1553 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

imnotabot
post Feb 18 2017, 06:07 PM

531 posts

How do you use update the portfolio history in the Portfolio IRR excel spreadsheet? I always get "Method or data member not found" error when I click on the "Capture Snapshot Only" button under "Investment Details" tab.
post Feb 18 2017, 06:08 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Feb 18 2017, 01:52 PM)
Its about reaping what you sow and rewarding yourself. The experience and enjoyment not about eating the tart or whatever.

I mean if u save your whole life living like a beggar what the point of having so much money? In the end theres no value to money if you dont use it. Takkan save until old cannot walk then use to buy medicine?

Have to balance your life between savings and entertainment
oh you didn't get the point. It was a comment to another guy's post stating any serve of noodles in KL is 'at least' RM10. The nuance is biased towards complaining when you are having a serve of noodles.

If you are truly reaping the rewards and enjoying why would you be complaining? If he hates the platform fee, by all means put the money into another funds which does not charge him fees equivalent to a bowl of RM10 noodles. But this is derailing so I just stop there.

What makes you sell the RHB EMBF?

QUOTE(drew86 @ Feb 18 2017, 05:52 PM)
I have noticed that quite a number of portfolios have allocated a substantial portion into rhb EMBF. Would just like to point out that the volatility is by no means reflective of a normal FI fund, of course neither does the return. Something to keep in mind during %allocation.
Care to elaborate? Do you imply that the fund manager is departing from the fund's strategy/mandate or he is doing something sketchy?
MR_alien
post Feb 18 2017, 06:13 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Feb 18 2017, 05:56 PM)
It is always fhere for both

Just that CMF is treated as a saving account in FSM due to the fact that u cannpaybur investmwnt via this fund

That is what other money karket fund can't do

Alrernative investment is also always there, but some of then are wholesale fund, or the performance doesn't quite on par with normal fund, or their history isn't long enough to be put into considerstion
yes, i saw those numbers are quite sad
its even worse than CMF
wodenus
post Feb 18 2017, 06:40 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Feb 18 2017, 01:52 PM)
Its about reaping what you sow and rewarding yourself. The experience and enjoyment not about eating the tart or whatever.

I mean if u save your whole life living like a beggar what the point of having so much money? In the end theres no value to money if you dont use it. Takkan save until old cannot walk then use to buy medicine?

Have to balance your life between savings and entertainment
It's immortality of a sort I guess. Increasing your net worth is a sort of accomplishment, proof that you did something with your life. What is the sum total of say 90 years of life? what did you have to show for it? sometimes you want to leave a legacy, to say that this is what you did with your life, proof that you did not waste the life that you were given.

Some people get married, have kids, and achieve a sort of immortality that way. For the rest of us that have not been so fortunate, at least we get to pass on something when we are gone.

There is a value to money you don't use, it can be used to support your descendants. If what you like is cheap, what else can you do with the excess money?

drew86
post Feb 18 2017, 06:44 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(2387581 @ Feb 18 2017, 06:08 PM)

Care to elaborate? Do you imply that the fund manager is departing from the fund's strategy/mandate or he is doing something sketchy?
No. I'm just pointing out that despite it being a bond fund, its volatility and returns are in fact more similar to a balanced/eq fund. Hence one should keep that in mind instead of allocating a high % thinking it is a portfolio stabilizer with amazing returns. Personally I treat it as part of my eq portion smile.gif
SUSic no 851025071234
post Feb 18 2017, 06:46 PM

1,231 posts

QUOTE(2387581 @ Feb 18 2017, 06:08 PM)
oh you didn't get the point. It was a comment to another guy's post stating any serve of noodles in KL is 'at least' RM10. The nuance is biased towards complaining when you are having a serve of noodles.

If you are truly reaping the rewards and enjoying why would you be complaining? If he hates the platform fee, by all means put the money into another funds which does not charge him fees equivalent to a bowl of RM10 noodles. But this is derailing so I just stop there.

What makes you sell the RHB EMBF?
Oh sorry didn't get the previous conversation.

I'm putting as short term saving only then use for investing in stocks. But the process so slow I haven't get my money yet. Now I check it seems my unit has disappeared from my account butt bank balance is not increase. Have u sold before and what experience?
wodenus
post Feb 18 2017, 07:01 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Feb 18 2017, 06:46 PM)

I'm putting as short term saving only then use for investing in stocks.  But the process so slow I haven't get my money yet. Now I check it seems my unit has disappeared from my account butt bank balance  is not increase. Have u sold before and what experience?
If you aren't familiar with the process, there's a scary period of a day or two when that happens. Usually after that the funds should be in. This is a normal thing but the scary period should not be more than a week or so. After that if it's still missing you might have to check with FSM and your bank.
turtle_onrage
post Feb 18 2017, 07:20 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 18 2017, 09:49 AM)
The portfolio simulator is a pain in you know where. Cannot get it to work on mobile devices. Did you run it on PC browser ? Volatility is always there. Not much point if the simulator does not show portfolio volatility.
QUOTE(T231H @ Feb 18 2017, 10:22 AM)
If i am not mistaken...the iportfolio webtool ( link as in post# 1).... got show portfolio volatilites %
Thanks both for the info!

chyz66
post Feb 18 2017, 08:02 PM

2,805 posts

Just wondering, how much was everyone's portfolio ROI for 2016?
SUSic no 851025071234
post Feb 18 2017, 08:02 PM

1,231 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Feb 18 2017, 07:01 PM)
If you aren't familiar with the process, there's a scary period of a day or two when that happens. Usually after that the funds should be in. This is a normal thing but the scary period should not be more than a week or so. After that if it's still missing you might have to check with FSM and your bank.
Thnx for the info. U r one of my respected forumer. I hope will go in on Monday. U know the stock price keep going up! I rugi so much already take as lesson. Next time need better planning
SUSic no 851025071234
post Feb 18 2017, 08:03 PM

1,231 posts

QUOTE(chyz66 @ Feb 18 2017, 08:02 PM)
Just wondering, how much was everyone's portfolio ROI for 2016?
How to calculate? We need standardise because different method may benefit different account hehe. U know accounting magic
cogito
post Feb 18 2017, 08:39 PM

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 18 2017, 05:00 PM)
in my honest opinion
reduce your china equity fund to 10%. the fund is a hot roller coaster.

maybe add India into it. so 10% China 10% India. for more coverage.
Thanks for the advice.
cogito
post Feb 18 2017, 08:40 PM

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Feb 18 2017, 05:54 PM)
My 2 cents, you may consider dumping CIMB Greater China and substituting it with CIMB Asia Pacific Dynamic Fund. Wider coverage.

Buy Affin Hwang Select Asia Quantum Fund 10% and put remaining 10% into the Eastspring Emerging Global Market Fund.

No wrong and right answer. Your money, your decision, bro.

P/S: My proposed portfolio will also cover the China markets but with better risk reward ratio.
Thanks, I will consider it.
post Feb 18 2017, 08:53 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ Feb 18 2017, 06:44 PM)
No. I'm just pointing out that despite it being a bond fund, its volatility and returns are in fact more similar to a balanced/eq fund. Hence one should keep that in mind instead of allocating a high % thinking it is a portfolio stabilizer with amazing returns. Personally I treat it as part of my eq portion smile.gif
Based on my <1 year old account, it is currently the best performer with an ROI of 7.32%

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Feb 18 2017, 06:46 PM)

I'm putting as short term saving only then use for investing in stocks.  But the process so slow I haven't get my money yet. Now I check it seems my unit has disappeared from my account butt bank balance  is not increase. Have u sold before and what experience?
I put in RM550 into the CMF and soon it appears in the account holding I sold RM500 and leave RM50 in the account which will sustain the platform fee for quite a while. From selling-day I think it took 4 or 5 working days for the money to be in my account. So much for 'highly liquid' CMF. shakehead.gif I never sold any fund holdings other than CMF. But hey, since the money actually came back to me as I sold, I'm a little bit more confident that FSM is not a fraud (yet). hmm.gif
SUSic no 851025071234
post Feb 18 2017, 09:25 PM

1,231 posts

QUOTE(2387581 @ Feb 18 2017, 08:53 PM)
Based on my <1 year old account, it is currently the best performer with an ROI of 7.32%
I put in RM550 into the CMF and soon it appears in the account holding I sold RM500 and leave RM50 in the account which will sustain the platform fee for quite a while. From selling-day I think it took 4 or 5 working days for the money to be in my account. So much for 'highly liquid' CMF.  shakehead.gif I never sold any fund holdings other than CMF. But hey, since the money actually came back to me as I sold, I'm a little bit more confident that FSM is not a fraud (yet). hmm.gif
Thanks for the share. Since it took 4-5 working days I think will show this Monday. Cmf also took so long. I never plan to put cmf anyway. My rhb emerging bond still have the min unit. I still plan invest in it just will have better planning on withdrawal next time.
vmt
post Feb 18 2017, 09:36 PM

26 posts

News: 2016 EPF dividend at 5.7%

This post has been edited by vmt: Feb 18 2017, 09:37 PM
jorgsacul
post Feb 18 2017, 10:02 PM

1,377 posts

QUOTE(vmt @ Feb 18 2017, 09:36 PM)
Time to move the money to pb mutual
post Feb 18 2017, 10:05 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Feb 18 2017, 09:25 PM)
Thanks for the share. Since it took 4-5 working days I think will show this Monday. Cmf also took so long. I never plan to put cmf anyway. My rhb emerging bond still have the min unit. I still plan invest in it just will have better planning on withdrawal next time.
I just can't stand the bond fund entrance amount is odd number after they sell some units as platform fees just because I don't have anything in CMF shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by 2387581: Feb 18 2017, 10:06 PM
SUSwankongyew
post Feb 18 2017, 10:07 PM

1,177 posts

QUOTE(chyz66 @ Feb 18 2017, 04:30 PM)
If i remembered correctly, in order to purchase absolute fund 2 you need to have asset worthing >3mil or annual gross income >300k right?
They make you sign a declaration to that effect for the purpose of complying with Bank Negara rules but I don't think they have any way to check.
contestchris
post Feb 18 2017, 11:04 PM

5,535 posts

QUOTE(jorgsacul @ Feb 18 2017, 10:02 PM)
Time to move the money to pb mutual
Don't be so shallow minded lah. 2014-2016 have been poor years for Malaysian equities, it's no surprised EPF has been down these few years. PB Mutual Malaysian funds are no better really. Negative returns most of their Malaysian funds.

1553 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:56 PM