FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D
brokenbomb
Jun 27 2020, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(suadrif @ Jun 26 2020, 08:31 AM) if gain double digit profit, should we - - switch it to low risk fund? - or sell it? - or just maintain it? But dont think they wont charge you the 1.75% Made a schoolboy error, i thought by switching from principal greater china to principal lifetime enhanced bond, then 1/2 of the bond back to china direct oppurtunities wont incur me any fees (cuz same provider - principal to principal) Sekali kena. 1.75% Guess i was wrong. Haha.
backspace66
Jun 27 2020, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(brokenbomb @ Jun 27 2020, 10:34 AM) But dont think they wont charge you the 1.75% Made a schoolboy error, i thought by switching from principal greater china to principal lifetime enhanced bond, then 1/2 of the bond back to china direct oppurtunities wont incur me any fees (cuz same provider - principal to principal) Sekali kena. 1.75% Guess i was wrong. Haha. This is using cash account i guess, my personal experience switching from PGTF to PGCF via epf i-invest, there is no switching fee, additional info for anyone considering it in the future, i switched after 1.5 month into PGTF, so definitely less than 90 days.
brokenbomb
Jun 27 2020, 02:35 PM
QUOTE(backspace66 @ Jun 27 2020, 12:14 PM) This is using cash account i guess, my personal experience switching from PGTF to PGCF via epf i-invest, there is no switching fee, additional info for anyone considering it in the future, i switched after 1.5 month into PGTF, so definitely less than 90 days. Nope. Haha. From principal bonds to principal china direct. Still kena
T231H
Jun 27 2020, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(brokenbomb @ Jun 27 2020, 10:34 AM) But dont think they wont charge you the 1.75% Made a schoolboy error, i thought by switching from principal greater china to principal lifetime enhanced bond, then 1/2 of the bond back to china direct oppurtunities wont incur me any fees (cuz same provider - principal to principal) Sekali kena. 1.75% Guess i was wrong. Haha. QUOTE(brokenbomb @ Jun 27 2020, 02:35 PM) Nope. Haha. From principal bonds to principal china direct. Still kena Did they gives you credit points when from higher tier to lower tier funds? Like from eq to FI?
SUSyklooi
Jun 27 2020, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(brokenbomb @ Jun 27 2020, 10:34 AM) But dont think they wont charge you the 1.75% Made a schoolboy error, i thought by switching from principal greater china to principal lifetime enhanced bond, then 1/2 of the bond back to china direct oppurtunities wont incur me any fees (cuz same provider - principal to principal) Sekali kena. 1.75% Guess i was wrong. Haha. I once made a costly error too.... When switched from eq to FI, I earned credit points... While the FI earned ROI over times, the value grows..... Later when I switch it back to eq... Kena sc. Due to not enough credit points, the whole sum kena... And also I did not pay attention to the the % of SC value I kena pay if I switch b4 finalising the transaction
pigscanfly
Jun 28 2020, 06:19 PM

Sifus, which technology fund would you recommend? From FSM MY, the technology funds offered are: 1. TA Global Technology Fund (which invests in the target fund Janus Henderson Horizon Fund - Global Technology Fund) 2. United Global Technology Fund 3. Principal Global Technology Fund
However, FSM SG offers Franklin Technology Fund, which has really impressive performance. The Franklin Technology Fund even outperformed the S&P500.
SUSyklooi
Jun 28 2020, 06:24 PM
QUOTE(pigscanfly @ Jun 28 2020, 06:19 PM) Sifus, which technology fund would you recommend? From FSM MY, the technology funds offered are: 1. TA Global Technology Fund (which invests in the target fund Janus Henderson Horizon Fund - Global Technology Fund) 2. United Global Technology Fund 3. Principal Global Technology Fund However, FSM SG offers Franklin Technology Fund, which has really impressive performance. The Franklin Technology Fund even outperformed the S&P500. i think only 1 from your listings has long track records of > 3 yrs
pigscanfly
Jun 28 2020, 06:30 PM

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 28 2020, 06:24 PM) i think only 1 from your listings has long track records of > 3 yrs Indeed. Only TA Global Technology Fund has a long track record. The others have short track records. Is it worth while to invest in global technology funds? There seems to be growth potential in tech companies.
SUSyklooi
Jun 28 2020, 06:33 PM
QUOTE(pigscanfly @ Jun 28 2020, 06:30 PM) Indeed. Only TA Global Technology Fund has a long track record. The others have short track records. Is it worth while to invest in global technology funds? There seems to be growth potential in tech companies. i think (in simplicity form) it boils down to risk appetite and the % of allocation you gonna have it in your UT portfolio.
brokenbomb
Jun 28 2020, 07:10 PM
QUOTE(pigscanfly @ Jun 28 2020, 06:19 PM) Sifus, which technology fund would you recommend? From FSM MY, the technology funds offered are: 1. TA Global Technology Fund (which invests in the target fund Janus Henderson Horizon Fund - Global Technology Fund) 2. United Global Technology Fund 3. Principal Global Technology Fund However, FSM SG offers Franklin Technology Fund, which has really impressive performance. The Franklin Technology Fund even outperformed the S&P500. Rm300 split into 3. Haha But for me is TA Global
GrumpyNooby
Jun 28 2020, 07:15 PM
-deleted-
This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: Jan 7 2021, 12:55 PM
pigscanfly
Jun 29 2020, 12:13 AM

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Jun 28 2020, 07:15 PM) 2. United Global Technology Fund 3. Principal Global Technology Fund These two are wholesale fund. Pre-qualification delcaration required and min initial investment is 10k in denominated base currency. Oh dear. Didn't notice that. 10k minimum initial investment is too high for me. That leaves TA Global for small time investors like me.
WhitE LighteR
Jun 29 2020, 11:13 AM
Time to take some profit.
David_Yang
Jun 29 2020, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(pigscanfly @ Jun 29 2020, 01:13 AM) Oh dear. Didn't notice that. 10k minimum initial investment is too high for me. That leaves TA Global for small time investors like me. Just keep it simple with such a small amount and buy some Microsoft shares. This post has been edited by David_Yang: Jun 29 2020, 11:55 AM
xcxa23
Jun 29 2020, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jun 29 2020, 11:13 AM) Time to take some profit.  time to cut down unnecessarily spending and budget
coolguy99
Jun 29 2020, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jun 29 2020, 11:13 AM) Time to take some profit.  Took profit on TA Global Technology. Quite a handsome profit ~10%
daidragon12
Jun 29 2020, 03:32 PM

I exited KLSE-based funds a couple months ago. Any of you think it is a good time to re-enter now since KLSE retreated quite a bit?
encikbuta
Jun 29 2020, 03:42 PM

anyone here holding United Global Quality Equity Fund - MYR Hedged?
so weird wan they got income distribution on 17th June then another one on 26th June.
not complaining ler but just curious why not just put them together as one distribution.
victorian
Jun 29 2020, 06:47 PM
Compared to StashAway, can I say that FSM is less suitable for active trading?
Since you will be charged a one time sales charge by FSM when you enter, while for StashAway you will only be charged the annual fee as a percentage of your holding (less holding less annual fee)
If I realize my gain from FSM today, I will need to pay the sales charge again when I enter.
This post has been edited by victorian: Jun 29 2020, 06:48 PM
MUM
Jun 29 2020, 06:52 PM
QUOTE(victorian @ Jun 29 2020, 06:47 PM) Compared to StashAway, can I say that FSM is less suitable for active trading? Since you will be charged a one time sales charge by FSM when you enter, while for StashAway you will only be charged the annual fee as a percentage of your holding (less holding less annual fee) If I realize my gain from FSM today, I will need to pay the sales charge again when I enter. if you wanted to switch frequently in FSM, FSM has credit point system, try to use that to offset the sales charges can that reduce/solve your concern? anyway, i think FSM never advocate active trading of UTs This post has been edited by MUM: Jun 29 2020, 06:53 PM