Kia Optima GT 2017 at rm179k

Quang1819
post Aug 25 2017, 12:30 PM

2,604 posts

Anyone tested this car? Is it good and is the torque really there?

Tested Elantra Sport when it was launched. Felt rather disappointed with the power it listed, but when you drive you don't feel the power at all.
constant_weight
post Aug 25 2017, 01:22 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Aug 25 2017, 09:56 AM)
You guys really going way too off topic here. I am quite surprised the moderator still hasn't stepped in to clean up so many unrelated topics.

On a serious note: If I was a forum troll, I would be laughing at you guys for getting so easily ignited. You guys are just adding more fuel to burn laugh.gif
Actually we are not the one that driving the off topic. You see who is the TS?

He the one started all this to lure interested buyer in but he's been giving out made up assumption. He is hurting the community with false information. Got the fundamental working principle of a car all wrong.

We don't care about his Korean strategist thingy. But every time when he stuck on this "technical theory", he ended up twisting to Korean strategist to get away to avoid the situation. blink.gif
wkc5657
post Aug 25 2017, 02:14 PM

564 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Aug 25 2017, 12:30 PM)

Tested Elantra Sport when it was launched. Felt rather disappointed with the power it listed, but when you drive you don't feel the power at all.
For now, korean cars are not tuned for throttle sensitivity, look elsewhere....you may feel the 208 more responsive than this car if you think the elantra sport is already feeling meh....

If you prefer push back on chair feeling, then go look at the continental camp.
constant_weight
post Aug 25 2017, 02:28 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Aug 25 2017, 02:14 PM)
For now, korean cars are not tuned for throttle sensitivity, look elsewhere....you may feel the 208 more responsive than this car if you think the elantra sport is already feeling meh....

If you prefer push back on chair feeling, then go look at the continental camp.
Elantra Sport faster than Optima GT up to 100-120 only. After this point to past 200, Optima GT is faster, but this point no longer get the push back chair feeling.

I agree, if ES is meh, he need something faster. I can't get over the round round 208 GTi design, else it would be fun. Miss the stick, I'm still itchy drive my old corolla time to time. Feel this car so slow vs ES, keep doing heel and toe down shift to gear 2 like a crazy maniac. But it is fun.

Passat 2.0, can get 280hp by simply ECU remap right? I read somewhere that the engine can handle the stress, no need to strengthen it.
wkc5657
post Aug 25 2017, 02:34 PM

564 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Aug 25 2017, 02:28 PM)
Passat 2.0, can get 280hp by simply ECU remap right? I read somewhere that the engine can handle the stress, no need to strengthen it.
The engine may, but the brakes definitely not....

Many people chase power and speed, but always forgot to upgrade the capability to shed it off....
K3nnYkl82
post Aug 25 2017, 02:35 PM

2,479 posts

Elantra Sport faster than Optima GT up to 100-120 only. After this point to past 200, Optima GT is faster, but this point no longer get the push back chair feeling.

I agree, if ES is meh, he need something faster. I can't get over the round round 208 GTi design, else it would be fun. Miss the stick, I'm still itchy drive my old corolla time to time. Feel this car so slow vs ES, keep doing heel and toe down shift to gear 2 like a crazy maniac. But it is fun.

most turbo engine can easily gain more power by ecu remap.
the reason behind is exactly same like CPU .
due to mass production, and different country have different fuel standard .. the manufacturer will detune it to suit all.

thats why even NA remap u can gain power, but not taht much compare to Turbo for sure. A simple example is mitsubishi cars, they are differenciated by 7 main continent.

1. US (exception to california with different standard)
2. European
3. China
4. Middle east (GCC)
5. Australia
6. Japan
7. General Export.

those car categorized under general export will have the same map for all the same variant.

a quick example, look at our fuel vs thailand n indonesia ..

thailand mostly Ron88 - 91
indonesia Ron88 as well

our ignition timing are tuned to optimized around that area. Yes the car will try to advance its timing when capable, but there is an upper bound limit in the ecu setting as well. default it will take the lower and slowly advance.

Attached is an example of inspira stock 2.0 ignition timing both lower n upper bound ..
prof jay wont understand punya ... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by K3nnYkl82: Aug 25 2017, 02:41 PM

Ginny88
post Aug 25 2017, 03:03 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Aug 25 2017, 12:30 PM)

Everybody who tested the Elantra Sport was impressed by its pickup. What's wrong with you?? smile.gif
Quang1819
post Aug 25 2017, 03:13 PM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Aug 25 2017, 03:03 PM)
Everybody who tested the Elantra Sport was impressed by its pickup. What's wrong with you?? smile.gif
Just felt despaired with its claimed power. Is there anything wrong? smile.gif
constant_weight
post Aug 25 2017, 03:17 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Aug 25 2017, 02:35 PM)
due to mass production, and different country have different fuel standard .. the manufacturer will detune it to suit all.

thats why even NA remap u can gain power, but not taht much compare to Turbo for sure. A simple example is mitsubishi cars, they are differenciated by 7 main continent.

2. European
3. China
4. Middle east (GCC)
5. Australia
6. Japan
7. General Export.
those car categorized under general export will have the same map for all the same variant.

indonesia Ron88 as well

our ignition timing are tuned to optimized around that area. Yes the car will try to advance its timing when capable, but there is an upper bound limit in the ecu setting as well. default it will take the lower and slowly advance.
Attached is an example of inspira stock 2.0 ignition timing both lower n upper bound ..
prof jay wont understand punya ...  whistling.gif
over 40 degree of timing advance? I didn't know it varies that much.

But in read life, that region is not practical unless someone free revving the engine.

K3nnYkl82
post Aug 25 2017, 03:22 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Aug 25 2017, 03:17 PM)
over 40 degree of timing advance? I didn't know it varies that much.

But in read life, that region is not practical unless someone free revving the engine.
mitsubishi timing is based on the cam not crank . so its practically / 2 . about 20 degree (if u looking at crank angle .. normally we look at crank not cam thou).
wkc5657
post Aug 25 2017, 03:24 PM

564 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Aug 25 2017, 02:35 PM)

2. European
3. China
4. Middle east (GCC)
5. Australia
6. Japan
7. General Export.

indonesia Ron88 as well

prof jay wont understand punya ...  whistling.gif
number positive means advance and negative means retard?
K3nnYkl82
post Aug 25 2017, 03:27 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Aug 25 2017, 03:24 PM)
number positive means advance and negative means retard?
yes bro. the chart is by RPM vs engine load.
zweimmk
post Aug 25 2017, 03:29 PM

512 posts

280BHP Can. On wheel 280 then will need to decat and go with a 3 inch downpipe.
If you want to push higher power, can upgrade from the stock IS28 turbo to IS38 turbo. On wheel then can hit about 343whp? But will advise to upgrade pistons.

Brakes can go with the Golf R brake upgrade or even higher like 4 pot/6pot

Want tighter roll control and cornering? Change to stock absorbers to kwv3.

Pretty much all set then

wkc5657
post Aug 25 2017, 03:40 PM

564 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Aug 25 2017, 03:29 PM)
280BHP Can. On wheel 280 then will need to decat and go with a 3 inch downpipe.
If you want to push higher power, can upgrade from the stock IS28 turbo to IS38 turbo. On wheel then can hit about 343whp? But will advise to upgrade pistons.

Brakes can go with the Golf R brake upgrade or even higher like 4 pot/6pot

Want tighter roll control and cornering? Change to stock absorbers to kwv3.

Pretty much all set then
The factory supplied clutch pack can tahan 343hp?

This post has been edited by wkc5657: Aug 25 2017, 03:41 PM
Ginny88
post Aug 25 2017, 03:44 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Aug 25 2017, 03:13 PM)
Just felt despaired with its claimed power. Is there anything wrong? smile.gif
You won't find many family cars with sub 7.7s 0-100km/h. Compare with Jetta, Focus, 408T, Civic 1.5T, Mazda 3, not with Golf GTi la.
Quang1819
post Aug 25 2017, 04:11 PM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Aug 25 2017, 03:44 PM)
You won't find many family cars with sub 7.7s 0-100km/h. Compare with Jetta, Focus, 408T, Civic 1.5T, Mazda 3, not with Golf GTi la.
Out of those you mentioned, I've only driven Civic and Mazda 3. And I honestly felt Mazda 3 has way better response than Elantra Sport. Even handling wise is way better as well, the stiffness when cornering and speed control of GVC did impress me.
Or perhaps I watched too much of reviews about Elantra Sport abd heard too much compliments from those car critiques, thus expected too much.
But if Elantra Sport were to go for less than 120k, then yes, it's worth every penny, and would opt for Elantra rather than the Mazda 3.
linkin182
post Aug 25 2017, 04:19 PM

283 posts

Wow, the amount of deviation for this thread is more than 480 degrees!
zweimmk
post Aug 25 2017, 06:28 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Aug 25 2017, 03:40 PM)
The factory supplied clutch pack can tahan 343hp?
The transmission has been known to take 500nm of torque.
Some will recommend upgrading the clutch pack of the wet clutch to handle even higher levels of torque.
zenix
post Aug 25 2017, 09:33 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Aug 25 2017, 03:03 PM)
perspective and expectations.

for people already driving 2000cc NA cars a 1400-1600cc turbo isn't going to be much better, only the turbo pull when it hits the power band will push you back to your seat more than an NA, but generally nothing fantastic.

you ask those dunggu's driving 1600cc NA cars and below most turbo's will seem like magic, when the laughable Prince 1.6T's inside the Pug's, Citroen's, and recon Nissan's.

for those driving perodua cars below 1300cc especially kelisa/kenari which were known for their punchy engines will go like "what sorcery is this?" when they floor a 1.0T ecoboost.

32 Pages « < 30 31 32Top

0.0172sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:00 PM