Kia Optima GT 2017 at rm179k

Ginny88
post Jul 1 2017, 04:43 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 1 2017, 12:54 PM)
This first Volvo support has been around since 2002 and the few owners I knew, their old s60 still running strong today. Can you list out the problem with these Volvo here precisely?

VW passat roof lining coming off? Only that? As long as spare parts and technical expertise available, why worry? People are more concern on no spare part caused by poor sales volume more. If not because my buddies are working in Japanese car company, I'll sure post lots of real facts here on VW, Volvo vs Optima GT. Passat 2.0 if priced at rm180k vs Optima GT, the Optima loses on performance and handling, also the ride over bumpy road.
You keep saying Korean cars spare parts problem have you tried buying any yourself? I don't see anybody complaining in the forum about having to wait for Korean spare parts but there are lots of complaints about waiting for Ford, Pug and VW parts. I have friends and colleagues driving Spectra, Matrix, Elantra and Optima and nobody is complaining about getting spare parts.

You ask, why worry about owning a Passat? Within 1st year high chance of sensor problem, masuk workshop 1 week. With 2nd year high chance of DSG problem, masuk workshop 3 weeks. Within 3rd year high chance of mechatronic problem, masuk workshop 4 weeks. Why worry when you have a spare car right? Those who don't have spare car shouldn't buy VW.

TSjayraptor
post Jul 1 2017, 06:17 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jul 1 2017, 04:43 PM)
You keep saying Korean cars spare parts problem have you tried buying any yourself? I don't see anybody complaining in the forum about having to wait for Korean spare parts but there are lots of complaints about waiting for Ford, Pug and VW parts. I have friends and colleagues driving Spectra, Matrix, Elantra and Optima and nobody is complaining about getting spare parts.

You ask, why worry about owning a Passat? Within 1st year high chance of sensor problem, masuk workshop 1 week. With 2nd year high chance of DSG problem, masuk workshop 3 weeks. Within 3rd year high chance of mechatronic problem, masuk workshop 4 weeks. Why worry when you have a spare car right? Those who don't have spare car shouldn't buy VW.
You forgot that I owned 2 Korean cars before selling off in 2015? Why kept bring older Korean models from my spoon-feeding era for example when people are referring the newer models that failed to sell? Everyone's questions here on the newer Korean models launched 2015 onwards that are sold in such poor volume. Sales volume poor until so rarely seen on the road, you think distributor and spare part shop will stock in ample amount of spare parts?

Your post on Passat spend a week in workshop every year tells that you're making up story. Go do proper homework before posting, easily kantoi if VW owners and technicians saw your comment. FYI, the polo 1.2T 2010 first batch owner with DSG gearbox only enter workshop 2 times mostly to replace the faulty part caused by incompatibility to our weather for free. That's all I can tell you as my buddies forbid me from saving the VW so that Japanese brands dominate.
overfloe
post Jul 2 2017, 09:21 AM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,208 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Jul 1 2017, 11:43 AM)
Peace my friend, I just book the new Elantra Sport. Absolutely love it, the continental like firm ride is exactly what I'm looking for at this affordable price range.

I admit I'm extremely bias/allergy to soft suspension setup. I came from a Toyota fans family, I was growing up getting carsick at highway, and only learn now that the extra few swing after uneven road make a huge difference over long distance after I work and sit in friends/colleagues car and get to experience the different suspension setup.. Also imagine the family meh look when I announce I book the new Elantra Sport.

I think Forte is more firm and well balanced than Cerato. They changed the Cerato to too soft for my liking. You can disagree, again I'm bias and against soft ride from 30 over years of car sick phobia. I'll let my family experience the car sick free ride soon in my new Elantra Sport after so many years with Toyota. I think this should change their perspective a little bit, because car sick over long distance is a normal thing in the family, no one ever suspected the car. Aunty/Uncle only said hot lah, other passenger move too much lah, driver skill not good lah, bla bla bla.

I think Optima GT is a good start. If I'm in 180K-200K price range my options would be Optima GT, Subaru WRX, Volvo V40 T5.

Cerato is still base on last generation suspension setting, with Albert Biermann on board, I strongly believe it will get update in the next generation like the Elantra.
Not gonna argue with your experience with softy rides, but cerato is far from a boat-like ride. While the suspension is supple, it hardly floats and rolls less than expected. I drove the facelifted cerato for more than 1000km with fully loaded passengers and luggages.. not even a complain heard. At highway speeds its pretty stable. Its not perfect, but it can be further tuned perhaps new version will see some changes.

Mind you, i drive a manual tranny car daily with stiff coilovers & 18inches wheels and i dont find cerato soft at all. And it rolls less and slower than a vios (the true definition of boat). I find cerato's absorber has long stroke, probably this contributes to the supple ride. Personally i prefer the stroke to be a bit shorter like honda city. Switch on the sport drive mode and the steering stiffens up considerably.

I personally think kia and hyundai are not given credits where its due, especially in this biased forums. Their recent models have improved tremendously and those jap car fans are still living in denial. Look at kia's upper range models, their interior fit and finish can put similarly priced jap cars to shame. Trust me, in 5 years time, the koreans will be ahead. Maybe not in term of technology but overall quality and value. I used to be anti-korean cars but they have changed. One thing for sure, the local distributors need to catch up by expanding and improving their service.
throx
post Jul 2 2017, 10:03 AM

Team Arsenal
1,020 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jun 29 2017, 11:29 PM)
@throx

Regarding your question over Elantra thread, I've mentioned the answers several times. Korean marketing went off track plus offensive strategies from my friend have driven people away from whatever Korean cars that are sold. I believe you have seen yourself, not just Elantra, you don't see Ioniq, Cerato, etc bearing new 2017 plates.

At the other hand, the new Tiguan that was launched recently, you should have seen few on the roads driven by real owners alone or ferrying family members around. This tells the dumb failed Korean marketing staff that people still buy cars. The more expensive over rm100k Tiguan, Subaru XV, Forrester still get buyers despite economic slowdown. Wonder who are they kidding when their meeting report said downturn time, people only buy B segment below rm90k ?

As per both sides Korean marketing staff, both are now accusing each other of bringing down Korean cars. Since Cerato 2.0L and Elantra 2.0L are priced at rm120k before throwing similar high discount in price war, which will you buy?

Elantra 2.0L nu engine tuned for torque
Output 152ps@6200rpm
Torque 192Nm@4000rpm

Cerato 2.0L nu engine tuned for power
Output 161ps@6500rpm
Torque 194Nm@4800rpm
Surprise that I have been referred. You don't have to convince me on how bad the sales of Hyundai in Malaysia, it's a fact that everyone know. But it won't deter me from buying a Hyundai or Kia (only price will whistling.gif ). I enjoy my car being rare.
wkc5657
post Jul 3 2017, 12:18 PM

573 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 1 2017, 01:18 AM)
Canbus you're referring is that network server style electronic fitted into cars nowadays. Already been around more than 10 years already, BMW, Mercedes already have them earlier. Do you really think this network really more durable and lasting than simple well protected wiring? You go ask experts that have worked on this, they'll tell you the same fault as old messed up wiring when old. Mechanic that lacked electronic background and experience will have hard time solving the irritating issues.

If your story on Honda Civic having to wait for parts is true despite having secured after sales, then you want people to expect a dying brand with poor sales volume which led to poor after sales and spare parts could act quicker? Korean brands can't solve existing and old problem, now want to sell hybrid, GDI engine, DCT gearbox some more? Those marketing staff personally won't buy Korean cars but bought Japanese cars. Now they pandai2 want to convince people to buy Korean cars? What a joke.

I know you have many decades (approaching 40 years) of experience but sometimes some additional fact checking and deliberation of thoughts have to be considered before making a statement. When korean cars have an issue, it is amplified out of proportion in your sight (even gloated). But then, i really don't hear much major complaints regarding korean marques. Lay people's perception wise still have some naysayers, but bring the car to workshop, still can get things done at similar costs of toyota/honda.

Yes, the Honda/Toyota has great service centre experience, but are their cars really that much extra more reliable against the koreans? Well, in a way they can give such nice service centre experience because these 2 marques are grossly over pricing the products. If not for the koreans (and mazda in more recent years) coming into the picture, these owners are getting more ripped off while still thinking they got a good deal.

And, the CANBUS has been around for some years working alongside the OBD2 protocol, and it won't go away in the short term. The standards were established as the suppliers just can't cope with the complexity of each individual brands bespoke needs and the amount of parts being set aside. The real fact is car manufacturers are now more reliant towards the tier 1 suppliers (eg, Bosch, Continental, Delphi, Valeo, etc) for the parts module. Most of the in house work are mainly on the engineering of the chassis and engine. And due to the trend of extreme profit maximisation methods employed, parts are now more and more coming in module/set form instead of individual parts. For electronics, if it fails in a major manner, it means it is time to change the car, whether car owners like it or not. This is planned obsolescence, no brands spared at all other than those really pinnacle bespoke laden marques. So your statement can't stand ground as your new beloved brand will also face the exact same situation years down the road.

In fact, there is a brewing fiasco in US for certain period of Toyota and Honda (some Subaru) cars, where the rats are attracted to bitting off the wiring, costing the owners many thousands? Why can't change just the affected wirings, the US SC should even be more professional and knowledgeable then our local people right? Well, because it comes in wholes sets. And best of all, cannot be claimed under warranty. So, no such thing as doing 1 wiring job or 2 now, other than those owners requesting customised electronic works for the bespoke sound system, lighting or additional parking cameras.

This post has been edited by wkc5657: Jul 3 2017, 01:17 PM
legend2014
post Jul 3 2017, 04:27 PM

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jun 29 2017, 11:29 PM)
@throx

Regarding your question over Elantra thread, I've mentioned the answers several times. Korean marketing went off track plus offensive strategies from my friend have driven people away from whatever Korean cars that are sold. I believe you have seen yourself, not just Elantra, you don't see Ioniq, Cerato, etc bearing new 2017 plates.

At the other hand, the new Tiguan that was launched recently, you should have seen few on the roads driven by real owners alone or ferrying family members around. This tells the dumb failed Korean marketing staff that people still buy cars. The more expensive over rm100k Tiguan, Subaru XV, Forrester still get buyers despite economic slowdown. Wonder who are they kidding when their meeting report said downturn time, people only buy B segment below rm90k ?

As per both sides Korean marketing staff, both are now accusing each other of bringing down Korean cars. Since Cerato 2.0L and Elantra 2.0L are priced at rm120k before throwing similar high discount in price war, which will you buy?

Elantra 2.0L nu engine tuned for torque
Output 152ps@6200rpm
Torque 192Nm@4000rpm

Cerato 2.0L nu engine tuned for power
Output 161ps@6500rpm
Torque 194Nm@4800rpm
The spec you given for Cerato 2.0 is wrong, actually this is pre-facelift spec, the facelift cerato 2.0 spec is

152ps@6200 rpm
192Nm@4000 rpm

which is same as Hyundai Elantra 2.0

The engine code you mentioned for Kia Optima GT in other thread also wrong, it is 2.0 Theta TGDI instead of 2.0 Nu TGDI, FYI Hyundai never develop turbo engine for Nu engine family

Please do your homework first before making any flame here, thank you

TSjayraptor
post Jul 3 2017, 11:06 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(legend2014 @ Jul 3 2017, 04:27 PM)
The spec you given for Cerato 2.0 is wrong, actually this is pre-facelift spec, the facelift cerato 2.0 spec is

152ps@6200 rpm
192Nm@4000 rpm

which is same as Hyundai Elantra 2.0
The engine code you mentioned for Kia Optima GT in other thread also wrong, it is 2.0 Theta TGDI instead of 2.0 Nu TGDI, FYI Hyundai never develop turbo engine for Nu engine family

Please do your homework first before making any flame here, thank you
The spec on new Cerato 2.0L in my post was taken from brand new Cerato brochure as attached. So are you saying the specs on brochure of new Cerato is lying or wrong?

Since when did I mention Korean Nu engine has turbocharged in any of my post? Even in another threads, I didn't mention anything about engine code of any turbocharged engine. Are you too eager and desperate to win? Few pro Korean supporters would have replied on the spot to claim some victory if there is any. Pay attention and read before you reply.

Here's a challenge for you. Numbers of pro Korean supporters kept bashing present Camry FL using old engine and gearbox but got debunked when I showed them the Camry 2.0 and 2.5 are fitted with new direct injection 6AR-FSE & 2AR-FSE engine with 6AT & CVT gearbox respectively. Then how come they never said Optima GT using old theta 2.0L engine that has been around since 2005? Some more that theta engine has recall news in America on stalling issue? Is the Optima GT actually older than Veloster turbo which is why it doesn't get DCT gearbox? For example Kia Koup 1.6T has same engine as Veloster 1.6 turbo but fitted with 6AT because it is older. New Elantra 1.6Turbo is newer so it gets DCT right?

This post has been edited by jayraptor: Jul 3 2017, 11:10 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
legend2014
post Jul 4 2017, 09:51 AM

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 3 2017, 11:06 PM)
The spec on new Cerato 2.0L in my post was taken from brand new Cerato brochure as attached. So are you saying the specs on brochure of new Cerato is lying or wrong?

Since when did I mention Korean Nu engine has turbocharged in any of my post? Even in another threads, I didn't mention anything about engine code of any turbocharged engine. Are you too eager and desperate to win? Few pro Korean supporters would have replied on the spot to claim some victory if there is any. Pay attention and read before you reply.

Here's a challenge for you. Numbers of pro Korean supporters kept bashing present Camry FL using old engine and gearbox but got debunked when I showed them the Camry 2.0 and 2.5 are fitted with new direct injection 6AR-FSE & 2AR-FSE engine with 6AT & CVT gearbox respectively. Then how come they never said Optima GT using old theta 2.0L engine that has been around since 2005? Some more that theta engine has recall news in America on stalling issue? Is the Optima GT actually older than Veloster turbo which is why it doesn't get DCT gearbox? For example Kia Koup 1.6T has same engine as Veloster 1.6 turbo but fitted with 6AT because it is older. New Elantra 1.6Turbo is newer so it gets DCT right?
Extracted from your first post

"
New Optima GT launched and priced at rm179k powered by Nu 2.0L turbocharged boosted to 3.5L strength. Reminds me of when Mondeo 2.0T launched at Rm180k and eventually failed. What were they thinking? Most D segments sold are 2.0L at rm140-150k. Probably don't know how to compete head on with Japanese D segment so brought in turbocharged 2.0L hoping to gain some sales competing with Japanese 2.4L and 2.5L D segments. FC result in America, the FC of 2.0T Optima/Sonata are higher than 2.4L NA Optima & Sonata. What do the people here think? Looks like they think themselves as conti car selling at cbu conti price now. Chain reaction, the sales volume also become like conti in the past. Conti today instead playing by the rule going CKD competing with Japanese at Japanese price range.
"

Please refer to http://www.kia.com/my/showroom/cerato/specification.html

Max. Power (ps/rpm) 152/6,200
Max. Torque (kg • m / rpm) 19.6/4,000

wkc5657
post Jul 4 2017, 11:49 AM

573 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 3 2017, 11:06 PM)
Then how come they never said Optima GT using old theta 2.0L engine that has been around since 2005? Some more that theta engine has recall news in America on stalling issue? Is the Optima GT actually older than Veloster turbo which is why it doesn't get DCT gearbox? For example Kia Koup 1.6T has same engine as Veloster 1.6 turbo but fitted with 6AT because it is older. New Elantra 1.6Turbo is newer so it gets DCT right?
Oooo....want to dish out technical specs comparison....Yes, optima use theta engine, but generation 2....
http://www.kia.com/my/showroom/new-optima/specification.html

oh wait....maybe the local marketing and sales team are so "incapable" that they pasted wrong information...maybe should sue them, can get compensation for misleading public, then use that money to buy the optima GT tongue.gif

But actually, it was in fact Theta II. There goes my free money cry.gif

http://www.kiamedia.com/us/en/presskits/20...ssrelease/10767 (ok, this one abit ambiguous as it writes "...carry over from the previous generation"

so here's the previous generation's press kit at nov'13 :
http://www.kiamedia.com/us/en/media/pressr...-mid-size-sedan
("The 2014 Optima offers two available and powerful Theta II powerplants featuring gasoline direct injection (GDI) technology: a 2.4-liter GDI four-cylinder or a 2.0-liter GDI turbo engine..."

US official press kit also wrong??!! Damn those fake news doh.gif

Wah.....engine stalling recall...damn siao man....but how come still no resolution to rat attractive wirings for the toyotas/hondas/subarus in the same US of A?
http://www.autoblog.com/2017/04/07/lawsuit...tracts-rodents/

ok maybe they are "infected" auto bloggers wanting to bring down king strategist's strategies....

but....found in proper news website wor....
http://www.nbcwashington.com/news/local/La...-418434033.html
http://www.ctvnews.ca/autos/they-love-it-w...bucks-1.3254895

Damn those fake news also confused.gif doh.gif

Gearbox huh....ala....simple lah....the hyundai/kia's DCT can't handle the 350Nm torque rating; that's why VW also have 2 types of DCT. If not, siao meh...want to create additional job to use 2 different kind of gearbox for the passat model....

TSjayraptor
post Jul 4 2017, 10:09 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(legend2014 @ Jul 4 2017, 09:51 AM)
Extracted from your first post

"
New Optima GT launched and priced at rm179k powered by Nu 2.0L turbocharged boosted to 3.5L strength. Reminds me of when Mondeo 2.0T launched at Rm180k and eventually failed. What were they thinking? Most D segments sold are 2.0L at rm140-150k. Probably don't know how to compete head on with Japanese D segment so brought in turbocharged 2.0L hoping to gain some sales competing with Japanese 2.4L and 2.5L D segments. FC result in America, the FC of 2.0T Optima/Sonata are higher than 2.4L NA Optima & Sonata. What do the people here think? Looks like they think themselves as conti car selling at cbu conti price now. Chain reaction, the sales volume also become like conti in the past. Conti today instead playing by the rule going CKD competing with Japanese at Japanese price range.
"

Please refer to http://www.kia.com/my/showroom/cerato/specification.html
Max. Power (ps/rpm)              152/6,200
Max. Torque (kg • m / rpm)    19.6/4,000
As usual, Korean fans took simple error to win. Now you brought this up, I got gift for you.

I40 is powered by 2.0 Nu GDI natural aspirated engine. Sonata LF, Tucson, Shortage 2.0L are powered by Nu MPI. If Optima 2.0L non-turbo being brought in, it'll be Nu engine. It's not unusual if I mistakenly typed Nu instead of older theta in Optima GT.

The Nu engine is designed to replace the old theta engine in 2011. So why is the Optima GT 2.0T is still using the old Theta engine instead of Nu engine that is supposed to be the successor? Is the Nu engine not better than Theta engine?

Theta 2 engine only around for 2 years here and replaced by Nu mpi. Then suddenly there's short-lived i40 Nu 2.0L GDI. Now suddenly Optima GT is using different Theta 2.0 GDi engine. With so many different engine yet with different heads even if same engine name, this creates confusion for technician/mechanic in future as more varieties of parts required since they cannot share parts. Your comment helps me think of this and shared amongst my members with Japanese company. TQ...

Walk in customer that come to test drive, the details they get are the specifications on brochures. You think they will suspect the details are fake and go online to check? Only those enthusiast will.
Ginny88
post Jul 4 2017, 11:37 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 4 2017, 10:09 PM)
As usual, Korean fans took simple error to win. Now you brought this up, I got gift for you.

I40 is powered by 2.0 Nu GDI natural aspirated engine. Sonata LF,  Tucson, Shortage 2.0L are powered by Nu MPI. If Optima 2.0L non-turbo being brought in, it'll be Nu engine.  It's not unusual if I mistakenly typed Nu instead of older theta in Optima GT.

The Nu engine is designed to replace the old theta engine in 2011. So why is the Optima GT 2.0T is still using the old Theta engine instead of Nu engine that is supposed to be the successor?  Is the Nu engine not better than Theta engine?

Theta 2 engine only around for 2 years here and replaced by Nu mpi. Then suddenly there's short-lived i40 Nu 2.0L GDI. Now suddenly Optima GT is using different Theta 2.0 GDi engine. With so many different engine yet with different heads even if same engine name, this creates confusion for technician/mechanic in future as more varieties of parts required since they cannot share parts. Your comment helps me think of this and shared amongst my members with Japanese company. TQ...

Walk in customer that come to test drive, the details they get are the specifications on brochures. You think they will suspect the details are fake and go online to check? Only those enthusiast will.
What's the big deal that Kia uses the Theta engine instead of the Nu engine for the Optima GT? It just means that they haven't developed turbo for the Nu engine, that's all. Do you think that such a big corporation like Kia can't maintain 2 separate engines? What confusion for the technicians? Every auto company have a variety of engines and they have no problem on spare parts and training for all of them. You talk as if Kia will collapse under the weight of maintaining both the Theta and Nu engines. Even Proton has lots of different engines and Proton is a fraction of Kia's size.

The problem with you is that you tend to blow things out of proportions to fit your blinkered view that Korean cars are dying without you and your friends' help. You can talk till the cows come home but Kia and Hyundai are doing very well without your help. Your vision of doom and gloom is just to satisfy your biased mind but it isn't going to happen. Korean cars continue to improve every year and they are almost on par with the Japs. Give them a few more years and they will overtake the Japs. Korean cars no longer compete on being cheaper, they compete on quality and value for money now.

If you think Korean cars are dying then so be it. It's enough that you convince yourself, there is no need to try and convince others. There's so much prejudice and hatred in you towards Korean cars that you can't be a good judge of their future.

sitescope
post Jul 5 2017, 08:02 AM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jul 4 2017, 11:37 PM)
What's the big deal that Kia uses the Theta engine instead of the Nu engine for the Optima GT? It just means that they haven't developed turbo for the Nu engine, that's all. Do you think that such a big corporation like Kia can't maintain 2 separate engines? What confusion for the technicians? Every auto company have a variety of engines and they have no problem on spare parts and training for all of them. You talk as if Kia will collapse under the weight of maintaining both the Theta and Nu engines. Even Proton has lots of different engines and Proton is a fraction of Kia's size.

The problem with you is that you tend to blow things out of proportions to fit your blinkered view that Korean cars are dying without you and your friends' help. You can talk till the cows come home but Kia and Hyundai are doing very well without your help. Your vision of doom and gloom is just to satisfy your biased mind but it isn't going to happen. Korean cars continue to improve every year and they are almost on par with the Japs. Give them a few more years and they will overtake the Japs. Korean cars no longer compete on being cheaper, they compete on quality and value for money now.

If you think Korean cars are dying then so be it. It's enough that you convince yourself, there is no need to try and convince others. There's so much prejudice and hatred in you towards Korean cars that you can't be a good judge of their future.
As per advise before, no need to reply to this thread
Let it idle n move to page 2 so no one will bother
There's specific optima thread in car clubs where he's not welcome there
U can contribute there

Maybe goldfries can move this thread to /k since it's not helping to optima buyer at all

kluseng
post Jul 5 2017, 10:42 AM

473 posts

What did I tell you guys about not feeding the troll? It's pointless to argue with him and the thread becomes an endless diatribe about the politics of Korean cars.

wkc5657
post Jul 5 2017, 11:14 AM

573 posts

As you said, walk in customer care about the car it self, not much about the specification details. Then why so much talk about specification la, power numbers la, torque ratings la, engine family la....etc

It is their engines, and they will decide what engine characteristics suite what particular model. Multiple engine families can give headache to technicians/mechanics??!! oh wow mega_shok.gif

Before you discuss about the korean engine family "confusion", please make known to your members how to deal with this first ar : laugh.gif laugh.gif
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Toyota_engines
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Honda_engines

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jul 5 2017, 08:02 AM)
U can contribute there

later he say you infringe his freedom of speech rights sweat.gif
legend2014
post Jul 5 2017, 06:52 PM

I40 is powered by 2.0 Nu GDI natural aspirated engine. Sonata LF,  Tucson, Shortage 2.0L are powered by Nu MPI. If Optima 2.0L non-turbo being brought in, it'll be Nu engine.  It's not unusual if I mistakenly typed Nu instead of older theta in Optima GT.

The Nu engine is designed to replace the old theta engine in 2011. So why is the Optima GT 2.0T is still using the old Theta engine instead of Nu engine that is supposed to be the successor?  Is the Nu engine not better than Theta engine?

Excuse me, I am not a Korean fans, I am a car engine enthusiast

I just want to prove that you know nothing about hyundai engine development history even though you did own 2 korean car before.

Hyundai develop Nu engine is to replace the Theta NA engine in 1800cc to 2000cc engine range, I highlight again, to replace NA engine.
the recently engine recall issue happened in US involved 2.0 GDI and 2.4 GDI Theta II engine manufactured at Alabama, US
the caused is the metal debris left at cylinder block during manufacturing process and it will hurt the conrod bearing in the long run

I would agree that most of the car salesman in malaysia is lack of technical knowledge especially on engine, this apply on every brand not only Korean brand

just some extra info to share about Kia Optima GT

The 2.0 Theta TGDI use in Kia Optima GT is the 2nd version of Theta TGDI as compare with 1st version use in 2011(YF) Hyundai Sonata in oversea market,
Some improvement over the 1st version :-
- Electromechanical VVT (intake side) to replace the hydraulic operate VVT (similar system with Toyota 8AR-FTS turbo engine and Mazda Skyactiv engine)
- Improvement on Engine refinement
- Improvement on electronic wastegate
- Improvement on direct injector
- Engine tuning

if any thing need to add on that I missed then please correct me and share with us, thank you

cms
post Jul 5 2017, 07:55 PM

763 posts

But seriously I find him pretty interesting from being a supporter to join the anti Korean camp over these years. And becomes pure bashing based on brand name and not a specific model.

By being a basher your views are no longer valid and with bias judgement. Based on my buddies/best friend/ heng tai whatever strategy opinion, make your own stand lah bro. As if their ur soul mates is paying for your car.

King strategies or nt, spoon feeding era, the success of a company relies on team work not an individual so don't over credit someone on their work. It's a team effort especially in a big organization. Why not transfer this thread to Kopitiam as it serves no purpose to its title.

TSjayraptor
post Jul 5 2017, 09:20 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jul 5 2017, 08:02 AM)
U can contribute there

Maybe goldfries can move this thread to /k since it's not helping to optima buyer at all
@kluseng replying to you too.

How come both of you still here when you mentioned several times to ignore my post and don't feed the troll? The few of you pro Korean supporters been replying between just the few of you in Elantra thread forcing moderator to remove several forumners who debated, discussed, shared information there without breaking law. That thread of yours went quiet ever since with just few of you syok sensitive replying each other until nothing left to post.

I opened my own thread for all forumners to discuss, debate, post, share comments on real car talk, ownership, situation, etc. Everyone was posting happily until the few of you came and began reporting against several forumners turning them away. Despite they stopped posting, you can see the high numbers of genuine viewers visiting my thread.

@goldfries
If a gpu or CPU have faulty driver issue that cause game to crash or stuck at low speed, does the owner or reviewer allow to voice out in forum? If a new gpu that claimed superior failed to challenge old gtx980ti, can the people post the actual gameplay fps results? Sitescope here is like preventing gamers from posting anything adverse or negative perception, the cause, issue, etc that turn people away. LYF FnF forum is supposed to be discussion forum, more viewers more ratings and advertisements. You buy pc and cars too, you would like to see more before deciding which car to buy.
TSjayraptor
post Jul 5 2017, 09:32 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jul 4 2017, 11:37 PM)

@legend2014

Optima GT turbocharger is outsourced, they don't make on their own. Nu engine can be turbocharged with their preference on tuning. But no, they chose the old engine.

Take the i40 for example, only small numbers were sold. It's Nu GDI engine cannot share certain parts with Sonata LF Nu MPI engine. 5 or 10 years later, with so few i40 on the road, you think spare parts will be brought in bulk? Common sense, spare part suppliers and SC quantity surveyor won't stock in many stocks if they'll end up collecting dust most of the time. Now Optima GT at more expensive rm180k, sales volume so poor, you think the only theta GDI will get more spare parts than i40?

Pointing out weakness and serious flaws is not flaming. Do you know what flaming means in the first place?

Some present Korean models sales volume are as poor as the old Kia Clarus 1999, Rio 2001, Sonata 1998 after they exceeded 5 years old?. Have you checked these cars maintenance issue and serious no spare parts issues before you spread lies to public on no worry on spare parts?

This post has been edited by jayraptor: Jul 5 2017, 09:46 PM
TSjayraptor
post Jul 5 2017, 09:37 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 5 2017, 11:14 AM)
As you said, walk in customer care about the car it self, not much about the specification details. Then why so much talk about specification la, power numbers la, torque ratings la, engine family la....etc

It is their engines, and they will decide what engine characteristics suite what particular model. Multiple engine families can give headache to technicians/mechanics??!! oh wow  mega_shok.gif

Before you discuss about the korean engine family "confusion", please make known to your members how to deal with this first ar :  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Toyota_engines
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Honda_engines
later he say you infringe his freedom of speech rights  sweat.gif
Anyone who said walk in customers don't care about anything is total ignorant, especially if this comes from marketing staff. No wonder so many end up walking to next door Honda, Toyota, Mazda showroom.

If all active car talk threads being moved to kopitiam, then who will visit FnF then? Just the few of you who condemns people from talking about cars?
alphaz
post Jul 6 2017, 01:00 AM

406 posts

This thread delivers. Fkn amusing

32 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0582sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:19 AM