LYN Power Tools Discussion V2, Bosch, Makita, Dewalt, Dremel etc

SUSceo684
post Apr 6 2020, 03:08 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 6 2020, 12:44 AM)
Hi experts. I have a GSR120-Li. Lovely tool to assemble IKEA purchases and online purchase self assembly furnitures.

I need to do some DIY in the house, drilling walls and concretes. Mainly between tiles in bathroom to hang racks up, and also concrete wall to install blinds. As I want to save money, a corded tool is fine (I’ve got a heavy duty 5M extension cord).

Recommendations and bits to get?
Also my GSR120-Li only came with Philips and flat head drivers. Any affordable yet durable kit out there?
It depends on the usage rate:
Less than 12 holes per year you can buy a Bossman rotary hammer for RM165 (pakai buang price lah) tongue.gif
Some usage - RM360 Hikoki rotary hammer / RM319 Stanley rotary hammer
Heavier usage RM438 Bosch 2-24 / RM515 Makita HR2470

If you are just drilling wall plugs smaller than the pinky finger any proper rotary hammer will work great in concrete.

Tile bit you can use your existing GSR120 as the key is to be SLOW (<500rpm) for tiles (NO HAMMER) to avoid cracking. You're looking at CYL-9 tile bits ~RM16 each for 5.5/6mm size

Concrete wall should use SDS+ bit on rotary hammer. Basically for common wall plug size 5.5mm x 50mm long bit will be good for wall plugs. If used with 2" wall plug and 1.75" screw then just drill in all the way no need to mark.

If wanna drill pipe (20mm/ 25mm) holes then consider stanley bits. Got a 20mm hole x 460mm long one for 30+ only. Can check em out Long stanley drill bits rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by ceo684: Apr 6 2020, 03:11 PM
soonwai
post Apr 6 2020, 04:25 PM

11,454 posts

Bought this Bosch GLI 120-LI LED light a couple of weeks ago. RM50 only.
https://shopee.com.my/BOSCH-GLI-120-LI-CORD...0521.6017330972

- solo
- got manual, no box, probably taken from pack-ins
- ori as far as I can tell

odour_stop
post Apr 6 2020, 06:55 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 6 2020, 04:25 PM)

- solo
Thanks for the heads up. Waiting for delivery
Max
post Apr 6 2020, 10:06 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 6 2020, 04:25 PM)

- solo
Does this works with 10.8 v bosch batt pack?
Jason
post Apr 6 2020, 10:47 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Apr 6 2020, 03:08 PM)
It depends on the usage rate:
Less than 12 holes per year you can buy a Bossman rotary hammer for RM165 (pakai buang price lah) tongue.gif
Some usage - RM360 Hikoki rotary hammer / RM319 Stanley rotary hammer
Heavier usage RM438 Bosch 2-24 / RM515 Makita HR2470

If you are just drilling wall plugs smaller than the pinky finger any proper rotary hammer will work great in concrete.

Tile bit you can use your existing GSR120 as the key is to be SLOW (<500rpm) for tiles (NO HAMMER) to avoid cracking. You're looking at CYL-9 tile bits ~RM16 each for 5.5/6mm size

Concrete wall should use SDS+ bit on rotary hammer. Basically for common wall plug size 5.5mm x 50mm long bit will be good for wall plugs. If used with 2" wall plug and 1.75" screw then just drill in all the way no need to mark.

If wanna drill pipe (20mm/ 25mm) holes then consider stanley bits. Got a 20mm hole x 460mm long one for 30+ only. Can check em out Long stanley drill bits rclxm9.gif
I don’t plan to drill every year.
Frankly right now probably around 20 holes.

Lucky for me a friend’s got one that I can borrow. Money saved! I guess for DIY, we don’t really need to own one. Would rarely need to use it. Unless it’s a new place or doing some renovating.

Thank you for the education.

This post has been edited by Jason: Apr 6 2020, 10:48 PM
soonwai
post Apr 7 2020, 12:01 AM

11,454 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Apr 6 2020, 10:06 PM)
Does this works with 10.8 v bosch batt pack?
I think so. 10.8 and 12V battery packs are basically the same things. They both have 3 x Li-ion batteries in them. I think someone just decided to round up the voltage of each cell to 4v.
Max
post Apr 8 2020, 03:33 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 7 2020, 12:01 AM)
I think so. 10.8 and 12V battery packs are basically the same things. They both have 3 x Li-ion batteries in them. I think someone just decided to round up the voltage of each cell to 4v.
ok tq.
yeah the batt body seems the same.
i got the older GSR 1080-2-Li
soonwai
post Apr 15 2020, 02:31 AM

11,454 posts

Bought this yesterday. I thought it was quite a good deal. With bank voucher, DiGi voucher and shipping voucher.
rylim
post Apr 18 2020, 06:22 PM

148 posts

Has anyone tried to import power tools from oversea?
TSyushin
post Apr 18 2020, 07:44 PM

3,327 posts

QUOTE(rylim @ Apr 18 2020, 06:22 PM)
Own use?
lucifah
post Apr 18 2020, 08:27 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

done that. i think a few here has done the same.

some are domestic models, especially makita. they have diff tools for japan market only,
easywin3
post Apr 19 2020, 08:43 PM

668 posts

I bought 2 items from US via Amazon.com a year ago.
Shipping/delivery status are informed via email and reached on time, item received as expected.
Excellent online purchase experience with Amazon.
rylim
post Apr 19 2020, 10:21 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Apr 18 2020, 07:44 PM)
Own use?
Yes, for own use.

What is the difference if for business or selling it?

QUOTE(lucifah @ Apr 18 2020, 08:27 PM)
done that. i think a few here has done the same.

some are domestic models, especially makita. they have diff tools for japan market only,
I see. Where did you buy it from? Also, how you pass the custom duty?

QUOTE(easywin3 @ Apr 19 2020, 08:43 PM)
I bought 2 items from US via Amazon.com a year ago.
Shipping/delivery status are informed via email and reached on time, item received as expected.
Excellent online purchase experience with Amazon.
I bet the shipping cost must be high and what did you buy ?
easywin3
post Apr 20 2020, 12:30 AM

668 posts

QUOTE(rylim @ Apr 19 2020, 10:21 PM)
Yes, it's shipping cost is high, bought it because the model is not available locally.

Zot
post Apr 20 2020, 07:59 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(easywin3 @ Apr 20 2020, 12:30 AM)
Yes, it's shipping cost is high, bought it because the model is not available locally.
SO, the spare part available locally? hmm.gif
easywin3
post Apr 20 2020, 10:28 AM

668 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Apr 20 2020, 07:59 AM)
SO, the spare part available locally?  hmm.gif
I believe it won't spoil within 3-5 years biggrin.gif
This depends on whether heavy use and careful use of it.
lucifah
post Apr 20 2020, 10:51 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(rylim @ Apr 19 2020, 10:21 PM)
Yes, for own use.

What is the difference if for business or selling it?
I see. Where did you buy it from? Also, how you pass the custom duty?
i bought from amazon. they handle all the custom clearances

but i paid dearly for it

because few months later, the exact same model start to be introduced locally at almost 40% cheaper price

LOL

but it's a good tool. it gives me good return. 2 - 3 jobs and ROI sudah.
rylim
post Apr 20 2020, 12:22 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(easywin3 @ Apr 20 2020, 12:30 AM)

QUOTE(lucifah @ Apr 20 2020, 10:51 AM)
i bought from amazon. they handle all the custom clearances

but i paid dearly for it

because few months later, the exact same model start to be introduced locally at almost 40% cheaper price

LOL

but it's a good tool. it gives me good return. 2 - 3 jobs and ROI sudah.
Great! I might get some from Amazon.

This post has been edited by rylim: Apr 20 2020, 12:37 PM
micarjun P
post Apr 21 2020, 02:03 PM

Probation

Hi Bosses,

I just want to ask for recommendations from the experts.
Actually I wanted to start on woodworking hobby but just couldn't do so.

Now I'm planning to buy my first power tools. My plan is to do some minor projects for starters.
But my problem is that I'm an ex-pat from the Philippines, I wanted to buy the tools while I'm still here I'm Malaysia since looking at the prices, It's way cheaper here than in the Philippines.

While doing a bit of research here and there, a combo drill, circular saw and jigsaw would be a good start.

I also am more interested on the cordless rather than the wired ones.

Just wanted to get some good tools which can be a good investment.

Planning to get this one first.

https://shopee.com.my/BOSCH-18V-COMBO-GDX-1...0441.1545819982

Would this be fine?

Thanks!
micarjun P
post Apr 21 2020, 02:12 PM

Probation

I prefer the cordless ones mainly due to the convenience.
I am well aware though of the price difference and the lifespan of the batteries than buying the wired counterparts.

I will be bringing it back to my hometown in the Phillippines. Which is another dilemma for me since I don't think
there would be any local support if ever the tools get damaged.

I just wanted to buy the good quality ones that can last a long time.

234 Pages « < 178 179 180 181 182 > » Top

0.0366sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:56 PM