Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties

madeleine_1406
post May 18 2009, 02:44 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(lemongirl @ May 18 2009, 12:02 PM)
recently i just bought an item from ebay and the seller send the item to me using US Postal Service Priority Mail International Small Flat Rate Box,initially i asked him he said that this method has a tracking number,but currently the seller said that the US post office tell him that this method doesnt have any tracking number..

-can anyone confirm this with me?

- normally how long does it takes to send from US to Selangor?

-does it require signature upon receiving?

-and will they send to me using pos laju or pas daftar or normal mail??

thanks in advance
actually the sure have the us postal code as for us to track ya as my usfrin always sent item to me and she doed was sumtimes to provided me me thracking ya.
sumthing just bad of this servise are they did not ned any signature on it.so msia posman will just left it on our posbox onli without need to sign ya
so if u are buying sumthind pricey with using this servise,u need to gave the address tht sumone in to collect it ya to prevent from loss ya!!
it took about 14days to rach us but depend on our kastam ya as our kastam will open up our parcel for checking ya !!
hope this will help u !!thansk
madeleine_1406
post May 19 2009, 02:44 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(^^xiaowanzhi @ May 18 2009, 03:32 PM)
if i m not wrong, it would be abt 32% according to the invoice.
just to share its should be 40% as the kastam ppl told me ya as clothing is the highest tax among the item ...
therefor, we need to declare it included shipping lower than usd100
if not over tht,the kastam can close 1eyes to let go ur stuff ya...the more lowest the value u declare the better as u dont have to go to the kastam office to collect it..

This post has been edited by madeleine_1406: May 20 2009, 09:35 PM
madeleine_1406
post May 20 2009, 09:39 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(lemongirl @ May 19 2009, 10:58 PM)
thanks for replying,already double with the seller,he made a mistake and already provide me tracking number..tq
oh,the seller say he bought some signature thing that require additional signature to receive it.i am not sure what is it about too..thanks for ur information ya..
i have track my parcel in the USPS web site and the result was
Class: Priority Mail International Parcels
Service(s): Registered Mailâ„¢

Your item was accepted at 3:24 PM on May 13, 2009 in xxxxxx. Information, if available, is updated periodically throughout the day. Please check again later.
this is the latest status of my parcel,i realize that it does not have any update since last week..i am quite worry that it will take too long to reach me as i ned it for my mum's birthday...do they update regularly or normally they just leave it like that,or does this means that they just leave my parcel in their post office and did not process it at all?can share ur experience with me again?

thanks alot for sharing..
okei great as u manage to track it dee!!!
maybe u should ask the seller the check it from the office for u instead we at msia here to track it onli as the result shown tht the item was accepted on 13 may until today they sure have process either in and out of airport area ya!!!
coz evertimes when manage to check the status dee,i will shown alot of tracking there for me to view......
(normally we manage to check the status update after 1-3days they sent to the office )
hope this will help u ya!!

madeleine_1406
post Jun 3 2009, 09:59 PM

221 posts

but as i knew eletronic item sure got tax rite!!!
madeleine_1406
post Jun 22 2009, 12:20 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(benizam @ Jun 22 2009, 11:35 AM)
I need to import clothing amounting to RM5000 from HK,is it taxable? How much?
yes as u will got tax ya
coz kastam if ur item from overseas are over rm500 u will have to paid for tax
maybe u can ask the supplier to put the lowest amount as maybe u are the wholesale of it so tht u wont got tht charges tht high
coz not onli the value of the clothing for tax,as the custom will addon the shipping postage as well!!!
hope this will help u
madeleine_1406
post Jun 27 2009, 01:18 PM

221 posts

need help here:::!!!

i order sumthing from korea and just got a lettle form unit pelepasan kastam pejabat pos butterworth
saying:notis tahanan & perlantikan agan pk1

what shoud i do????
do i need to ask pos malaysia as agen kastam which they charged rm49.50
which not included tax yet!!!!!

**actaully i buy sum bb cream from them tht not more than usd60

what should i do??
madeleine_1406
post Mar 24 2010, 01:22 PM

221 posts

hie
my friends from US was sending me his used lens for camera...
but the pronlem are he go n declare it for the value of usd800 for the 2used lens...

will i be having tax for the lens then!!!
if yes..its no point i collected it right since he declare the value so high...
crazy of him:)

any advise??thanks
madeleine_1406
post Apr 2 2010, 09:23 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(madeleine_1406 @ Mar 24 2010, 01:22 PM)
hie
my friends from US was sending me his used  lens for camera...
but the pronlem are he go n declare it for the value of usd800 for the 2used lens...

will i be having tax for the lens then!!!
if yes..its no point i collected it right since he declare the value so high...
crazy of him:)

any advise??thanks
hurray i got my parcel from US from my friends at last..
it reach me fast indeed as i doesnt have any tax on it at all
as my crazy friends declare the lens more than usd800..shock me...
collected it at postlaju office

madeleine_1406
post Feb 17 2011, 09:02 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(waykeong @ Feb 17 2011, 01:52 AM)
hi, i wanna buy an andriod tablet from overseas. the price tag is USD 550. shipping USD 50. would it kena tax? what diff of tax exemption is this tablet support 3G or only wifi version?
if your parcel value is more than RM450-rm500 u are in the category (might got tax) depends on luck sumtimes if ur stuff got held by custom or not:)

coz sumtimes if ur item value is just usd50 ,the custom might still hold ur item ...which required u to go to custom office to collect your item.hence u need to prepare urself the invoice to show them incase they need it to safe ur time.
and one more thing ,it depends on your supplier invoice which how they stated on the declaration form for ur item..
eg..if beauty product/farmasi item that COMFIRM that u will kena tax even ur value item is low only

Added on February 17, 2011, 9:04 pm
QUOTE(H.K. Lee @ Feb 15 2011, 08:07 AM)
it's time consuming to read the whole thing..

is there any list that we can refer to whether the items we import is taxable or not?..simplified to common items we import of course, not the customs' long list..

are clothing taxable?..would it be different if i import bulk of clothing and just 1 clothing..
cloth will definately got tax if ur value is more than value rm450-500

This post has been edited by madeleine_1406: Feb 18 2011, 02:38 AM
madeleine_1406
post Feb 18 2011, 02:40 AM

221 posts

QUOTE(waykeong @ Feb 17 2011, 10:02 AM)
ok.. i live in johor, if the custom hold my item.. i will need to KLIA custom or Johor Bahru Custom to claim my item.. the parcel will ship by air..
well u will be advice to go to johor custom office instead of klia custom as klia will pass the parcel to johor custom since the parcel should be deliver to johor smile.gif
madeleine_1406
post Apr 27 2011, 03:04 AM

221 posts

QUOTE(izdyharz @ Apr 12 2011, 10:53 AM)
Hi guys,
I am the noobest noob in custom tax and I have 3 questions:

1) I dont understand the rm500 limit, if its rm500 and above we gonna get taxed. This rm500 limit is per item or the total amount of the stuffs that we imported?

2) Im planning to buy a LOT of leather handbags and wallets for gifts and the price definetely would exceeds rm500 for each item. Can I be exampted from the Duty import? Do I still need to pay the sales tax?

3) Im planning to buy a LOT of T-Shirts and Jersey made from cotton. If I were to take off the price tag and folded them and put them together with my own used t-shirt and didnt declare it, is it a good or bad idea to escape from any tax? I could say these t-shirts are my own shirts that I bought from Malaysia.
sumthimes even ur goods parcel value doesnt over rm500,u will be tax as well too if the custom saying ur item is taxable...
as i knew i saw a guy which just only 1 leather bag at custom,but he still kena tax....

depend on luck sumtimes

Added on April 27, 2011, 3:05 am
QUOTE(Cyclonechuah @ Apr 21 2011, 09:45 AM)
got tax, donno how much.

My friend's GF brought a genuine bag from ebay RM4k, kena tax kao kao.
yes exactly....if that item is branded type,u will sure kena tax even u tried to lower down the value declaration as they got a list to see the market price for the bag.
they will even online to check the pricing of the item....custom are getting smarter

This post has been edited by madeleine_1406: Apr 27 2011, 03:07 AM
madeleine_1406
post Aug 23 2011, 01:11 AM

221 posts

QUOTE(smwah @ Aug 21 2011, 01:29 AM)
Just curious,
1) Meaning by not over Rm500? Even if the item is not taxable but the amount I paid is more than 500 so what kind of tax will I be imposed?
2) How should I pay tax, let say the good import is taxable. So do I just go to customer during the arrival and declare the tarif code to the custom and the goods value? So the goods value include shipping? What if the custom doesn't now agree with the tarif code I given? Regarding the tax declaration, how should i need to do? The shipper side will help me to declare or I need to go to custom and declare my self. Any appointed agent where I can apply and how much will they charge per trasnsaction.
3) Under what conditions, AP or import license is required? I tried to buy some dolls from china in buck and was adviced by my shipping company that I need AP or import license to bring those goods. So does it apply to those MC mark for those softtoys?
4) How many is consider self use or gift?
depenf on what item u are buying..if ur item sometimes ir more than /less than rm500 which u got tax,they will told u that its import procedure not under own usage category.
the custom officer will imform u that ur item need to be collected at their office and they would tell u on how to pay on the spot if ur item got tax.
normally 1-5 item is consider own usageif the value is not high/over the limit they set

0.0539sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:35 PM