128 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Working with Petronas?, Work environment, benefits and culture?

azraeil
post Sep 22 2012, 12:30 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(alhakam88 @ Sep 21 2012, 11:54 AM)
Thanks bro azraeil for thoughtful insight. I heard the head of EPTC is the best reservoir engineer in Malaysia...
He's the custodian reservoir engineer. One of the main reason I left the company. A pain in the behind to work with. As the saying goes, people don't leave their companies, they leave their bosses.
evil educator
post Sep 25 2012, 03:25 PM

Sifu azraeil,

Im working in a GLC company in the maritime security line with a degree in marketing, and i have already got 5 years experience in security. Recently, i have been offered a job at murphy as security executive (contract 2 years), will be in the HSE team and petronas for exec marketing(applied long time ago). Which will be a better choice ?

Petronas or murphy?

plse advise sifu..
azraeil
post Sep 25 2012, 09:37 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

I'm horrible at giving advice because I hate making choices. I like it when choices have been made but I hate the process of making the choice. It is seriously up to you. If you believe that you will be happy in Petronas, then go for that. Obviously Petronas' position is permanent as compared to Murphy but I believe the financial package is probably better from Murphy right? I always do solat istikharah and if you're a Muslim I suggest you do the same. Another thing to consider is what SG did PETRONAS offer you. Of it's E1, then it's on the low side.
kingozil8
post Sep 26 2012, 09:39 AM

hye sifu2.. Usually in Petronas how long they take to process the application?for fresh grads..

Added on September 26, 2012, 9:39 amhye sifu2.. Usually in Petronas how long they take to process the application?for fresh grads..

This post has been edited by kingozil8: Sep 26 2012, 09:39 AM
masjoni
post Sep 26 2012, 10:23 AM

QUOTE(kingozil8 @ Sep 26 2012, 09:39 AM)
hye sifu2.. Usually in Petronas how long they take to process the application?for fresh grads..

Added on September 26, 2012, 9:39 amhye sifu2.. Usually in Petronas how long they take to process the application?for fresh grads..
in my case, it took 7 months since SI until they sent me the offer letter..and just an advice, you'd better still try to apply to another company, because beside the process will be so long and the HR are not cooperative/informative to us (candidates)..anyway good luck for your application thumbup.gif
research
post Sep 26 2012, 11:35 AM

309 posts

Not sure if there are any people with 3 years working experience in this post. Just to share this urgent message with you guys.

MDec is giving away RM3K grant to EVERYONE who get their professional certification. This grant will be closed by Dec 2012.

More: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2514004&hl=

jhchan29
post Sep 26 2012, 01:25 PM

21 posts

Hi guys. I am new to this forum. Nice to meet you guys. I am currently an Accounting and Finance student and attended Petronas' SI in Melbourne yesterday. Upon completion of my interview, I was immediately offered the Chartered Accountancy Programme and the HR VP immediately sat down with me to talk about the programme structure and benefits as well as convincing me how good petronas is. It is a wonderful opportunity but I am at a crossroads here. In the programme I would have to join a big 4 for 3-4 years and gain my CA. After which I will be absorbed back into Petronas for 6-8 years. I would like to know more about the career progression and prospects for a CA rejoining Petronas. Also what would be the remuneration package for someone rejoining?

I am also currently sitting for my CFA Level One exams in Dec. I have always wanted to join the banking industry and pursue and investment banking career. However, the offer from Petronas is most appealing to me because of the stature of the firm and the international exposure I can get. Also the fact that the ultra-competitive culture in CIMB turns me off as well. Besides from my interview yesterday as well as from some research, I have noticed that CAs are more highly sought than CFA holders in Malaysia, even in the banking industry. From all the seniors' experience here, I would like to ask whether the culture, career progression, benefits and salary at petronas would match A bank like CIMB or Maybank (both I have an interview coming).

Thank you in advance for your attention. smile.gif

This post has been edited by jhchan29: Sep 26 2012, 01:43 PM
Dry Pillow
post Sep 26 2012, 10:26 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(jhchan29 @ Sep 26 2012, 01:25 PM)
Hi guys. I am new to this forum. Nice to meet you guys. I am currently an Accounting and Finance student and attended Petronas' SI in Melbourne yesterday. Upon completion of my interview, I was immediately offered the Chartered Accountancy Programme and the HR VP immediately sat down with me to talk about the programme structure and benefits as well as convincing me how good petronas is. It is a wonderful opportunity but I am at a crossroads here. In the programme I would have to join a big 4 for 3-4 years and gain my CA. After which I will be absorbed back into Petronas for 6-8 years. I would like to know more about the career progression and prospects for a CA rejoining Petronas. Also what would be the remuneration package for someone rejoining?

I am also currently sitting for my CFA Level One exams in Dec. I have always wanted to join the banking industry and pursue and investment banking career. However, the offer from Petronas is most appealing to me because of the stature of the firm and the international exposure I can get. Also the fact that the ultra-competitive culture in CIMB turns me off as well. Besides from my interview yesterday as well as from some research, I have noticed that CAs are more highly sought than CFA holders in Malaysia, even in the banking industry. From all the seniors' experience here, I would like to ask whether the culture, career progression, benefits and salary at petronas would match A bank like CIMB or Maybank (both I have an interview coming).
Thank you in advance for your attention.  smile.gif
I'm not a senior but I am in the programme too. The remuneration is 5.5k monthly upon joining Pet after 4 years in audit firm and with CA. Apparently not a big money but I'm betting for career progression after joining. But the 8 years bond now makes me having second thought whether it is a worthy path to take... Hmmm

This post has been edited by Dry Pillow: Sep 26 2012, 10:27 PM
pinkyd
post Sep 27 2012, 02:14 AM

120 posts

Who else is attending PIPE next week - 1st October ?? Raise your hands..
Theres 130++ for this batch of PIPE.. And many are fresh grads born in the 90s. Haihh.. I feel old.
evil educator
post Sep 27 2012, 12:41 PM

Dear bro azreil,

Thanks alot and ive made my decision sifu. May god bless u sifu.. smile.gif

jhchan29
post Sep 27 2012, 05:41 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Dry Pillow @ Sep 26 2012, 10:26 PM)
I'm not a senior but I am in the programme too. The remuneration is 5.5k monthly upon joining Pet after 4 years in audit firm and with CA. Apparently not a big money but I'm betting for career progression after joining. But the 8 years bond now makes me having second thought whether it is a worthy path to take... Hmmm
Well it is definitely a very attractive programme with lots of traveling and learning. I think from what the finance VP said to me, we can bet on career progression and it is the best path to become senior managers and execs in Petronas or its subsidiaries. She kept mentioning CFO position during my interview. Of course depending on performance in Pet. Lol. She also emphasized that the tier 1 option (joining big 4) is the better option. Still 8 years man... Which audit firm are you at? Also, anyone else who has experience completing the 4 years programme and rejoined Petronas? Please advise

This post has been edited by jhchan29: Sep 27 2012, 05:43 PM
tank4869
post Sep 27 2012, 07:28 PM

QUOTE(jhchan29 @ Sep 27 2012, 08:41 PM)
Well it is definitely a very attractive programme with lots of traveling and learning. I think from what the finance VP said to me, we can bet on career progression and it is the best path to become senior managers and execs in Petronas or its subsidiaries. She kept mentioning CFO position during my interview. Of  course depending on performance in Pet. Lol. She also emphasized that the tier 1 option (joining big 4) is the better option. Still 8 years man... Which audit firm are you at? Also, anyone else who has experience completing the 4 years programme and rejoined Petronas? Please advise
Hey I'm selected into this CA programme as well. Also, I'm doing my CFA Level 1 at this coming December =). Before the interview I was sooo determined to get into an investment bank (for sureeee). But after the interview the CA programme offered by Petronas sounds good to me!!! PM me so we can talk more about this. I need some guidance right now.

Between I'm really interested how much is Petronas going to pay as allowance even if we are getting salary from Big 4??? Anyone has any idea???
Dry Pillow
post Sep 27 2012, 09:00 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(jhchan29 @ Sep 27 2012, 05:41 PM)
Well it is definitely a very attractive programme with lots of traveling and learning. I think from what the finance VP said to me, we can bet on career progression and it is the best path to become senior managers and execs in Petronas or its subsidiaries. She kept mentioning CFO position during my interview. Of  course depending on performance in Pet. Lol. She also emphasized that the tier 1 option (joining big 4) is the better option. Still 8 years man... Which audit firm are you at? Also, anyone else who has experience completing the 4 years programme and rejoined Petronas? Please advise
I'm not sure whether the programme itself gives loads of travelling and learning unless you are referring to the nature of audit job we have to do for 4 years. Yes, having professional qualification can be good boost to career progress in many firms including Petronas - depending on performance as you said. She emphasised tier 1 because big 4 audit experience (where we get to see and learn the accounting anatomy of giant corporations in Malaysia) is precious for Petronas. As I said I am still going this path though I must admit the 8 years bond is the con of this path. I mean not many people these days want to stay in the same firm after 4-5 years. Not to mention the tough nature of audit job. On the bright side there is job security for 8 years after that tongue.gif

jhchan29
post Sep 28 2012, 01:08 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Dry Pillow @ Sep 27 2012, 09:00 PM)
I'm not sure whether the programme itself gives loads of travelling and learning unless you are referring to the nature of audit job we have to do for 4 years. Yes, having professional qualification can be good boost to career progress in many firms including Petronas - depending on performance as you said. She emphasised tier 1 because big 4 audit experience (where we get to see and learn the accounting anatomy of giant corporations in Malaysia) is precious for Petronas. As I said I am still going this path though I must admit the 8 years bond is the con of this path. I mean not many people these days want to stay in the same firm after 4-5 years. Not to mention the tough nature of audit job. On the bright side there is job security for 8 years after that tongue.gif
Well being too mobile in between jobs is not a good thing either. It means we can only become average as joining another firm means starting from the bottom. My only reservation is the culture in petronas. And the career progression. I don't want too strong type of nepotism or bias ness when dealing with promotion matters. Btw nice gaming rig. Gonna get one after I get my first paycheck lol

This post has been edited by jhchan29: Sep 28 2012, 01:14 PM
gates_way
post Sep 28 2012, 02:36 PM

60 posts

anyone is working in petronas refinery in kerteh?
can describe how's the working life over there?

tstan8_8
post Sep 28 2012, 02:47 PM

1,021 posts

Help. please send my resume to petronas smile.gif
so, they will realise my existance because of u
ixus
post Sep 28 2012, 09:20 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(gates_way @ Sep 28 2012, 02:36 PM)
anyone is working in petronas refinery in kerteh?
can describe how's the working life over there?
did u get an offer from PPTSB (kerteh refinery) ?
Technical or commercial position ?
keii-kun
post Sep 28 2012, 09:29 PM

1,120 posts

those who are planning to go into the ACCA programme, i can share some info, from my friend who took it in 2004 under IT degree conversion in ACCA (after PETRONAS IT outsourced).

He joined completed ACCA and joined EY as auditor. After almost 4 years, he managed to get to senior exec in EY before being called back to PETRONAS, only to be offered E1 post (even with CA).Negotiate for E2 also cannot. He informed PET rep that he is not going to join if like that, and the rep mentioned about suing him in court. he left EY after that and join other co (which i would not name here). At the end, he had to pay back fees etc (did not have detail on this). Check the detail of the agreement before agreeing.

If you get into PET Group Internal Audit, then you'll be doing auditing the other PET subsidiaries. If you have worry about the bias, culture in petronas, think again. yes, some OPUs have different culture, mindset, culture but these kind of people is everywhere. From the big 4 into PETRONAS, you might get dissappointed if you stuck under a small OPU.

I had a friend joined PET from Maybank, he said culture / work environment Maybank > PET.
jhchan29
post Sep 28 2012, 10:55 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Sep 28 2012, 09:29 PM)
those who are planning to go into the ACCA programme, i can share some info, from my friend who took it in 2004 under IT degree conversion in ACCA (after PETRONAS IT outsourced).

He joined completed ACCA and joined EY as auditor. After almost 4 years, he managed to get to senior exec in EY before being called back to PETRONAS, only to be offered E1 post (even with CA).Negotiate for E2 also cannot. He informed PET rep that he is not going to join if like that, and the rep mentioned about suing him in court. he left EY after that and join other co (which i would not name here). At the end, he had to pay back fees etc (did not have detail on this). Check the detail of the agreement before agreeing.

If you get into PET Group Internal Audit, then you'll be doing auditing the other PET subsidiaries. If you have worry about the bias, culture in petronas, think again. yes, some OPUs have different culture, mindset, culture but these kind of people is everywhere. From the big 4 into PETRONAS, you might get dissappointed if you stuck under a small OPU.

I had a friend joined PET from Maybank, he said culture / work environment Maybank > PET.
Wow this has been really informative. Thanks a lot. Just one question if you don't mind. Why did your friend join PET from Maybank? Is it because of the long hours there at Maybank/equal pay to PET?
keii-kun
post Sep 28 2012, 11:25 PM

1,120 posts

He joined PET for better salary and remuneration + old medical benefit scheme as he have family. He joined maybank as fresh grad.

Now he is doing ACCA on his own as a ticket to go out from PET as he heard PET will be doing some changes to old medical benefit scheme, which will be the reason to leave, apart from poor working environment, incapable superiors and politics.

128 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0211sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:52 PM