> Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties

AskarPerang
post Feb 15 2011, 02:17 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(calmshot @ Feb 15 2011, 12:33 PM)
hye, i've bought 10pcs wired earphone, and i have total invoice of usd90 including shipping. and today i got a call from pos malaysia said my item was held at kastam.. do my item will kena tax?
USD 90 = less than RM300.
Just show them the invoice. They cant tax you.
calmshot
post Feb 15 2011, 02:20 PM

My Name Is ...
2,560 posts

alright cool. to bad today is public holiday, need to go on lunch time tomorrow...

and 1 more thing is item more than rm300 or rm500 will kene tax? in my case im gonna bring in more earphone on next batch might be around rm480 incuding shipping.
AskarPerang
post Feb 15 2011, 06:24 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(calmshot @ Feb 15 2011, 02:20 PM)
alright cool. to bad today is public holiday, need to go on lunch time tomorrow...

and 1 more thing is item more than rm300 or rm500 will kene tax? in my case im gonna bring in more earphone on next batch might be around rm480 incuding shipping.
RM500.
Don't ride your luck. They can still use the old currency value of RM3.80 = USD1 to tax you.
calmshot
post Feb 15 2011, 07:50 PM

My Name Is ...
2,560 posts

aight, then i will kawtim with the seller to give me invoice that will be less than rm300
sotong168
post Feb 16 2011, 12:05 AM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(klaatu08 @ Feb 10 2011, 01:00 AM)
hi, not sure anyone ask before abt importing digital camera into MY?  Is it taxable?

i bought a digital camcorder+camera frm HK, no tax
H.K. Lee
post Feb 16 2011, 12:07 AM

159 posts

it's time consuming to read the whole thing..

is there any list that we can refer to whether the items we import is taxable or not?..simplified to common items we import of course, not the customs' long list..

are clothing taxable?..would it be different if i import bulk of clothing and just 1 clothing..
DaphneMok
post Feb 16 2011, 12:34 AM

if buying CD from Singapore,is it taxable? i think the price below SGD100 while shipping will using EMS. rclxub.gif
sotong168
post Feb 16 2011, 02:07 AM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(H.K. Lee @ Feb 16 2011, 12:07 AM)

is there any list that we can refer to whether the items we import is taxable or not?..simplified to common items we import of course, not the customs' long list..

are clothing taxable?..would it be different if i import bulk of clothing and just 1 clothing..
pls refer to http://tariff.customs.gov.my/

for example, video camera is tariff under 8525, so is it exempted frm tax

This post has been edited by sotong168: Feb 16 2011, 02:09 AM
nanakopy87
post Feb 16 2011, 10:41 AM

You were...
1,835 posts

QUOTE(DaphneMok @ Feb 16 2011, 12:34 AM)
if buying CD from Singapore,is it taxable? i think the price below SGD100 while shipping will using EMS.  rclxub.gif
wun kena tax.
newbi3s
post Feb 16 2011, 11:24 AM

FALIQ
4,325 posts

QUOTE(calmshot @ Feb 15 2011, 07:50 PM)
aight, then i will kawtim with the seller to give me invoice that will be less than rm300
Setel already?
calmshot
post Feb 17 2011, 10:22 AM

My Name Is ...
2,560 posts

QUOTE(newbi3s @ Feb 16 2011, 11:24 AM)
Setel already?
yup setel yesterday. no tax (below rm500) rclxms.gif at first the custom cannot trust my declare value because it's too cheap compare to the retail price found on the internet (they surf the net to check the price). but then i show them the print screen of my transaction, then he believe.

as long you bring the print screen of the transaction (online), all will be ok.

one more thing, is the pos/kastam open on saturday? coz i work on the weekdays, and dont have much time to go there every week. huhuh

Added on February 17, 2011, 4:47 pmi got 1 more situation, i have package sent from china using DHL, the price i bought is 4x cheaper that retail price (regular customer). currently i dont know if the seller put the actual value or not on the package, because before this the seller just use ems and just declare as gift.

so the problem is, what if the seller not put/declare the real value on the DHL package, will DHL pay for the tax by retail price or they will contact me first?

This post has been edited by calmshot: Feb 17 2011, 04:47 PM
waykeong
post Feb 17 2011, 05:52 PM

34 posts

hi, i wanna buy an andriod tablet from overseas. the price tag is USD 550. shipping USD 50. would it kena tax? what diff of tax exemption is this tablet support 3G or only wifi version?
madeleine_1406
post Feb 17 2011, 09:02 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(waykeong @ Feb 17 2011, 01:52 AM)
hi, i wanna buy an andriod tablet from overseas. the price tag is USD 550. shipping USD 50. would it kena tax? what diff of tax exemption is this tablet support 3G or only wifi version?
if your parcel value is more than RM450-rm500 u are in the category (might got tax) depends on luck sumtimes if ur stuff got held by custom or not:)

coz sumtimes if ur item value is just usd50 ,the custom might still hold ur item ...which required u to go to custom office to collect your item.hence u need to prepare urself the invoice to show them incase they need it to safe ur time.
and one more thing ,it depends on your supplier invoice which how they stated on the declaration form for ur item..
eg..if beauty product/farmasi item that COMFIRM that u will kena tax even ur value item is low only

Added on February 17, 2011, 9:04 pm
QUOTE(H.K. Lee @ Feb 15 2011, 08:07 AM)

cloth will definately got tax if ur value is more than value rm450-500

This post has been edited by madeleine_1406: Feb 18 2011, 02:38 AM
waykeong
post Feb 18 2011, 02:02 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(madeleine_1406 @ Feb 17 2011, 09:02 PM)
if your parcel value is more than RM450-rm500 u are in the category (might got tax) depends on luck sumtimes if ur stuff got held by custom or not:)

coz sumtimes if ur item value is just usd50 ,the custom might still hold ur item ...which required u to go to custom office to collect your item.hence u need to prepare urself the invoice to show them incase they need it to safe ur time.
and one more thing ,it depends on your supplier invoice which how they stated on the declaration form for ur item..
eg..if beauty product/farmasi item that COMFIRM that u  will kena tax even ur value item is low only
ok.. i live in johor, if the custom hold my item.. i will need to KLIA custom or Johor Bahru Custom to claim my item.. the parcel will ship by air..
DiabolicaL
post Feb 18 2011, 02:16 AM

177 posts

I am gonna bring a acoustic guitar(worth:RM800) from Singapore to Malaysia by car...how much tax i have to pay?
madeleine_1406
post Feb 18 2011, 02:40 AM

221 posts

QUOTE(waykeong @ Feb 17 2011, 10:02 AM)
ok.. i live in johor, if the custom hold my item.. i will need to KLIA custom or Johor Bahru Custom to claim my item.. the parcel will ship by air..
well u will be advice to go to johor custom office instead of klia custom as klia will pass the parcel to johor custom since the parcel should be deliver to johor smile.gif
newbi3s
post Feb 18 2011, 10:54 AM

FALIQ
4,325 posts

QUOTE(waykeong @ Feb 17 2011, 05:52 PM)
Import Duty: 0%
Sales Tax: 10%
Regulatory Approval: SIRIM Special Approval

Added on February 18, 2011, 11:11 am
QUOTE(DiabolicaL @ Feb 18 2011, 02:16 AM)
I am gonna bring a acoustic guitar(worth:RM800) from Singapore to Malaysia by car...how much tax i have to pay?
You can avoid tax if you bring it by car. Just unwrapped it. Let's say if stuck also you only need to pay 10% tax.

This post has been edited by newbi3s: Feb 18 2011, 11:11 AM
soul_star
post Feb 18 2011, 12:50 PM

541 posts

Surabaya 60000 11-02-2011 15:20 [EMA] Posting/Collection
JakartaSoekarnoHatta 19000 12-02-2011 15:33 [EMC] Departure from outward OE
MALAYSIA MY 14-02-2011 15:41 [EMD] Arrival at inward OE
MALAYSIA MY 14-02-2011 15:42 [EME] Held by Custom

What to do? this is my first time. Post by my fren as a gift to me. She wrote it as 'gift' at the package but still kne tahan. What to do? help me T.T
Zackry
post Feb 18 2011, 01:14 PM

114 posts

gift 100% kena tahan , if want set as tools + 5$ usd then they free tax.
soul_star
post Feb 18 2011, 01:35 PM

541 posts

so what should i do next? go to the klia pos office?

134 Pages « < 72 73 74 75 76 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:08 AM