TP-LINK Malaysia Official Thread, Technical Enquiries and Support

SilentVampire
post Jun 30 2017, 06:21 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(LolzWhat @ Jun 30 2017, 05:58 PM)
Hmm.. I live in a double storey house. Should I get a extender/powerline then?
I would suggest the Archer C5 or the C7, and the powerline, TL-WPA4530-Kit. I would not suggest an extender as it effectively cut the thoroughput to half, unless your house has separate wiring or three phase-wiring, as the powerline would not work then.
SilentVampire
post Jul 3 2017, 12:47 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(theROCKeteer @ Jul 3 2017, 11:52 AM)
I need suggestion here. I used tplink archer c7 as wifi router and tplink wifi extender (WA850RE). My problem is my smart tv got intermittent connection due to low signal. My router is located far from the tv. my wifi extender only using 2.4Ghz and regularly disconnect. Do i need to buy powerline adapters, or any better solution for this?
I suggest you try using powerline adapters if possible, rather than the wifi extender. Connect the one of the powerline adapter directly to your router, and the other adapter to a power plug near the tv, and connect the tv to the adapter directly, via an Ethernet cable. Just be sure that your house does not have separate or three phase wiring, otherwise the powerline adapter won't work.
SilentVampire
post Jul 3 2017, 01:59 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(theROCKeteer @ Jul 3 2017, 01:36 PM)
Thanks. How to identify separate or three phase wiring?
Hard to identify if you're not involved in the construction of the house. Best thing you could do is to get an inexpensive powerline adapter and if it doesn't work, you could sell it or use it somewhere else. I would recommend the TP-Link PA-4010KIT of you don't need extra Wi-Fi capability, and if you do, the TP-Link WPA4530KIT.
SilentVampire
post Jul 6 2017, 12:01 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(sean810818 @ Jul 5 2017, 01:57 PM)
Hi bro or other sifu, already purchase a unit of TP link Archer C3150. can i know is there any setup guilde i need to follow so that i can maximize my TIME fiber internet speed ?
thank you
No setup guide necessary to maximize your Time fiber internet speed. You just need to remember to activate and use the 5GHz band to utilize your full 100Mbps speed, plus I'm sure that your 2.4GHz band in your area is very congested as you're living in a condo, so the 5GHz band will be best for you.
SilentVampire
post Jul 9 2017, 06:24 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ Jul 9 2017, 05:20 AM)
Archer C5400 is selling for how much in Malaysia?
Search for it on Lelong and Lazada. Prices range from RM1215+ to RM1599, depending on seller.
SilentVampire
post Jul 13 2017, 12:09 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(suj87 @ Jul 12 2017, 11:36 PM)
Can I ask, my house is three phase system. My modem and router is installed upstairs. I want to use homeplug so that I can use hypptv downstairs since upstairs no TV. Will the homeplug work for this purpose on three phase system?
It won't work if your house is three phase, especially if your wiring upstairs and downstairs is on a completely different circuit. It still might work so I would try if I were you.
SilentVampire
post Aug 14 2017, 12:11 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(nenemeia @ Aug 14 2017, 10:58 AM)
Huh, that's interesting. So....if I decide to port forward, I just use the IP from the router?
No. Port forwarding when you are allocated a private IP address or if your IP address on your router is not private IP address but if your WAN IP address on TM side is still under private IP address, will not work.

TLDR: Port forwarding won't work for you, if you are being allocated a private IP address. You have to call your ISP to change yours to a public IP address.
SilentVampire
post Aug 14 2017, 12:16 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Colonel Cabuk @ Aug 13 2017, 11:54 PM)
I have updated my C7 v2 to the latest firmware, and I'm still at a loss on how to configure for Unifi IPv6.

Unless someone tells me (again) to install the beta firmware because TP Link still haven't managed to get IPv6 working properly on this thing *cries in spanish*
I don't think IPv6 is configured for this router, but I could be mistaken. If you can't get it to work, it could be a firmware issue. A quick Google search revealed that many users are unable to get IPv6 to work on this particular router.
SilentVampire
post Sep 5 2017, 03:28 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Karenalvin @ Sep 5 2017, 03:22 PM)
Hi, I got a Archer C7 and tried connecting to my Unifi account.

got the PPPOE details correct - checked numerous times.
turned on the IPTV and selected Unifi as suggested.
still i cant connect. Any help?

PS: I am on a Unifibiz account.

thank you very much in advance.
You mean your C7 router can't connect to TM server and you can't authenticate?
SilentVampire
post Oct 1 2017, 11:51 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Oct 1 2017, 10:04 PM)
For one, even with updated firmware, C1200 confirms crash and reboot with a lot of connection such as torrent, sometimes even without many connection, it auto-reboot randomly.  dry.gif

No idea about C60.
QUOTE(iKen @ Oct 1 2017, 10:10 PM)
Hm... that is happening to the router i'm using now too: Linksys E1200 - keep rebooting but that's because 100 mbps is too much for it to handle when there's torrents. Was thinking to upgrade to fully ultilize the 100 mbps (got upgraded last time for free).
Could be a problem with the CPU utilization as it's not meant to handle heavy processor-based tasks such as torrents/multiple connection. Time to get a dual core router with more power bruce.gif
SilentVampire
post Oct 17 2017, 11:56 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Oct 17 2017, 08:04 AM)
TP-LINK MY
I disconnect the network cable from

user posted image and connect to user posted image

The cable attached to unifi modem.

Call TM to provide the unifi id & password to set up PPOE to set up the latter. Problem is no internet, call Unifi, reset port, reboot modem, reboot router, change lan port, call unifi, repeat 10 X yet still no internet.

Connect the old router, got internet.

WTH is going on?

I also tried to connect to user posted image

After set up still no internet, go back to old TP link got internet.

The reason why i want to change the old router because it cant do MIMO and always disconnected.

HELP!
As I mentioned in the other thread, check VLAN settings.
SilentVampire
post Oct 18 2017, 08:59 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Oct 17 2017, 05:56 PM)
i have no idea what's that.
Virtual LAN as I have mentioned to you twice. See here for definition: https://www.lifewire.com/virtual-local-area-network-817357
SilentVampire
post Oct 24 2017, 05:13 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Alert_RaZO @ Oct 24 2017, 12:36 PM)
halo..

I live in a condo. My router place at the living room. I'm experiencing weak signal in the master bedroom.

1) Powerline can boost the signal in my master bedroom?
2) I see the 2 adapters are difference.
3) I have survey the price, powerline cost more than RM100? any cheaper alternative?
4) Anybody use powerline before? stable?
5) Condo should be single phase power right?
1) Yes.

2) I'm assuming that you meant one is just powerline, the other one will come with wireless function.

3) Yes, powerline cost more than RM100. Cheaper alternative is extender, but with that price, you can't really get a good extender.

4) Yes, it's stable but only if your place is single phase power. Some can support three phase but you won't really know until you test it out.

5) You will have to test it out yourself as each condo is different.
SilentVampire
post Oct 24 2017, 10:38 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Alert_RaZO @ Oct 24 2017, 10:11 PM)
Thanks for the explanation.
By the way how to test whether it is single phase power?
Not really sure for your condo, but I would think that it’s single phase.
SilentVampire
post Oct 31 2017, 02:46 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(s-one @ Oct 31 2017, 09:34 AM)
Anyone can help my tp link ac1200 unifi..cant detect wifi 2.4Ghz even at gui page already enable.
Upgrade the firmware. If still can’t, try a hard reset. You will need your PPPoE username and password and reconfigure everything if you do a hard reset.

If it’s still not working, go to TP-Link service centre for warranty claim.
SilentVampire
post Nov 6 2017, 04:24 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(micwk @ Nov 6 2017, 01:59 PM)
thanks so much .... ok its either C5 or C7
QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Nov 6 2017, 02:08 PM)
If you on budget, you can choose c5.
If you want slightly better in performance, then choose c7.

archer c5 would cost around rm338 - lazada
archer c7 would cost around rm395 - Archer C7
Archer C7 - Best offer
Best offer for Archer C7 V4: http://www.lazada.com.my/tp-link-ac1750-wi...5674ODqJeo&ff=1

Alhough it is V2 in the ad, it will be v4 sent to you.
SilentVampire
post Nov 6 2017, 10:58 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Nov 6 2017, 10:30 PM)
I believe those who purchase the recent version of c7 (v4) gets new interface of the pre-loaded firmware.
Definitely bro. It’s a brand new firmware, with improved antennae and internal hardware is better as well with the v4, as compared to the v2.
SilentVampire
post Nov 10 2017, 06:27 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(arrsoo @ Nov 10 2017, 05:12 PM)
Hi guys,

I'm using Archer C5 now and just got upgraded from unifi 30Mbps to 50Mbps.  since then, the speed has not been consistence. Before that I can easily get 30Mbps easily on both 2.4G and 5G but ever since upgraded, I only managed to get 20Mbps for 2.4G and 30Mbps for 5G even though the signal bar shows 4 bar for 2.4G and 1 bar for 5G.  how come like that as 2.4G is showing a stronger 4 bar signal compared with 1 bar signal/5G yet the speed for 2.4G is so slow?  I have disabled both the IPV6 and Bandwidth control but that doesn't seems to help...
It sounds like there might be interference or congestion on the 2.4GHz and the 5GHz around your location, that could be due to moreof your neighbours using Wifi now. Use a wifi Analyzer app on your phone or download a Wifi Analyzer on your computer. I would suggest the Wifi Analyzer app by farproc on your Android app or Acrylic Wifi for your computer.

Theres no correlation between getting a stronger signal on 2.4GHz and a faster connection. 2.4GHz has better range, but with lower thoroughput, but it’s usually very congested and prone to interference. 5GHz is usually better, with higher thoroughput, to the expense of range, but less congestion.

See this link for more detailed explanation: https://www.howtogeek.com/222249/whats-the-...should-you-use/
SilentVampire
post Nov 14 2017, 04:34 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(arrsoo @ Nov 14 2017, 04:07 PM)
Thanks to bro SilentVampire, followed your guides and below is what I get...

for 2.4G, no channel congestion, signal strength is 4 bar but no matter what channel I set, speed still sucks, give up liao

for 5G, also no channel congestion, signal strength is only 1 bar but routers default the channel to 153 which caused the speed to drop drastically but after I set to use channel 44, I managed to get full speed.
I’m quite surprised to see that 2.4 is still so bad. Try changing to 40MHz for your 2.4GHz. That might help.

This post has been edited by SilentVampire: Nov 14 2017, 04:34 PM
SilentVampire
post Nov 16 2017, 12:16 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Nov 16 2017, 12:19 AM)
Hi guys,
Not sure if this is related. but looks like it. Just got upgraded from 30mbps to 50mbps too recently.

I was using TL-WR841HP V1 before this. Wanted to try AC wifi for my new 50mbps line so I bought the Archer C60 V2 AC1350 and a AC600 wifi receiver Archer T2U.  biggrin.gif  rclxms.gif
But after a few days testing, seems like my C60 can't give 40Mbps+ over wifi on both 2.4GHz or 5GHz. Most of the time it hovers around 30Mbps or so.
With LAN cable, I can get at least 40-45Mbps on both my routers C60 & WR841HP. But not on Wifi, it seems stuck / capped around 30mbps, where mostly I get just 25-28Mbps on wifi.
Also tested with my other devices with wifi AC smartphones in the house. (A 2-storey terrace)

Some suggested to disable QoS, but i can't. My router won't work if I do not enable Unifi IPTV.
How to disable the QoS? The checkbox is greyed out if I choose Unifi IPTV enable for C50 V2 firmware. It says QoS and IPTV can't be enabled together at the same time.
Should I use custom settings for IPTV and then enable the QoS? What are the numbers to use for IPTV?

In the end, just using the C60 as repeater to my old WR841HP ..*sigh*  blink.gif
Did you try using another router? Anyway, I think QOS has been disabled by default, so that might not be the problem. If you can get the full speed or close to the full speed with another router, the C60 might be the problem.

QUOTE(arrsoo @ Nov 16 2017, 11:49 AM)
did you also disable ipv6 in your router?  perhaps if you can be more specific on where your placement of router is and how far away from your router when you do the testing, sifus here might be able to help
I don’t think it have anything to do with the placement of the router or IPV6 settings. Might be a firmware issue or his router is not capable of handling that many devices, with result in lower thoroughput.

19 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0973sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:19 AM