lucifah
post Apr 21 2020, 09:13 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(micarjun @ Apr 21 2020, 02:03 PM)
Hi Bosses,

I just want to ask for recommendations from the experts.
Actually I wanted to start on woodworking hobby but just couldn't do so.

Now I'm planning to buy my first power tools. My plan is to do some minor projects for starters.
But my problem is that I'm an ex-pat from the Philippines, I wanted to buy the tools while I'm still here I'm Malaysia since looking at the prices, It's way cheaper here than in the Philippines.

While doing a bit of research here and there, a combo drill, circular saw and jigsaw would be a good start.

I also am more interested on the cordless rather than the wired ones.

Just wanted to get some good tools which can be a good investment.

Planning to get this one first.

https://shopee.com.my/BOSCH-18V-COMBO-GDX-1...0441.1545819982

Would this be fine?

Thanks!
that set should be good to start, because it comes with batt pack + charger

so u can grow your tools line that use the same batt pack

solo tools (sans battery + charger) is always cheaper

but 2ah batt pack is on the tiny side. unless u dont mind frequent charging

i have like 5 or 6 x 4ah batt packs to last me whole day, but mine is for work. i guess for hobby should be ok.
micarjun P
post Apr 22 2020, 09:43 AM

Probation

QUOTE(lucifah @ Apr 21 2020, 09:13 PM)
that set should be good to start, because it comes with batt pack + charger

so u can grow your tools line that use the same batt pack

solo tools (sans battery + charger) is always cheaper

but 2ah batt pack is on the tiny side. unless u dont mind frequent charging

i have like 5 or 6 x 4ah batt packs to last me whole day, but mine is for work. i guess for hobby should be ok.
I was also thinking on how long the battery last also. that should be a good estimate. it was also in my plan to buy extra batterries. the bigger capacity ones but yeah price is also another issue.

one thing i was sceptical about was the models, cause in the ads they say its this model. but then when i get the item i get a different model, which might be a lower end than the one advertised.
Zot
post Apr 22 2020, 09:49 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(micarjun @ Apr 22 2020, 09:43 AM)
I was also thinking on how long the battery last also. that should be a good estimate. it was also in my plan to buy extra batterries. the bigger capacity ones but yeah price is also another issue.

one thing i was sceptical about was the models, cause in the ads they say its this model. but then when i get the item i get a different model, which might be a lower end than the one advertised.
Can reject I guess.

Product sometimes has different package. Some in kit form with hard casing and some just with bag type. Some with just original bag. The price s are different but the same model, except the picture is the most expensive kit package laugh.gif

Better chat with seller for assurance.

micarjun P
post Apr 22 2020, 11:16 AM

Probation

QUOTE(Zot @ Apr 22 2020, 09:49 AM)
Can reject I guess.

Product sometimes has different package. Some in kit form with hard casing and some just with bag type. Some with just original bag. The price s are different but the same model, except the picture is the most expensive kit package  laugh.gif

Better chat with seller for assurance.
Well i guess i got the option to return. Alright thanks for all your help bosses.
easywin3
post Apr 22 2020, 12:47 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(micarjun @ Apr 22 2020, 11:16 AM)
Well i guess i got the option to return. Alright thanks for all your help bosses.
This seller has account in Lazada with good clients rating :
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/bosch-18...AL88b1&search=1

lms2005
post Apr 27 2020, 11:48 PM

1,270 posts

QUOTE(easywin3 @ Apr 22 2020, 12:47 PM)
This seller has account in Lazada with good clients rating :
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/bosch-18...AL88b1&search=1
both is not heavyduty model right?

Zot
post Apr 28 2020, 07:58 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(lms2005 @ Apr 27 2020, 11:48 PM)
both is not heavyduty model right?
Are you in construction business? I think that blue color series is already pro series. Green is for DIY like me biggrin.gif
thehandyman P
post May 1 2020, 07:08 PM

Probation

QUOTE(limcc @ Feb 28 2020, 05:20 PM)
They do : base on precious handyman.

With 40V--Max, 36V nominal--of voltage, 220nm of torque is a piece of cake, consider 18V can do ~200nm. But as one reviewer said, if one need more power, theres always the corded version. Top priority of Cordless is portability, actually >150nm of torque could easily break any screw or bit. for bolt & nut, theres impact wrench.
Agree with the answer by you. These codrless tools always powerful then the other tools.
I learned here things as much i can thanks for replying!!
Archibeard
post May 17 2020, 02:14 PM

49 posts

Hi guys. I'm planning to buy my first drill and I only know so little about it. Would like to use it for drilling, screwing things. The thing is, house that I stay right now, the wall is made from concrete not the usual brick and cement. So I think it is harder to make a hole? I hope can receive some suggestions from you guys.

I'm not a serious user. Just want to buy a drill that can get the job done. Make a hole on wall and wood, screwing cabinet from IKEA. My requirement is the drill must be cordless and powerful enough. Max budget RM1.5K thank you
Zot
post May 17 2020, 06:39 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(Archibeard @ May 17 2020, 02:14 PM)
Hi guys. I'm planning to buy my first drill and I only know so little about it. Would like to use it for drilling, screwing things. The thing is, house that I stay right now, the wall is made from concrete not the usual brick and cement. So I think it is harder to make a hole? I hope can receive some suggestions from you guys.

I'm not a serious user. Just want to buy a drill that can get the job done. Make a hole on wall and wood, screwing cabinet from IKEA. My requirement is the drill must be cordless and powerful enough. Max budget RM1.5K thank you
What house use only concrete wall, not cement rendered brick wall? hmm.gif
Archibeard
post May 17 2020, 10:10 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ May 17 2020, 06:39 PM)
What house use only concrete wall, not cement rendered brick wall?  hmm.gif
Low cost one
Zot
post May 18 2020, 08:00 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(Archibeard @ May 17 2020, 10:10 PM)
Low cost one
Most flat or low cost house is using material so called hollow concrete block. Well, I'd say not really concrete like pillar or beam smile.gif

Most hammer drill will do. What is your budget? I think many experience people in this forum can advise you.
Archibeard
post May 18 2020, 08:30 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ May 18 2020, 08:00 AM)
Most flat or low cost house is using material so called hollow concrete block. Well, I'd say not really concrete like pillar or beam  smile.gif

Most hammer drill will do. What is your budget? I think many experience people in this forum can advise you.
Ah yes sorry. I'm not really familiar with the material. Only heard my neighbour say concrete. sweat.gif That's what I'm hoping the sifus in here can advise some model for me. Max budget RM 1.5k. Can hammer drill used for screwing? I have so little knowledge about drill
Zot
post May 18 2020, 08:47 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(Archibeard @ May 18 2020, 08:30 AM)
Ah yes sorry. I'm not really familiar with the material. Only heard my neighbour say concrete.  sweat.gif  That's what I'm hoping the sifus in here can advise some model for me. Max budget RM 1.5k. Can hammer drill used for screwing? I have so little knowledge about drill
Normal hammer drill is not that expensive. Nowadays most have speed control and advertised as it can be used as driver as well, but I think you are better off with separate driver. More flexible with torque adjustment and more precise speed control.

These is what I just Googled. Even if you buy both, it is still way below your budget. If you buy no known brand, even cheaper

Instead of hammer, this is rotary hammer which is more recommended by many here. It has 3 functions; normal drill, hammer drill and chisel

https://shopee.com.my/STANLEY-SHR263KA-26MM...56835.295024301

For driver, I'd recommend cordless one and this is not bad price for brushless motor which is popular now because can last longer and no need to replace carbon bursh (wear and tear part)

https://shopee.com.my/-ORIGINAL-STANLEY-18V...0120.5712010061

I'm not a Stanley promoter laugh.gif , but the good thing about them is Stanley has 2 years warranty. His bother, under Black and Decker, which is more for occasional DIY like you has 1 year warranty usually.

You can search around. There will be other shops that sell cheaper, but probably some come with no casing and something like that. Just double confirm. You can also search for other brand if you like Bosch, Hitachi but they are more expensive but shorter warranty laugh.gif
TSyushin
post May 18 2020, 08:48 AM

3,327 posts

Ah yes sorry. I'm not really familiar with the material. Only heard my neighbour say concrete.  sweat.gif  That's what I'm hoping the sifus in here can advise some model for me. Max budget RM 1.5k. Can hammer drill used for screwing? I have so little knowledge about drill
With 1.5k budget thats a lot. sweat.gif
You can buy one rotary hammer for drilling holes in brick/concrete and one drill driver for screwing and drilling holes on wood/metal.
Got enough money to use cordless version too haha.

example combo set. flex.gif
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/bosch-18...CyABEgKJd_D_BwE

You will need cordless version if you plan to do things like on the roof, in the ceiling or outside the house where pulling extension cable is a hassle.

This post has been edited by yushin: May 18 2020, 08:50 AM
Archibeard
post May 18 2020, 09:19 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ May 18 2020, 08:48 AM)
With 1.5k budget thats a lot.  sweat.gif
You can buy one rotary hammer for drilling holes in brick/concrete and one drill driver for screwing and drilling holes on wood/metal.

example combo set.  flex.gif

You will need cordless version if you plan to do things like on the roof, in the ceiling or outside the house where pulling extension cable is a hassle.
Ah I see I see. Thanks a lot TS!
Archibeard
post May 18 2020, 09:21 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ May 18 2020, 08:47 AM)
Normal hammer drill is not that expensive. Nowadays most have speed control and advertised as it can be used as driver as well, but I think you are better off  with separate driver. More flexible with torque adjustment and more precise speed control.

These is what I just Googled. Even if you buy both, it is still way below your budget. If you buy no known brand, even cheaper

Instead of hammer, this is rotary hammer which is more recommended by many here. It has 3 functions; normal drill, hammer drill and chisel

https://shopee.com.my/STANLEY-SHR263KA-26MM...56835.295024301

For driver, I'd recommend cordless one and this is not bad price for brushless motor which is popular now because can last longer and no need to replace carbon bursh (wear and tear part)

https://shopee.com.my/-ORIGINAL-STANLEY-18V...0120.5712010061

I'm not a Stanley promoter  laugh.gif , but the good thing about them is Stanley has 2 years warranty. His bother, under Black and Decker, which is more for occasional DIY like you has 1 year warranty usually.

You can search around. There will be other shops that sell cheaper, but probably some come with no casing and something like that. Just double confirm. You can also search for other brand if you like Bosch, Hitachi but they are more expensive but shorter warranty  laugh.gif
Oo that's cheap. I thought they are expensive. I looked at Makita before this walao so expensive sweat.gif
stormer.lyn
post May 19 2020, 08:40 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Archibeard @ May 18 2020, 09:21 AM)
Oo that's cheap. I thought they are expensive. I looked at Makita before this walao so expensive  sweat.gif
How about this. A bit higher than the price you stated, but has all the tools you will need. I guess?
https://shopee.com.my/MILWAUKEE-BATTERY-COR...3000.2359948487
SUSceo684
post May 21 2020, 10:27 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ May 18 2020, 08:48 AM)
With 1.5k budget thats a lot.  sweat.gif

example combo set.  flex.gif

Yeah for bosch 18V can get the cordless rotary hammer GBH180Li + drill driver GSB180Li + 1x 4AH procore battery + fast charger
Basically just over 1k cost, 800 for the rotary hammer + batt + charger, 220 for the GSB180 solo (tool only)
SUSceo684
post May 22 2020, 09:24 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Rotary hammer/hammer drill can use but primarily it was designed as a drill, I find it abit too powerful due to no torque control if using it to screw - often times it strips the screw heads.
Drill driver GSR180/GSB180 or equivalent will suit ur screw installations nicely.

GSR and GSB
R=reversible no impact
B=got Bang function (aka impact drill) but its at best used for brick masonry only. Won't be a good fit for concrete.

Concrete walls best to use a rotary hammer.

234 Pages « < 179 180 181 182 183 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:43 PM