Official Honda Civic 10th Gen Owner/Fans Club V7, 10th Gen Dream Machine

mcchin
post Jan 3 2018, 11:20 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jan 3 2018, 11:07 AM)
Banyak mafan ehhhh. Makes me think twice whether nak add the back wing or not liao hmm.gif

Claim warranty for other part of the car also need to putty back? Or only when claim warranty for the back part? hmm.gif
well
depends on thing

like the tinting
they can claim unauthorised installation can have water seepage to the electronics below the dash

the rear spoiler has brake light
so unauthorised installation with connection can claim to short out the system

the SC can play the 6-degree game,link this to that to invalidate the warranty
becos simply, any warranty claim to honda will be scrutinized

if honda dont wan to honor, also cannot do anything

matmoto5125
post Jan 3 2018, 11:23 AM

Silent Reader
1,305 posts

If it involves drilling or wiring, I would go to SC. Like the sports pedal I installed. Outside shop only RM70++ with installation. SC charge RM200++ with installation. Of course material/quality also different as SC one is from Honda Access.

Up to owners really.
Newbie838
post Jan 3 2018, 11:29 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 3 2018, 10:06 AM)
i tested it once lol.

was driving very low speed (2-3kmh) and it produce "krekkkk....." noise and stopped the car
same.i got 5 months period
Did you follow 5 months or just stick to 6?
hihihehe
post Jan 3 2018, 11:30 AM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(Newbie838 @ Jan 3 2018, 11:29 AM)
my mileage is approaching soon so i dont bother for now
Newbie838
post Jan 3 2018, 11:30 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(isr25 @ Jan 3 2018, 10:14 AM)
Last service was oil change + preventative maintenance? should be 6 months...

Yeah. Since I don't use the car much I always hit 6 months before the MM is due. Last service was A+10k. Next will be B+20K.
It should be ok for me to ignore what the SC is saying and stick to 6 months right? I wrote to Honda Malaysia but they're not replying.
Duckies
post Jan 3 2018, 11:33 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,798 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Jan 3 2018, 11:20 AM)
well
depends on thing

like the tinting
they can claim unauthorised installation can have water seepage to the electronics below the dash

the rear spoiler has brake light
so unauthorised installation with connection can claim to short out the system

the SC can play the 6-degree game,link this to that to invalidate the warranty
becos simply, any warranty claim to honda will be scrutinized

if honda dont wan to honor, also cannot do anything
QUOTE(matmoto5125 @ Jan 3 2018, 11:23 AM)
If it involves drilling or wiring, I would go to SC. Like the sports pedal I installed. Outside shop only RM70++ with installation. SC charge RM200++ with installation. Of course material/quality also different as SC one is from Honda Access.

Up to owners really.
I don't mind paying extra for the ease of mind but the Honda don't have the back wing that I want wo. Can buy outside and ask them to pasang? lol biggrin.gif
TSisr25
post Jan 3 2018, 11:39 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Newbie838 @ Jan 3 2018, 11:29 AM)
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 3 2018, 11:30 AM)
my mileage is approaching soon so i dont bother for now
I'd recommend to always follow the original Honda maintenance schedule - 6 months or 10,000KM, whichever is first. They have no basis to ask you to do later or earlier - unless Honda Malaysia comes out with a different maintenance advisory, but so far, none yet.
mcchin
post Jan 3 2018, 11:46 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jan 3 2018, 11:33 AM)
I don't mind paying extra for the ease of mind but the Honda don't have the back wing that I want wo. Can buy outside and ask them to pasang? lol biggrin.gif
well
the honda wing spoiler is quoted RM 1.6K+
outside you can get ~20-30% cheaper

but then why would SC help you pasang.
The RM 1.6K also included with the installation fee

so SC is obligated to pasang for you
outside model you pay outside, not money to honda pocket
Duckies
post Jan 3 2018, 11:53 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,798 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Jan 3 2018, 11:46 AM)
well
the honda wing spoiler is quoted RM 1.6K+
outside you can get ~20-30% cheaper

but then why would SC help you pasang.
The RM 1.6K also included with the installation fee

so SC is obligated to pasang for you
outside model you pay outside, not money to honda pocket
If only they have the back wing that I want cry.gif I don't mind paying for installation fee if I bring my own back wing and it doesn't void warranty thing.

Sadly I guess it just doesn't work that way.
mcchin
post Jan 3 2018, 11:59 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jan 3 2018, 11:53 AM)
If only they have the back wing that I want  cry.gif I don't mind paying for installation fee if I bring my own back wing and it doesn't void warranty thing.

Sadly I guess it just doesn't work that way.
it really down to your SC/SA

if yours is simply spoiler and the only thing is hole drilling
then if there is issue with the front part, engine, electrical etc

should not be effected by the installation

but, again, down to your SA/SC to fight for your case, if it happens

apa design you are looking at?
andyshim89
post Jan 3 2018, 12:45 PM

my SC send all honda car to 3rd party accesories shop to do tinted, modulu bodykits.. if void warranty, then dont know la.. but if your car dint have purchase spoiler list in system, then it can be a issue that void your warranty
Duckies
post Jan 3 2018, 01:26 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,798 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Jan 3 2018, 11:59 AM)
it really down to your SC/SA

if yours is simply spoiler and the only thing is hole drilling
then if there is issue with the front part, engine, electrical etc

should not be effected by the installation

but, again, down to your SA/SC to fight for your case, if it happens

apa design you are looking at?
Tu Civic Type R mia spoiler lo. Or something similar.
Newbie838
post Jan 3 2018, 01:38 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(isr25 @ Jan 3 2018, 11:39 AM)
I'd recommend to always follow the original Honda maintenance schedule - 6 months or 10,000KM, whichever is first. They have no basis to ask you to do later or earlier - unless Honda Malaysia comes out with a different maintenance advisory, but so far, none yet.
Thanks. That's what I thought as well. I don't see the point of servicing a month early.

This post has been edited by Newbie838: Jan 3 2018, 01:38 PM
vez
post Jan 3 2018, 02:06 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Jan 3 2018, 03:30 AM)
Lol why buy car n worried  bout RV etc? Jus enjoy it lah, my previous cars all n current yr end but still can sell at damn good price after 6yrs loss almost 50% frm new price. With civic one of the best RV models lagi  dint hv to worry in future smile.gif
no la, i m not worried, just giving some opinions, in fact i bought a year end car also on 2017 biggrin.gif
just opinion on if one car owner decided change car every 4-5 years, year end car make some impact, if drive for 8-9 years++, make lesser impact on RV smile.gif

RV also depends on other factors like accident free, car condition... etc, year of manufacturer is one of it only biggrin.gif

my previous toyota vios is beginning of year Jan car, after 9 years, the second market boss told me, if year end and Jan, just diff RM2k lol meaning 2008 Dec vs 2009 Jan, RM2k diff haha

This post has been edited by vez: Jan 3 2018, 02:07 PM
bcteh
post Jan 3 2018, 02:34 PM

481 posts

I think those opt for 0w-20 engine oil into their turbo civic is going to be disaster.
0w-20 meant for low rev and save fuel and it provide the least protection.
I don't think the engine will last long if you always use the turbo.

For those who always high rev and drive fast, better get 5w-30 or 10w-30 for better protection. 10w-30 also quite fuel economical also.

This post has been edited by bcteh: Jan 3 2018, 02:36 PM
JasonTheGreat
post Jan 3 2018, 02:37 PM

832 posts

Anyone signed up with TMCC at kepong to wash car?
Want some review
jamespaul
post Jan 3 2018, 02:40 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(bcteh @ Jan 3 2018, 02:34 PM)
I think those opt for 0w-20 engine oil into their turbo civic is going to be disaster.

For those who always high rev and drive fast, better get 5w-30 or 10w-30 for better protection. 10w-30 also quite fuel economical also.
If the oil used by Honda is good oil, and if the car's tolerance is designed for 0w-20 oil, the car will be fine.

Using thicker oil, will make your less efficient. Also, if you use thinner "W" oil, it's better for start up.

Use thicker oil, if you are going to track the car for extra protection.
DM3
post Jan 3 2018, 02:41 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,620 posts

its ok, new engine should use thinner oil and shouldn't be a prob, just trust HM
jamespaul
post Jan 3 2018, 02:45 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Jan 3 2018, 02:41 PM)
its ok, new engine should use thinner oil and shouldn't be a prob, just trust HM
Exactly
TSisr25
post Jan 3 2018, 02:49 PM

1,263 posts

Seriously, how often do you run at maximum boost? If you drive at the track, or almost always run at 4K rpm or higher, by all means, go get the higher priced 10w30 to protect your engine.

90% of the drivers here are sensible enough to just save their money, and just get the 0w-20 - which still protects the engine properly. You can still drive hard, sure, but 99% of the time I drive, I just drive normally to save on fuel costs.

as per the FAQ on page 1: What type of engine oil should I use for my new Honda Civic?
Honda recommends that you use a Genuine Honda Motor Engine Oil or another commercial engine oil of suitable SAE viscosity for the ambient temperature of the country. Your Honda Civic is compatible with 0W-20, 0W-30, 5W-30 and 10W-30 viscosity rating oils. However, it is recommended that you use 0W-20 oil as it is formulated to improve fuel economy.

1091 Pages « < 67 68 69 70 71 > » Top

0.0903sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:03 PM