AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

goldfries
post Aug 1 2017, 11:28 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

They're getting better but still, better to check QVL.
TSterrorist
post Aug 1 2017, 03:23 PM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

QUOTE(iguana_dude_619 @ Aug 1 2017, 11:24 AM)
do ryzen still have memory error/issue? is it cause by mobo manufacture or something else?
coz Im thinking of upgrading from G4560 to R5 1500x/1600. Thought just swap CPU+Mobo. both my ram are DDR4 2400 by Kingston 4GB & 8GB.
havent choose with AM4 Mobo thou.
don't think you will have error pairing it with the Kingston ram. Perhaps you can test it out? some retailers have live Ryzen demo at their outlet. Viewnet/C-zone/Jayacom/Topmaid... ALL IT have too if not mistaken.. smile.gif
silrave
post Aug 1 2017, 04:27 PM

5,893 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 1 2017, 11:28 AM)
They're getting better but still, better to check QVL.
Haha
Agree I get the ddr4 ram not works also
skr1107
post Aug 1 2017, 06:19 PM

51 posts

I'm using latest Nvidia driver and played games like CS GO and Coin Master MOD, no problem.

This post has been edited by skr1107: Nov 8 2020, 07:38 PM
Ivan Sac
post Aug 3 2017, 12:52 AM

368 posts

Hi guys. For Ryzen 1700, can use any AM4 motherboard or must get specific chipset for it ?
Doraku
post Aug 3 2017, 01:11 AM

Old threads digger
1,155 posts

QUOTE(Ivan Sac @ Aug 3 2017, 12:52 AM)
Hi guys. For Ryzen 1700, can use any AM4 motherboard or must get specific chipset for it ?
Yes you can use any am4 chipset, You can even buy a cheap a320 mortherboard
TristanX
post Aug 3 2017, 01:18 AM

Where is my stars?
24,326 posts

QUOTE(Doraku @ Aug 3 2017, 01:11 AM)
Yes you can use any am4 chipset, You can even buy a cheap a320 mortherboard
Not recommended to go A320 due to locked overclocking though. Price difference isnt big.
goldfries
post Aug 3 2017, 01:24 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 3 2017, 01:18 AM)
Not recommended to go A320 due to locked overclocking though. Price difference isnt big.
Not everyone's into overclocking.

After all if you buy say like a Ryzen 7 1800X, the overclocking is limited anyway. Ryzen 7 1800X is one that I would say should go with the A320.

goldfries
post Aug 3 2017, 01:28 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(terrorist @ Aug 1 2017, 03:23 PM)
don't think you will have error pairing it with the Kingston ram.
Oh got problem leh, for example my HyperX Savage DDR4 doesn't work with my main Ryzen unit while I had no problem with Apacer and Corsair.
ITLearner
post Aug 3 2017, 01:59 AM

245 posts

Finally my ryzen build done rclxms.gif . With fancy Trident Z RGB 3200 @ 2933Mhz cry.gif

Quite happy with the performance of the CPU

Only one let down is the MSI X370 Gaming Plus motherboard LED modes are very limited. Think of getting GAMING PRO CARBON or ASUS X370-F cry.gif

This post has been edited by ITLearner: Aug 3 2017, 02:18 AM
Doraku
post Aug 3 2017, 02:30 AM

Old threads digger
1,155 posts

QUOTE(ITLearner @ Aug 3 2017, 01:59 AM)
Finally my ryzen build done rclxms.gif . With fancy Trident Z RGB 3200 @ 2933Mhz cry.gif

Only one let down is the MSI X370 Gaming Plus motherboard LED modes are very limited. Think of getting GAMING PRO CARBON or ASUS X370-F cry.gif
You place the cooler backward the amd logo should on top, ohmy.gif
hope i got money i can get a 1800x ryzen pc build sad.gif still stuck with this 7 year old laptop cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
it took me ages to render using blender, btw why do you use 750 ti gpu?, is that your old gpu? or you but new one? ohmy.gif
ITLearner
post Aug 3 2017, 02:31 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(Doraku @ Aug 3 2017, 02:30 AM)
hope i got money i can get a 1800x ryzen pc build sad.gif still stuck with this 7 year old laptop cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
it took me ages to render using blender, btw why do you use 750 ti gpu?, is that your old gpu? or you but new one? ohmy.gif
Old GPU. Got new one GTX 1060 6GB in old Rig
Doraku
post Aug 3 2017, 02:53 AM

Old threads digger
1,155 posts

QUOTE(ITLearner @ Aug 3 2017, 02:31 AM)
Old GPU. Got new one GTX 1060 6GB in old Rig
Oh okay,Just want share you guys my 7 year old laptop
Even turtle faster than this
goldfries
post Aug 3 2017, 05:34 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Doraku @ Aug 3 2017, 02:30 AM)
doh.gif Do you actually know what you're talking about?

That IS the correct mount.

goldfries
post Aug 3 2017, 05:35 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(ITLearner @ Aug 3 2017, 01:59 AM)
A little low on the Cinebench benchmark, by default should be able to go closer to 1400.

Doraku
post Aug 3 2017, 06:20 AM

Old threads digger
1,155 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 3 2017, 05:34 AM)
doh.gif Do you actually know what you're talking about?

That IS the correct mount.
So you cant place the cooler amd logo at top?

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 3 2017, 05:35 AM)
A little low on the Cinebench benchmark, by default should be able to go closer to 1400.
maybe because of his background Program
goldfries
post Aug 3 2017, 07:41 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Doraku @ Aug 3 2017, 06:20 AM)
So you cant place the cooler amd logo at top?
By default - NO.

It is possible to put the AMD logo on vertical alignment if you unmount the fan and remount it 90 degrees to the right.

Doraku
post Aug 3 2017, 07:48 AM

Old threads digger
1,155 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 3 2017, 07:41 AM)
By default - NO.

It is possible to put the AMD logo on vertical alignment if you unmount the fan and remount it 90 degrees to the right.
So the cooler screw is not symmetrical?, so that why you cant place the cooler text on top.
TristanX
post Aug 3 2017, 08:34 AM

Where is my stars?
24,326 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 3 2017, 01:24 AM)
Not everyone's into overclocking.

After all if you buy say like a Ryzen 7 1800X, the overclocking is limited anyway. Ryzen 7 1800X is one that I would say should go with the A320.
Yup, 1800X has crappy headroom for OC.
Cynox
post Aug 3 2017, 09:13 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(Doraku @ Aug 3 2017, 07:48 AM)
So the cooler screw is not symmetrical?, so that why you cant place the cooler text on top.
of course No. innocent.gif If you have not lay your hand on the AMD Ryzen, maybe you should reserve your comment on the cooler etc, else later misleading others. No offence, just my 2 sen. cheers.gif

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 3 2017, 07:41 AM)
By default - NO.

I tried to do that but the screws just refuse to come out, so give up. Anyway, the default cooler is just temporary - waiting for the free AM4 bracket of my Noctua D14 to arrive.

This post has been edited by Cynox: Aug 3 2017, 09:18 AM

473 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0165sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:08 PM