Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion

CanonLee
post Nov 19 2018, 10:12 AM

202 posts

Dear sifus,
new to bike communities and actually got myself an used tern verge.
i am thinking to change the crankset first. Did some searching and reading some blogs/forums. Final stage should be upgrade to double chainrings but i would like to go with just 1 single chainring at the time being. therefore seek you guys advices; is it Shimano 105 with 53/39 is a good buy? Can i use Ultegra FD-6800 (11 speeds) to pair with 105 double chainrings in the future?
CanonLee
post Nov 19 2018, 03:31 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(Bujal.x @ Nov 19 2018, 10:19 AM)
sure.most foldies use 53/39t and ultegra pair with 105 crankset also no problem
thank you very much for the input.
with Ultegra FD pair with 105 crankset, i believe 2x11 speed is achievable with the correct wheelset.
CanonLee
post Nov 21 2018, 09:49 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(Bujal.x @ Nov 19 2018, 06:04 PM)
Just make sure your wheel hub can accommodate 11 speed cassete as most stock wheelset only support max 9/10 speed cassete
QUOTE(fatani @ Nov 19 2018, 06:28 PM)
Change freehub jer. Settle
any recommendations for freehub? I have checked many wheelsets in market places, seems mostly support upto 10s.
CanonLee
post Nov 21 2018, 10:05 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(KenC @ Nov 20 2018, 06:02 PM)
Most people "upgrade" because "other people got". "Upgrade" imho an overused sales pitch. I personally prefer to call it modification and customize to your needs.
Before you decide on what to buy, you must determine what you want to achieve. What brand which model is secondary. Nowadays with Pak Google and Mak YouTube, you can find out the comparability.
Are you lacking gears for climbing hill? Get bigger cog and/or smaller chainring. You can ever swap to smaller wheels!
Lacking speed on flat? Bigger chainring and/smaller
Or too fast on downhill? High too much low too little?.... Etc etc etc....
But then again, many buy because it looks great and got face…
you are certainly right. now using stock 1x8s shimano claris (52t, 11-32t) and working on my "leg set".
Not really the best ride but definitely more than OK i will say. I am actually still riding alone and never join any group yet because i do not think i am qualify right now. I do not know my leg's capability but i am sure that i am not going to over-stress my leg set. What i can do is to train as fit as i can.
Upgrade/modification/customize of bike is a arguably long stories with many excuses and reasons. I will say i need my bike to have more versatile for every conditions/circumstances. Of course it does look great and rider got face too.
Pak G and Mak YT are both answered my doubt but i also need to join the forum as well. ask questions of course is much easier to blend in am i right?
CanonLee
post Nov 21 2018, 10:29 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(KenC @ Nov 21 2018, 02:59 PM)
52T, 11-32t 8 speed is good for many terrains, but also depend on your "leg set". If I were in your position, I would start with a hear rate monitor and a GPS bicycle computer. I am personally using a cheap and cheerful IGPSPORT iGS10 ~RM180, HRM strap around RM100. Optional is a cadence sensor at about RM60.
Whole lot cheaper than the cheapest Bryton which is cheapest of all until igsport show up.
From it you can measure your actual condition and customize your training, exercise and bike accordingly.
If you are technical geek, you can read up on "gear inch" when it comes to gear ratio decisions.
I no face wan… all my bike are ugly besi buruk + chap ayam parts concoction.
*PS, I use 52/36T, 11-34t, because I am old and obese… 36t is mostly unused. Yes, 11-36t freewheel cassette is available. Can delay spending money on free hub change.
many thanks for your info. have not look into these equipment yet but after this will look around.
i am not a geek freak and not really monitoring my exercise heart rate condition. i do play badminton and basketball sometimes.

just doing some studies and have not decide on upgrade/mod/customize my bike yet. might just get use to the bike and train my leg set first. get my bullets ready and aim the bull-eye. like i said, spend 1 time on 1 thing is enough.
CanonLee
post Nov 21 2018, 10:33 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(tcb2010 @ Nov 21 2018, 03:27 PM)
Hi Canon,

Im the guy you talked to and pointed u to the Verge...we meet again in forum..haha.

Lots of sifus here can advise and guide you on the upgrades..no worries.
For the money, u definitely made a great buy. As u are new into foldies, you probably dont realise yet how good ride the Verge is, until u start riding most within the price bracket +/- that u paid for.

And of course the brand and model does matters..just like everything else in life..just how much u place the importance in them, and every different things we place different priorities.

Getting the bike is one, now upgrading and modifications will be a new journey..the expectations and needs will grow as you gets better, and peer pressure..enjoy...
thanks bro once again! enjoying the ride for sure. Solid and firm!

Like what you said, now time to connect to the forum and get some info for next journey.

Gonna do it slowly but aim for 1 time change with the correct component.
CanonLee
post Nov 21 2018, 10:44 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Nov 21 2018, 08:36 PM)
Climbing + big range between cogs = mtb cassette
Close ratio = road cassette. Train your leg to get stronger, any hill oso can climb with road cassette.

Pick one that suits your preferred riding style. What suits us most may not suit your needs. It's all about preference.

I personally prefer close ratio for road riding. Offroad, obviously MTB.

I've used 8 speed with 11-32, than convert it to 2x8, then convert it to 2x10. Was the 8 speed sufficient? Yes. Then why change? Having extra gears is not a bad thing. It is useful. And for my usage, 32 cog is a bit of an overkill. Changed it to 25 and 28. On my early days, i even used deore groupset on my foldie. 11-36!!..in the end, i bought an mtb frame and transferred it there. Where it is most suitable at. For my kind of riding lah. You dont have to do what i did.

Normally, 10 speed is more than enough for foldies. But, still if want to use the 11 speed groupsets, the only thing that you need to find is the 11 speed freehub.
i am just a casual rider right now. As time goes by, my knee is getting worse as a result of some sport activities. therefore most probably time to cycle.
i only planning for road ride and therefore smooth gear change is a plus.

i dont really want to make few turns to get to the right path and therefore upgrade to the best available components (of course with affordable price). If 11s freehub is not really difficult to source then might just straight go to the 11s groupset.

CanonLee
post Dec 21 2018, 10:38 AM

202 posts

Dear sifu,
need some advises. My Tern N8 had chain dropped recently. Precisely 2 times within a short distance. Chain dropped at front crank and towards outside when i use the smallest cog.
Current setup:
R7000 crankset without FD
Shimano Claris 8 speeds at the back
FYI, my ride has modded the wheelset as well

This post has been edited by CanonLee: Dec 22 2018, 10:37 AM
CanonLee
post Dec 21 2018, 03:18 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(tcb2010 @ Dec 21 2018, 12:16 PM)
Canon,

Since ur running the 105 crankset, as single chainring..u will need the some sort of chain guide. Normally FD act as one, but u do not have.
Two choices u have:

1) Use a Narrow wide chain ring...
2) Use the Tern Chain Guide..can easily purchase in BBS or Rodalink shop. I have use it with great results before.

Obviously option 2 is the way to go, since u will wanna use ur 105 chainring as well.

Small issue, easily rectifiable.
thanks sifu for your input. will look for Chain Guide for the time being.
FD should be not far away already. Can see but not reachable yet brows.gif
CanonLee
post Dec 22 2018, 10:26 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(Derril @ Dec 21 2018, 09:14 PM)
Hi!

Because of a student project I started to read more about folding bikes. During my research I asked myself a lot of questions so I thought I’ll just ask the community what you think about it. I hope you can answer some of my questions.

So firstly I asked myself why a bike rider chooses to buy a folding bike. I think folding bikes are very practical, whether because you don’t have as much storage capacity or because of an improved mobility. Did you guys see someone riding around with a folding bike or did a friend of yours have one before buying one? Or did you just read something about folding bikes in a journal/on the internet and then decided to buy one?

Secondly I was reading a lot about the different brands. To decide which brand you want to buy, did you read reviews or do you actually stick to a brand? Or do you rather prefer to go to a specialized retailer and seek advice (e.g. for test riding)?

Thirdly I wanted to ask you if you think that folding bikes and the usage of folding bikes should get more attention/should be promoted, as more people would use their bike, for example to go to work (maybe in combination with public transport)? Or just to get out of the city and get some fresh air on their bikes?

Looking forward to read some interesting answers/stories and thanks in advance!
1) People purchase according to their initial need, it could be impulse purchase. For my case, been attracted to FB for quite some time but hesitate alot as i worried about my usage on FB is minimal due to tight-up with other activities. i never want to buy RB or MTB at all due to bigger size and difficult to carry with vehicle. For me, cycling is for exercise and FB is the one i need. And recently been reading some cycling forums and poisoned by riders and therefore purchased a 2nd hand FB impulsely (i actually never tried any FB before).

2) Once i read thru forums and internet, there are actually a lot of review and discussions. few big brands are frequently discussed such as Dahon / Tern / Birdy / Brompton / Java / Band etc. I purchased base on reviews and advises from riders (of course has to be within the budget la).

3) Cycling is gaining more popularity rapidly by days. Alot of bikes can be seen around especially during weekend. Well everyone has their own preference and folding bike is actually also getting alot of attention but not as high as RB & MTB. Using public transport + FB get to work in the city is not really works for Malaysian due to the ambient. Most of FB riders are casual rider to get fresh air on the bikes.
CanonLee
post Jan 25 2019, 11:19 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(mizi28 @ Jan 25 2019, 11:13 AM)
Our menu this coming sunday

Those nearby do come and tag along!

wow 100km Good luck bro!

CanonLee
post Jan 30 2019, 12:21 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(northernhero @ Jan 29 2019, 10:19 PM)
Haha, thanks for your input, seems like I have to wait for the right opportunity.

Correct me if I'm wrong, for Tern, the bigger the letter the more advance is it? (Example D>C>B)
it seems like it. Tern Link D series is having better package and of course more expensive compare to C or B series.
CanonLee
post Feb 20 2019, 10:41 AM

202 posts

there are bike apps in google play store. Using a gps base apps should able to get some readings of the rides. Distance, average speed and calories. i am using "Bikeometer" and it is fine and simple to use.
CanonLee
post Mar 18 2019, 04:59 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Mar 18 2019, 01:45 PM)
I see. If let say I buy X11 or X10 or P18 or something, can I upgrade the chainring to have 2 such as 52/36 and upgrade the cassette from 9 or 10 to 11 speed? It willl be a lot of thing to change on RB but not too sure on the foldie.
Tern Verge frame is quite versatile and allows cyclist to mod / upgrade to other setup. I am using Verge N8 (originally single chain ring with 8 speeds) and already modded to double chain ring with 11 speeds cassette). Folding bikes is actually able to mod just like RB but not so many options available in the market.
CanonLee
post Mar 19 2019, 11:59 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(Asus @ Mar 19 2019, 11:32 AM)
Hi Guys, i got few newbie questions regarding dahon boardwalk..

1. D7 vs D8 - The difference is the gear whereby one is 7 speed and one is 8 speed. Can both be upgraded to 9 speed with just changing the cassette only? The price difference is about RM400

2. Both use single chainring, if i plan to upgrade to double chainring, is shimano sora groupset (chainring, fd, rd, shifters) my best bet for not burning my wallet?

Im using java ira which i think is better specs then the boardwalk..but i just love the design of the boardwalk and can see many ppl around the world using it in instagram as compared to my java folding bike lol..

this black one is so sexy hahaa..

First of all, i am not sifu. Just a normal guy that started to cycle few months ago and also walked thru the path to own a foldie.

1) i would recommend you to go with 8s foldie. Usually 7s and 8s is not sharing a same rear wheel. In short if you plan to change 9s/10s cassette from a 7s, you must first change the rear wheel first. However for 8s foldie, just change the cassette, rear-derailleur and a compatible RD-shifter will do.

2) without burning your wallet, you may consider Sora/Tiagra groupset. There are many in the used market. you will need to buy crankset, FD and its adapter, RD, cassette, a set of shifter with cables, and probably chain as well.

Please consult few more members, LBS or forums for more info. then you wont do the same thing twice or more.

This post has been edited by CanonLee: Mar 19 2019, 12:02 PM
CanonLee
post Mar 30 2019, 10:43 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Mar 29 2019, 07:23 PM)
Im using 52/36 on my rb and confortable with it but friends saying on foldie, due to smaller wheels, it will be lighter if the same gear ratio. Is that true?
it is true. You may change to bigger chainrings if you not satisfy with stock.

Your X22 is on 559 wheels and stock chainrings is 50/34.

most 406/451 foldies having stock 52t chainring.
CanonLee
post May 17 2019, 10:05 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(clickNsnap @ May 17 2019, 03:16 AM)
The shop is located on the road to Carrefour Taman Tun Hussein Onn, from the Saga Highway just before the toll, turn right and on the left. So, you need to do a U-turn. Kimbell Jaya, only one shop there. Also easy to negotiate, nice guy. William, I think." [/color]
it should be at the right. Opposite Petron. Near to the entrance of Bandar Tun Hussein Onn MRT station.

i stay nearby there too. Maybe can have time to ride together? i usually ride around 6pm during weekdays.

This post has been edited by CanonLee: May 17 2019, 10:07 AM
CanonLee
post Apr 16 2021, 02:43 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Apr 16 2021, 12:27 PM)
chill bro... relax.. i just wanna check if my hub length can accommodate the 11sp cassette or not. if can then i will go for it. if cannot then i will just use 10sp.  smile.gif
and i mention i need close ratio on the high gear. so on the low side if have 30 or 32 will be good for climbing
looking at 11sp - 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 19, 21, 24, 27, 30
more is always better than less no? so at the end of the day if cannot take 11sp then 10 sp is good enough  rolleyes.gif
I am using Kinetix Pro X wheelset but just 406 with shimano 11sp cassette

better to confirm with LBS as well or just bring along the rear wheel / whole bike for test fit

0.0228sec    1.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:39 AM