FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

pigscanfly
post Jun 26 2017, 09:50 AM

67 posts

Hi everyone. I'm new to UT investment, and I'm thinking of investing in UT, considering that the return rates of FD are low and purchasing ASx units from ASNB are really difficult.

What do you guys think about the managed portfolios in FSM? Is it worth it? I think it's suitable for inexperienced investors and busy people who have little time to frequently adjust their portfolios. What do you think?
pigscanfly
post Jun 26 2017, 09:56 PM

67 posts

Thank you for your input sifus. I think I will consider managed portfolio for the time being, as I have little knowledge in asset allocation, product selection, and periodic rebalancing. Maybe once I have more knowledge and confidence, I can manage portfolios by my self.
pigscanfly
post Nov 24 2019, 09:28 PM

67 posts

Hi sifus. I would like to ask your advice regarding Nikko AM Singapore Dividend Equity Fund. Apparently this unit trust has MYR class and is also offered in Malaysia, in addition to SGD class. I have accounts in FSM MY and POEMS SG, allowing me to buy UT either in MYR or SGD class.

I have made comparisons between the two classes, and both offer dividend yields of 5.13%
3 year annualized votalitiy 9.62 (MYR) vs 9.20 (SGD)
3 year Sharpe ratio 0.58 (MYR) vs 0.62 (SGD)

Are there any other factors that I need to consider (besides currency exchange fees) when choosing MYR or SGD class? Are there any advantages of choosing the SGD class over MYR? In dilemma right now rclxub.gif

Your comments are highly appreciated
pigscanfly
post Nov 25 2019, 12:18 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 24 2019, 09:44 PM)
hmm.gif I think the other factor is ....which currency will appreciates? if SGD appreciates then GOOD for SGD class and vice versa.
Alright, thanks for the input MUM notworthy.gif
pigscanfly
post Nov 25 2019, 02:26 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ Nov 25 2019, 11:47 AM)
There's no hedging for the version of fund sold via FSM - MYR class will be converted to base currency (SGD). As you can see both moves almost tick to tick after conversion to MYR:

Based on prospectus, it mentions no hedging too:
Conclusion: If you dead set on buying it - buy MYR if you're earning MYR, buy SGD if you're earning SGD
Thanks for the detailed explanation roarus. But could you please explain why "buy MYR if you're earning MYR, buy SGD if you're earning SGD"? Wouldn't it be better to buy in the base currency of the fund, to avoid any further foreign exchange risk (considering that non-SGD classes are not hedged as you pointed out)?

And wouldn't it be advantageous to us if we buy SGD, and SGD appreciates against MYR?
pigscanfly
post Nov 25 2019, 04:38 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Nov 25 2019, 04:11 PM)
Sometimes people buy such funds don't want to make it complicated to think about currency effect. So if they put money in MYR and withdraw with MYR, they just stick to MYR base fund. When u put in fund with different currency, there is conversion to think about as well as currency fluctuation aspect. Currency movement can effect u both way. It's not a guarantee the currency movement will benefit u.

But I usually see this effect is most significant on Capital Guaranteed funds. Where client will question why when get back is lesser than expected. It's because of currency conversion.
Thanks for the explanation WhitE LighteR! Much appreciated. I guess it depends on whether one is willing to take/avoid foreign currency risk in their investment portfolio
pigscanfly
post Nov 26 2019, 12:46 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ Nov 25 2019, 05:17 PM)
What I meant was to simply fund it in whichever currency you have access to easily. Since from morningstar you can see both moving concurrently together after currency conversion, it'll be more efficient to let the fund manager handle the currency conversion

The moment you transact (regardless of MYR or SGD), you end up holding the same underlying things - a mixpot of stocks in DBS, UOB, OCBC, Keppel, Venture Corp, Sing Tech, Capitaland, Thai Bev, SingTel, etc.

Stocks are part ownership in company and not hard currency
Thanks for the clarification roarus. After reading WhitE LighteR and your comments, I was considering buying the MYR class. But I realised FSM MY imposes sales charge, so does Phillip Mutual. However Phillip Mutual is having a zero sales charge promotion ending 29/11/2019. Unfortunately I do not have a Phillip Mutual account.

Good thing that POEMS SG has 0% sales charge and 0% platform fees rclxms.gif

Thanks for your enlightenment sifus. Much appreciated notworthy.gif
pigscanfly
post Nov 26 2019, 08:30 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 26 2019, 07:27 AM)
If you considered to buy MYR class ut fund...and you selected poems sg bcos it has 0% sales charges.......can you pay MYR to poems sg to buy MYR class funds?
If cannot, what is the % of the conversion charges / spread losses?
MYR class for this UT fund only offered in Malaysian Market. POEMS SG only offers USD and SGD classes for this UT.

Conversion charges depend on the method of currency conversion from MYR to SGD.
1. Bank TT offers less favourable rates, depending on amount transferred and type of bank
2. Using fintech services, e.g. Instarem. Conversion fees from MYR to SGD is about 0.45% on Instarem

Obviously 0.45% conversion fee is lower than 1.75% and 1.5% sales charge in FSM MY and Phillip Mutual Malaysia respectively

pigscanfly
post Nov 26 2019, 04:32 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 26 2019, 01:19 PM)
Been looking at the above inputs with enthusiasm,... good inputs,.. I'll give some opinions here to bro pcf,...

For myself, I came to this cross-road many years ago,... ie which place to invest into, a place with MYR- or a place with SGD- denomination. I studied historical movements of currencies and some other fundamentals.

Back then, the doors were NOT closed yet, it was very easy to open SG bank accts.

Then I realized I will need RM to convert out to the SGD to invest in the SGD-denomination. This was expensive back then, my rate was,... emm,...I think 2.30,.. or something like that,... and when I had to use more and more SGD, it was more painful as I had to convert out more and more of my RM at higher and higher exchange rates.

But, after that I saw returns coming back, and when I 'calculated backwards', I found that after accounting for the spread charged, I am able to get back more RM.

Secondly,... when I invested into one instrument there, somwhow, other interests in other instruments over there will come along.

Such was my experience back then.

Susah dahulu, senang kemudian.
Thanks for sharing your opinion Hansel. Opening a SG bank account today is not impossible, but definitely difficult for Malaysians not working in SG.

The exchange rate for SGD to MYR has been steadily increasing, with SGD increasing in value and MYR depreciating. With regards to the current political scenario in Malaysia, I have little faith that MYR can catch up to SGD. People are looking to park their assets out of the country with the gloomy economic outlook in Malaysia.

With fintech services offering lower and lower conversion fees, I guess the cost of overseas investment has gone down.

I agree that the Singapore investment market offers plenty of alternatives, compared to the Malaysia market.
pigscanfly
post Nov 26 2019, 07:07 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 26 2019, 05:40 PM)
Sure bro,... :thumbsup:

By the way,... the door is not closed yet for opening an SG bank acct... you can still do it via help from Maybank Msia,... and opening an iSavvy Acct in Maybank Sgp.

There's one bro here, Ramjade,... search his postings,... he gave quite some details,..he knows it in and out. I think there is a thread too abt opening SG bank accts.

Well,... in short, let me give you some details,... you need to look fro a Maybank branch that provides this service. Depending on where you are located, go to the nearest branch, fill-in some forms and then need to wait already.

Err,... pls see the thread for more. Sorry, bro, I did not open my iSavvy acct with this route.

Added : Bro,.. I just noticed this input by bro krv : It was really easy to open a CIMB fast saver account though, did it within days via their website. Using it to fund my FSM SG account.

Why don't you try this out ?

I'll give you a Real Life eg : I opened a CIMB fast saver account for the purpose of sending back SGD to MYR, and the process was quite fast.

I used the process from the CIMB SG website, filled in the forms, received the call and asked me to transfer 1k from an SG acct under MY NAME to my incumbent fast saver acct.. I have a few banks accts in SG, hence, this could be done easily. After i transferred the funds, my fast saver became active within two hrs.

I learnt from postings here that applicants with no SG bank acct can also use their CIMB MY acct to 'certify-fund' their incumbent fast saver acct... so you may need a CIMB MY acct too before you apply in the CIMB SG website.
Thanks for the advice. I already have SG bank account for investment purposes.
pigscanfly
post Jun 28 2020, 06:19 PM

67 posts

Sifus, which technology fund would you recommend? From FSM MY, the technology funds offered are:
1. TA Global Technology Fund (which invests in the target fund Janus Henderson Horizon Fund - Global Technology Fund)
2. United Global Technology Fund
3. Principal Global Technology Fund

However, FSM SG offers Franklin Technology Fund, which has really impressive performance. The Franklin Technology Fund even outperformed the S&P500.
pigscanfly
post Jun 28 2020, 06:30 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 28 2020, 06:24 PM)
i think only 1 from your listings has long track records of > 3 yrs
Indeed. Only TA Global Technology Fund has a long track record. The others have short track records. Is it worth while to invest in global technology funds? There seems to be growth potential in tech companies.
pigscanfly
post Jun 29 2020, 12:13 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Jun 28 2020, 07:15 PM)
2. United Global Technology Fund
3. Principal Global Technology Fund

These two are wholesale fund. Pre-qualification delcaration required and min initial investment is 10k in denominated base currency.
Oh dear. Didn't notice that. 10k minimum initial investment is too high for me. That leaves TA Global for small time investors like me.

0.0553sec    1.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:42 PM