post May 21 2020, 10:14 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Smurfs @ May 21 2020, 09:59 AM)
This is usually how REIT is compared :

If you are ok with the yield, then you may consider to buy whistling.gif

To aim big, there are better opportunities out there. Especially after the great bear back in March.
tongue.gif

I put in 100k into fd.... end of the year I will get 100k + the interest.

now if I buy 100k worth of Axist Reit... in theory I get Axis Reit stocks + the diividend.
But the problem is that Axis Reit stock, it can go up but it also can down (plus the fact the stock price is readjusted after giving out the dividend)

what if after one year, Axis Reit stock price is lower than what I paid for?

nah.... alternative income... put in the bank la. (my choice)

but if I am gonna put the money into stocks.... no multiple prada bags to win... play for what? laugh.gif laugh.gif

icon_idea.gif

Smurfs
post May 21 2020, 10:24 AM

1,060 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ May 21 2020, 10:14 AM)
tongue.gif

I put in 100k into fd.... end of the year I will get 100k + the interest.

now if I buy 100k worth of Axist Reit... in theory I get Axis Reit stocks + the diividend.
But the problem is that Axis Reit stock, it can go up but it also can down (plus the fact the stock price is readjusted after giving out the dividend)

what if after one year, Axis Reit stock price is lower than what I paid for?
nah.... alternative income... put in the bank la. (my choice)

but if I am gonna put the money into stocks.... no multiple prada bags to win... play for what?  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

icon_idea.gif
At the end come back to the strategy part, we dont buy into REIT if the yield is very close to the FD rate.

Few years back when there are some promotional FD offered, bank gives around 4.5% pa. Since risk free already can get 4.5%, at that time is is unwise to invest in REIT already biggrin.gif

If your buying price is correct, and the REIT you select is good, you can get both appreciation of price on top of the yield that you are getting. A 12% return (6% share price appreciation + 6% yield) p.a for REIT is achievable.

Buying price is very very important icon_rolleyes.gif
TSBoon3
post May 21 2020, 11:08 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Smurfs @ May 21 2020, 10:24 AM)
At the end come back to the strategy part, we dont buy into REIT if the yield is very close to the FD rate.

Few years back when there are some promotional FD offered, bank gives around 4.5% pa. Since risk free already can get 4.5%, at that time is is unwise to invest in REIT already  biggrin.gif

If your buying price is correct, and the REIT you select is good, you can get both appreciation of price on top of the yield that you are getting. A 12% return (6% share price appreciation + 6% yield) p.a for REIT is achievable.

Buying price is very very important  icon_rolleyes.gif
To get just 12% as the reward for buying it correctly ... err... really tak cukup la... for one, I don't think I can price it correctly...

Too small reward..... laugh.gif
ChAOoz
post May 21 2020, 12:19 PM

3,495 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ May 19 2020, 08:34 AM)
Nice!! Some great points for and against.

Understanding the risks and rewards in one trade is very important. Always ask is there enough meat (reward) to justify the position....
Market appetite is crazy.

Totally underestimate them, this is not dead cat bounce but like a woken slumbering giant.

I cannot take the risk, weak hand puke.gif
TSBoon3
post May 21 2020, 12:32 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ May 21 2020, 12:19 PM)
Market appetite is crazy.

Totally underestimate them, this is not dead cat bounce but like a woken slumbering giant.

I cannot take the risk, weak hand  puke.gif
Punters are coming out from everywhere... laugh.gif

ChAOoz
post May 21 2020, 12:39 PM

3,495 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ May 21 2020, 12:32 PM)
Punters are coming out from everywhere... laugh.gif
Yeah big thanks to them. I'm closing all my covid trade position now. Only hold the very boring one for long term investment.

Can't bat every pitch, else one will definitely hit me in the face.
TSBoon3
post May 21 2020, 02:08 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ May 21 2020, 12:39 PM)
Yeah big thanks to them. I'm closing all my covid trade position now. Only hold the very boring one for long term investment.

Can't bat every pitch, else one will definitely hit me in the face.
I only get one chance at bat....
so I do wait for my chance....
and when I do get my chance....
I do ride em out much longer....

wait to buy, wait to sell .... and when nothing to do... wait......

my simple game plan. icon_rolleyes.gif

( this is why my risk vs reward ratio is so, so, so important for me. I usually give them 20% potential stocks a miss. )
TSBoon3
post May 21 2020, 02:44 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ May 13 2020, 09:09 AM)
... the above quotes are just for references .. posted on another thread.

So an emerging fund bought.... the share rallies...

nice eh?

now after a couple of months absence ... here comes the conversion of shares.... again.....

https://malaysiastock.biz/Company-Announcem...aspx?id=1225848

same old same old ..... as the stock gathers some 'momentum'.... tons and tons of PA shares are converted ....  laugh.gif
well? just keeping myself amused... ARBB earnings.. ok... I guess.

the amusing thing is the conversion of the PA shares as usual.

this was reported today...

https://malaysiastock.biz/Company-Announcem...aspx?id=1228217

This time 3,140,000 shares were converted.
Now comparing the other day conversion and today's conversion, this means that between then and now, ARBB has now 'grown' by another 7 million + shares....
Suicidal Guy
post May 21 2020, 04:17 PM

567 posts

I noticed this ARRB having such low PE and good profits last year. Until I checked how many PA shares are there. When valuing whether a stock is cheap or not, apart from considering PA and warrant shares, we also have to take into account the cash, debt, minority interest and other assets such as investment property the company has.
TSBoon3
post May 21 2020, 05:20 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Suicidal Guy @ May 21 2020, 04:17 PM)
I noticed this ARRB having such low PE and good profits last year. Until I checked how many PA shares are there. When valuing whether a stock is cheap or not, apart from considering PA and warrant shares, we also have to take into account the cash, debt, minority interest and other assets such as investment property the company has.
Yup. It's dangerous to blindly use PE and stock like Arbb is a good example.
hehe86
post May 21 2020, 05:36 PM

Gratitude
1,497 posts

QUOTE(Suicidal Guy @ May 21 2020, 04:17 PM)
Ah i see. By converting those PA, the PE can be lowered. Quick check on its financial ratio, ROE also >10 and there's no debt if i read the QR correctly? One can also notice that the EPS lowered even though the NP simlar with its YoY. Hmm
Suicidal Guy
post May 22 2020, 12:42 AM

567 posts

QUOTE(hehe86 @ May 21 2020, 05:36 PM)
Ah i see. By converting those PA, the PE can be lowered. Quick check on its financial ratio, ROE also >10 and there's no debt if i read the QR correctly? One can also notice that the EPS lowered even though the NP simlar with its YoY. Hmm
No. It increases the PE by converting the PA shares. If you add the value of the PA shares to it's market cap, it will show that the actual PE is much higher. The existence of the huge number of PA shares skewed all these ratios such as PE and ROE.
hehe86
post May 22 2020, 01:02 AM

Gratitude
1,497 posts

QUOTE(Suicidal Guy @ May 22 2020, 12:42 AM)
No. It increases the PE by converting the PA shares. If you add the value of the PA shares to it's market cap, it will show that the actual PE is much higher. The existence of the huge number of PA shares skewed all these ratios such as PE and ROE.
Eh my bad. you're right. Shares increase, EPS lowered. EPS lower PE increase.

What's the usual reason they convert these PA shares? To manipulate these ratios?

This post has been edited by hehe86: May 22 2020, 01:03 AM
TSBoon3
post May 22 2020, 10:05 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Smurfs @ May 21 2020, 10:24 AM)
remember this one ?

CMMT price is now 81 sen vs those posting price of 1.04 (posting made Sep 2019!) tongue.gif

DPU for the period is 0.98 vs 1.71 a year ago. shakehead.gif shakehead.gif Massive drop!

Smurfs
post May 22 2020, 01:58 PM

1,060 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ May 22 2020, 10:05 AM)
remember this one ?

CMMT price is now 81 sen vs those posting price of 1.04 (posting made Sep 2019!)  tongue.gif

DPU for the period is 0.98 vs 1.71 a year ago.  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif  Massive drop!
Imagine if you buy a condo for investment purpose, but the rental collected decreasing every year cry.gif

1st year RM1.8k
2nd year RM1.4k
3rd year RM 1k

Something wrong somewhere hmm.gif
TSBoon3
post May 22 2020, 03:11 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Smurfs @ May 22 2020, 01:58 PM)
Imagine if you buy a condo for investment purpose, but the rental collected decreasing every year  cry.gif

1st year RM1.8k
2nd year RM1.4k
3rd year RM 1k

Something wrong somewhere  hmm.gif
Cut loss right away!!!

billy_overheat
post May 23 2020, 10:30 AM

3,373 posts

does anyone use put option to hedge against the risk over here in klse?
squarepilot
post May 23 2020, 11:29 AM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(billy_overheat @ May 23 2020, 10:30 AM)
does anyone use put option to hedge against the risk over here in klse?
yes. i do buy some FBMKLCI-H8Z warrant to hedge the risk.

Market is kinda wild these days
squarepilot
post May 23 2020, 11:32 AM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Apr 29 2020, 04:10 PM)

But But... the price went up instead of falling further laugh.gif

I'm surprised that PChem do actually do better than it's previous Qtr
TSBoon3
post May 23 2020, 12:48 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(squarepilot @ May 23 2020, 11:32 AM)
But But... the price went up instead of falling further laugh.gif

And yes it did. So?

There are literally hundreds of stocks one could trade. If we do not weed out the literally garbage, all it means is that we are accepting all kind of possible shenanigans in the stocks that we trade. In the case of LKL. Did you see how much it flew? Was there any justification? Or how about the other garbage stocks that flew? Garbage stocks cannot fly? laugh.gif

Like it or not... my opinion remains firmly that LC Titan is a garbage stock that one needs to avoid like plague. And it remains garbage even if it moves higher.

whistling.gif

233 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » Top

0.0177sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:40 AM