1554 Pages « < 478 479 480 481 482 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

Jitty
post Nov 2 2017, 10:33 PM

1,046 posts

Hey guys, wanna ask you guys sifus 1 question.

Should i take my available cash flow to put in reliable UT or use it to out it in my semi flexi housing loan?

Some FP say put in semi flexi housing loan for reduce the interest rate and reduce the number of yr pay back, while other FP recommends me to put in UT.

Don't know which Financial planner to trust.

=/

Thanks all sifus...
T231H
post Nov 2 2017, 10:39 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Nov 2 2017, 10:33 PM)

Should i take my available cash flow to put in reliable UT or use it to out it in my semi flexi housing loan?

Some FP say put in semi flexi housing loan for reduce the interest rate and reduce the number of yr pay back, while other FP recommends me to put in UT.

=/

Thanks all sifus...
hmm.gif do you enough income to sustain your loan repayment just incase the mkts dropped and stay low for 3~5 yrs?
(if you sell UT during this bear time would mean you will lose a lot of $$)

hmm.gif do you know how to invest UT so that the annualised returns can be "better" than the flexi loan rate?
yupng
post Nov 2 2017, 10:39 PM

67 posts

Hi guys,
Ponzi 1.0 ---> Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Quantum Fund is open back?
It look like drop a lot from peak, can buy now?
But it look like overlap with ponzi2 and kenaga growth fund.
T231H
post Nov 2 2017, 10:43 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(yupng @ Nov 2 2017, 10:39 PM)
Hi guys,
Ponzi 1.0 ---> Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Quantum Fund is open back?
It look like drop a lot from peak, can buy now?
But it look like overlap with ponzi2 and kenaga growth fund.
yes it opened back
"drop a lot from peak, can buy now? "
does the almost similar peers also dropped during the corresponding period? or only Ponzi 1.0 dropped?

last checked the correlation of Ponzi 1.0, Ponzi 2.0 and KGF is as per attached image, ....not quite overlap....

This post has been edited by T231H: Nov 2 2017, 10:59 PM

yupng
post Nov 2 2017, 10:54 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Nov 2 2017, 10:43 PM)
yes it opened back
"drop a lot from peak, can buy now? "
does the almost similar peers also dropped during the corresponding period? or only Ponzi 1.0 dropped?

last checked the correlation of Ponzi 1.0 and KGF is 0.65 thus not quite overlap....
Thinking to add this but my port heavy on Asia-pac.
40% ponzi 2 ,
China & India each 10%
Local equity 10%
30% Europe & US TECH.

T231H
post Nov 2 2017, 11:02 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(yupng @ Nov 2 2017, 10:54 PM)
Thinking to add this but my port heavy on Asia-pac.
40% ponzi 2 ,
China & India each 10%
Local equity 10%
30% Europe & US TECH.
see post 9583 (just a few posts backward)....maybe it can helps to clear your rclxub.gif

Maybe can take in GEM instead of Asia Pac funds?
Damn....EIGEM is also quite correlated to Ponzi 2.0 at 0.8
hmm.gif maybe this then
GLOBAL EMERGING MARKETS OPPORTUNITIES
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/admin...eetMYAMGEMO.pdf
lesser in China/HK than EIGEM

btw, there is nothing wrong with Asia Pac heavy portfolio......if you can take the heat.

This post has been edited by T231H: Nov 2 2017, 11:10 PM
Vk21
post Nov 2 2017, 11:18 PM

176 posts

Is CIMB Global Titan the perfect UT we need to balanced out the heavy Asia Pac?
For those looking long term worldwide growth.

Is a funny UT tho, it invests in Schroder UTs instead of stocks, I'm skeptical with layers, since it means more "manager" cuts. But I like how the distribution on US, Euro, Jpn just for safety measure in case meteor fall down in Asia. *touchwood*

---

On the other hand, What's up with Ponzi 2.0 actually? Why fund size so high? Why is it so happening? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Vk21: Nov 2 2017, 11:21 PM
T231H
post Nov 2 2017, 11:28 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Vk21 @ Nov 2 2017, 11:18 PM)
Is CIMB Global Titan the perfect UT we need to balanced out the heavy Asia Pac?
For those looking long term worldwide growth.
(YES, for Geographical diversification purposes)

Is a funny UT tho, it invests in Schroder UTs instead of stocks, I'm skeptical with layers, since it means more "manager" cuts. But I like how the distribution on US, Euro, Jpn just for safety measure in case meteor fall down in Asia. *touchwood*
(about "the more manager cuts"...some forummers posted before....there is no double charges when a fund invest into another funds......you need to read the prospectus or financial reports to confirm it)
---

On the other hand, What's up with Ponzi 2.0 actually? Why fund size so high? Why is it so happening?  biggrin.gif
(maybe more people bought into it for the asia pac bandwagon?)
walkman660
post Nov 2 2017, 11:35 PM

236 posts

FSM Managed Portfolio <Moderately Aggresive>

With less than 5 months time , ROI 6.12% IRR 16.5 % . the team are doing pretty good right now i guess rclxms.gif

Vk21
post Nov 2 2017, 11:41 PM

176 posts

Thanks for the replies T231H, make sense.

Hmmmmmm, Ponzi 2.....

---

Ah, managed portofolio, if only I can upgrade my risk profile.

This post has been edited by Vk21: Nov 2 2017, 11:46 PM
T231H
post Nov 2 2017, 11:51 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Vk21 @ Nov 2 2017, 11:41 PM)
Thanks for the replies T231H, make sense.

Hmmmmmm, Ponzi 2.....

---

Ah, managed portofolio, if only I can upgrade my risk profile.
talking about risk profile......hence a bedtime story for that...

Keep Your Risks In Check
Different investments come with different levels of risks and investors need to understand and know the risks that they can stomach given the circumstances that they are in before making a decision on what to invest. FSM explain how Fundsupermart.com Risk Rating can help investors to identify which unit trusts suit their risk appetite.
Author : Fundsupermart

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-May-2015--5825

Vk21
post Nov 2 2017, 11:53 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Nov 2 2017, 11:51 PM)
talking about risk profile......hence a bedtime story for that...

Keep Your Risks In Check
Different investments come with different levels of risks and investors need to understand and know the risks that they can stomach given the circumstances that they are in before making a decision on what to invest. FSM explain how Fundsupermart.com Risk Rating can help investors to identify which unit trusts suit their risk appetite.
Author : Fundsupermart

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-May-2015--5825
But, I took 1 level lower than suggested risk profile biggrin.gif bangwall.gif

--

Edit: Because considering extra risk I take out of Managed Port, such as DIY with no Bond so far.

Well, it's OK, should stick with the plan, we're talking about long term afterall, can't get too excited with short term gain.

This post has been edited by Vk21: Nov 2 2017, 11:55 PM
T231H
post Nov 2 2017, 11:58 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Vk21 @ Nov 2 2017, 11:53 PM)
But, I took 1 level lower than suggested risk profile  biggrin.gif  bangwall.gif

--

Edit: Because considering extra risk I take out of Managed Port, such as DIY with no Bond so far.

Well, it's OK, should stick with the plan, we're talking about long term afterall, can't get too excited with short term gain.
no right or wrong.....it is after all individual preferences.....
good thing is that, you will know you can sleep more peacefully than most other people that invested in UTs.

Jitty
post Nov 2 2017, 11:58 PM

1,046 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Nov 2 2017, 10:39 PM)
hmm.gif do you enough income to sustain your loan repayment just incase the mkts dropped and stay low for 3~5 yrs?
(if you sell UT during this bear time would mean you will lose a lot of $$)

hmm.gif do you know how to invest UT so that the annualised returns can be "better" than the flexi loan rate?
Yup, should be no problem on the repayment ssue.

About hoe to invest ut so that the annual return is higher than flexinlosn rate not too sure.... Got any pro advice you sifus?

This post has been edited by Jitty: Nov 3 2017, 12:00 AM
f5calvin
post Nov 3 2017, 12:24 AM

starsssss
1,557 posts

Has FSM removed the non-shariah compliant recommended portfolio in their website?
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/inves...ntportfolio.tpl
Can no longer find it at the link above
T231H
post Nov 3 2017, 12:53 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Nov 2 2017, 11:58 PM)
Yup, should be no problem on the repayment ssue.

About hoe to invest ut so that the annual return is higher than flexinlosn rate not too sure.... Got any pro advice you sifus?

TRy this?
FSM Managed Portfolios
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/fsm/manage...fo/introduction
(just 0.5% pa for Asset Under Mgmt....app RM50 per RM10000 available money)

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Nov 3 2017, 12:24 AM)
Has FSM removed the non-shariah compliant recommended portfolio in their website?
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/inves...ntportfolio.tpl
Can no longer find it at the link above
For investors who are looking at the conventional portfolio, they can refer to our Managed Portfolio's monthly factsheet.
refer to page 475, post 9485 for how to get it...

This post has been edited by T231H: Nov 3 2017, 12:54 AM
wongmunkeong
post Nov 3 2017, 01:57 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Nov 2 2017, 10:33 PM)

=/

Thanks all sifus...
i'm not sifu, just an average joe that uses Flexi-mortgage, UTs and other vehicles, thus sharing thoughts only.

The Q of Flexi-mortgage VS UT itself is not too.. right.
$ in Flexi-mortgage is like $ in FD or Fixed Income (assuming your flexi-mortgage interest rate is 5%+/-)
VS
UT can be Equity Funds, Balanced Funds, Bond Funds - which one are U comparing to?

Bottom line: Flexi Mortgage can die die "save" or make U $ based on your interest rate
VS
Equity Funds can make 8%pa to 10%pa but can also make U -ve % AND COST U $ right-off the bat (ie U buy, U lose %)
VS
Bond Funds - er.. i'd suggest U keep your extras in Flexi-Mortgage if U are comparing against Bond Funds

Perhaps U should google Asset Allocation,
Emergency Buffer & where to put,
then only google about Unit Trusts or Mutual Funds, especially Equity Funds.
These will give U a good big picture and then drill down into details.

Just a thought notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Nov 3 2017, 01:58 AM
xuzen
post Nov 3 2017, 11:44 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(walkman660 @ Nov 2 2017, 11:35 PM)
FSM Managed Portfolio <Moderately Aggresive>

With less than 5 months time , ROI 6.12% IRR 16.5 % . the team are doing pretty good right now i guess  rclxms.gif
Ding ding ding!!!

In the blue corner weighing 180 lbs, known as the crystal -ball of LYN - FSM, we have Algozen™ ver four.....

In the red corner, weighing in at 200 lbs, new kid on the block, introducing FSM managed balanced portfolio....

Who shall come be the winner?

xuzen
post Nov 3 2017, 11:47 AM

4,436 posts

Word of caution to those who seems to get a hard - on each time the word IRR is being used....

IRR is a useless measure when your data is short and only have less than one year. In this instance, it gives you only a pure " shiok " sendiri feelin' , nothing more.

You want IRR, it becomes more meaningful when you have 2 years or more... I prefer three years or more.

Xuzen

p/s a little bit more on IRR. IRR is a statistical measurement that is classified as inferential statistic. For inferential stats to be meaningful, you need a large data, n. If you only have a handful of data and you use them, you risk it being a biased measurement. For example, since beginning of this year until now, the market has been on an uptrend, and if you only start to use data that is recently, you will sure get a " shiok " sendiri IRR value. Be warned.

This post has been edited by xuzen: Nov 3 2017, 11:50 AM
SUSyklooi
post Nov 3 2017, 12:04 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Nov 3 2017, 11:47 AM)
Word of caution to those who seems to get a hard - on each time the word IRR is being used....

IRR is a useless measure when your data is short and only have less than one year. In this instance, it gives you only a pure " shiok " sendiri feelin' , nothing more.

You want IRR, it becomes more meaningful when you have 2 years or more... I prefer three years or more.

Xuzen

p/s a little bit more on IRR. IRR is a statistical measurement that is classified as inferential statistic. For inferential stats to be meaningful, you need a large data, n. If you only have a handful of data and you use them, you risk it being a biased measurement. For example, since beginning of this year until now, the market has been on an uptrend, and if you only start to use data that is recently, you will sure get a " shiok " sendiri IRR value. Be warned.
cry.gif my IRR had been impotent cry.gif cry.gif brows.gif

1554 Pages « < 478 479 480 481 482 > » Top

0.0216sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:54 PM