Makita is the worst in term of product offerings, im so confused when selecting something from their range. Drill/driver ada like 10+ units, dunno apa beza, impact ada another 10+ units. Bosch punya takde lel, tengok2 cordless punya sikit tu jer. But some are banyak, like their grinders pun banyak, beza deisgn sikit, slim, motor lebih sikit, got liek almost 10 models. Depends i guess, some range of a brand has more?
That day beli cordless brush cutter oso confuse, like 6 models, apa beza dunno, spec sama saja, rupa sama saja. eventually i told them come over my place, i want to cut grass, they datang bawa 3 models that i have shortlisted, so potong rumput i go (exercise). eventually...the one with the 6" longer, straight shaft was picked.
I don't think Makita Drill/Hammer Drill models are confusing, unless you include models from years ago. Current makita 18V Drills only has 4 model: DDF481 is heavy duty; DDF482 is general purpose with brush motor; DDF483 is light duty sub-compact; DDF484 is general purpose with brushless motor, that's it. substitue DDF with DHP you get hammer drill. The DDF/DHP45X are outdated models. Makita North America label their models with XFD and XPH, different from the rest of the world. eg, DDF484 is XFD12. obviously Makita also make 14.4V, 10.8v/12v, 7.2v, 3.6v....
For comparsion, Bosch GSR/GSB 18V has similar range. Same goes to Dewalt, Milwaukee, Hitachi, bascially every brand offer different model for different purposes.
This post has been edited by limcc: Feb 27 2020, 01:24 AM
I don't think Makita Drill/Hammer Drill models are confusing, unless you include models from years ago. Current makita 18V Drills only has 4 model: DDF481 is heavy duty; DDF482 is general purpose with brush motor; DDF483 is light duty sub-compact; DDF484 is general purpose with brushless motor, that's it. substitue DDF with DHP you get hammer drill. The DDF/DHP45X are outdated models. Makita North America label their models with XFD and XPH, different from the rest of the world. eg, DDF484 is XFD12. obviously Makita also make 14.4V, 10.8v/12v, 7.2v, 3.6v....
For comparsion, Bosch GSR/GSB 18V has similar range. Same goes to Dewalt, Milwaukee, Hitachi, bascially every brand offer different model for different purposes.
I guess we've seen too many models online because they are grey markets stuffs. We need to look at the official website
nanti i balik office i ambik gambar theri catalgoue
you explain in such a short sweet way....makita also confuse bila ckp, or me confuse when they talk. either way.
Say, i would like LXT impact, 200nm min, shortest body length to accomodate tight space. what would that be? And, a BL motor LXT driver/drill with quick-hex socket, also shortest body length, ~ torque 40nm should be okay?
nanti i balik office i ambik gambar theri catalgoue
you explain in such a short sweet way....makita also confuse bila ckp, or me confuse when they talk. either way.
Say, i would like LXT impact, 200nm min, shortest body length to accomodate tight space. what would that be? And, a BL motor LXT driver/drill with quick-hex socket, also shortest body length, ~ torque 40nm should be okay?
I don't think Makita has impact driver with over 200nm of torque, Makita generally goes for refinement than raw power. Their current top impact model is the DTD171 aka XDT16.
At 116mm in length, its likely the shortest 18V impact driver currently. Makita AU site has more organise listing . RM999 from Shopee
I believe only some odd Driver/Drill model comes with (quick release) hex anvil, like the Makita DDF083, which will limit the bit it can accept, its more of a screwdriver than drill or impact driver. Most standard driver/drill comes with chuck. If you want more power of 125nm with full metal gears and chuck, DDF481; subcompact DDF483 has shorter length of 162mm; if you prefer something in between, DDF484.
This post has been edited by limcc: Feb 28 2020, 01:58 AM
I don't think Makita has impact driver with over 200nm of torque, Makita generally goes for refinement than raw power. Their current top impact model is the DTD171 aka XDT16.
At 116mm in length, its likely the shortest 18V impact driver currently. Makita AU site has more organise listing . RM999 from Shopee
I believe only some odd Driver/Drill model comes with (quick release) hex anvil, like the Makita DDF083, which will limit the bit it can accept, its more of a screwdriver than drill or impact driver. Most standard driver/drill comes with chuck. If you want more power of 125nm with full metal gears and chuck, DDF481; subcompact DDF483 has shorter length of 162mm; if you prefer something in between, DDF484.
They have 40v impact driver. Need to google for the torque tho.
With 40V--Max, 36V nominal--of voltage, 220nm of torque is a piece of cake, consider 18V can do ~200nm. But as one reviewer said, if one need more power, theres always the corded version. Top priority of Cordless is portability, actually >150nm of torque could easily break any screw or bit. for bolt & nut, theres impact wrench.
Metal also got... I'm sure you can find in hardware shop
ya i saw this but from overseas....haha i guess i cant buy from hardware shop now and have to wait for the lockdown to be over i need it for concrete walls. i have non SDS drill bits this size but hammering doesnt work
I believe that branded one starts from 5mm. Only China made can go below 5mm
Just need to find local supplier that sell China made
As I was saying I needed a 4mm SDS bit and getting one is difficult. But I do have a SDS chuck with an ordinary round masonry bit and so I used that but drilling thru concrete was much harder. I’m just wondering why it doesn’t hammer that well ? I guess a chuck does not perform the same as a stand-alone bit?
This post has been edited by idoblu: Mar 26 2020, 09:40 PM
As I was saying I needed a 4mm SDS bit and getting one is difficult. But I do have a SDS chuck with an ordinary round masonry bit and so I used that but drilling thru concrete was much harder. I’m just wondering why it doesn’t hammer that well ? I guess a chuck does not perform the same as a stand-alone bit?
Actually, that chuck adapter is not designed for hammering because it will damage the chuck. It is designed for drilling mode only.
All I can think is that the SDS bit is loosely fit into its chuck. It can slide forward and backward, thus act like piston to amplify the hammering. However the adapter also SDS on fitting end
I guess the hammering strength is dampened by the chuck weight as well as the gripping is not non-sliding itself.
Guys need some advise: looking for a hammer drill for home use to drill brick wall to hang wall lights and paintings.
Below r the 2 options: 1.Stanley SCH121S2 B1 12v rm275 (warranty 2 yrs) 2.Bosch GSB120 Li 12v rm299 (6mths)
Which one is better in terms of usage? Why Bosch only give 6 mths warranty but more expensive ?
Because it is Bosch
If I were you, I'd just go for Stanley simply for its warranty alone. Price wise is negligible.
These are same company Dewalt - 3 year warranty Stanley - 2 year warranty Black and Decker - 1 year warranty
As far as I know the Bosch for this price range, the motor is not something special. Looks like it is using internal brush just like the Stanley. Although the this Bosch is supposed to be at same level as the Dewalt (I think), but I saw Stanley cordless drill even beat Dewalt in drill comparison
1. SDS >> chuck 2. always invest in high quality bits. they are expensive for a reason - they make u happier
even high quality bits will be dull after the 100th hole. i discard many IRWIN Joran drill bits already, especially if they met with steel bars - those die prematurely
best so far i have use is Bosch S4L. but they are very pricey. made in germany drill bits. best bang for buck is IRWIN Joran speedhammer. half the price of S4L, and almost as sharp as S4L.