128 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Bottom

Working with Petronas?, Work environment, benefits and culture?

mangoman
post Sep 16 2012, 03:12 AM

Retired Member
560 posts

QUOTE(Seventh7 @ Sep 15 2012, 08:43 PM)
Im not sure about new salary grade..but they have implemented new job grade..low e1,hi e1..low e2 and low e2..and so on...
Yeah, that is what I heard and also it will not based on ACD results nemore, it will be based only performance and num of years.
Well for me, if you are in technical service, the number of years does not necessarily depict your competency. i.e. in 5 years, you may learn more/experience more/gain more exposure at OPU A compared to OPU B. It is quite subjective. Nevertheless, we will just have to wait and see then. biggrin.gif All the best!

Added on September 16, 2012, 3:14 am
QUOTE(pandikar @ Sep 15 2012, 10:47 PM)
Don't put your hopes too high. Should the one that's called you is Carigali's, there's no guarantee that you'll be offered a position according to your qualifications and/ or background.

Having said that, chances to get hired are pretty high though, as they've been hiring like crazy for quite some time now. September alone, those attending and scheduled to attend PIPE are as high as 300++ people.
Hiring new grads to replace the experienced staffs who resigned/moved to other companies is never a good move especially in technical position. It takes very long time to develop the fresh grads in terms of technical skills, networking and etc. Sigh.

This post has been edited by mangoman: Sep 16 2012, 03:15 AM
Seventh7
post Sep 16 2012, 07:12 AM

1,490 posts

Mangoman,
The new job grade structure already implemented effective july...but i dunno y hr does not make any official announcement.sight..if u are an e1 promoted to low e2 you will get only half of the salary increment as compared to the old structure..

It will take u 3 years in each grade beforepromotion..fyi,this new structure not really new..it was implemented way way back in the 90s..

The reason for this based on my hr manager because nowdays too many inmature young manager...even you are good in ur technical line,but it will takes a diff skills to manage a dept and subordinate..

Lucky for those who got promoted earlier..now gonna take longer for promotion..its like the opposite of acd..
mangoman
post Sep 16 2012, 08:38 AM

Retired Member
560 posts

QUOTE(Seventh7 @ Sep 16 2012, 07:12 AM)
Mangoman,
The new job grade structure already implemented effective july...but i dunno y hr does not make any official announcement.sight..if u are an e1 promoted to low e2 you will get only half of the salary increment as compared to the old structure..

It will take u 3 years in each grade beforepromotion..fyi,this new structure not really new..it was implemented way way back in the 90s..

The reason for this based on my hr manager because nowdays too many inmature young manager...even you are good in ur technical line,but it will takes a diff skills to manage a dept and subordinate..

Lucky for those who got promoted earlier..now gonna take longer for promotion..its like the opposite of acd..
In July? I don't hear anything from my HR yet. Hmm. hmm.gif Whatever it is, it only carries the title, what is more important is the salary though last time E1 to E1 will only have an increase of RM1k only. So currently the promotion will not based on ACD results nemore?
p/s: Like that I don't have to study so hard for my ACD assessment tongue.gif

This post has been edited by mangoman: Sep 16 2012, 08:39 AM
backspace66
post Sep 16 2012, 05:14 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(mangoman @ Sep 16 2012, 08:38 AM)
In July? I don't hear anything from my HR yet. Hmm.  hmm.gif Whatever it is, it only carries the title, what is more important is the salary though last time E1 to E1 will only have an increase of RM1k only. So currently the promotion will not based on ACD results nemore?
p/s: Like that I don't have to study so hard for my ACD assessment  tongue.gif
sorry to interupt,so u are saying E1 to E2 only carries 1k salary increase?that's kinda low if it needs 2-3 years for a promotion.
azraeil
post Sep 17 2012, 12:19 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(pandikar @ Sep 15 2012, 03:39 PM)
Bro Azraeil, mind elaborating on this one? smile.gif
The salary grade if I am not mistaken will be E1-E5, (where they will split E1-E2 into 5 band, similar to SG20-24 before), there will be M1-M3 for the managerial level, then C1-C2 I think for the GM levels and H1-H2 for the SGM levels, now is that 14? I must have missed the E4 subdivisions.

This was explained to me when I had lunch with my friends (he will be a an H2 and the other friend was going to be a C2) so was not really taking notes.
kopitiam
post Sep 20 2012, 09:06 AM

cookie monster
4,480 posts

still waiting for the call... sad.gif

how long normally before they call?
pandikar
post Sep 20 2012, 10:37 AM

229 posts

Waiting will benefit you nothing, kopitiam. As others and I had stressed earlier in this very thread, always expect the unexpexted when dealing with PETRONAS' HR. By always I mean, all the time.

Make the first move. If they don't give you a call, call them. But make sure to hang up after a few ringing tones. I forget whether it's 3 or 4. Otherwise you'll be re-directed to voicemail, which will cost you money.
Phill Eppi
post Sep 20 2012, 10:57 AM

29 posts

Hi all,

I've just finished my SI last week. Anyone knows how long time need to take to get the result? How do we know that we are pass or fail? What are the next steps?

LilyPad
post Sep 20 2012, 03:59 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(Phill Eppi @ Sep 20 2012, 10:57 AM)
Hi all,

I've just finished my SI last week. Anyone knows how long time need to take to get the result? How do we know that we are pass or fail? What are the next steps?
u can just call the HR to noe ur result, u can noe the SI result within 1st week of interview, sumtime even the next day..

it is the plcement that can take a long time...btw gud luck thumbup.gif
hj.pet
post Sep 20 2012, 05:06 PM

312 posts

i guess this question is for bro azraeil to answer smile.gif

continuing from our previous posts in the oil n gas thread, u've mentioned that u were with PRSB for 7 years. i'm assuming u started ur career with them once graduated? n i'm assuming u'r with PCSB rite now? i've got an interview with PRSB next week on researcher post under r & d eor unit, technology & engineering division. i've got some questions regarding on the post:-

1. could u please share what is the job nature of being a researcher for PRSB? i'm assuming that my job will mainly focusing on the research proposal n spend most of my time in lab?
2. as per my reading on the oil and gas and this thread, please correct me if i'm wrong. does PCSB mainly handles all the e & p nature of the oil & gas business in msia and PRSB business totally depends on the grant given by PCSB?
3. from my limited research and readings on the oil & gas industry in msia, the eor activities in msia is going to accelerate given that PETRONAS has change its direction towards marginal field and eor activities in msia. is this statement true?
4. can i safely say that if i ever get employed by PETRONAS under this unit, i could have a progressive and good career ahead of me compared to other units/division?
5. i'm assuming that working with PRSB will hamper my chances on getting involve with the field activities of the industry, is it? i just think it's kinda wrong to start a career with research activities with a limited field experience. could u comment a little bit on this?

thank u in advance bro azraeil for willing to answer all these questions smile.gif

This post has been edited by hj.pet: Sep 20 2012, 05:16 PM
alhakam88
post Sep 20 2012, 05:29 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(hj.pet @ Sep 20 2012, 05:06 PM)

continuing from our previous posts in the oil n gas thread, u've mentioned that u were with PRSB for 7 years. i'm assuming u started ur career with them once graduated? n i'm assuming u'r with PCSB rite now? i've got an interview with PRSB next week on researcher post under r & d eor unit, technology & engineering division. i've got some questions regarding on the post:-

1. could u please share what is the job nature of being a researcher for PRSB? i'm assuming that my job will mainly focusing on the research proposal n spend most of my time in lab?
2. as per my reading on the oil and gas and this thread, please correct me if i'm wrong. does PCSB mainly handles all the e & p nature of the oil & gas business in msia and PRSB business totally depends on the grant given by PCSB?
3. from my limited research and readings on the oil & gas industry in msia, the eor activities in msia is going to accelerate given that PETRONAS has change its direction towards marginal field and eor activities in msia. is this statement true?
4. can i safely say that if i ever get employed by PETRONAS under this unit, i could have a progressive and good career ahead of me compared to other units/division?
5. i'm assuming that working with PRSB will hamper my chances on getting involve with the field activities of the industry, is it? i just think it's kinda wrong to start a career with research activities with a limited field experience. could u comment a little bit on this?

thank u in advance bro azraeil for willing to answer all these questions smile.gif
Selamat Berjaya. We might see each other in PRSB.
azraeil
post Sep 20 2012, 05:33 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(hj.pet @ Sep 20 2012, 12:06 PM)

Wahhh lots of question. I'm using an iPhone so it's a pain in the behind to type the reply. I'll reply using my computer soon.

I'm no longer with Petronas. Left the company 6 years ago and now in the middle east.
keii-kun
post Sep 20 2012, 08:27 PM

1,120 posts

Wow, now got low e1 hi e1, very complex already...
Last time what makes the technical line complicated was the TP line for tech ppl to move up via tech line instead of managerial line. Then they hv problem not enuff line mgr so tech mgr has to manage ppl. Then introduced ACD now says too many young manager cos got many e1 go e2 in 5 yrs. Now do hi low to fill gap?

Pet Hr are funny and always never do proper longterm planning with their policy. Always firefighting.
hj.pet
post Sep 20 2012, 10:06 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(alhakam88 @ Sep 20 2012, 05:29 PM)
Selamat Berjaya. We might see each other in PRSB.
thank u for the wish. maybe u might give some idea on those questions i've asked before? smile.gif

QUOTE(azraeil @ Sep 20 2012, 05:33 PM)
Wahhh lots of question. I'm using an iPhone so it's a pain in the behind to type the reply. I'll reply using my computer soon.

I'm no longer with Petronas. Left the company 6 years ago and now in the middle east.
hehe sorry for the amount of the questions asked. anyway thanks again in advance for replying those questions. i'll try to simplify them whenever i have any questions in the future. well, i guess u've got to change to iPhone 5? bigger screen? tongue.gif
alhakam88
post Sep 20 2012, 11:09 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(hj.pet @ Sep 20 2012, 10:06 PM)
thank u for the wish. maybe u might give some idea on those questions i've asked before? smile.gif
hehe sorry for the amount of the questions asked. anyway thanks again in advance for replying those questions. i'll try to simplify them whenever i have any questions in the future. well, i guess u've got to change to iPhone 5? bigger screen? tongue.gif
Actually I am not experienced enough to answer all that questions. sweat.gif I will be starting working at PRSB (joining EOR R&D) in three weeks time. 1 October is my first day reporting at PIPE. So I am also new.

I am looking forward for bro azraeil answers. notworthy.gif But I had one month exposure doing on the job training with PRSB this year before I joined mudlogging company. I can try answer your question and my answer may not be correct.

I think that is what u will be doing most of the time. Often times, u will have to attend a lot of meetings at KLCC. (projects team and supplier) U will spend time in the lab doing core flooding experiment (a lot of new and expensive equipment for EOR are coming in). But u will learn a lot about EOR especially chemical flooding and WAG optimisation. Maybe, when they are doing pilot project, u will have the chance to go offshore (maybe once in six months) smile.gif . When u joined PRSB, I think u will be placed in the same team as mine.

2. as per my reading on the oil and gas and this thread, please correct me if i'm wrong. does PCSB mainly handles all the e & p nature of the oil & gas business in msia and PRSB business totally depends on the grant given by PCSB?[color=blue]

Yes that is true. Most of the projects for PRSB are funded either by PCSB or EEPTC. Lots of projects are coming in as Petronas are now putting a lot of money to squeeze more oil from depleting fields. The projects are mixed of local and overseas fields.

True according Petronas 2011 annual report. You can read that for more info. Petronas signed billion dollar deal with Shell to develop EOR project.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...2505&sec=nation

4. can i safely say that if i ever get employed by PETRONAS under this unit, i could have a progressive and good career ahead of me compared to other units/division?[COLOR=blue]

hmm.gif i am not sure about this. The manager for EOR group is a very good and kind person. I met some people joined this group because of her.

unsure.gif I am not sure about this too. I was in mudlogging for few months, and I see that it is hard for me to become a reservoir engineer. But, in PRSB I can see my way to become a reservoir engineer since EOR is also part of reservoir engineering. If u want to be a drilling engineer, later u can apply with PCSB once u are in Petronas. I do realize it is very difficult for me to get in Petronas and I don't always get what I want. For me, keep working on what u have, don't stop learning and keep working achieving my dream job.

I also have the same questions in my mind. Maybe bro azraeil notworthy.gif can answer this questions much better than me. I am actually looking forward for this answers. Thank you for posting all the questions. Thanks bro azraeil in advance.

This post has been edited by alhakam88: Sep 20 2012, 11:14 PM
hj.pet
post Sep 21 2012, 12:09 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(alhakam88 @ Sep 20 2012, 11:09 PM)
Actually I am not experienced enough to answer all that questions. I will be starting working at PRSB (joining EOR R&D) in three weeks time. 1 October is my first day reporting at PIPE. So I am also new.

I am looking forward for bro azraeil answers. But I had one month exposure doing on the job training with PRSB this year before I joined mudlogging company. I can try answer your question and my answer may not be correct.

I think that is what u will be doing most of the time. Often times, u will have to attend a lot of meetings at KLCC. (projects team and supplier) U will spend time in the lab doing core flooding experiment (a lot of new and expensive equipment for EOR are coming in). But u will learn a lot about EOR especially chemical flooding and WAG optimisation. Maybe, when they are doing pilot project, u will have the chance to go offshore (maybe once in six months) smile.gif . When u joined PRSB, I think u will be placed in the same team as mine.

Yes that is true. Most of the projects for PRSB are funded either by PCSB or EEPTC. Lots of projects are coming in as Petronas are now putting a lot of money to squeeze more oil from depleting fields. The projects are mixed of local and overseas fields.

True according Petronas 2011 annual report. You can read that for more info. Petronas signed billion dollar deal with Shell to develop EOR project.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...2505&sec=nation

hmm.gif i am not sure about this. The manager for EOR group is a very good and kind person. I met some people joined this group because of her.

I am not sure about this too. I was in mudlogging for few months, and I see that it is hard for me to become a reservoir engineer. But, in PRSB I can see my way to become a reservoir engineer since EOR is also part of reservoir engineering. If u want to be a drilling engineer, later u can apply with PCSB once u are in Petronas. I do realize it is very difficult for me to get in Petronas and I don't always get what I want. For me, keep working on what u have, don't stop learning and keep working achieving my dream job.

I also have the same questions in my mind. Maybe bro azraeil can answer this questions much better than me. I am actually looking forward for this answers. Thank you for posting all the questions. Thanks bro azraeil in advance.
before that, may i know what is PIPE? can't find any term related to this. heheh care to share with me?

correct me if i'm wrong, u were saying that u had ur internship with PRSB during ur undergrad time and u worked as a mudlogging engineer once graduate, rite? may i know where did u graduated from? and in what background? i know mudlogging may not the best rewarding career in term of money but i guess the experience u gained there was equally rewarding compared with other petroleum eng jobs smile.gif anyway, it's nice to meet a potential colleague in this thread.

to respond to ur previous post, i'd like to adopt the style of answering my question in here, ok? heheheh

1. I think that is what u will be doing most of the time. Often times, u will have to attend a lot of meetings at KLCC. (projects team and supplier) U will spend time in the lab doing core flooding experiment (a lot of new and expensive equipment for EOR are coming in). But u will learn a lot about EOR especially chemical flooding and WAG optimisation. Maybe, when they are doing pilot project, u will have the chance to go offshore (maybe once in six months) smile.gif . When u joined PRSB, I think u will be placed in the same team as mine.

so u r saying that most of the time i'd be spending my time doing core flooding experiments n stuff? well, that's cool for me. i've been doing some coreflooding experiments for my previous postgraduate project. EOR was one of my favourite subject during my time in UTM biggrin.gif but i may find the differences in the equipment used in the lab since most of the equipments in UTM were old skool. may i know how big is the current team for EOR unit in PRSB?

2. Yes that is true. Most of the projects for PRSB are funded either by PCSB or EEPTC. Lots of projects are coming in as Petronas are now putting a lot of money to squeeze more oil from depleting fields. The projects are mixed of local and overseas fields.

may i know what is EEPTC? so u r saying that the most potentially client for PRSB are PCSB and EEPTC?

3. unsure.gif I am not sure about this too. I was in mudlogging for few months, and I see that it is hard for me to become a reservoir engineer. But, in PRSB I can see my way to become a reservoir engineer since EOR is also part of reservoir engineering. If u want to be a drilling engineer, later u can apply with PCSB once u are in Petronas. I do realize it is very difficult for me to get in Petronas and I don't always get what I want. For me, keep working on what u have, don't stop learning and keep working achieving my dream job.

yeah totally agreed on this. being involved in the EOR R & D is one of the stepping stone in becoming a reservoir engineer. i guess, some of the reservoir engineer out there started their career by involving in the research activities instead of field activities but i strongly believe that a little background in the field experience and a strong knowledge in geology may help u gain more understanding on what is petroleum and reservoir engineering is all about. we all know that reservoir engineer is the heartbeat of the petroleum engineering itself rite. anyway, is it ur dream of becoming a reservoir engineer?

anyway, we are still waiting for bro azraeil to answer some of the questions threw before rite? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by hj.pet: Sep 21 2012, 12:09 PM
IDK806
post Sep 21 2012, 01:26 PM

Hey guys,

I just got an offer to start 1st Oct for my PIPE.

Position: Executive (C5 Derivatives)

Can anyone please enlighten me on what this position actually is?
It says I'm offered a position at Project Rapid Department, Downstream Business Division.

I'm a chemical engineer graduate and I stated that I preferred a technical position. Is this a technical + business position or solely business? I know it's for the RAPID project in Johor but would just like to know will I be involved in technical areas.

Thanks in advanced.

This post has been edited by IDK806: Sep 21 2012, 07:06 PM
azraeil
post Sep 21 2012, 04:02 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(hj.pet @ Sep 20 2012, 12:06 PM)

When I joined PRSS a looong time ago, there were 2 main job for PRSS, it's basically the lab department for PETRONAS (in competition with Core Lab basically) and also the custodian for the Core Warehouse (previously in Hulu Langat and now moved to Ulu Klang). It does applied research (not many pure research which the previous CEO wanted to leave it to the Universities) and also technical services. I was involved mostly with Technical Services (something like a consulting arm for Petronas). I actually started 3D static modeling work while I was in one of the project in the technical services line of work.

I believe now, PRSS has been restructured where they don't do technical services anymore and mostly concentrate on applied research and specializing in EOR. So you mostly will be involved in the EOR projects most of the time probably doing core flooding, Special Core Analysis (SCAL) and based on what I hear, they are bringing those expensive equipment etc so you should have the state of the art equipment to do all your work.

After PRSS I joined PMU and actually was involved in pushing all the operators to implement EOR. Before I left we managed to make sure that ExxonMobile implement EOR for the 95 PSC fields (Guntong/Seligi/Tapis) and for Shell to implement EOR in the Baram Delta (The EOR PSC that they signed last time around worth 37 billion) and for Carigali to implement EOR for Angsi and Dulang field.

EPTC is the E&P Technology Center and they are responsible for coming up with the EOR FDP so they will be PRSB main client. Angsi will be a chemical flooding EOR, Dulang is Immiscible WAG (Water Alternating Gas) EOR, Tapis/Seligi/Guntong will be an immiscible WAG as well (may involving CO2 as well) and the Baram Delta was plan for a CO2 flooding but I think it will be immiscible WAG as well.

The EOR Head in PRSS is a friend of mine and she is very nice. The head in EPTC was my previous boss but he is a slave driver so be wary.

As for career, well it depends, if you want to specialize in reservoir engineer in terms of the technical detail of it, then PRSS is the place to stay but I do recommend you getting some operational experience as well. I have gaps in my skills with regards to the operation side of things because I jumped directly into doing static models (which is a specialised field) and the thing I would change is probably spend some more time in Carigali (maybe 4-5 years). But you work with what you're given.

There is always chance for you to move to different OPU but if you spend too much time and experience in the lab, then your movement opportunity is limited. If you spend it say doing lab work (PVT, SCAL, Core Flooding) and then using those experience to help you in doing reservoir simulation work, then the opportunity is endless.

Good luck!

alhakam88
post Sep 21 2012, 04:54 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Sep 21 2012, 04:02 PM)
When I joined PRSS a looong time ago, there were 2 main job for PRSS, it's basically the lab department for PETRONAS (in competition with Core Lab basically) and also the custodian for the Core Warehouse (previously in Hulu Langat and now moved to Ulu Klang). It does applied research (not many pure research which the previous CEO wanted to leave it to the Universities) and also technical services. I was involved mostly with Technical Services (something like a consulting arm for Petronas). I actually started 3D static modeling work while I was in one of the project in the technical services line of work.

I believe now, PRSS has been restructured where they don't do technical services anymore and mostly concentrate on applied research and specializing in EOR. So you mostly will be involved in the EOR projects most of the time probably doing core flooding, Special Core Analysis (SCAL) and based on what I hear, they are bringing those expensive equipment etc so you should have the state of the art equipment to do all your work.

After PRSS I joined PMU and actually was involved in pushing all the operators to implement EOR. Before I left we managed to make sure that ExxonMobile implement EOR for the 95 PSC fields (Guntong/Seligi/Tapis) and for Shell to implement EOR in the Baram Delta (The EOR PSC that they signed last time around worth 37 billion) and for Carigali to implement EOR for Angsi  and Dulang field.

EPTC is the E&P Technology Center and they are responsible for coming up with the EOR FDP so they will be PRSB main client. Angsi will be a chemical flooding EOR, Dulang is Immiscible WAG (Water Alternating Gas) EOR, Tapis/Seligi/Guntong will be an immiscible WAG as well (may involving CO2 as well) and the Baram Delta was plan for a CO2 flooding but I think it will be immiscible WAG as well.

The EOR Head in PRSS is a friend of mine and she is very nice. The head in EPTC was my previous boss but he is a slave driver so be wary.

As for career, well it depends, if you want to specialize in reservoir engineer in terms of the technical detail of it, then PRSS is the place to stay but I do recommend you getting some operational experience as well. I have gaps in my skills with regards to the operation side of things because I jumped directly into doing static models (which is a specialised field) and the thing I would change is probably spend some more time in Carigali (maybe 4-5 years). But you work with what you're given.

There is always chance for you to move to different OPU but if you spend too much time and experience in the lab, then your movement opportunity is limited. If you spend it say doing lab work (PVT, SCAL, Core Flooding) and then using those experience to help you in doing reservoir simulation  work, then the opportunity is endless.

Good luck!
Thanks bro azraeil for thoughtful insight. I heard the head of EPTC is the best reservoir engineer in Malaysia...
hj.pet
post Sep 21 2012, 08:17 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Sep 21 2012, 04:02 PM)

After PRSS I joined PMU and actually was involved in pushing all the operators to implement EOR. Before I left we managed to make sure that ExxonMobile implement EOR for the 95 PSC fields (Guntong/Seligi/Tapis) and for Shell to implement EOR in the Baram Delta (The EOR PSC that they signed last time around worth 37 billion) and for Carigali to implement EOR for Angsi  and Dulang field.

There is always chance for you to move to different OPU but if you spend too much time and experience in the lab, then your movement opportunity is limited. If you spend it say doing lab work (PVT, SCAL, Core Flooding) and then using those experience to help you in doing reservoir simulation  work, then the opportunity is endless.

Good luck!
whoah. it's kinda reading ur cv in paragraph form here. hehe. anyway, thanks for the helpful info. i really hope that by joining PRSB can kick start my career in the industry. thanks again bro!

128 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:53 PM