Travel Taiwan, Refer pg 1 for compiled attractions
stimix
Mar 2 2010, 12:37 PM
Dunno
If you refer to the 1st page, that's MRT line & also upcoming line to Sonshan (not completed yet as mentioned)
The conventional train & station looks really old although located inside the same integrated station similar to KL Sentral.
Well pretty up to you to choose which station. I like MRT bcos faster & <1min/train compare to 15-30min /train using the conventional train..The same train will also leads you to Keelung/Hua Lien/Tainan passing thru Sonshan station.
Another good thing from the review here is Sonshan station is also beside the nite market in addition to Wufengpu located South of the station.
If u use Housanpi MRT station, walking from that station to the nite market will be super far!
w00lvie
Mar 2 2010, 01:50 PM

stimix sifu... just a quick questn. how do i get to Hualien from Taipei? take TRA train from Taipei Main Stn, and alight @ Hualien stn or Sincheng stn (wikitravel says Sincheng is nearer to the park entrance). your advise plz. thanks.
stimix
Mar 2 2010, 04:16 PM
Dunno
That Taroko station although closer to taroko but like a dead ghost station nia. The slow train that brought me bck to Taipei from Hualien station passed by & if I'm not mistaken stop for a while there but i can't see anyone entering from that station.
Before going to Taipei/Hualien, I do hv the same thinking why not stop closer to taroko rather than Hualien..haha.
So the answer is..You still need to goto Hualien main station. Thereafter lotsa taxi will be waiting outside the station..just negotiate the rate wth them...NT1800 for just Taroko & Nt2200 for Cin Sui Cliff + taroko
w00lvie
Mar 2 2010, 07:54 PM

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 2 2010, 04:16 PM) That Taroko station although closer to taroko but like a dead ghost station nia. The slow train that brought me bck to Taipei from Hualien station passed by & if I'm not mistaken stop for a while there but i can't see anyone entering from that station. Before going to Taipei/Hualien, I do hv the same thinking why not stop closer to taroko rather than Hualien..haha. So the answer is..You still need to goto Hualien main station. Thereafter lotsa taxi will be waiting outside the station..just negotiate the rate wth them...NT1800 for just Taroko & Nt2200 for Cin Sui Cliff + taroko okie dokie... noted. will stop @ Hualien statn then. thanks so much.
McCabePlace
Mar 3 2010, 01:21 AM
Dear All,
I super sei foh dy...i have checked with a few hotels near tpe main stn and all say they are out of rooms for 2-4 April 2010. I have asked Miyi, Y Hotel and GoCityInn, which have good/reasonable reviews.
Any other hotels near the main stn I could try? Need to stay there as travelling to Hualien on 4th afternoon.
TIA.
This post has been edited by McCabePlace: Mar 3 2010, 01:22 AM
stimix
Mar 3 2010, 07:21 AM
Dunno
Try not to book drect, high chances that those hotel rooms have been allocated to travel agents..try using online booking services of agoda, asiarooms, hostelworld & more
wahlauyeh
Mar 3 2010, 11:12 AM

Stimix bro, do u have idea how to book tickets to watch the "我猜我猜我猜猜猜" by Wu Cong Sien ar? Anybody experience the show before, please advice how to book?
thanks Wahlauyeh
phlagos
Mar 3 2010, 12:50 PM
Hi, need some guide on how to reach " Window On China". Its at taoyuan area as i checked online. Anyone can provide me with transportation guide using MRT or BUS to that place? Reason for going: See doraemon mini world  Rates for transportation will be very much appreciated if available, thanks guys/gal. i m going there on middle of june, booked ticket already. (I know its a hot summer there + some chance of typhoon )
stimix
Mar 3 2010, 02:02 PM
Dunno
Taoyuen area is near airport. Probably you want to consider stay overnite at Tauyuen b4 going to Taipei..furthermore when I was there last year, Taoyuen airport was having free 1/2 day tour surrounding that area & include abit of Taipei if I'm not mistaken...good for those staying overnite there to grab the free tour...only 2 sessions..Morning & afternoon.
If u stay in Taipei, no point going back to Tauyuen airport to get the free tour......probably this tour also include the doraemon place? Well I'm not sure..not interested in this activity also haha
@Walauyeh - can't help you on that me dunno who is that guy...Banana here.
AngelLingLing
Mar 3 2010, 02:35 PM
QUOTE(phlagos @ Mar 3 2010, 12:50 PM) Hi, need some guide on how to reach " Window On China". Its at taoyuan area as i checked online. Anyone can provide me with transportation guide using MRT or BUS to that place? Reason for going: See doraemon mini world  Rates for transportation will be very much appreciated if available, thanks guys/gal. i m going there on middle of june, booked ticket already. (I know its a hot summer there + some chance of typhoon ) is the doremon miniworld still open? the day i asked my bro to check for me he say is close already @.@
ck_blink
Mar 3 2010, 04:07 PM

bro stimix,
i'm going taiwan tis 2nd April, so is it peak period? and is summer rite? i'm planning to bring rm2k, exclude air tickets for 6D 5N should be enough rite? so is recommended to convert US 1st then go there only change for taiwan currency? if yes, then i will not follow my fren to rush to change to taiwan currenct next week...
stimix
Mar 3 2010, 04:15 PM
Dunno
No yet summer lah still spring. Just check 1st page on the currency thingy. For NT$ it is better to convert to US$ 1st & thereafter NT$ at Taipei airport
senyii
Mar 3 2010, 09:20 PM
i want to know if i go to taiwan on dec wuts the hotel rate??i mean average rate per nite for 3 star hotel
racyong18
Mar 3 2010, 10:02 PM
Am going in Nov. Any recommendation for cheap budget hotel...less than RM120 per night. I just want a clean hotel
stimix
Mar 4 2010, 07:31 AM
Dunno
Check 1st page for recommended hotel. Budget hotel no need RM12o. U can get it for RM60.nite- Taipei Hostel
FirezZ
Mar 4 2010, 09:48 AM
hi planning to go to taiwan this june.. hmm what will be the weather there | any events a? i dono how to read chinese that much but my gf can  thinking going via package / own trip will be better ? thanks
w00lvie
Mar 4 2010, 11:10 AM

sifus... hope u all dont mind enlightening me again. am planning to go Jiufen, Keelung as well Yehliu Geopark. Just wonder... should i go to these 3-places on the same day (they are all in the same direction right?), or should i split it into 2-days? If going on the same day, where is the most appropriate places to charter a taxi? and normally how much? thanks so much again. so excited liaw.
stimix
Mar 4 2010, 11:40 AM
Dunno
Yes pls do Yehliu/Keelung/Jiufen within 1 day. But probably do Jiufen in the Morning bcos in theevening u can't see the sea at all!! All covered wth mist...thus really dissapoint me when i reached the viewpoint sometime ~5:15pm..by 5:30pm almost dark dy..see nothing! just human jam! I used the local bus service & the fare..no idea bcos part of their touch & Go system (Easycard). Just get a bus to Keelung & from Keelung another bus to jiufen..I can't really remember the bus no..u can chk my earlier posting sometime in mid December 2009. Added on March 4, 2010, 11:44 amMe also banana & so do my GF. haha..no problem in Taipei-lah..Signages are both in chinese & english. Just follow & rersearch from this thread & you will be good dy. I did the same b4 going there QUOTE(FirezZ @ Mar 4 2010, 09:48 AM) hi planning to go to taiwan this june.. hmm what will be the weather there | any events a? i dono how to read chinese that much but my gf can  thinking going via package / own trip will be better ? thanks This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 4 2010, 11:46 AM
w00lvie
Mar 4 2010, 12:52 PM

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 4 2010, 11:40 AM) Yes pls do Yehliu/Keelung/Jiufen within 1 day. But probably do Jiufen in the Morning bcos in theevening u can't see the sea at all!! All covered wth mist...thus really dissapoint me when i reached the viewpoint sometime ~5:15pm..by 5:30pm almost dark dy..see nothing! just human jam!
I used the local bus service & the fare..no idea bcos part of their touch & Go system (Easycard). Just get a bus to Keelung & from Keelung another bus to jiufen..I can't really remember the bus no..u can chk my earlier posting sometime in mid December 2009.
stimix... noted ur advise to visit Jiufen in the morning. so Winter time sun sets earlier huh? eeemmm... hopfully it wont sets too early in Apr lah.  in the course of your preparation for your previous taiwan trip, did u come across any info pertaining to chartering a car to Keelung/Jiufen/Yehliu? reason is, i will be travelling w/ my parent. thanks again.
SUSvkeong
Mar 4 2010, 01:24 PM
keelung/jioufen/yehliou in 1 day is do-able. but do note it will be very rush and you probably won't have the time to explore the places as thorough as possible.
btw, got earthquake in TW