TP-LINK Malaysia Official Thread, Technical Enquiries and Support
Nov 16 2017, 12:17 AM
1,021 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Penang Island, Alor Star |
*deleted*
Refer to next post. This post has been edited by mmohdnor: Nov 16 2017, 12:20 AM |
Nov 16 2017, 12:19 AM
1,021 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Penang Island, Alor Star |
QUOTE(arrsoo @ Nov 10 2017, 05:12 PM) Hi guys, Hi guys, I'm using Archer C5 now and just got upgraded from unifi 30Mbps to 50Mbps. since then, the speed has not been consistence. Before that I can easily get 30Mbps easily on both 2.4G and 5G but ever since upgraded, I only managed to get 20Mbps for 2.4G and 30Mbps for 5G even though the signal bar shows 4 bar for 2.4G and 1 bar for 5G. how come like that as 2.4G is showing a stronger 4 bar signal compared with 1 bar signal/5G yet the speed for 2.4G is so slow? I have disabled both the IPV6 and Bandwidth control but that doesn't seems to help... Not sure if this is related. but looks like it. Just got upgraded from 30mbps to 50mbps too recently. I was using TL-WR841HP V1 before this. Wanted to try AC wifi for my new 50mbps line so I bought the Archer C60 V2 AC1350 and a AC600 wifi receiver Archer T2U. But after a few days testing, seems like my C60 can't give 40Mbps+ over wifi on both 2.4GHz or 5GHz. Most of the time it hovers around 30Mbps or so. With LAN cable, I can get at least 40-45Mbps on both my routers C60 & WR841HP. But not on Wifi, it seems stuck / capped around 30mbps, where mostly I get just 25-28Mbps on wifi. Also tested with my other devices with wifi AC smartphones in the house. (A 2-storey terrace) Some suggested to disable QoS, but i can't. My router won't work if I do not enable Unifi IPTV. How to disable the QoS? The checkbox is greyed out if I choose Unifi IPTV enable for C50 V2 firmware. It says QoS and IPTV can't be enabled together at the same time. Should I use custom settings for IPTV and then enable the QoS? What are the numbers to use for IPTV? In the end, just using the C60 as repeater to my old WR841HP ..*sigh* This post has been edited by mmohdnor: Nov 16 2017, 12:34 AM |
Nov 16 2017, 11:49 AM
600 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Nov 16 2017, 12:19 AM) Hi guys, did you also disable ipv6 in your router? perhaps if you can be more specific on where your placement of router is and how far away from your router when you do the testing, sifus here might be able to helpNot sure if this is related. but looks like it. Just got upgraded from 30mbps to 50mbps too recently. I was using TL-WR841HP V1 before this. Wanted to try AC wifi for my new 50mbps line so I bought the Archer C60 V2 AC1350 and a AC600 wifi receiver Archer T2U. But after a few days testing, seems like my C60 can't give 40Mbps+ over wifi on both 2.4GHz or 5GHz. Most of the time it hovers around 30Mbps or so. With LAN cable, I can get at least 40-45Mbps on both my routers C60 & WR841HP. But not on Wifi, it seems stuck / capped around 30mbps, where mostly I get just 25-28Mbps on wifi. Also tested with my other devices with wifi AC smartphones in the house. (A 2-storey terrace) Some suggested to disable QoS, but i can't. My router won't work if I do not enable Unifi IPTV. How to disable the QoS? The checkbox is greyed out if I choose Unifi IPTV enable for C50 V2 firmware. It says QoS and IPTV can't be enabled together at the same time. Should I use custom settings for IPTV and then enable the QoS? What are the numbers to use for IPTV? In the end, just using the C60 as repeater to my old WR841HP ..*sigh* |
Nov 16 2017, 12:16 PM
5,714 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Nov 16 2017, 12:19 AM) Hi guys, Did you try using another router? Anyway, I think QOS has been disabled by default, so that might not be the problem. If you can get the full speed or close to the full speed with another router, the C60 might be the problem.Not sure if this is related. but looks like it. Just got upgraded from 30mbps to 50mbps too recently. I was using TL-WR841HP V1 before this. Wanted to try AC wifi for my new 50mbps line so I bought the Archer C60 V2 AC1350 and a AC600 wifi receiver Archer T2U. But after a few days testing, seems like my C60 can't give 40Mbps+ over wifi on both 2.4GHz or 5GHz. Most of the time it hovers around 30Mbps or so. With LAN cable, I can get at least 40-45Mbps on both my routers C60 & WR841HP. But not on Wifi, it seems stuck / capped around 30mbps, where mostly I get just 25-28Mbps on wifi. Also tested with my other devices with wifi AC smartphones in the house. (A 2-storey terrace) Some suggested to disable QoS, but i can't. My router won't work if I do not enable Unifi IPTV. How to disable the QoS? The checkbox is greyed out if I choose Unifi IPTV enable for C50 V2 firmware. It says QoS and IPTV can't be enabled together at the same time. Should I use custom settings for IPTV and then enable the QoS? What are the numbers to use for IPTV? In the end, just using the C60 as repeater to my old WR841HP ..*sigh* QUOTE(arrsoo @ Nov 16 2017, 11:49 AM) did you also disable ipv6 in your router? perhaps if you can be more specific on where your placement of router is and how far away from your router when you do the testing, sifus here might be able to help I don’t think it have anything to do with the placement of the router or IPV6 settings. Might be a firmware issue or his router is not capable of handling that many devices, with result in lower thoroughput. |
Nov 16 2017, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 14 2017, 04:34 PM) I’m quite surprised to see that 2.4 is still so bad. Try changing to 40MHz for your 2.4GHz. That might help. changed to 40Mhz but speed still only at around 20Mbps there about... QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 16 2017, 12:16 PM) I don’t think it have anything to do with the placement of the router or IPV6 settings. Might be a firmware issue or his router is not capable of handling that many devices, with result in lower thoroughput. |
Nov 17 2017, 05:09 PM
555 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(arrsoo @ Nov 16 2017, 03:49 PM) Here are some of the things to try out:1. Change the location of your WiFi router. Maybe there are too many inteferences around. Don't put close to TV, desktop computer, refrigerator, Hi Fi system, cordless phone, ... 2. Your connecting device (laptop or handphone) should not be too close or too far away from the WiFi router. Test within 2-5 meters away. Too close, especially less than 1 meter away, will be very slow. Too far, the signal weaken and makes it slow too. 3. All antennas of the router should be in upright position. There might be people in the internet telling you to angle the antennas in funny funny position. I have tested myself with my TPLink, the position with the best signal is all antennas upright. 4. Test your local WiFi speed. You might need 2 devices to perform the test by transfering data from one to another. A free tool to test is LAN Speed Test by Totusoft. If your local WiFi speed is OK, the problem might not be on the WiFi but on something else. |
Nov 17 2017, 10:50 PM
3 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
Nov 19 2017, 01:30 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
6,372 posts Joined: May 2007 |
How come the performance of tp link ac1200 is worse when compare to asus rt-n12?
Nov 19 2017, 06:02 PM
529 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Oil Town (Miri) |
My C1200 V2 will restart itself once in a while
Nov 19 2017, 10:30 PM
3,669 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Nov 19 2017, 10:38 PM
657 posts Joined: Mar 2016 |
Previously, Archer C5 V2 also has the reboot bug issue, but the firmware fixed it & I'm sticking with Archer C5(MY)_V2_161223 because I don't want my WiFi SSID have @unifi suffix which can caused backdoor.
As for C1200 V1; (C1200v1_eu_tm-up-boot-1.0.0 Build 20170905 rel.41738_2017-09-05_13.51.02) Modifications and Bug Fixes 1. Add the fixed suffix "@unifi", included in Guest SSID 2. Support iFLIX function 3. Optimized the Internet LED when dial up success. Notes 1. For Archer C1200(EU) - TM Unifi Wireless Router 2. It is NOT suggested to upgrade firmware which is not for your region. If this site is not for your region, please click here to choose your own region and download the most suitable firmware version. |
Nov 19 2017, 11:22 PM
Nov 19 2017, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(g104 @ Nov 19 2017, 10:38 PM) Previously, Archer C5 V2 also has the reboot bug issue, but the firmware fixed it & I'm sticking with Archer C5(MY)_V2_161223 because I don't want my WiFi SSID have @unifi suffix which can caused backdoor. The latest C1200 V1 (EU) firmware at TPLINK Malaysia is forbidden. Not recommended. We don't need @unifi suffix at wifi Guest SSID. As for C1200 V1; (C1200v1_eu_tm-up-boot-1.0.0 Build 20170905 rel.41738_2017-09-05_13.51.02) Modifications and Bug Fixes 1. Add the fixed suffix "@unifi", included in Guest SSID 2. Support iFLIX function 3. Optimized the Internet LED when dial up success. Notes 1. For Archer C1200(EU) - TM Unifi Wireless Router 2. It is NOT suggested to upgrade firmware which is not for your region. If this site is not for your region, please click here to choose your own region and download the most suitable firmware version. We are using 1.1.1 Build 20170706 rel.65715 (EU) which is latest version compared to the ancient rel.41738. Unfortunately, even this build 65715 doesn't fix C1200 V1 random reboot issue. |
Nov 20 2017, 12:06 AM
QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 19 2017, 11:54 PM) The latest C1200 V1 (EU) firmware at TPLINK Malaysia is forbidden. Not recommended. We don't need @unifi suffix at wifi Guest SSID. Where did you obtain 1.1.1 Build 20170706 rel.65715 (EU) ?? We are using 1.1.1 Build 20170706 rel.65715 (EU) which is latest version compared to the ancient rel.41738. Unfortunately, even this build 65715 doesn't fix C1200 V1 random reboot issue. http://www.tp-link.com.my/download/Archer-...1.html#Firmware |
Nov 20 2017, 12:10 AM
6,372 posts Joined: May 2007 |
Nov 20 2017, 12:20 AM
8,399 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(g104 @ Nov 20 2017, 12:06 AM) Where did you obtain 1.1.1 Build 20170706 rel.65715 (EU) ?? http://uk.tp-link.com/download/Archer-C1200_V1.html#Firmwarehttp://www.tp-link.com.my/download/Archer-...1.html#Firmware Available on TP-Link EU sites. |
Nov 20 2017, 12:36 AM
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Nov 20 2017, 12:20 AM) Thanks, but this is not for MY unit right? |
Nov 20 2017, 12:59 AM
QUOTE(g104 @ Nov 20 2017, 12:36 AM) Same unit hardware. C1200 V1 (EU). Just don't use the forsaken firmware from TPLink Malaysia website. Remember to activate 5Ghz beamforming at Advanced -->System Tools -->System Parameters -->5ghz wireless --> TX Beamforming |
Nov 20 2017, 01:04 AM
QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 20 2017, 12:59 AM) Same unit hardware. C1200 V1 (EU). Just don't use the forsaken firmware from TPLink Malaysia website. Noted & thanks, but I'm using Archer C5 V2 not C1200 V1. Remember to activate 5Ghz beamforming at Advanced -->System Tools -->System Parameters -->5ghz wireless --> TX Beamforming |
Nov 20 2017, 10:52 AM
93 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 19 2017, 10:30 PM) I have the same issues with my Archer C1200 V1 too. Recently upgraded my firmware but I doubt if the problem is really solved. I did some research and sifted through the firmware blame comments. Finally, I found a Youtube video of another TPLink Router owner with slightly different issues:How to fix a rebooting or stuck TP-Link Router W8960N - I wish I knew this earlier! I guess that insufficient power supply will cause the router to "dim out" and thus causing a restart. I might try to get a higher amp rating power adaptor instead (2A instead of 1A) and see if the problem will be solved. Any of you tried using a higher amp P/S adaptor for this router before? |
| Change to: | 0.0215sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:01 AM |