5-6pm. Next morning, I visited Mt.Kachi-Kachi Ropeway and also the Fuji Shibazakura Festival before going back to Tokyo

I think some people went for Fuji-Q Highland theme park since it's nearby also

EDIT
Just remember that there's another famous spot but might be abit of a hassle to access - Chureito Pagoda
Oh ya the festival. I think I will be able to visit it as well.
The pagoda seems to be good visit, but I read that it can be so packed till won't get a good view of the scenery
mugenz
post Feb 5 2018, 03:36 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(swn525 @ Feb 5 2018, 01:36 PM)
can, some JR train need buy special fast ticket only
but why? kyoto already have bus pass, cover most area in kyoto, just 500 yen per day
osaka pass is most worth,1 day 2500 yen, 2 days 3300 yen, cover all subway & attraction, example osaka castle, osaka castle cruise, Tsutenkaku Tower, Umeda Sky Building Floating Garden.

i only use ICOCA with some JR train & a bit subway only

remember buy ICOCA with Haruka, then choose special design on ICOCA
Kyoto Bus pass where can we buy this? need pre-book or just go there and buy?

As for Osaka Pass, will still be worth if only Osaka Castle? Maybe we decide to wonder around the outside. Does it include Osaka Kaiyukan?

My initial plan is just ICOCA & Haruka then just top up and travel around.

Kix - Kyoto
Kyoto - Osaka
Osaka - Kobe
Kobe -Osaka
Osaka - Kix

I will be staying around Nipponbashi area. Most likely using subway more than JR line.
mugenz
post Feb 5 2018, 03:37 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

Any budget/average RM250 - RM300 per night accommodation in Kyoto to recommend?

Which area will be ok?
I am looking at Gion Shoji station.
mugenz
post Feb 6 2018, 12:01 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Feb 5 2018, 11:16 PM)
Icoca just a touch n go card. You can get it at Convenience store or Icoca vending Machine (AKA Top Up Machine)
I plan to buy the Icoco via Klook. But it doesnt come with Haruka, Hence can i buy separately? or need order them together via the form.
In order for it to work need buy together?. I read that Icoca & Haruka can be purchased via Kansai Airport. Not sure that need pre-order

mugenz
post Feb 7 2018, 12:42 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(royalz @ Feb 7 2018, 12:10 PM)
Hi, I already purchase 7 days JR Pass. Tokyo - Osaka- Kyoto -Tokyo. So thought of maximizing the usage by staying in Osaka (more nightlife) and do day trip for Kyoto visit via bullet train (shin-osaka - kyoto) about 15 mins. This plan okay?  smile.gif
Its gonna be very rush for a day trip. Most attraction need use bus plus waiting time and walking in, the crowd.
Unless you plan to touch and go. For eg, Fushimi Inari Shrine will take hours to walk up and come down. Arashimaya attractions like Scenic train ride or the boat ride will also take 2 hours.
mugenz
post Feb 7 2018, 11:48 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

Some ppl's travel preference main priority is FOOD! attraction is just 2nd.

mugenz
post Feb 8 2018, 10:53 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

Anyone been to Hitachi flower farm place in Ibaraki? Far from tokyo? worth make a trip just to see the flowers?
mugenz
post Feb 14 2018, 12:00 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Feb 13 2018, 06:26 PM)
Travel Japan using package (travel agent) vs own travel, actually can save how much ?

I'm poor at travel itinerary planning, might leave it to travel agent
The reason why ppl use travel agent.
1. lazy to plan
2. too huge group hard to coordinate
3. elders cant walk too much

Self plan-
1. Get to do what you want.

Not about cost saving. Sometimes tour can be cheaper in sense they can get group tickets (depends how much tour agent wanna earn from the margin)
mugenz
post Feb 20 2018, 04:30 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(april @ Feb 20 2018, 03:56 PM)
anyone use this sim card before? is this good? connection fast in osaka/kyoto?

http://www.11street.my/productdetail/japan...rom=cart%5Elist
Still Softbank which is majority the provider for 4G wifi from Klook.
mugenz
post Mar 5 2018, 04:48 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Mar 5 2018, 11:27 AM)
Osaka Kuromon market.

if go Kobe, better prepare 17k/pax brows.gif
A5 grade?

There are some affordable ones like steakland. Even some restaurants do serve lunch menu from 4K yen to 8k yen for dinner menu for normal kobe beef (150gram with soup, grill vege, rice and fruits).

I think not everyone can afford A5 grade but going to visit kobe but still can try of kobe beef for normal grade without burning hole in the pocket.

If going to chinatown of Kobe, there are some small shops that serve kobe beef as snacks.

This post has been edited by mugenz: Mar 5 2018, 04:49 PM
mugenz
post Mar 5 2018, 05:18 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Mar 5 2018, 05:09 PM)
yea, since I purposely travel down to Kobe from Kanazawa laugh.gif although the price is almost double the one I had in Ginza, the difference is just so obvious

on a side note, usually I can get a pack of A-5 wagyu for less than 2k yen from the local supermarket. just grill with a little salt, black pepper n roast garlic drool.gif
Damn! Good idea as well, I will staying in Airbnb, ishould able to just grill via electrical stove.
Will be going Kobe just for half day. Gonna have it for lunch then come back. If that's the case, why not just buy a slab from supermarket and come back cook lol~

Local supermarket in Kobe?

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:48 AM