i sold off all my 20" tern bike already. now only left with Fnhon 16 and Brompton and 3sixty.
I am looking at anemos yacht frameset currently. any idea?
Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion
May 3 2018, 10:19 AM
36 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i sold off all my 20" tern bike already. now only left with Fnhon 16 and Brompton and 3sixty.
I am looking at anemos yacht frameset currently. any idea? |
May 3 2018, 04:47 PM
78 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
More speed chains can fit less speed gears. I use 11speed and 10speed chain on my 8 speed ultra low end chap ayam combo.
Can save up to 1/2 kg weight some more... most importantly, it's more attractive. This post has been edited by KenC: May 3 2018, 04:49 PM |
May 3 2018, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(tcb2010 @ May 3 2018, 10:16 AM) Ok..Fatani..got what u meant now.. Chainring is not no concern with what speed chain. It's the Front derailleur that you need to be careful.I didnt know that Chainrings are speed rated as well...Now that get me thinking how about those <53T chainring compatibility This post has been edited by KenC: May 3 2018, 04:58 PM |
May 3 2018, 05:48 PM
120 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
QUOTE(KenC @ May 3 2018, 04:56 PM) Chainring is not no concern with what speed chain. It's the Front derailleur that you need to be careful. If im gonna choose a smaller Single Chain Ring..then will likely eliminate most issues. No worries on shorter cage Derailleur cant work with large 11-34 cogs either, no worries on front derailleurs..Probably the best route to choose, since my fitness level can't max out the 53T x 11T combo anytime soon..except going downhill. However, i dont see any attractive Single Litepros Cranksets which has lesser than 53T being sold yet in BBS. Minimum 53T |
May 3 2018, 06:08 PM
261 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(KenC @ May 3 2018, 03:47 PM) More speed chains can fit less speed gears. I use 11speed and 10speed chain on my 8 speed ultra low end chap ayam combo. I got prob using 10 speed chain on 8 speed chainrings. The chain would not stay on the chainrings for long before it climb on it. After change to 10 speed chainrings, no more issues. Even the the mechs pening kepala trying to sort it out. Maybe i wasn't so lucky.Can save up to 1/2 kg weight some more... most importantly, it's more attractive. |
May 3 2018, 08:51 PM
140 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: ieypoh |
spam pix lah
![]() ![]() |
May 4 2018, 12:32 PM
QUOTE(fatani @ May 3 2018, 06:08 PM) I got prob using 10 speed chain on 8 speed chainrings. The chain would not stay on the chainrings for long before it climb on it. After change to 10 speed chainrings, no more issues. Even the the mechs pening kepala trying to sort it out. Maybe i wasn't so lucky. I also changed my 8 speed Crankset to gorgeous shimano 11 speed (used) after a while... old one ugly laaaa… maybe I more lucky. |
May 5 2018, 10:46 PM
QUOTE(KenC @ May 2 2018, 05:52 PM) You did not kill your hub. You degreased and washed off the lube in your hub… Sifus,Look up YouTube for tutorial showing you how to lube your hub... Bicycle are ultra robust… 100years of existence has its strength. My hub is koyak..bring to two LBS, one tried to service it, the other said its a goner..sigh. An replacing a decent good hub, probably gonna cost almost a whole wheelset change. Not to mention getting foldie parts in kuantan almost next to impossible. Now im considering to changeto a budget decent wheelset..and i came to know about litepro k fun seem like a value for money better than stock dahon wheelset. Any more suggestions to this price range of wheelsets, and are these budget wheelsets much better than stock dahon wheelsets..mine is Vitesse model, so likely its at the very low range performance group. Just didnt expect these hubs can koyak so easily..and im not even an avid rider..just casual rider. |
May 5 2018, 10:54 PM
Im actually thinking of just getting the single chainring Litepro, since my bike is 8 spd only...or can i buy the double chainring, and remove the inner ring..just in case wanna go 2x8 in the future.
I ask the above question earlier, but dont think got an answer for it yet..is it workable to remove the smaller chainring of a tiagra or 105 crank, and use as single? Any special chainring nuts to be changed as well..thx |
May 6 2018, 04:26 PM
140 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: ieypoh |
QUOTE(tcb2010 @ May 5 2018, 10:54 PM) Im actually thinking of just getting the single chainring Litepro, since my bike is 8 spd only...or can i buy the double chainring, and remove the inner ring..just in case wanna go 2x8 in the future. if u plan to used single chainring,I ask the above question earlier, but dont think got an answer for it yet..is it workable to remove the smaller chainring of a tiagra or 105 crank, and use as single? Any special chainring nuts to be changed as well..thx better buy single with chainguard. litepro got it, and ur chain will not drop easily. if ur planning on using double chainring crank, just dont remove the small chainring coz it would be handy sometimes. u never know when u gonna face the toughest hill. besides, u can manually change from bigger chainring to small chainring anytime with dirty hand if u buy the double chainring crank and still need to remove the chainring, u need to find the correct length of bolts to fix that single chainring. there is another way u can used spacers without to change any bolts also. as for wheelset, the litepro kfun is a good wheelset, 24mm rim profile. its better than ur stock vittese since using sealed bearings.and the rear hub if im not mistaken is identical or should i say oem of novatech hub. novatech hub got so many spareparts. other than that, u can scout for ruitto wheelset. the low profile 24mm one and sealed bearings. its on par with litepro, also the spoke is nice.but its hard to find locally unless in taobao. another brand is onka. 30mm wheelprofile with smooth rolling sealed beaeings feel than the litepro,but i saw nowdays also very hard to find. i hope i answer all of ur question coz im no sifu, just share my expirience. |
May 6 2018, 09:21 PM
1,704 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
hi....
anyone bought folding bike from taobao? 24speeds...26' ...sport rim...about rm400 included sea shipping... folding bike with sport rim good? just ride Taman only ...easy keeping... thanks ... |
May 6 2018, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(azamunekurone @ May 6 2018, 04:26 PM) if u plan to used single chainring, Thx azam for the comprehensive reply. I would have look at taobao, but the lack of mandarin knowledge prevented me from buying there so far. I saw lots of litepro stuffs in aliexpress, but not too sure if all those there are original litepros.Any experience buying from Aliexpress for bike stuffs?better buy single with chainguard. litepro got it, and ur chain will not drop easily. if ur planning on using double chainring crank, just dont remove the small chainring coz it would be handy sometimes. u never know when u gonna face the toughest hill. besides, u can manually change from bigger chainring to small chainring anytime with dirty hand if u buy the double chainring crank and still need to remove the chainring, u need to find the correct length of bolts to fix that single chainring. there is another way u can used spacers without to change any bolts also. as for wheelset, the litepro kfun is a good wheelset, 24mm rim profile. its better than ur stock vittese since using sealed bearings.and the rear hub if im not mistaken is identical or should i say oem of novatech hub. novatech hub got so many spareparts. other than that, u can scout for ruitto wheelset. the low profile 24mm one and sealed bearings. its on par with litepro, also the spoke is nice.but its hard to find locally unless in taobao. another brand is onka. 30mm wheelprofile with smooth rolling sealed beaeings feel than the litepro,but i saw nowdays also very hard to find. i hope i answer all of ur question coz im no sifu, just share my expirience. Ur suggestion of using and leaving the double second chainring on is good, lesser hassle and im not too worry of chaindrop as i have that tern chain device clam on to my frame. Now i will need to decide to go for litepros single or using shimanos like tiagras and 105 crankset, as likely the price is lebih kurang. Will seek out the wheelsets u suggested, and if not, ur recommendation of kfun is good enuff for me. Thx a lot. |
May 7 2018, 12:32 AM
QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ May 6 2018, 09:21 PM) hi.... 26' is 26ft, I think you meant 26" (26in).anyone bought folding bike from taobao? 24speeds...26' ...sport rim...about rm400 included sea shipping... folding bike with sport rim good? just ride Taman only ...easy keeping... thanks ... 26" is still a big mofo… If you are honest about taman ride only Just buy from LBS la… got lifetime free service… 400 ringgit bike most most save 20 ringgit at the end… |
May 7 2018, 12:33 AM
QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ May 6 2018, 09:21 PM) hi.... 26' is 26ft, I think you meant 26" (26in).anyone bought folding bike from taobao? 24speeds...26' ...sport rim...about rm400 included sea shipping... folding bike with sport rim good? just ride Taman only ...easy keeping... thanks ... 26" is still a big mofo… If you are honest about taman ride only Just buy from LBS la… got lifetime free service… 400 ringgit bike when cost in the unforeseen running around custom and other pling-plang, most most save 20 ringgit at the end… |
May 7 2018, 12:44 AM
QUOTE(tcb2010 @ May 6 2018, 10:43 PM) Thx azam for the comprehensive reply. I would have look at taobao, but the lack of mandarin knowledge prevented me from buying there so far. I saw lots of litepro stuffs in aliexpress, but not too sure if all those there are original litepros.Any experience buying from Aliexpress for bike stuffs? Lite pro is just another glorified chap ayam… cantik punya chap ayam… if you really serious about Crankset , get shimano, SRAM, campagnolo, FSA, or even LTWoo…Ur suggestion of using and leaving the double second chainring on is good, lesser hassle and im not too worry of chaindrop as i have that tern chain device clam on to my frame. Now i will need to decide to go for litepros single or using shimanos like tiagras and 105 crankset, as likely the price is lebih kurang. Will seek out the wheelsets u suggested, and if not, ur recommendation of kfun is good enuff for me. Thx a lot. |
May 7 2018, 12:47 AM
Jokes aside, if you aren't sure, just buy cheapest shimano you can find. Shimano is the king of cheap bike parts. (A part from being the king of expensive parts too)
May 7 2018, 01:43 AM
QUOTE(KenC @ May 7 2018, 12:44 AM) Lite pro is just another glorified chap ayam… cantik punya chap ayam… if you really serious about Crankset , get shimano, SRAM, campagnolo, FSA, or even LTWoo… Yeah la Ken, pasal cantik and single chainring..thats why consider the litepro. The shimanos neva come across a nice looking single chainring. If double, then shimano likely gets my vote. |
May 7 2018, 02:59 AM
May 7 2018, 07:10 AM
1,704 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(KenC @ May 7 2018, 12:33 AM) 26' is 26ft, I think you meant 26" (26in). yes ...correct ..26in ....26" is still a big mofo… If you are honest about taman ride only Just buy from LBS la… got lifetime free service… 400 ringgit bike when cost in the unforeseen running around custom and other pling-plang, most most save 20 ringgit at the end… LBS meaning ? thanks .... |
May 7 2018, 10:03 AM
10 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
| Change to: | 0.0334sec