i m thinking to buy a hair curling iron from china. do i have to pay any tax?
Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties
| Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll |
Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties
Dec 4 2010, 01:24 PM
3 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
i m thinking to buy a hair curling iron from china. do i have to pay any tax?
Dec 6 2010, 10:36 AM
4,325 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Putra Heights, Selangor DE |
Added on December 6, 2010, 10:53 am QUOTE(beautiful life @ Dec 4 2010, 01:24 PM) Regulatory Approval: Suruhanjaya Tenaga (ST)Import Duty: 0% Sales Tax: 10% Because it is under ASEAN China Free Trade Area (ACFTA). Import duty is 0% This post has been edited by newbi3s: Dec 8 2010, 09:23 AM |
Dec 7 2010, 12:23 PM
192 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
i bought 4 DStwo card (NDS game card)
with USD156.43. not over RM500 with rate 3.0x~3.18 but now they custom me.... wat should i do T_T 2moro need 2 go LCCT pos office.... they dun even let me know y i custom.... |
Dec 7 2010, 01:35 PM
4,574 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ = Pudu Jail? :P |
im wondering if i wud be taxed for purchasing an electronic musical instrument from japan? pls advise!!
Dec 8 2010, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(terryforever @ Dec 7 2010, 12:23 PM) i bought 4 DStwo card (NDS game card) What's the hassle you need to face when you handle it yourself.with USD156.43. not over RM500 with rate 3.0x~3.18 but now they custom me.... wat should i do T_T 2moro need 2 go LCCT pos office.... they dun even let me know y i custom.... So how? Got your stuff already? Added on December 8, 2010, 9:30 am QUOTE(ah_keh @ Dec 7 2010, 01:35 PM) im wondering if i wud be taxed for purchasing an electronic musical instrument from japan? pls advise!! Regulatory Approval: Suruhanjaya Tenaga (ST)Import Duty: 0% Sales Tax: 10% This post has been edited by newbi3s: Dec 8 2010, 09:30 AM |
Dec 8 2010, 04:19 PM
60 posts Joined: May 2008 |
I had buy some health care supplement from USA...its being hold by custom and need tax, and they r sending my item to pharmacy for checking...will the pharmacy open my product?
Dec 9 2010, 09:19 PM
278 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
deleted
This post has been edited by megat89: Dec 9 2010, 09:20 PM |
Dec 10 2010, 07:25 AM
10 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Hi guys, i plan to bring back highend laptops, ipad, and highend handphones from australia to resell it at Malaysia.
Did i need to pay for any customs tax if i, myself take it from australia to malaysia without shipping. But somehow i need to bring at least 10sets one time i come back so that i can earn. is it possible for me to by pass Malaysia custom? |
Dec 10 2010, 10:48 AM
QUOTE(jscheok @ Dec 8 2010, 04:19 PM) I had buy some health care supplement from USA...its being hold by custom and need tax, and they r sending my item to pharmacy for checking...will the pharmacy open my product? I'm not sure about that.Added on December 10, 2010, 10:50 am QUOTE(ron5267 @ Dec 10 2010, 07:25 AM) Hi guys, i plan to bring back highend laptops, ipad, and highend handphones from australia to resell it at Malaysia. 10 sets are heavy. How many KG?Did i need to pay for any customs tax if i, myself take it from australia to malaysia without shipping. But somehow i need to bring at least 10sets one time i come back so that i can earn. is it possible for me to by pass Malaysia custom? If you pack in box, you will kena Kastam. This post has been edited by newbi3s: Dec 10 2010, 10:50 AM |
Dec 10 2010, 01:59 PM
41 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
Hi, bro, appreciate if you can give me some advise, newbie here.
I planning to buy alarm system form ebay. How much of the tax i need to pay? Where is the custom location? Thanks |
Dec 10 2010, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(newbi3s @ Dec 8 2010, 09:25 AM) What's the hassle you need to face when you handle it yourself. sry, for late reply.So how? Got your stuff already? Added on December 8, 2010, 9:30 am Regulatory Approval: Suruhanjaya Tenaga (ST) Import Duty: 0% Sales Tax: 10% i get my stuff from LCCT pos already. the kastam officer keep asking me, Officer :APA NI??? UNTUK APA??? Me :Game Accessories, Untuk game punya....... Officer : accessories atau part? Me : accessories.... Officer : pergi counter 4/5 (forget) female officer : mana receipt? ada receipt tak? ini untuk apa?? Me : i repeat all again == then give the receipt. then she calculate..... for me, i so scare already.... looking she calculate the amount..... But.... female officer : pergi counter 1. me : huh?? counter 1?? counter 6 was suppose to make payment, but counter 1?? does tat means then i go counter 1. n take back my pass n ran away from tis place like never turning back my head...... i am so lucky...then didnt charge me any tax..... but still....inside the pos office....wit the officer really make me scare like hell..... bcoz one wrong word, they will tax me... i think they keep want me say is video game or game cartridge, mayb tat will charge me tax? bcoz i heard video game charge 10% tax. but not accessories n part?? This post has been edited by terryforever: Dec 10 2010, 04:46 PM |
Dec 10 2010, 05:02 PM
60 posts Joined: May 2008 |
If I go to KLIA take the item by own can ma? cos the poslaju service soso long..2 weeks already no clear for me... if The poslaju agent are doing his thing and I suddenly go KLIA to take back my item, is it possible? because the agent use damn so long time for it..i cant wait..
Dec 10 2010, 10:17 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
23,688 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: Outer Space |
QUOTE(jscheok @ Dec 10 2010, 05:02 PM) If I go to KLIA take the item by own can ma? cos the poslaju service soso long..2 weeks already no clear for me... if The poslaju agent are doing his thing and I suddenly go KLIA to take back my item, is it possible? because the agent use damn so long time for it..i cant wait.. First thing first, did you appoint the pos laju service to clear the kastam for you? Because the kastam officers will call you first and ask you to collect. If you can't, then only they will ask for your agreement to appoint pos laju as your agent. Then you have to email / fax to them invoice / receipt to show the value of your items. |
Dec 13 2010, 12:46 AM
28 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
Hi, I've browsed through the custom's website but couldn't find the link to check import duties and taxes.
Hope someone could help me with this. My friend is going to mail me a whole lot of jerseys from London. He would use a mail service there and mail it to my address in Selangor. He would mail it using a huge box. The jerseys are ordered by his friends here in Malaysia for personal use. My question is, is there any import duties or tax that I need to pay? This is my 1st time receiving something from oversea, please help me. Thank you. |
Dec 13 2010, 01:24 AM
239 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: PERAK-PENANG-KEDAH-SELANGOR-KL |
QUOTE(myfists @ Dec 13 2010, 12:46 AM) Hi, I've browsed through the custom's website but couldn't find the link to check import duties and taxes. ok mate, i have a bit experienced coz last time i'am jersey collector,for shirt as we know depends on price normally rm500 and above will be taxed,second is the weight,if your friend using the box with lots of jerseys inside i will say you will be taxed,they dont care if its for personal use or selling,and the third one is depends on luck,one of my friend studying at italy,went back to malaysia and after few weeks his 2 box of jerseys arrived without need to pay single penny on tax Hope someone could help me with this. My friend is going to mail me a whole lot of jerseys from London. He would use a mail service there and mail it to my address in Selangor. He would mail it using a huge box. The jerseys are ordered by his friends here in Malaysia for personal use. My question is, is there any import duties or tax that I need to pay? This is my 1st time receiving something from oversea, please help me. Thank you. This post has been edited by saddizdd7: Dec 13 2010, 01:25 AM |
Dec 13 2010, 08:30 AM
QUOTE(saddizdd7 @ Dec 13 2010, 01:24 AM) ok mate, i have a bit experienced coz last time i'am jersey collector,for shirt as we know depends on price normally rm500 and above will be taxed,second is the weight,if your friend using the box with lots of jerseys inside i will say you will be taxed,they dont care if its for personal use or selling,and the third one is depends on luck,one of my friend studying at italy,went back to malaysia and after few weeks his 2 box of jerseys arrived without need to pay single penny on tax Aww.. too bad.. What is the rate for the tax imposed on the jerseys? 10%/20%/30% on total amount? Do we need to bring along the receipt? What if we don't have any receipt? Regarding your friend there, I think he's 2 box of jersey aren't that heavy each, so maybe that's the reason he didn't have to pay tax. He's so lucky, This post has been edited by myfists: Dec 13 2010, 08:30 AM |
Dec 13 2010, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(jscheok @ Dec 10 2010, 05:02 PM) If I go to KLIA take the item by own can ma? cos the poslaju service soso long..2 weeks already no clear for me... if The poslaju agent are doing his thing and I suddenly go KLIA to take back my item, is it possible? because the agent use damn so long time for it..i cant wait.. you should call n ask. |
Dec 13 2010, 02:59 PM
348 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Kepong |
Dec 13 2010, 03:24 PM
1 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
QUOTE(myfists @ Dec 13 2010, 12:46 AM) Hi, I've browsed through the custom's website but couldn't find the link to check import duties and taxes. my experience is that they usually do not check the items inside. Usually my friends just declare a non taxable amount and it gets cleared.Hope someone could help me with this. My friend is going to mail me a whole lot of jerseys from London. He would use a mail service there and mail it to my address in Selangor. He would mail it using a huge box. The jerseys are ordered by his friends here in Malaysia for personal use. My question is, is there any import duties or tax that I need to pay? This is my 1st time receiving something from oversea, please help me. Thank you. |
Dec 13 2010, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(menme @ Dec 13 2010, 03:24 PM) my experience is that they usually do not check the items inside. Usually my friends just declare a non taxable amount and it gets cleared. Woah, your friend is so brave! What if we are busted and the custom ask us to unbox? Wouldn't we get into trouble? Non-taxable amount would be Below RM500 is it? |
| Change to: | 0.0326sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:10 PM |