1553 Pages « < 739 740 741 742 743 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

ChessRook
post Aug 27 2018, 12:59 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 27 2018, 12:24 PM)
There are about 250 UTFs in the FSM universe. My first step is to select the top ten most desirable UTFs and this is based on what I read and understand from various media sources including reports from the various Fund Houses. This is the part which is subjective and is solely based on my biased opinion and personal gut feel. This part takes a certain je ne sais quoi.

Out of these ten short-listed candidate I will throw them into Algozen™ ver four and let her do the computation. Then I will use her to churn out various scenario & outcome. This is the analytical part. Pure computational work. Too tedious for human to  do it, only a computer can do it.

Then of the many outcomes that are churned out, I will select the outcome that in my opinion, which I am most comfortable with. Again, this is based on personal experience. So, if let say I choose outcome A, and suddenly the world changes with some new info that will move the market wildly, I will already have in my library outcome B, C, D... so forth and I can quickly change my port accordingly. That is why I rarely lose money. Lackluster ROI yes, lose money no, except in this 2018... in the 12 preceding month of tracking, my port made 5 months of lost and that is a record for my port. Prior to 2018, I rarely lose money. But prior to this, we do not have a mad Trump to disturb the market. But nonetheless, the port as a whole made money 12 mths preceding.
China centric and emerging market is very reactive to what Trump say. It is too volatile and hence I discard it for the time being until Trump gets booted out or the market decide to ignore Trump tantrum.

Surprisingly ES Eq Income is very uncorrelated to the other UTF in my port and hence that is why it is there.

On Reits, it is something I have to be more concern with, thank you friend Yklooi for highlighting it.
Thanks Xuzen for laying out your methodology and also caveats in your approach.
Obi Munchen
post Aug 27 2018, 03:10 PM

hello to all sifus out here, notworthy.gif

i really need you all advises and opinion. i have to say i'm pretty noobs in this UT investment and my early phase of this UT world didn't seem to go into the right way.

pleasee, what shall i do now?..shall i sell or hold? my portfolio didn't seem very encouraging.

[Ancient]-XinG-
post Aug 27 2018, 04:01 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(Obi Munchen @ Aug 27 2018, 03:10 PM)

i really need you all advises and opinion. i have to say i'm pretty noobs in this UT investment and my early phase of this UT world didn't seem to go into the right way.

pleasee, what shall i do now?..shall i sell or hold? my portfolio didn't seem very encouraging.
let go interpac..........

and I am not sifu. others kindly help this... I tot my port is bad. but this is worse.
xuzen
post Aug 27 2018, 04:11 PM

4,436 posts

Inter-Pac LOL!
ChessRook
post Aug 27 2018, 05:03 PM

375 posts

I think you should hold. You just suffering paper loss due to an orange at the white house. When he is gone, those china stocks will pull you ahead. You portfolio looks very aggressive and concentrated into asia.

I also notice you did not diversify into

1) US stocks. US stocks is having a bull run and should have helped your port stabilise a bit. Or alternatively you can invest in global shariah compliant funds which tends to focus on the US anyway.
2) you might want to go into islamic bonds eg rhb islamic bonds also.
3) might want to look also at other shariah compliant malaysian equity that is less volatile than interpac dana safi and pmb shariah aggresive.

The most important question is this: are you happy with this aggresive port? In good times, it will be number 1 but in bad times it will also be number last with heavy losses. We are now in a trade crisis. Can you wait till good times? If yes, just hold and wait. If not you make a mistake in not matching your risk profile.

A) go to fundsupermart and find out US and Malaysian shariah compliant UT funds. Find a high sharpe ratio.

A) Go to https://my.Morningstar.com/ap/main/default.aspx

Register yourself and try the xray analysis of your new port. You want to find funds that do not correlate with each other. Remember to change to myr at the link see page 255 of this.

Remember to DCA when rebalancing. I am also not sure it is a good time to buy the overpriced US funds. When Trump leaves or get impeach, US funds will sure take a beating.

This post has been edited by ChessRook: Aug 27 2018, 05:12 PM
MUM
post Aug 27 2018, 05:18 PM

14,858 posts

Mind sharing the % of allocation for each of the fund?
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Aug 27 2018, 06:36 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 27 2018, 04:11 PM)
Inter-Pac LOL!
this also after +7% in recent week
ChessRook
post Aug 27 2018, 07:11 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 27 2018, 06:36 PM)
this also after +7% in recent week
I read the annual report and found these facts

1) IDS has 15 shariah stocks only. For a unit trust fund,i find it under diversified to my liking. At a min, i think should hold 30 or more stocks. And this info should be made clearly stated up front in the description so that investors are aware and can diversify and put less weightage into this fund.

2) adding to the volatility, some of these stocks are in the ace market. None of the stocks are blue chip stocks.

3) anothing thing, this fund concentrate on a few sectors only, technology, trading etc. If i were to invest, i would diversify into healthcare, education, financial services, construction, oil and gas etc.

With 1+2+3, one can guarantee this fund can icon_question.gif bangwall.gif when things go bad.

Some stock sifus can check the stocks and give more detail info.

This post has been edited by ChessRook: Aug 27 2018, 07:58 PM
Jitty
post Aug 27 2018, 07:58 PM

1,046 posts

My investment since November 2017.

It is - 6.49% so far.

Haizzzz

ChessRook
post Aug 27 2018, 08:47 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Aug 27 2018, 07:58 PM)
My investment since November 2017.

It is - 6.49% so far.

Haizzzz

Your port would make China very happy bruce.gif

Except for AH Japan, IDS, KGF, and TA tech. All are concentrated in the greater china region. Are you happy with this?
Just wait for Trump to be kicked out. Your port will improve even if you do nothing,

If not, you want to move away from China, like invest as part of your diversification into India, or US. Or play around the correlation to invest into funds that is not correlated with your port now. See my post on the morningstar xray analysis. You can also start thinking of bond funds?

Another thing is the IDS funds, see my previous post, this fund is just too risky for me. You might want to reduce your weightage once this fund recovers.

This post has been edited by ChessRook: Aug 27 2018, 08:48 PM
Jitty
post Aug 27 2018, 09:04 PM

1,046 posts

QUOTE(ChessRook @ Aug 27 2018, 08:47 PM)
Your port would make China very happy  bruce.gif

Except for AH Japan, IDS, KGF, and TA tech. All are concentrated in the greater china region. Are you happy with this?
Just wait for Trump to be kicked out. Your port will improve even if you do nothing,

If not, you want to move away from China, like invest as part of your diversification into India, or US. Or play around the correlation to invest into funds that is not correlated with your port now. See my post on the morningstar xray analysis. You can also start thinking of bond funds?

Another thing is the IDS funds, see my previous post, this fund is just too risky for me. You might want to reduce your weightage once this fund recovers.
Thanks for the advice. I will definitely do that by reducing my weightage on ids
MUM
post Aug 27 2018, 09:26 PM

14,858 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Aug 27 2018, 09:04 PM)
Thanks for the advice. I will definitely do that by reducing my weightage on ids
btw, how many % did you have in IDS?
mind to share the % of each fund?
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Aug 27 2018, 10:08 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(ChessRook @ Aug 27 2018, 08:47 PM)
Your port would make China very happy  bruce.gif

Agree, bond fund so far are being on a safe bet.
How if trump remains its presidency?

Anyways, the fundamental of GC, AExJP are strong, it will eventually bounce back for sure.

The ids....err...no comment la
QUOTE(Jitty @ Aug 27 2018, 09:04 PM)
I tot last time you ad let go ids? Cannot pakai la this ids. where can a UT labelled as "golden goose"
ChessRook
post Aug 27 2018, 10:16 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 27 2018, 10:08 PM)
Agree, bond fund so far are being on a safe bet.
How if trump remains its presidency?

Anyways, the fundamental of GC, AExJP are strong, it will eventually bounce back for sure.

The ids....err...no comment la

I tot last time you ad let go ids? Cannot pakai la this ids. where can a UT labelled as "golden goose"
Nov elections in the US is key. If democrats win big, we rclxm9.gif .

Otherwise, aiyoh .... we will be in for a long bangwall.gif especially those with China heavy ports.
genesis2000
post Aug 28 2018, 12:13 AM

46 posts

I was looking at the RHB Bond Fund's fact sheet. And I saw that there is a redemption fee conditions as below...

"Redemption fee: Redeem on or before 1st year is 1.0% of the Repurchase Price per Unit; no redemption fee after the 1st year."

Does this mean that if I sell some of the RHB Bond Fund's units during my 1st year of investment, I will incur this 1% redemption fee?

genesis2000
post Aug 28 2018, 12:13 AM

46 posts

I was looking at the RHB Bond Fund's fact sheet. And I saw that there is a redemption fee conditions as below...

"Redemption fee: Redeem on or before 1st year is 1.0% of the Repurchase Price per Unit; no redemption fee after the 1st year."

Does this mean that if I sell some of the RHB Bond Fund's units during my 1st year of investment, I will incur this 1% redemption fee?

MUM
post Aug 28 2018, 12:17 AM

14,858 posts

QUOTE(genesis2000 @ Aug 28 2018, 12:13 AM)

yes, as per written
Obi Munchen
post Aug 28 2018, 09:45 AM

QUOTE(ChessRook @ Aug 27 2018, 05:03 PM)
I think you should hold. You just suffering paper loss due to an orange at the white house. When he is gone, those china stocks will pull you ahead. You portfolio looks very aggressive and concentrated into asia.

I also notice you did not diversify into

1) US stocks. US stocks is having a bull run and should have helped your port stabilise a bit. Or alternatively you can invest in global shariah compliant funds which tends to focus on the US  anyway.
2) you might want to go into islamic bonds eg rhb islamic bonds also.
3) might want to look also at other shariah compliant malaysian equity that is less volatile than interpac dana safi and pmb shariah aggresive.

The most important question is this: are you happy with this aggresive port? In good times, it will be number 1 but in bad times it will also be number last with heavy losses. We are now in a trade crisis. Can you wait till good times? If yes, just hold and wait. If not you make a mistake in not matching your risk profile.

A) go to fundsupermart and find out US and Malaysian shariah compliant UT funds. Find a high sharpe ratio.

A) Go to https://my.Morningstar.com/ap/main/default.aspx

Register yourself and try the xray analysis of your new port. You want to find funds that do not correlate with each other. Remember to change to myr at the link see page 255 of this.
Remember to DCA when rebalancing. I am also not sure it is a good time to buy the overpriced US funds. When Trump leaves or get impeach, US funds will sure take a beating.
thanks a lot with ur advice chessrock...hope it'll work.pretty steep learning curve for me doh.gif ..i am thinking to go into bonds, but currently lack of capital. i think i can wait till good times as u said and slowly add up bonds into my portfolio.
Obi Munchen
post Aug 28 2018, 09:46 AM

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 27 2018, 05:18 PM)
Mind sharing the % of allocation for each of the fund?
it's

cimb 32%
eastspring dana dinamik 28%
eastpring dinasti 8%
ids 8%
pmb shariah aggressive 24%

MUM
post Aug 28 2018, 10:15 AM

14,858 posts

QUOTE(Obi Munchen @ Aug 28 2018, 09:46 AM)
it's

cimb 32%
eastspring dana dinamik 28%
eastpring dinasti 8%
ids 8%
pmb shariah aggressive 24%
thanks for the reply...
with it,....now can see more clearer.....
do you liked the allocation?
do you feel ok with it heavy in 1 country and 1 sector?

many would suggest to reduce the allocation for the small cap funds because these funds has high price movements in short span

anyway...these small caps funds had their good times too few years back...very good times.

note to read when free....
Understand Risk Diversification
risk diversification and diversification are not the same thing.
Diversification simply means having a lot of different assets in a portfolio, while risk diversification requires increasing the quantity of low-correlation assets in the portfolio.
The less similar the assets' return trends are, the better.
The biggest trap that lies in diversification is that however different two investments might seem apparently, they could actually have high correlation and lend no help to risk diversification.
Take a look at the following example:
Suppose an investor diversifies by buying multiple Chinese equity funds and then some Asian and emerging market funds that have a heavy China allocation.
While the types of funds in the portfolio appear to be diversified, when China's economic growth falls behind global economic dynamics, the performance of all these funds will fall in tandem due to their Chinese components, and the investor will still suffer a lot of downside risk of the Chinese market.
Conversely, if the portfolio includes other markets that follow the global economic growth, such as US or Japanese funds, the performance of these funds will hedge against the performance of the Chinese funds, thereby reducing the portfolio's downside volatility and resulting in a smoother yield curve.
https://secure.fundsupermart.com.hk/fsm/art...ification-14649

for those that are new to ut and wanted to know abit more...can read post# 8...many informative links are there

This post has been edited by MUM: Aug 28 2018, 10:27 AM

1553 Pages « < 739 740 741 742 743 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:59 AM