32 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Kia Optima GT 2017 at rm179k

TSjayraptor
post Jul 8 2017, 12:04 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(legend2014 @ Jul 7 2017, 07:22 PM)
Did I say Nu MPI and Nu GDI is 100% identical ??? What I trying to say is most of the parts is identical, don't try to tell me both type of engine use different engine oil filter and air filter...

Based on the parts number I got from stockist, the short block, throttle body, VVT mechanism, oil pump, water pump, MAF, O2, EGR valve, PCV and many other parts is all identical, the diff parts is fuel injector, fuel pump, cylinder head, spark plug and of course the ECU.

Top Car manufacturer in 2016 (Based on the total number of cars sold in the world)

2.Toyota
3. Renault/Nissan
4. Hyundai/Kia
7. Honda
10. Suzuki

The ranking is telling the truth

I 100% agree that Malaysia authorized Korean car distributor need to improve their marketing strategy and after sales service, they still left behind from the Japanese brand competitors, nevertheless we able to see the improvement over these few years  but this is not enough to change the old school perception from the public.
FYI, Koreans buy cars like hand phones. Koreans would get bored very fast and change after 2 or 3 years. Which is why the Korean cars would change new model in 3 or 4 years. The Cerato 2012 already underwent 2-3 minor facelift in such short time before the redesigned Cerato being launched in Korea in end 2015.

That top car manufacturer, if car makers exclude own home country sales and count only personal cars owned by private owner, Japanese brand would dominate with far bigger gap than Korean cars.

Before this Koreans attack VW, then they attack Subaru. Now they go against Volvo that is gaining popularity. If Volvo come up with more practical cars, it'll sure gain more market share.
TSjayraptor
post Jul 8 2017, 12:16 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(victorr @ Jul 7 2017, 10:45 AM)
I think the so called ACE Strategist is himself la. Rejected by Korean Company, so now spreading all the hate here.
Nobody in their right mind would hire such employee.  biggrin.gif
Last time Kind Strategist, now Ace Strategist. Next will be Hyper Ultra Mou dak Deng Strategist.

K Thx Bye before he come and flame me  rclxs0.gif
I'm waiting for permission from 2 more friends with Japanese car company whether I can post advantage of buying Volvo. Once they agree, I'll get to post strategies on Volvo against other cars especially Optima GT vs V40 thread, really entice me to post. They'll approve as long as Volvo doesn't affect their Japanese cars sales. Please do give support to either 1. More to come...If got greenlight. VW not allowed to comment much on strategies and technical. Heeheee.... 3 already agreed... I'll pick Volvo ofcourse, tahan lasak actually...
TSjayraptor
post Jul 8 2017, 12:23 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(jorrne00 @ Jul 7 2017, 10:39 PM)
currently have any pre-reg unit for optima GT ? or any 1 that bought this car?
Preregistered cars only allowed to sell after 6 months old if not mistaken. Whether they dare to stock in also question mark coz this car is expensive subject to higher tax. If preregistered selling too low, they'll be making serious losses. Cannot play play with price also. The few models already facing overstock with far less buyers issues. So they slowly become like conti cars during 90's only sell at low volume fully imported.
wkc5657
post Jul 8 2017, 08:12 AM

577 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 8 2017, 12:16 AM)
I'm waiting for permission from 2 more friends with Japanese car company whether I can post advantage of buying Volvo. Once they agree, I'll get to post strategies on Volvo against other cars especially Optima GT vs V40 thread, really entice me to post. They'll approve as long as Volvo doesn't affect their Japanese cars sales. Please do give support to either 1. More to come...If got greenlight. VW not allowed to comment much on strategies and technical. Heeheee.... 3 already agreed... I'll pick Volvo ofcourse, tahan lasak actually...
oh good heavens, need "permission".....

Whatever it is, please put your almost 40 years of automotive industry "insider knowledge" to good use. Don't be stupid enough to let people expose your misinformation again and again to the masses here.
overfloe
post Jul 8 2017, 09:46 AM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,211 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 8 2017, 01:16 AM)
Please share, on what is volvo's strategy to overcome their poor resale value.

And please share on how is volvo's great strategy will affect japanese car sales..

What is the advantage of buying a volvo also need permission?
TSjayraptor
post Jul 9 2017, 09:54 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Jul 8 2017, 09:46 AM)
Please share, on what is volvo's strategy to overcome their poor resale value.

And please share on how is volvo's great strategy will affect japanese car sales..

What is the advantage of buying a volvo also need permission?
@wkc5657

Volvo is not rival to Toyota but it's still rival to Lexus. Of course must confirm first to avoid angering friends. I don't think any of my member with Lexus, should be OK to post general info. Funniest thing ever from Korean fan, like pot calling the kettle black. Check your own Korean cars price over rm150k when brand new resale value first before saying others poor RV. Check how much is Santa Fe 2011 today compared to Honda CRV 2011. The more expensive Santa Fe cost much lower than CRV today. Sonata LF will have even worse RV for such poor demand.

V40 vs Optima GT both at rm180k price range, would you believe that more people would buy Volvo mainly because it's design is more original, it's built more solid and actually reliable. Just the gearbox alone from Aisin already beats Korean gearbox in eyes of public in terms of reliability and technologically more advanced.

Talking about RV between these 2, I won't be surprised if Volvo v40 beats Optima GT. Reason being the Volvo has more on the road with better public perception. Spare parts shops outside will bring in more spare parts. Don't forget China Geely owned Volvo and they manufacture parts in China. Which means spare parts costs much lower now with China mass production and shipping cost from there. When comes to fuel consumption, most important, the Volvo today known to be better unlike yesterday.

Korean Optima GT at the other hand, the theta GDi is 1 of its kind and only 1 in Korean lineup. Which means in future this engine will no longer exist in newer Korean models that will come to local market. The Koreans present trend in making cars are like making hand phones which is bad for long term ownership especially spare parts. If a model only last 3 years then come up with partial or total redesign, you expect lots of spare parts available when that model only lasted less than 3 years on the road?

This post has been edited by jayraptor: Jul 9 2017, 09:55 AM

Ginny88
post Jul 9 2017, 10:10 AM

1,032 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by Ginny88: Jul 9 2017, 12:01 PM
fong928
post Jul 9 2017, 08:15 PM

13 posts

Imaging a family trip with ferrying 4-5 persons in a v40 on a 4 hours journey ,
maybe shorter time, bcos T5, vroom vroooom !!!! Ignoring of aes too !!!
And small luggages behind the tiny boot.
Really ?????

dstl1128
post Jul 9 2017, 08:40 PM

4,464 posts

V40 is tiny. I would prefer Optima GT... but then RM180k for Kia/Hyundai brand... hmm.gif

... might just end up with Camry Hybrid. lol
hihihehe
post Jul 9 2017, 08:45 PM

13,791 posts

Some people just like to compare orange to apple. Volvo v40 with this gt? Really?

Both different segment
SUSkevin23
post Jul 9 2017, 09:38 PM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Jul 9 2017, 08:40 PM)
V40 is tiny. I would prefer Optima GT... but then RM180k for Kia/Hyundai brand...  hmm.gif

Good choice on the Camry Hybrid. Its a super good car. Test drove it and it is so smooth i tell u. It actually has Lexus quality and feel all arround.

And the power is amazing . The fact that this car can do 1k km a tank makes it a no brainer.

wkc5657
post Jul 10 2017, 04:31 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 9 2017, 09:54 AM)
@wkc5657

Volvo is not rival to Toyota but it's still rival to Lexus. Of course must confirm first to avoid angering friends. I don't think any of my member with Lexus, should be OK to post general info. Funniest thing ever from Korean fan, like pot calling the kettle black. Check your own Korean cars price over rm150k when brand new resale value first before saying others poor RV. Check how much is Santa Fe 2011 today compared to Honda CRV 2011. The more expensive Santa Fe cost much lower than CRV today. Sonata LF will have even worse RV for such poor demand.

V40 vs Optima GT both at rm180k price range, would you believe that more people would buy Volvo mainly because it's design is more original, it's built more solid and actually reliable. Just the gearbox alone from Aisin already beats Korean gearbox in eyes of public in terms of reliability and technologically more advanced.

Talking about RV between these 2, I won't be surprised if Volvo v40 beats Optima GT. Reason being the Volvo has more on the road with better public perception. Spare parts shops outside will bring in more spare parts. Don't forget China Geely owned Volvo and they manufacture parts in China. Which means spare parts costs much lower now with China mass production and shipping cost from there. When comes to fuel consumption, most important, the Volvo today known to be better unlike yesterday.

Korean Optima GT at the other hand, the theta GDi is 1 of its kind and only 1 in Korean lineup.  Which means in future this engine will no longer exist in newer Korean models that will come to local market. The Koreans present trend in making cars are like making hand phones which is bad for long term ownership especially spare parts. If a model only last 3 years then come up with partial or total redesign, you expect lots of spare parts available when that model only lasted less than 3 years on the road?
wow...really a sign of desperation for using a car of different segment and market segmentation to make the comparison and making things up without proper reasoning. I can't believe that an industry "giant" with approaching 40 years of experience together with so many industry "insider" can make such a write up.

Aiyo why can anger them? It is actually good for their development as you "challenge" them to up their game constantly. Kaizen right, continuous improvement, your gang working in Honda should be very familiar with this culture and should actually thank you.

Are you so sure that it is more technologically advanced against the koreans version of the 8 speeder? No industry experts say that but you can?
Why don't you also state the annoying points of the korean gearbox? I stated it before sometime ago, why don't you use my word against me? Oh i know why, because your mazda also have part of the similar annoying point regarding the gearbox, don't want to spoil own market?

I really thought you would use more points, but just only that gearbox thing? Why don't state the obvious also :
- faster acceleration
- class leading safety features
- conti feel, etc

Why don't you also state the not so obvious :
- the V40 is actually a shared platform with the ford focus, with interchangeable suspension components. Since you say Ford here is shitty strategy and parts damn rare, do you think that volvo malaysia with even lesser sales volume and service centres will have a better situation?
- the facelift is late by almost 2 years and it will be "obsolete" in less than 2 years as the replacement is just on the near horizon
- it uses belt driven timing
- the turning radius is larger than average
- you really think the maintenance costs actually cheaper??

Come on la...You only think just because of the Volvo belonging to China, the parts will be cheaper. Please enlighten us which tier 1 major parts suppliers that are not manufacturing in China? They only supply to Volvo exclusively in your mind? Did you even read the automotive news before commenting? Volvo is going to have electrification on all of their products before 2020, you think that more hybrid parts will be cheaper to replace and maintain? You keep bemoaning there are no electrical experts in malaysia, and you think by going exclusively doing all maintenance work in the official service centre throughout the lifetime of car ownership is going to be easy on the pocket? Oh wait....the hybrid battery pack is from LG wor.... and how much is it going to cost to replace electric driven air cond compressor ar??

And you really have a hard time really understanding what is model facelift do you? All brands does that on the average of 3.5 years, even your dear Honda does that. Die die want to say sonata new horizon as new model when it is actually facelift.
zeng
post Jul 10 2017, 05:01 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 10 2017, 04:31 PM)
Why don't you also state the annoying points of the korean gearbox? I stated it before sometime ago, why don't you use my word against me? Oh i know why, because your mazda also have part of the similar annoying point regarding the gearbox, don't want to spoil own market?

I must have missed this ......... do you mind further elaborate on whether it causes complete breakdown and big repair $$ ?

Had been wanting to check/establish the components longevity of Kia (or specifically K5) auto transmission but no luck so far ... confused.gif

This post has been edited by zeng: Jul 10 2017, 05:03 PM
wkc5657
post Jul 10 2017, 05:12 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Jul 10 2017, 05:01 PM)
I must have missed this ......... do you mind further elaborate on whether it causes complete breakdown and big repair $$  ?

Had been wanting to check/establish the components longevity of Kia (or specifically K5) auto transmission but no luck so far ... confused.gif
The box itself is pretty good, just a maintenance nuisance.

1) no dip stick
2) access to fill port is not so easy to reach

There is a 3rd one, and if the godfather of the industry is really who he claims he is, he will fill it in since it is such a nice point to bash the koreans (although the same concept can be found in a number of marques).

*I'll PM you the 3rd point if he fails to point out by end of the week. Remind me if i forgot.

This post has been edited by wkc5657: Jul 10 2017, 05:17 PM
zeng
post Jul 10 2017, 07:24 PM

1,810 posts

Thanks , mate.

I think Japanese marques with auto-transmissions also abang adik with having those 2 nuisance as well ...according to Bitog.

https://bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthread...d_c#Post4453631

This post has been edited by zeng: Jul 10 2017, 07:26 PM
TSjayraptor
post Jul 10 2017, 08:18 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(fong928 @ Jul 9 2017, 08:15 PM)
Imaging a family trip with ferrying 4-5 persons in a v40 on a 4 hours journey ,
maybe shorter time, bcos T5, vroom vroooom !!!! Ignoring of aes too !!!
And small luggages behind the tiny boot.
Really ?????
If those really wanted to ferry family, they would have gone for comfort cruiser with peace of mind, mostly going for NA 2.4L or 2.5L Japanese. Mazda 2.5L 0-100kmh sprint in 8.1s if not mistaken already adequate for family cruiser.

If really wanted turbo performance, they will look at handling so Passat 1.8T will come to mind for being technically more advanced, some would fork out more for 2.0T if needed extra power. Volvo v40 most likely capture heart of ladies and men that don't ferry passengers.
TSjayraptor
post Jul 10 2017, 08:36 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Jul 9 2017, 08:40 PM)
V40 is tiny. I would prefer Optima GT... but then RM180k for Kia/Hyundai brand...  hmm.gif

@hihihehe replying to you in 1 go for similar reply.

The price is the factor. Like before this, Cerato and Elantra 1.6L cut price so much until challenging vios, city at rm80k price range. Koreans failed to achieve anything yet sales plummeted.

Size is a factor but people look into overall score. V40 is tiny but those really wanted performance and handling will go for it. VW scirocco entry level also price around there? Volvo good reputation and strong history record giving it the edge.

Japanese D segment (toyota, Honda, Mazda) is like insurance policy to public, it's always the safe buy. Those that wanted alternative, they'll go for conti. Koreans failed few things that less likely people will still buy, looking at their affordable price range models also failed to convince public.

This post has been edited by jayraptor: Jul 10 2017, 08:37 PM
TSjayraptor
post Jul 10 2017, 09:37 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 10 2017, 04:31 PM)
wow...really a sign of desperation for using a car of different segment and market segmentation to make the comparison and making things up without proper reasoning. I can't believe that an industry "giant" with approaching 40 years of experience together with so many industry "insider" can make such a write up.

Aiyo why can anger them? It is actually good for their development as you "challenge" them to up their game constantly. Kaizen right, continuous improvement, your gang working in Honda should be very familiar with this culture and should actually thank you.

Are you so sure that it is more technologically advanced against the koreans version of the 8 speeder? No industry experts say that but you can?

I really thought you would use more points, but just only that gearbox thing? Why don't state the obvious also :
- faster acceleration
- class leading safety features
- conti feel, etc

Why don't you also state the not so obvious :
- the V40 is actually a shared platform with the ford focus, with interchangeable suspension components. Since you say Ford here is shitty strategy and parts damn rare, do you think that volvo malaysia with even lesser sales volume and service centres will have a better situation?
- the facelift is late by almost 2 years and it will be "obsolete" in less than 2 years as the replacement is just on the near horizon
- it uses belt driven timing
- the turning radius is larger than average
- you really think the maintenance costs actually cheaper??

Come on la...You only think just because of the Volvo belonging to China, the parts will be cheaper. Please enlighten us which tier 1 major parts suppliers that are not manufacturing in China? They only supply to Volvo exclusively in your mind? Did you even read the automotive news before commenting? Volvo is going to have electrification on all of their products before 2020, you think that more hybrid parts will be cheaper to replace and maintain? You keep bemoaning there are no electrical experts in malaysia, and you think by going exclusively doing all maintenance work in the official service centre throughout the lifetime of car ownership is going to be easy on the pocket? Oh wait....the hybrid battery pack is from LG wor.... and how much is it going to cost to replace electric driven air cond compressor ar??

And you really have a hard time really understanding what is model facelift do you? All brands does that on the average of 3.5 years, even your dear Honda does that. Die die want to say sonata new horizon as new model when it is actually facelift.
Desperation? I'm not desperate at all, just car talk. My
5 members with Japanese companies, they aren't desperate neither since their products are dominating. Things just getting back to like late 90's to 2009 where Japanese dominated major foreign brand market shares. Kaizen is just a concept, brands that won top sales are winner anyway.

Volvo v40 FL already came in 2016 if not mistaken. The 2017 is revised version. Volvo belong to China, sales volume improving, spare parts still more than Optima GT in few years later if situation remains bad. Volvo is just mere pleasing the European as part of European environmental treaty that European left wing politicians hoping to realize after many few years later. Remember Trump rejected that treaty that angered France? Volvo will never phase put petroleum and diesel engines. Who ask you to buy hybrid if afraid?
~~~ If Ioniq, people avoid because Korean brand uncertain future in technical expertise, spare parts, lengthy wait, repair and cost.

Toyota's Aisin gearbox has been in the field for long, they are known to come up with performance gearbox apart from proven reliability. V40 shared platform with Focus, the focus has good handling. Only thing is Focus failed to beat Japanese brand due to wrong strategies.

The only Korean 8AT is in the failed Genesis 3.8L that only sold few units, confirmed 1x grey colour with P, 1 very dark blue wit D. Volvo s90 that is priced rm3xxk competing head on with BMW 5series entry level yet able to sell. So is XC90 challenging BMW X5 head on. How come Genesis failed? Now Optima GT reminds me of Genesis footsteps trying to challenge conti VW and Volvo , also preowned 3 series and Mercedes C-Class. What korean gearbox issue that you wanted to bring up? The gear hunting when flooring pedal or the reported shift issue similar to old Matrix case?

Refer Sonata LF 2015 vs New rise 2018 front and rear. You call this facelift? Facelift only changes on bumpers, lights, grill without much change on mounting. Example FL City 2016 and non FL city 2014, you can put the FL lights, bumpers into old 2014. Sonata case, almost entire front and rear unibody totally different, this is total redesign already. If your Sonata LF headlamp broken, you cannot take 2018 headlamp to fit.

Others quickly come comment, is this redesign or FL?

This post has been edited by jayraptor: Jul 10 2017, 09:43 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
wkc5657
post Jul 11 2017, 02:07 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 10 2017, 09:37 PM)
Desperation? I'm not desperate at all, just car talk. My
5 members with Japanese companies, they aren't desperate neither since their products are dominating. Things just getting back to like late 90's to 2009 where Japanese dominated major foreign brand market shares. Kaizen is just a concept, brands that won top sales are winner anyway.

Volvo v40 FL already came in 2016 if not mistaken. The 2017 is revised version. Volvo belong to China, sales volume improving, spare parts still more than Optima GT in few years later if situation remains bad. Volvo is just mere pleasing the European as part of European environmental treaty that European left wing politicians hoping to realize after many few years later. Remember Trump rejected that treaty that angered France? Volvo will never phase put petroleum and diesel engines. Who ask you to buy hybrid if afraid?
~~~ If Ioniq, people avoid because Korean brand uncertain future in technical expertise, spare parts, lengthy wait, repair and cost.

Toyota's Aisin gearbox has been in the field for long, they are known to come up with performance gearbox apart from proven reliability. V40 shared platform with Focus, the focus has good handling. Only thing is Focus failed to beat Japanese brand due to wrong strategies.

The only Korean 8AT is in the failed Genesis 3.8L that only sold few units, confirmed 1x grey colour with P,  1 very dark blue wit D. Volvo s90 that is priced rm3xxk competing head on with BMW 5series entry level yet able to sell. So is XC90 challenging BMW X5 head on. How come Genesis failed? Now Optima GT reminds me of Genesis footsteps trying to challenge conti VW and Volvo , also preowned 3 series and Mercedes C-Class. What korean gearbox issue that you wanted to bring up? The gear hunting when flooring pedal or the reported shift issue similar to old Matrix case? 

Refer Sonata LF 2015 vs New rise 2018 front and rear. You call this facelift? Facelift only changes on bumpers, lights, grill without much change on mounting. Example FL City 2016 and non FL city 2014, you can put the FL lights, bumpers into old 2014. Sonata case, almost entire front and rear unibody totally different, this is total redesign already. If your Sonata LF headlamp broken, you cannot take 2018 headlamp to fit.

Others quickly come comment, is this redesign or FL?
Car talk, yup, with more and more misinformation and misrepresentation of facts.

Looks like you getting more sloppy to even try fact checking, Volvo didn't say they are fully phasing out internal combustion, nor did i mention it. But it is a fact that they are not keen in diesel anymore :

http://autoweek.com/article/diesel/volvo-s...-demise-horizon

They will only have hybrid/battery electric propulsion for all models in the turn of the decade :

https://www.nytimes.com/2017/07/05/business...ectric-car.html

And the environmental treaty is called the Paris Agreement :

https://ec.europa.eu/clima/policies/interna...ations/paris_en

So, using your very own nomenclature, despite both the koreans being top 5 in the world in terms of car volume, you still insist in claiming that parts damn rare, owner will suffer till die...

http://www.infographicsarchive.com/economi...les-statistics/

Despite Volvo being owned by Chinese, how much more they sell around the world, malaysia's volume is almost like a rounding adjustment in the company as a whole, and you actually expect can have more parts here? And, if you really pay just a little more attention, the approach that Volvo will be embarking is approaching what range rover is doing, going even more upmarket. With more and more hybrid parts and batteries that come from "be-hated" Korea instead of China, you really think maintenance and ownership cost will be cheaper and easier?

You really like out of context comparison, how old is the genesis range in the market and how old is the 5 series or volvo s series? Genesis range only come into market around 2008-2009, less than 10 years to date. Nevermind, this one how hard they try, still many years to go to have even a little more brand presence.

Eh, you were so good last time to be able to pin point steering rack no smooth to machining residue from manufacturing? Still don't know what am I trying to hint you? It is a hardware nuisance, not the mere subjective juddering of the matrix; and best of all, I'm referring to the 6 speed box, how come you can go to matrix old box? That point is such a good point for your propaganda against the korean brand, even i won't refute you a single bit on that.

Haih...sonata new rise argument again, still cannot accept that it is facelift :
http://www.caradvice.com.au/530970/2017-hy...ealed-in-korea/

You should be more aware then me right? When marketing, must hype as much as possible, but why hyundai so "humble" to claim it is just a more aggressive facelift? Won't it create even more hype by "lying" to the world to say this is a new generation model? Let me tell a real product that like your words, a short lifecycle like a handphone --> Honda Civic FB

Year in production : Jan'11 to Sept'15 (4 years 8 months)

Fitting on facelifted parts to the non facelifted version is not the determining factor whether it is actually a facelift or not. Some cars yes, but more and more of them not. Don't believe me, since you have so many insider contact, please go try fitting in the facelifted mazda3 GVC LED headlights into your very own non facelifted version. Associated electronic components aside, try physically fitting it in just the headlight assembly.

This post has been edited by wkc5657: Jul 11 2017, 02:29 PM
mdfahmi
post Jul 12 2017, 01:41 AM

whoever bought this car please give us some feedback.. can someone bring this guy in?

32 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0332sec    1.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:24 AM