369 Pages « < 332 333 334 335 336 > » Bottom

Android / Other TV Box, see Page 1 first... V2

cannavaro
post Nov 8 2020, 09:18 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(applesmiley @ Nov 7 2020, 09:05 AM)
I am planning to get my first TV box mainly for Unifi TV and maybe Kodi in the future preferably with at least HD quality. What should I be looking at?
Currently using an old 4K Smart TV with Netflix, Viu, Iflix, etc
Mi Box S
Can get it for RM199 during 11.11 sale.. or even lower if you combine with vouchers/coins
lucaswjk
post Nov 8 2020, 11:51 AM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Nov 8 2020, 09:18 AM)
Mi Box S
Can get it for RM199 during 11.11 sale.. or even lower if you combine with vouchers/coins
got newer model incoming
8K video and 16GB + 2GB
voncrane
post Nov 9 2020, 07:27 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Nov 8 2020, 11:51 AM)
got newer model incoming
8K video and 16GB + 2GB
Would that be the Mi Box 4S Pro? 2021 and we are still doing 16GB ROM.. Oh wait, that's an "upgrade from 8GB ROM.. .Let me guess....No Ethernet or USB 3.0 ports either. But let's cukur it can do Netflix UHD.. smile.gif
Maxieos
post Nov 9 2020, 09:59 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 8 2020, 12:00 AM)
Unfortunately some boxes are just like that.. Poor ventilation or hardware placements or could just be the firmware.. hard to recommend decent coolers if you already feel RM15 is too much.  sweat.gif

The CPU and pcb is place on the top and not bottom.
Is rm15 a standard price for USB fan ? but sometimes , some USB fan DIY cost below rm10 only something similar https://shopee.com.my/Rechargeable-Mini-Fan...6931.2473733847
What is the different between both ? https://shopee.com.my/USB-Cooling-Fan-5V-mi...6262.2598154748 ?

voncrane
post Nov 9 2020, 11:54 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Nov 9 2020, 09:59 PM)
The CPU and pcb is place on the top and not bottom.
Is rm15 a standard price for USB fan ? but sometimes , some USB fan DIY cost below rm10 only something similar https://shopee.com.my/Rechargeable-Mini-Fan...6931.2473733847
What is the different between both ? https://shopee.com.my/USB-Cooling-Fan-5V-mi...6262.2598154748 ?
I'm unsure what the standard prices are for USB fans cuz thus far, I've had no need for one to cool down any of my devices.. As a joke, I was going to go extreme and recommend the Black Shark FunCooler Pro. Apparently it gets so cold, it forms ice. That's Antarctica stuff right there. Anyways I kid. The second link you posted might just do the trick.. Looks capable.
Maxieos
post Nov 10 2020, 12:27 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 9 2020, 11:54 PM)
I'm unsure what the standard prices are for USB fans cuz thus far, I've had no need for one to cool down any of my devices.. As a joke, I was going to go extreme and recommend the Black Shark FunCooler Pro. Apparently it gets so cold, it forms ice. That's Antarctica stuff right there. Anyways I kid. The second link you posted might just do the trick.. Looks capable.
Those blackshark cooler thing similar with mac accessories price.
Actually , the case as a buyer bought a tvbox at rm200 then get an extra 10% coins cashback rm180 suddenly after buying , inform seller tvbox hot until freeze then seller tell put a fan and refuse to exchange.The results like you are buying at almost rm200 + fan and seller keep quiet about the tvbox.
Google search did said hot but not until freeze , no one here facing this issue also.Lemon unit but not totally spoil ?

So , does anyone know any apps to monitor CPU usage per apps spike history ?

ziggy87
post Nov 10 2020, 03:52 PM

nom nom nom nom nom nom nom nom nom nom
1,519 posts

All these fans are blowing INTO the case which might cause more dust buildup inside, and after a long time, might cause overheating too. Advised to draw hot air out instead of blowing in.

Anyways, that was what I read about router. Not sure the author was talking c0ck or not as I have no way to prove it laugh.gif. But I did put a cheapo laptop cooler on top of my router and modem, and the temperatures are cooler to the touch of hand.

I feel the placement of the fan will also need to depend on how the PCB is placed inside the box, and the direction of ventilation holes. Like my box, PCB is facing top, and ventilation holes are the bottom only. Placing a fan at the bottom might not help much if the cool air couldn't reach the top of PCB. So if the box has ventilation ducts at the side, and PCB facing top, might be wise to direct cool air to enter from the side instead of bottom.

I've also seen some guys change to a beefier heatsink. Some also cut some holes at the top of the box and attach a fan drawing air out from the box. I wonder what they do on their box that needs such cooling solution sweat.gif
voncrane
post Nov 11 2020, 01:17 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Nov 10 2020, 12:27 AM)
Actually , the case as a buyer bought a tvbox at rm200 then get an extra 10% coins cashback rm180 suddenly after buying , inform seller tvbox hot until freeze then seller tell put a fan and refuse to exchange.The results like you are buying at almost rm200 + fan and seller keep quiet about the tvbox.
Google search did said hot but not until freeze , no one here facing this issue also.Lemon unit but not totally spoil ?

True Black Shark stuff is expensive... Regarding if lemon unit or not. I don't think such sellers will agree to simply swap with new one just cuz it's over-heating. Especially if that's the only complaint and or if there were any warranty promised in the first place. There are reasons some boxes after everything ends up costing RM1xx or less, while others have to cost RM2xx, RM6xx, RM1k, etc.. Most cut corners somewhere.

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Nov 10 2020, 03:52 PM)
All these fans are blowing INTO the case which might cause more dust buildup inside, and after a long time, might cause overheating too. Advised to draw hot air out instead of blowing in.

Anyways, that was what I read about router. Not sure the author was talking c0ck or not as I have no way to prove it laugh.gif. But I did put a cheapo laptop cooler on top of my router and modem, and the temperatures are cooler to the touch of hand.

I feel the placement of the fan will also need to depend on how the PCB is placed inside the box, and the direction of ventilation holes. Like my box, PCB is facing top, and ventilation holes are the bottom only. Placing a fan at the bottom might not help much if the cool air couldn't reach the top of PCB. So if the box has ventilation ducts at the side, and PCB facing top, might be wise to direct cool air to enter from the side instead of bottom.

I've also seen some guys change to a beefier heatsink. Some also cut some holes at the top of the box and attach a fan drawing air out from the box. I wonder what they do on their box that needs such cooling solution sweat.gif
I've read about this too... Almost recommended the same earlier, but unsure about the merits. Here's my take though. Some fans suck in hot air from behind or the sides and blow cooler air out the other side. if you place your palm around the area air is being pulled from, then compare with the area cool air exists from....There's a significant temperature difference and in my simple mind, the cooler air should do more cooling than just sucking hot air out. But then as you pointed out. It's only a matter of time for dust to build up inside the box.

That is actually a good idea... I've seen similar too... Its to create more cooler air flowing through. Like opening windows or door on opposite sides of the room. Cross-ventilation.
TSdwRK
post Nov 15 2020, 08:35 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Nov 10 2020, 12:27 AM)

I would open the case...check if thermal pad & heat sink installed properly or not

if run with case open still overheat definitely something wrong there

your "upgrade" options... bigger heat sink/better pad, fans/rebox, etc...
jamrock
post Nov 18 2020, 11:43 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 26 2020, 05:20 PM)
if your absolute criteria are Android TV, DA, DV, and DTS:X? and you want the best possible experience with minimal hassles available today? You'd be hard=pressed to go wrong with the Shield. Others are still forced to play catch-up. Primarily because Nvidia is a HUGE hardware & software company with literal armies of experts at their disposal. So maintenance and updates are pretty much guaranteed. Plus, getting things like Netflix certification is significantly harder for non-American (Read Chinese companies...USA-China trade war not helping) TV box manufacturers.

Confirm no dedicated DV support on pretty much other lower-end boxes. Leaves you that choice... Get the Shield. It might be overkill but since you've got a DV TV and other equipment. Shouldn't be much of a financial stretch to grab it instead.
Yep.. That high cost is due to the IPTV service and not the hardware itself. Example, they are charging RM5xx (RM700 also got)  for the EVPAD 5SMY (unspecified 2GB RAM + 16GB ROM) with "lifetime" viewing. That service no cheap. So to make profit, box probably cost them less than RM100 per pcs.. The rest is you having paid for a year or 2 IPTV sub. I'm not a fan of their hardware or business model. But people who tend to buy it usually don't care other stuffs like some of us do.. Just care to switch on and watch channels & VOD. If that's you? Pull the trigger.. Worst case is the service suddenly dies or is blocked. No Refunds and you are now stuck with that box which might not play friendly with other streaming apps.
Voncrane,

For streaming purposes only , would it be an overkill to go for the Nvidia Shield Tube ? I'm considering this with the newly launched Chromecast with Google TV. Both seems to offer similar capabilities( Eg Netflix 4K certified devices etc ) but has a different price range due to its specs I guess. My primary concern would be performance, ease of use and the software support as well. Although the MI box S can offer the same to a certain extent , their internal specs offerings does not appear greatly to me.

linkinstreet
post Nov 18 2020, 12:48 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(jamrock @ Nov 18 2020, 11:43 AM)
Voncrane,

For streaming purposes only , would it be an overkill to go for the Nvidia Shield Tube ? I'm considering this with the newly launched Chromecast with Google TV.  Both seems to offer similar capabilities( Eg Netflix 4K certified devices etc ) but has a different price range due to its specs I guess. My primary concern would be performance, ease of use and the software support as well. Although the MI box S can offer the same to a certain extent , their internal specs offerings does not appear greatly to me.
The mibox s and new Chromecast seems to be similar in terms of specs and what it can do, and for that I would prefer the mibox.
But if you can afford the Nvidia Shield, go for that
cybersim2
post Nov 19 2020, 09:29 AM

503 posts

Dynalink Google Certified Android TV Box + Netflix 4K Supported - USD29.99 only
Youtube Review
Pros : Budget quality android box ( Heard made by Taiwan ASUS). Google & Netflix Certified
Cons : No USB Port & Only available at Walmart

This post has been edited by cybersim2: Nov 19 2020, 09:33 AM
voncrane
post Nov 19 2020, 02:07 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 15 2020, 08:35 AM)
I would open the case...check if thermal pad & heat sink installed properly or not

if run with case open still overheat definitely something wrong there

your "upgrade" options... bigger heat sink/better pad, fans/rebox, etc...
+1

QUOTE(jamrock @ Nov 18 2020, 11:43 AM)
Voncrane,

For streaming purposes only , would it be an overkill to go for the Nvidia Shield Tube ? I'm considering this with the newly launched Chromecast with Google TV.  Both seems to offer similar capabilities( Eg Netflix 4K certified devices etc ) but has a different price range due to its specs I guess. My primary concern would be performance, ease of use and the software support as well. Although the MI box S can offer the same to a certain extent , their internal specs offerings does not appear greatly to me.
Hey, the Shield is a tough one to beat. However, check this out.. Fresh off the oven. It's my review of the Google Certified Mecool KM1 Deluxe running Android TV OS...version 10 and all legit.. It's not as powerful as the S922X-H SoC equipped Beelink GS-King X.. But I'd say it's an excellent streamer if one can overlook the few nit-picky cons and grey area stuffs. I welcome comments here and or on the video.. Thanks to Scissorshand for lending me his brand new unit for this review. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif Enjoy!

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Nov 19 2020, 09:29 AM)
Youtube Review
Pros : Budget quality android box ( Heard made by Taiwan ASUS). Google & Netflix Certified
That's a good price for such.. Looks like a dongle/chromecast-lookalike? Also it's their first product and terus can get Netflix certification. Wow, I'd guess it's USA company-linked too. That and working directly with Google should help. hmm.gif Yeah, I too can't seem to find a credible source to purchase from to deliver here.. Wouldn't mind getting me grubby hands on it for a test drive.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: Nov 19 2020, 02:17 PM
lucaswjk
post Nov 19 2020, 06:54 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Nov 19 2020, 09:29 AM)
Youtube Review
wow everything seem perfect
they use the latest Android TV too.

now I'm wondering what is the processor and ram.
and whether they support aptX LL... too greedy here lol
TSdwRK
post Nov 19 2020, 08:03 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 19 2020, 02:07 PM)

this mecool == dynalink... ???... hmmm...

anyways... new shield got 4k ai upscaling... I'd try this if got budget biggrin.gif
voncrane
post Nov 19 2020, 09:12 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Nov 19 2020, 06:54 PM)
wow everything seem perfect
they use the latest Android TV too.

now I'm wondering what is the processor and ram.
and whether they support aptX LL... too greedy here lol
Not so perfect... sweat.gif .. Did some digging and found the following..

Further, since the Dynalink Android TV Box is a rebadged Google ADT-3, it features exact same internals. Hence, it is powered by Amlogic S905Y2 chipset with 4 x Cortex A-53 cores and Mali-G31 MP2 GPU. The amount of RAM (DDR3) and internal storage is 2GB and 8GB respectively. Other features of Dynalink Android TV Box include dual-band WiFi, Bluetooth 4.2, HDMI 2.1, MicroUSB for power input, Chromecast Built-in, and support for 4K HDR streaming as well as Dolby Audio.

Lol...You'll be hard-pressed to find aptX LL in such devices. Like boxes, all designed to be used mostly through cables (HDMI, TOSLINK, AV Port, 3.5mm jack, etc..).. At most is get latest Bluetooth version. This one is V4.2. Good thing is, unlike Google's latest chromecast, this can be powered by the TV's USB port.

Sos

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 19 2020, 08:03 PM)

this mecool == dynalink... ???... hmmm...

anyways... new shield got 4k ai upscaling... I'd try this if got budget biggrin.gif
Price and Netflix aside? I would still pick the Mecool over this Dynalink. That AMLogic S905Y2 SoC is actually similar to the Amlogic S905X2, but built for smaller devices like dongles. Meanwhile Amlogic S905X4 and Amlogic S908X inkambing d..

IMO, going the Nvidia Shield must have all high-end stuff. Large DV display la, DTS:X & DA audio 7.1 minimum too.. Then can really enjoice. biggrin.gif
TSdwRK
post Nov 19 2020, 09:20 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 19 2020, 09:12 PM)
IMO, going the Nvidia Shield must have all high-end stuff. Large DV display la, DTS:X & DA audio 7.1 minimum too.. Then can really enjoice.  biggrin.gif
I stereo jer... but 150"... tongue.gif
voncrane
post Nov 19 2020, 09:24 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 19 2020, 09:20 PM)
I stereo jer... but 150"... tongue.gif
Stereo? Bossku... Tolong upgrade... It's 2021 d.. 12.12 sales loading. 150" 8K? brows.gif
TSdwRK
post Nov 19 2020, 09:42 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 19 2020, 09:24 PM)
Stereo? Bossku... Tolong upgrade... It's 2021 d.. 12.12 sales loading. 150" 8K?  brows.gif
big screen more immersive than 7.2 man.... 7.2 just too distracting... wink.gif
lucaswjk
post Nov 19 2020, 10:06 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 19 2020, 09:12 PM)
Not so perfect... sweat.gif .. Did some digging and found the following..

Further, since the Dynalink Android TV Box is a rebadged Google ADT-3, it features exact same internals. Hence, it is powered by Amlogic S905Y2 chipset with 4 x Cortex A-53 cores and Mali-G31 MP2 GPU. The amount of RAM (DDR3) and internal storage is 2GB and 8GB respectively. Other features of Dynalink Android TV Box include dual-band WiFi, Bluetooth 4.2, HDMI 2.1, MicroUSB for power input, Chromecast Built-in, and support for 4K HDR streaming as well as Dolby Audio.

Lol...You'll be hard-pressed to find aptX LL in such devices. Like boxes, all designed to be used mostly through cables (HDMI, TOSLINK, AV Port, 3.5mm jack, etc..).. At most is get latest Bluetooth version. This one is V4.2. Good thing is, unlike Google's latest chromecast, this can be powered by the TV's USB port.

Sos
Price and Netflix aside? I would still pick the Mecool over this Dynalink. That AMLogic S905Y2 SoC is actually similar to the Amlogic S905X2, but built for smaller devices like dongles. Meanwhile Amlogic S905X4 and Amlogic S908X inkambing d..

IMO, going the Nvidia Shield must have all high-end stuff. Large DV display la, DTS:X & DA audio 7.1 minimum too.. Then can really enjoice.  biggrin.gif
thank you.
I assume the spec will be equivalent to mibox latest box

and I come to realized the important of aptX LL,
when I'm watching action film... it is a must.
good thing normal kdrama without LL is still acceptable.

so far i haven't see anyone offer this yet

369 Pages « < 332 333 334 335 336 > » Top

0.1142sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:31 AM