Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion

ecocana P
post Mar 28 2021, 03:13 AM

Probation

QUOTE(yeohkc @ Mar 21 2021, 10:44 PM)
Hi sifus,

I’m interested to buy a folding bikes from taobao directly. Just wondering will there be any additional tax to be paid upon arrival in Malaysia or anything to be pay attention to?

Thanks!
Bought whole unit bikes from Taobao before by sea delivery, no extra tax is charged upon arrival
siauann
post Apr 15 2021, 08:33 AM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

anyone know if Tern P10 Kinetix wheelset is ready to upgrade to 11 speed cassette? im currently using the P10 wheelset on my Dahon Kone and a 9 speed cassette. thinking to upgrade to 11 speed
BOTAK_WAI
post Apr 15 2021, 06:28 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,128 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Apr 15 2021, 08:33 AM)
anyone know if Tern P10 Kinetix wheelset is ready to upgrade to 11 speed cassette? im currently using the P10 wheelset on my Dahon Kone and a 9 speed cassette. thinking to upgrade to 11 speed
why upgrade from 9s to 11s?
siauann
post Apr 16 2021, 07:55 AM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Apr 15 2021, 06:28 PM)
why upgrade from 9s to 11s?
to use close ratio cassette 11s on high gear biggrin.gif
BOTAK_WAI
post Apr 16 2021, 08:49 AM

Blow Water First Class
4,128 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Apr 16 2021, 07:55 AM)
to use close ratio cassette 11s on high gear  biggrin.gif
10speed 11-28t already can mah

This post has been edited by BOTAK_WAI: Apr 16 2021, 08:49 AM
azamunekurone
post Apr 16 2021, 10:01 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Apr 16 2021, 07:55 AM)
to use close ratio cassette 11s on high gear  biggrin.gif
buy 2 casette with what cog u want. then mix both casette,.

i've done that with my fnhon setup,.
custom 11-18 8speed with +1t jump, at 1st im thinking about going for 9s. but 9s better 10s. but since its 16", why do i need so many gear?

so i mix 11-23 and 11-28. later for climbing i can put 11-28 and follow what ratio i want

this is 11-28 casette originally

and this setup after i mix with 11-23

as u can see on the bike

very small and tiny woooo

and still looks handsome laugh.gif
andrewhtf
post Apr 16 2021, 10:08 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Apr 16 2021, 10:01 AM)

custom 11-18 8speed with +1t jump, at 1st im thinking about going for 9s. but 9s better 10s. but since its 16", why do i need so many gear?

so i mix 11-23 and 11-28. later for climbing i can put 11-28 and follow what ratio i want

as u can see on the bike

kaki kuat pepah boleh la pakai cassette kecik2

kaki lembik mcm aku je terpaksa pakai cassette sampai 32t/34t cry.gif
siauann
post Apr 16 2021, 10:39 AM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Apr 16 2021, 08:49 AM)
10speed 11-28t already can mah
i only need close ratio on high gear. hehe. tongue.gif
28t not enough for me. at least 30 or 32.
siauann
post Apr 16 2021, 10:41 AM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Apr 16 2021, 10:01 AM)

as u can see on the bike

my existing cassette only the last 3 pcs is removable. 11, 12, 13
the rest is fix together.
i dont need full close ratio. at least the high are close then ok already hehe
BOTAK_WAI
post Apr 16 2021, 11:44 AM

Blow Water First Class
4,128 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Apr 16 2021, 10:39 AM)
i only need close ratio on high gear. hehe.  tongue.gif
28t not enough for me. at least 30 or 32.
i don't understand.

10 speed cassette 11-28T not enough?
you need more top speed or what?
if want climb why not downsize chainring?

11-12-13-14-15-17-19-21-24-28

if pair with 46T chainring on 406 20"

11T = 84 gear inches
12T = 77 gear inches
13T = 71 gear inches
14T = 66 gear inches
15T = 61 gear inches

28T = 33 gear inches

46T ÷ 11T x 1490mm x 90 rpm x 0.00006 = 33.6km/h already lo

if pair with 45T chainring on 406 20"

11T = 82 gear inches
12T = 75 gear inches
13T = 69 gear inches
14T = 64 gear inches
15T = 60 gear inches

28T = 32 gear inches

45T ÷ 11T x 1490mm x 90 rpm x 0.00006 = 32.9km/h already lo

compare to bro azam fnhon setup

11-12-13-14-15-16-17-18

if pair with 53T chainring on 349 16"

11T = 86 gear inches
12T = 79 gear inches
13T = 73 gear inches
14T = 67 gear inches
15T = 63 gear inches
16T = 59 gear inches
17T = 55 gear inches
18T = 52 gear inches

53T ÷ 11T x 1300mm x 90 rpm x 0.00006 = 33.8km/h already lo

if pair with 39T chainring on 349 16" (he got dual chainrings)

11T = 63 gear inches
12T = 58 gear inches
13T = 53 gear inches
14T = 50 gear inches
15T = 46 gear inches
16T = 43 gear inches
17T = 41 gear inches
18T = 39 gear inches

This post has been edited by BOTAK_WAI: Apr 16 2021, 12:24 PM
Justin.Loong
post Apr 16 2021, 11:55 AM

8,293 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Apr 16 2021, 10:08 AM)
kaki kuat pepah boleh la pakai cassette kecik2

kaki lembik mcm aku je terpaksa pakai cassette sampai 32t/34t  cry.gif
I'm also using 32T la weiii... cry.gif sad.gif
siauann
post Apr 16 2021, 12:27 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Apr 16 2021, 11:44 AM)
i don't understand.

10 speed cassette 11-28T not enough?
you need more top speed or what?
if want climb why not downsize chainring?

11-12-13-14-15-17-19-21-24-28

if pair with 46T chainring on 406 20"

11T = 84 gear inches
12T = 77 gear inches
13T = 71 gear inches
14T = 66 gear inches
15T = 61 gear inches

28T = 33 gear inches

46T ÷ 11T x 1490mm x 90 rpm x 0.00006 = 33.6km/h already lo
if pair with 45T chainring on 406 20"

11T = 82 gear inches
12T = 75 gear inches
13T = 69 gear inches
14T = 64 gear inches
15T = 60 gear inches

28T = 32 gear inches

45T ÷ 11T x 1490mm x 90 rpm x 0.00006 = 32.9km/h already lo
chill bro... relax.. i just wanna check if my hub length can accommodate the 11sp cassette or not. if can then i will go for it. if cannot then i will just use 10sp. smile.gif
and i mention i need close ratio on the high gear. so on the low side if have 30 or 32 will be good for climbing
looking at 11sp - 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 19, 21, 24, 27, 30
more is always better than less no? so at the end of the day if cannot take 11sp then 10 sp is good enough rolleyes.gif

BOTAK_WAI
post Apr 16 2021, 12:35 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,128 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Apr 16 2021, 12:27 PM)
chill bro... relax.. i just wanna check if my hub length can accommodate the 11sp cassette or not. if can then i will go for it. if cannot then i will just use 10sp.  smile.gif
and i mention i need close ratio on the high gear. so on the low side if have 30 or 32 will be good for climbing
more is always better than less no? so at the end of the day if cannot take 11sp then 10 sp is good enough  rolleyes.gif
have you think of chainline angle…

sometimes dual chainrings setup will be better.

i have to emphasize again on downsize chainring, if you insist to keep the 52T chainring, of course you need 30T or 32T and more gears to get your so called close ratio on high gear because you will seldom use 11, 12, or even 13.

calculate your comfort gear inches and then you can decide from there which chainring size and cassette combo will be the best balance setup.

This post has been edited by BOTAK_WAI: Apr 16 2021, 12:47 PM
siauann
post Apr 16 2021, 12:45 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Apr 16 2021, 12:35 PM)
have you think of chainline angle…

sometimes dual chainrings setup will be better.
good u remind me of this. need to reconsider this as well. maybe will affect too much on the chainline angle hmm.gif
BOTAK_WAI
post Apr 16 2021, 12:50 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,128 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Apr 16 2021, 12:45 PM)
good u remind me of this. need to reconsider this as well. maybe will affect too much on the chainline angle  hmm.gif
downsize chainring bro...then only consider change the cassette.

once you downsize chainring then you will comfortable to ride with your 9 speed cassette 11,12,13.

This post has been edited by BOTAK_WAI: Apr 16 2021, 12:56 PM
siauann
post Apr 16 2021, 01:20 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Apr 16 2021, 12:50 PM)
downsize chainring bro...then only consider change the cassette.

once you downsize chainring then you will comfortable to ride with your 9 speed cassette 11,12,13.
currently using 451 wheels and using 50t x 11-32t cassette. cassette size is 11,12,13,15,18,21,24,28,32
i have actually down size from 53t to 50t. maybe need downsize to 48t further? hehe

somehow i felt if i have the extra 14t in and also the extra 16/17t in current setup will helps a lot during riding. tongue.gif
so far using the 32t climbing is ok. so far have not encounter any steeper hills in my area that the 32t cannot handle.
BOTAK_WAI
post Apr 16 2021, 01:49 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,128 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Apr 16 2021, 01:20 PM)
currently using 451 wheels and using 50t x 11-32t cassette. cassette size is 11,12,13,15,18,21,24,28,32
i have actually down size from 53t to 50t. maybe need downsize to 48t further? hehe

somehow i felt if i have the extra 14t in and also the extra 16/17t in current setup will helps a lot during riding.  tongue.gif
so far using the 32t climbing is ok. so far have not encounter any steeper hills in my area that the 32t cannot handle.
if i say 42T will you have a try?

see, you think you feel more comfortable if you have 14T, means 11,12,13 are heavy for your comfortness.

you prefer to have 14T to 17T close ratio because the gear inches is around 65 to 80, that's most people comfort gear inches too on cruising.

in order to ride in the 11,12,13 close ratio range, you really need downsize chainring to 42T.

not sure if you could get 42T easily or not but most 42T is from 52T/42T dual chainrings.

i do have a 41T single chainring, because i can't get 42T so i bought this.

This post has been edited by BOTAK_WAI: Apr 16 2021, 02:08 PM
CanonLee
post Apr 16 2021, 02:43 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Apr 16 2021, 12:27 PM)
chill bro... relax.. i just wanna check if my hub length can accommodate the 11sp cassette or not. if can then i will go for it. if cannot then i will just use 10sp.  smile.gif
more is always better than less no? so at the end of the day if cannot take 11sp then 10 sp is good enough  rolleyes.gif
I am using Kinetix Pro X wheelset but just 406 with shimano 11sp cassette

better to confirm with LBS as well or just bring along the rear wheel / whole bike for test fit
Bujal.x
post Apr 16 2021, 03:00 PM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Apr 16 2021, 01:49 PM)
if i say 42T will you have a try?

see, you think you feel more comfortable if you have 14T, means 11,12,13 are heavy for your comfortness.

you prefer to have 14T to 17T close ratio because the gear inches is around 65 to 80, that's most people comfort gear inches too on cruising.

in order to ride in the 11,12,13 close ratio range, you really need downsize chainring to 42T.

not sure if you could get 42T easily or not but most 42T is from 52T/42T dual chainrings.

i do have a 41T single chainring, because i can't get 42T so i bought this.
42t not overkill ka?

my 15kg minivelo 406 x 2.3 with 46t chainring cruising with 11,12,13t pun feel so light already
BOTAK_WAI
post Apr 16 2021, 03:09 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,128 posts

QUOTE(Bujal.x @ Apr 16 2021, 03:00 PM)
42t not overkill ka?

my  15kg minivelo 406 x 2.3 with 46t chainring cruising with 11,12,13t pun feel so light already
37-451 = 1615mm

46T ÷ 11T x 1615mm x 90 rpm x 0.00006 = 36.5km/h

42T ÷ 11T x 1615mm x 90 rpm x 0.00006 = 33km/h

i saw fb group ppl showing average speed (not top speed) for 451 wheelset max pun around 28km/h je

ride santai at 75rpm
42T ÷ 11T x 1615mm x 75 rpm x 0.00006 = 28km/h dah

This post has been edited by BOTAK_WAI: Apr 16 2021, 03:19 PM

188 Pages « < 185 186 187 188 >Top

0.0197sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:00 PM