LYN Power Tools Discussion V2, Bosch, Makita, Dewalt, Dremel etc

Zot
post Aug 3 2018, 04:04 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Aug 3 2018, 03:59 PM)
i am in the market to find a caulking gun to dispense sausage (and also poly tube if can)

damn bosch no want do. and i have invested heavily into bosch 18V platform (with some 12V too)

so far, cheapest, makita has one at RM 1.2k (solo) and 1.6k for starter kit with 1 charger + 2 3.0ah battery

but 1.6k for a tool that i do not use frequently, is not a good investment

so i found a cheap one on shoppee

https://shopee.com.my/FATMANZ-12V-CORDLESS-...6735.1056208198

that seems to use the same bosch 12V batt pack.

should i or should i not? or should i start investing on makita 18V platform?

dang... useing manual caulk gun for 3 hours straight yesterday to repair expansion joint
Are you in contracting business? Otherwise, no matter what, you probably use it once every several years biggrin.gif
Zot
post Aug 3 2018, 04:11 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Aug 3 2018, 04:06 PM)
yup. i use it like every 3 or 4 months once. unlike my other power tools, which i use quite frequently

btw, the fatman cheap silicone caulking gun:

heck, for rm280, i think as long as it can dispense out the sausage is good enough for me
Yes. It is not the tool that would easily break down. Even if it is, you still have old method to back up.

At first I was wondering why need battery power but it is necessary for contracting job
Zot
post May 20 2019, 08:44 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ May 18 2019, 02:58 PM)
very clear explaination ....Thank you ..

so for my device just get normal 18650 battery will do ...
btw..high drain battery.the battery could drain the battery faster ? battery cant last longer ...?

thanks ..
Battery last longer or not depends on the load it is supplying energy for. High drain battery is just a battery that can supply high current that is required by load. Low drain battery cannot enough power to device that require high power.

So, basically the device you bought will come with required battery power capability. However, the high current battery can also be used on devices that require low current. It will not make battery drain power faster. In fact given high drain and low drain battery with same capacity, the high drain battery perform better since normally high drain battery can maintain rated voltage constantly much longer until very end compare to low drain battery.

Zot
post May 20 2019, 03:45 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ May 20 2019, 01:54 PM)
yes ..the battery cant last longer even state 6800mah..
now only know Max 3400mah for 186500battery ..
higher mah can last longer if load maintain ..compare low mah battery .:
charging time also increasing ...
ya ..the 6800 battery very light ..
and also just know max for 18650 battery only 3400 mah..

yes its time to throw away the 68000 battery ...
thanks ..
I was talking about high drain battery, not high capacity battery. Two different thing.

High Drain Battery and Low Drain Battery with same capacity will last the same time logically but practically maybe not. The low drain battery will drop voltage earlier than high drain battery thus will stop operating device it is powering earlier.
Zot
post May 21 2019, 07:55 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ May 20 2019, 06:07 PM)
so any how high drain battery still better than low drain battery ..high drain battery double the price compare low drain battery ..
That's the main reason for purchase discouragement biggrin.gif

Anyway, if device is not requiring high drain I also think that there is no need to waste money on that, even though with suitable charger, it can be charge faster than normal battery.
Zot
post Jul 24 2019, 10:07 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(13th @ Jul 20 2019, 08:57 PM)
Hi guys, couple of question below:

1. Is the rotary drill sold in diy about 120-200 cheap China brand good to use for below purpose:
2. Planning to buy ikea kitchen Metod base cabinet for modularity
3. By that case: need to drill into wall for water drain, water inlet piping, kitchen hood exhaust-should this be suffice?

I would be doing all the work by myself, including the piping. Thanks all the sifus here
You can read review. Some faulty during arrival. Some work just fine. Oooo. I mean order online one. You mean like from Mr. DIY? I guess should be ok. Make sure to use immediately after purchase in case faulty. Mr. DIY has 3 day warranty, right? smile.gif

Sometime you think you just probably use for project only one time. Therefore, maybe it is ok. If spoilt after use, then no problem laugh.gif

Why not buy something that you can get serviced locally. I end up choosing the known brand since even if you think you will not use it often, the drill/driver with hammer drill feature is a single handy tool that you want to have around your house even if you are not even hobbyist.

I bought a good branded 750W hammer drill and now I also have a good rotary hammer drill laugh.gif
Zot
post Jul 25 2019, 07:58 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Jul 24 2019, 12:19 PM)
Great, thanks for your feedback. Then I shall set higher budget for the hammer drill, I think it's the GBH 180-Li right?
[attachmentid=10290083]
I'd suggest that you go for wired one.
Zot
post Jul 28 2019, 07:45 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(lms2005 @ Jul 28 2019, 05:07 PM)
guys, bosch gbh2-24 & gbh2-26, wat is different these 2 model?  saw their spec quite similar...
You can read here in Bosch forum

https://www.bosch-professional.com/gb/en/co...2983394-t#/main
Zot
post Jul 29 2019, 08:03 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 28 2019, 08:26 PM)
Depends on ur usage. If ur usage is just to put 6mm wood plugs or sleeve anchors and never need to chisel much then 2-24 will suffice. If u heavy duty contractor as ur day job then buy bigger ones  brows.gif
Actually both have about same spec. The impact power is exactly the same.

In case like this I'd go the newer model because it may have addressed the problem with previous model with some improvement smile.gif
Zot
post Jul 29 2019, 03:22 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(lms2005 @ Jul 29 2019, 03:12 PM)
dfr & dfe which one newer?
The DFE and DFR suffix meant for difference in package. The DFR cost more because it comes with carrying case, quick change chuck, etc

You can go here:

https://www.bosch-pt.com.my/my/en/rotary-ha...s-131445-ocs-c/

Select product you want to compare and then go back to the top of the page and click compare. You can compare the difference smile.gif

Zot
post Jul 29 2019, 05:39 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 29 2019, 05:32 PM)
Buy bosch 2-28 or makita 2810 for hacking.
Else..can also rent from 12rent (by ATKC) if just one-off
No need as powerful as this GBH 2-26 or 2-24 will be adequate I believe. House wall is just brick and cement plaster, not concrete like post and beam.
Zot
post Jul 29 2019, 07:47 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 29 2019, 06:09 PM)
Lms said wanna hack concrete wall for chasing wiring wor  brows.gif  brows.gif
House wall is not concrete. I think he meant cement smile.gif
Zot
post Jul 29 2019, 08:19 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(lms2005 @ Jul 29 2019, 08:12 PM)
condo rc wall
I see. I was looking at makita 2810. Looks like too much laugh.gif

Anyway, if you buy big machine for just 1 time job hmm.gif laugh.gif
Zot
post Jul 30 2019, 08:32 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(lms2005 @ Jul 29 2019, 11:39 PM)
2810 too pro  sweat.gif

that one like take out whole wall  laugh.gif

not only used 1 time...  want to cut down renovation cost, some can DIY...  whistling.gif

nowday condo all rc wall, normall driller not suitable...  hmm.gif
Rent like ceo684 is good option too.

I think once you cut two parallel groves 1 inch apart, it is not difficult to chisel the concrete with the tool you have in mind before.

I've had a 750W impact drill before I bought Makita HR2470X5 (I think - forgot model). It is enough to serve me and handy to have at home biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Zot: Jul 30 2019, 08:32 AM
Zot
post Jul 30 2019, 02:08 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Jul 30 2019, 01:15 PM)
I can see some spark when using my GSB 120 at the back. And can smell burn. Anyone got idea what happen, or can it be fix?

How long have you been using it? If if sparks continuously around commutator, then probably just need cleaning with air hose nozzle to blow out dust.
Zot
post Jul 31 2019, 02:07 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Jul 31 2019, 12:48 PM)
The smell quite bad.. Maybe something stuck inside.. Spark quite normal but never burn smell.. Used few years, maybe 3.. But sometime only.. less than 10 time a year..
Maybe others like the smell like smokers with tobacco smell biggrin.gif
Zot
post Jul 31 2019, 04:25 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Jul 31 2019, 03:56 PM)
hi, anyone know any cap ayam brand cordless tool that can use genuine batteries?

ie a clone product,,

mnkitn can use makita battery ? lol.. biggrin.gif
Normally it is the other way around. You can find generic battery for branded power tool. Original battery is expensive and generic one probably less than half the price with even more juice. Why would one wanted to buy cheap power tool to operate with original battery? laugh.gif
Zot
post Aug 1 2019, 02:27 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Aug 1 2019, 01:00 PM)
some oredi hv ori batt frm branded tools, but wana buy more cordless tool, but dowana fork out extra for branded one..

tht is one reason.

second.

cap ayam tool tho clone, can tapau anytime, ie, no more bring in msia to sell or close shop in china..

the tool still work, but batt will kong ( cos cheap) if compatible wit branded one, tht is great.

can cont working for years, cos diyer oni use one or 2times a year...

so where can buy clone bosch batt 18v system here? got ar? shopee got? i belom cari..
Don;t think the other way around. The only thing you can do is disassemble and replace battery inside the casing smile.gif

Bosch compatible battery try here

https://www.lelong.com.my/store/GEOLASER/ca...ompatible+bosch
Zot
post Aug 9 2019, 03:26 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(lms2005 @ Aug 9 2019, 03:17 PM)
anyone using multi cutter here? will it much convenient than grinder?
You mean multi-tool or oscillating tool vs grinder?

They are somewhat over-lapped on some task but serve two different purpose in my view.

You can plunge cut a small square hole and do it much faster, that cannot be done cleanly (or impossible) with grinder.

Can access tight spot cutting.

Since it is oscillating, it will not pull to one side and very easy to to do work precisely.
Zot
post Aug 14 2019, 10:35 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Aug 14 2019, 09:27 AM)
Just ordered a GSB 1300 but only to notice from the picture that it doesn't come with the speed adjustment knob.  May I know is it still possible to control the drilling speed? Else might need to cancel the order and get a GSB 16 RE instead.

I think it is still speed adjustable unit. The speed depends on how far you pull the trigger button. The same thing for GSB16E. Is there any know on GSB16E?

I use other brand with adjustment knob. The knob is just to set maximum distance you can pull, thus limit the maximum speed of the drill. I'd go for ozak suggestion. The more power would not hurt and you will appreciate it in future. Mine is also 750W but now even bought a more powerful one laugh.gif

17 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1825sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:55 PM