122 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Bottom

V1. Swiftlet Keeping-EVERYTHING About The Industry, Techniques, Tips, Tricks, Complaints etc

swifbuild
post Aug 4 2008, 12:08 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Aug 2 2008, 03:24 PM)
TQ my friend, so all fellow ranchers, don't waste your money on this ultrasonic thing, Swifbuild has confirmed that it is useless.....we meet ultraman now to help us solve the problem in Trg if you have read recent news.

If only someone can come out with something that the swiftlets like and the human being don't mind ........very difficult, more difficult than striking 4D.
C'mon, put all heads together and solve sound problem, then you will have shit problem and then bugs problem and more to come...........maybe smell problem, too.

A small and friendly advice...................those old successful BH need not raise your sound system just because someone build a BH next or near to your BH, your birds will be your birds. Experience taught me that my BH need not increase sound  now and the number are increasing and many new BHs are coming up. Good for the birds, good for me because the more BHs, the stronger we are and more new young birds will be flying out very 4 months. Explain to the newbiz to conform to the authority guideline for a win win solution. TQ again, swifbuild
You are welcome! Hope more would know about the Ultrasonic sound.

We are here to give advise and info for free. That is what we are thumbup.gif
Ana.kepong
post Aug 4 2008, 03:00 PM

13 posts

Read this article from The Star today and wish to share with all farmers.

However, guess this kind of complain will always happen since more and more BHs are now in town or housing area and i guess one day it will become a big issue later.

The recent funny complains which I heard from Southern and Melaka is some residents start to blame "Chikungunya" virus is actually cause by those swiftlet house in town and housing area (actually it is not as this virus was found since 1960 and is a viral illness that is spread by the bite of infected mosquitoes). So, don't expect all residents will just listen to the above fact.

So, newbie to think if your BH to be in town or you may plan elsewhere hmm.gif

Monday August 4, 2008
Isolate swiftlet farms

I NOTE with concern the letter “Unfair to swiflet farms” (The Star, July 31).

When swiftlet farms were started, did the farmers or relevant authorities that came up with the guidelines think of the welfare and health of the public around these farms?

When we mention avian flu, people start to panic because its effect is dramatic.

When cryptococcosis is mentioned, the general public doesn’t know what it is, or what causes it.

In the medical field, it is known that this infection is acquired by inhalation of the fungus Cryptococcus neoformans which is found in bird droppings.

The more bird farms we have, the greater the risk of dispersing such fungi into the air, and thus the greater the health risk to the public.

Manifestation of symptoms from infection may be slow and unnoticed because, when in the lungs, the infection may remain localised or heal.

However, infection may also disseminate.

Upon dissemination, lesions may form in any part of the body but involvement of the central nervous system is the most common, and the usual cause of death.

Generalised meningoencephalitis occurs more frequently than localised swelling in the brain or spinal cord.

Solitary localised lesions may develop in the skin and less commonly in the bones and other organs.

I am not against swiftlet farming but am concerned that these farms are harmful to the health of the people who operate their businesses alongside them, and also to the public who use these services in the commercial areas.

The health of the country is monitored by the Health Ministry.

But so far, the ministry has been silent on this issue.

Can the ministry assure us that the air coming out from these farms are free from fungi?

If not, action should be taken to phase out these farms not only from residential areas but also from commercial areas as well.

By all means have these farms but confine them to a locale away from residential and commercial areas.

Dr GEOFFREY TANG,
Alor Star.

This post has been edited by Ana.kepong: Aug 4 2008, 03:38 PM
West Wing
post Aug 4 2008, 07:04 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(Ana.kepong @ Aug 4 2008, 03:00 PM)

However, guess this kind of complain will always happen since more and more BHs are now in town or housing area and i guess one day it will become a big issue later.

The recent funny complains which I heard from Southern and Melaka is some residents start to blame "Chikungunya" virus is actually cause by those swiftlet house in town and housing area (actually it is not as this virus was found since 1960 and is a viral illness that is spread by the bite of infected mosquitoes). So, don't expect all residents will just listen to the above fact.

Monday August 4, 2008
Isolate swiftlet farms

When swiftlet farms were started, did the farmers or relevant authorities that came up with the guidelines think of the welfare and health of the public around these farms?

When we mention avian flu, people start to panic because its effect is dramatic.

When cryptococcosis is mentioned, the general public doesn’t know what it is, or what causes it.

In the medical field, it is known that this infection is acquired by inhalation of the fungus Cryptococcus neoformans which is found in bird droppings.

The more bird farms we have, the greater the risk of dispersing such fungi into the air, and thus the greater the health risk to the public.

Manifestation of symptoms from infection may be slow and unnoticed because, when in the lungs, the infection may remain localised or heal.

Upon dissemination, lesions may form in any part of the body but involvement of the central nervous system is the most common, and the usual cause of death.

Generalised meningoencephalitis occurs more frequently than localised swelling in the brain or spinal cord.

Solitary localised lesions may develop in the skin and less commonly in the bones and other organs.

I am not against swiftlet farming but am concerned that these farms are harmful to the health of the people who operate their businesses alongside them, and also to the public who use these services in the commercial areas.

Can the ministry assure us that the air coming out from these farms are free from fungi?

If not, action should be taken to phase out these farms not only from residential areas but also from commercial areas as well.

By all means have these farms but confine them to a locale away from residential and commercial areas.

Dr GEOFFREY TANG,
Alor Star.
Dr. Tang.
Thank you for the concern and we, the BH ranchers are the first to get it if there is such fungus. So, we are surely have put our faith in this industry to enter the door to death. We need to clean up and need to do the repair and maintenance and if any such incident shall happen, we shall be the first to get it, right? Dr. Tang. We are our trust in the BHs and because a friend and his brothers grown up next to a room full with swiftlets for 15 years ago and none of then is sick till this day. Mind you and it was an old wooden house.

My two sons are also Doctors and they help me to clean the BH and to havest the nests, and they have no complaint.......maybe, God is with us.
I wear no mask but my sons do when we enter the BH as I want to be sure that bird shit is safe or otherwise I shall pay for my sin if anyone shall get it, then it shall be me first.

Your advice is appreciated and from a layman point (my Point), every air we take in contain some form of fungus or smell as there is not polution free air......nothing is free. I am not all for BH, then it is a new industry for us to make a decent living and with prices going up and up.....and what type of industry or buz has no effect on human, smokers still smoke and there are law on it but has anyone taken to court on it.......I don't smoke but then I entertain more then 20 smoking customers each day. Do I tell them, throw away your C or butt off. Sometime in life, we give and take, like this industry, good income and good for the eco system.....not much forest has to be cleared to make way and billion of cash can be generated. A compromising situation. Reason for not building BH in estate or land far away from human........the danger of being attacked by robbers and uncontrollable stealing by thieves. Preventing and protecting swiftlets from harm. And the biggest reason is that swiftlets choose their own home. One good suggest is to move the town away and then you have have a new BirdFree township paid with the money generated by this new industry.

Then, how can you take people for granted? Yes, then what about HandPhone? isn's it bad? Sitting next to another person using HP can be damaging too, won't you think so? Telecomunication towers, that's really dangerous......why they are still there?

Thank you again for your kind concerns and that all above comments are of my own humble opinions. Any rude or unpleasant words used are not intentionally.

My humble appoligies again.

Calvin

kohloh
post Aug 4 2008, 08:07 PM

142 posts

OH,,,,OH,,,,HERE COMES TROUBLE,,,,,,,,,,,

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Mon...icle/index_html
swifbuild
post Aug 4 2008, 08:17 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Aug 4 2008, 07:04 PM)
Dr. Tang.
Thank you for the concern and we, the BH ranchers are the first to get it if there is such fungus. So, we are surely have put our faith in this industry to enter the door to death. We need to clean up and need to do the repair and maintenance and if any such incident shall happen, we shall be the first to get it, right? Dr. Tang. We are our trust in the BHs and because a friend and his brothers grown up next to a room full with swiftlets for 15 years ago and none of then is sick till this day. Mind you and it was an old wooden house.

My two sons are also Doctors and they help me to clean the BH and to havest the nests, and they have no complaint.......maybe, God is with us.
I wear no mask but my sons do when we enter the BH as I want to be sure that bird shit is safe or otherwise I shall pay for my sin if anyone shall get it, then it shall be me first.

Your advice is appreciated and from a layman point (my Point), every air we take in contain some form of fungus or smell as there is not polution free air......nothing is free. I am not all for BH, then it is a new industry for us to make a decent living and with prices going up and up.....and what type of industry or buz has no effect on human, smokers still smoke and there are law on it but has anyone taken to court on it.......I don't smoke but then I entertain more then 20 smoking customers each day. Do I tell them, throw away your C or butt off. Sometime in life, we give and take, like this industry, good income and good for the eco system.....not much forest has to be cleared to make way and billion of cash can be generated. A compromising situation. Reason for not building BH in estate or land far away from human........the danger of being attacked by robbers and uncontrollable stealing by thieves. Preventing and protecting swiftlets from harm. And the biggest reason is that swiftlets choose their own home. One good suggest is to move the town away and then you have have a new BirdFree township paid with the money generated by this new industry.

Then, how can you take people for granted? Yes, then what about HandPhone? isn's it bad? Sitting next to another person using HP can be damaging too, won't you think so? Telecomunication towers, that's really dangerous......why they are still there?

Thank you again for your kind concerns and that all above comments are of my own humble opinions. Any rude or unpleasant words used are not intentionally.

Calvin
FANTASTIC QUOTE "WEST WING" I m with you and on your side! thumbup.gif
Lucas 1
post Aug 4 2008, 08:38 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(Ana.kepong @ Aug 4 2008, 03:00 PM)

Monday August 4, 2008
Isolate swiftlet farms

Dr GEOFFREY TANG,
Alor Star.
WOW, WHAT A COINCIDENCE ???

WHAT A COINCIDENCE,when I am about to post again another article talking of the alleged human inflicting diseases associated with the swiftlet extracted from the report written in 2002 by the Senior pioneer,complaint from Dr Tang appeared in the Star.

VERY INTERESTINGLY,the writer cum the Senior pioneer seemed to be able in 2002 to anticipate whats going to be fear and complain of, of this industry as in today. After reading his article,I personally am convinced that the content of his article already provided the clues to the answer,if not the total answer,to the suspicions and worries of Dr Geof Tang and many outsiders of this industry and also some of us in the industry.

The writer cum Senior pioneer confirms that between 2002 and 2005(world-wide avian flu rampage period),the Ministry of Health together with the Haiwan had done many researches,investigations and tests of the posibilities of swiftlets being carriers of various diseases in particularly to avian flu.All results turned out NEGATIVE which was published in the media and papers. Dr Fauziliah from the Haiwan was one of the key persons responsible for it.The Senior pioneer had personally helped the research team from the Ministry to arrange birdshit and blood sampling collections from the BHs across the country during the period. This is the main reason that the Ministry of Health and the Haiwan are the most supportive of this industry.To his personal opinoins and knowledge,that a handful high ranking officials from the PERHILITAN and from a certain Majlis(PBT) are the ones causing problems and troubles to this industry with their hidden agenda.

I am attaching his report here.Hopefully this could help us sleep better at night.

Attached File(s)
Attached File  ALLEGED_DISEASES_OF_SWIFTLETS.pdf ( 1.14mb ) Number of downloads: 197
mlknest
post Aug 4 2008, 09:53 PM

Added on August 4, 2008, 11:33 pmIf you wish to find where swiftlets like to hunt for food, then I suggest you check Indah Water pond nearby your area to see if you can see such amount of swiftlets like what I saw and capture in the below attached video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eOnMFyMLHBw

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CdinooLwr3E

I personally went into the pond to verify if these are the species of the swiftlet AF. Yes, it is and i found at least 1000-2000 swiftlets at 7pm drool.gif A good place to build BH here i guess rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by mlknest: Aug 5 2008, 11:57 PM
69ing
post Aug 5 2008, 10:08 AM

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by 69ing: Aug 9 2008, 10:24 AM
khlock
post Aug 6 2008, 11:02 AM

QUOTE(mlknest @ Aug 4 2008, 09:53 PM)

Added on August 4, 2008, 11:33 pmIf you wish to find where swiftlets like to hunt for food, then I suggest you check Indah Water pond nearby your area to see if you can see such amount of swiftlets like what I saw and capture in the below attached video.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eOnMFyMLHBw

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CdinooLwr3E

I personally went into the pond to verify if these are the species of the swiftlet AF. Yes, it is and i found at least 1000-2000 swiftlets at 7pm  drool.gif  A good place to build BH here i guess  rclxms.gif
Is they hunt the food there ? or Drink water there ? Because my friend also saw so many swiftlets fly around the top of the pond at Loji Air at Kg. Wak Salam, Jalan Jemaluang, Mersing every evening. rclxub.gif
tongserseng
post Aug 6 2008, 12:18 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(khlock @ Aug 6 2008, 11:02 AM)
Is they hunt the food there ?  or Drink water there ?  Because my friend also saw so many swiftlets fly around the top of the pond at Loji Air at Kg. Wak Salam, Jalan Jemaluang, Mersing every evening.    rclxub.gif
Jemaluang is a good place for swiftlet breeding since no many BH yet.......... can consider to invest if got cheap land with electricity and water supply.............. thumbup.gif
mlknest
post Aug 6 2008, 12:36 PM

Is they hunt the food there ? or Drink water there ? Because my friend also saw so many swiftlets fly around the top of the pond at Loji Air at Kg. Wak Salam, Jalan Jemaluang, Mersing every evening.

Jemaluang is a good place for swiftlet breeding since no many BH yet.......... can consider to invest if got cheap land with electricity and water supply..............

I went in checked and confirmed these are swiftlet AF which build the saliva nest. Indeed when observe carefully you may be will find about 80-90% are AF, the rest will be mixe with those grass swallow.

Yes, they are hunting for insects around the pond and also drink water.

If your place also confirm is this kind of species then you shall check any land /shoplot available and start to think of your investment. For me, I will start to survey land around this area laugh.gif

Yesterday i went again and i could not believe my eye, i guess it is more than minimum of 5000 birds drool.gif

This post has been edited by mlknest: Aug 6 2008, 12:38 PM
khlock
post Aug 6 2008, 01:13 PM

QUOTE(mlknest @ Aug 6 2008, 12:36 PM)
Is they hunt the food there ?  or Drink water there ?  Because my friend also saw so many swiftlets fly around the top of the pond at Loji Air at Kg. Wak Salam, Jalan Jemaluang, Mersing every evening.   
Jemaluang is a good place for swiftlet breeding since no many BH yet.......... can consider to invest if got cheap land with electricity and water supply.............. 

I went in checked and confirmed these are swiftlet AF which build the saliva nest. Indeed when observe carefully you may be will find about 80-90% are AF, the rest will be mixe with those grass swallow.

Yes, they are hunting for insects around the pond and also drink water.

If your place also confirm is this kind of species then you shall check any land /shoplot available and start to think of your investment. For me, I will start to survey land around this area  laugh.gif

Yesterday i went again and i could not believe my eye, i guess it is more than minimum of 5000 birds  drool.gif
Yes, there are a lot of agriculture land want to sell, one is 36 erka @ RM48K, 25 yrs oil palm, its is like a bukit, just infront of Loji Air, besie is jungle, 500 meters away to Sungai Mersing. nod.gif
tongserseng
post Aug 6 2008, 01:47 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(khlock @ Aug 6 2008, 01:13 PM)
Yes, there are a lot of agriculture land want to sell, one is 36 erka @ RM48K, 25 yrs oil palm, its is like a bukit, just infront of Loji Air, besie is jungle, 500 meters away to Sungai Mersing.  nod.gif
Any smaller land around that area available for sale ? Let's said......... around 5 to 10 ekars may be could consider as the budget constraint. drool.gif
Ana.kepong
post Aug 6 2008, 04:20 PM

13 posts

Pak Hendri Mulia Blog with useful info that all newbies may like to know. Also you may try to prepare your own Potion/Aroma with the formula provided in his blog (Ramuan Baru Pemikat Walet).

http://waletindonesia.blogspot.com/

No harm to try and may be shall also join Harry duck egg forum to view and share the results

http://groups.google.com/group/duck-egg-swiftlet-special

This post has been edited by Ana.kepong: Aug 6 2008, 04:22 PM

khlock
post Aug 6 2008, 08:35 PM

QUOTE(tongserseng @ Aug 6 2008, 01:47 PM)
Any smaller land around that area available for sale ? Let's said......... around 5 to 10 ekars  may be could consider as the budget constraint.  drool.gif
Another 1 ekar cost RM100K, but at Jalan Endau, also near the Sungai Mersing, 2km from town. drool.gif
tangsn
post Aug 7 2008, 09:05 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(69ing @ Aug 5 2008, 10:08 AM)
QUOTE(BSLEE79 @ Jul 29 2008, 12:32 PM)

Your things delayed 3 months already or not? If less than 3 months cannot complaint. Many more than 3 months also didn't complain. Fed up already.

QUOTE(tangsn @ Jul 30 2008, 08:58 PM)

what you mean?total time is nearly 3 months.
At first i bring around half KG of nest,but that time the guy shortage of money and i left the nest to him and that
guy agree to TT me the money in the next day.How i know that guy next day never ending once,delay and delay
and outstation whatever reason lah.until i fed up already..Just send your product(hormone or whatever) to cover the outstanding,he was ok with that and say my thing already prepare and packed and send through KT forwarder( i don't know what is this forwarder company,exist or not,i also not sure),but this forwarder take 2 weeks from klang also can't not deliver the stock to my hand..and last sunday i was inform my stock already arrive taiping at perak,my area only 60 km from taiping,until today still can't deliver to my hand.........three day walk from taiping also can reach alor setar already...............
so every body what you all think?????????

They are all complaining about K----- H--- of P---- N---
Hi 69 Ing or whoever,

I get the product from Kelvin,Today he personally down to taiping and pass me the stock.

khlock
post Aug 8 2008, 08:45 AM

想了解燕窝工业?
请立即购买一本‘探索金丝燕养殖的奥秘’ thumbup.gif

rclxm9.gif
内容丰富扎实,记录详细,

燕屋、燕窝知识广泛

以学术与理论的角度探索燕子生物生态实况。

有兴趣者,请直接联络作者黄先生 012-766 9058

或亲临 柔佛州笨珍培群独立中学出席“燕窝工业答客问交流会”, cool.gif

日期:8月10日(星期日) 时间:早上10时。 rclxms.gif

Added on August 8, 2008, 9:31 am

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif One of the Chinese Book regarding swiftlet farming. flex.gif flex.gif flex.gif

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif http://swiftletbook.blogspot.com/

This post has been edited by khlock: Aug 8 2008, 09:31 AM
swifbuild
post Aug 9 2008, 09:50 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Aug 4 2008, 07:04 PM)
Dr. Tang.

Calvin
Dear Calvin,

What you quoted was right. Not all Doctor are good people too some even sell Mc & ......

So not all farmers are bad that cause nausence ...

There are tended to be some rotten apples in the basket.

funnyswiftlet
post Aug 12 2008, 04:52 PM

Swiftlet Blog From Indonesia

http://waletlucu.blogspot.com/
TSseeseng
post Aug 15 2008, 12:32 PM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

Hmmm.... wonder where did the previous message gone. Read it 1 day before. Now it's gone.

122 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:21 AM