449 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

AMD Ryzen, AM4 Platform

nkl5499
post Feb 17 2017, 08:21 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(wira_laju @ Feb 17 2017, 08:17 PM)
All Ryzen is unlock?
iirc all Ryzen multiplier unlock
yhsiau
post Feb 17 2017, 08:22 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(wira_laju @ Feb 17 2017, 08:17 PM)
All Ryzen is unlock?
All ryzen is overclockable...

http://wccftech.com/amd-confirms-ryzen-cpu...d-overclocking/

yhsiau
post Feb 17 2017, 08:28 PM

790 posts

I do hope that Ryzen in MY are not getting jack up prices during launching periods.

Everytimes when there is a hyped product appeared, that product price is going to jack up... e.g PS4 pro, Nintendo Switch, newer Iphone (non MY official), & etc.

This post has been edited by yhsiau: Feb 17 2017, 08:29 PM
SUSsniperz
post Feb 17 2017, 08:31 PM

2,464 posts

QUOTE(yhsiau @ Feb 17 2017, 08:28 PM)
I hope that Ryzen in MY are getting jack up prices during launching periods.

Everytimes when there is a hyped product appeared, that product price is going to jack up... e.g PS4 pro, Nintendo Switch, newer Iphone (non MY official), & etc.
Despite the hype though... AMD Ryzen forgot to compete in the G series Pentium category. Probably might lose a lot of sales if I see it that way. Everyone who wants Ryzen would rather go G series Intel (4560 , 4600 , 4620) and that is why Intel wasn't so challenged by it or rather.
yhsiau
post Feb 17 2017, 08:59 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(sniperz @ Feb 17 2017, 08:31 PM)
Despite the hype though... AMD Ryzen forgot to compete in the G series Pentium category. Probably might lose a lot of sales if I see it that way. Everyone who wants Ryzen would rather go G series Intel (4560 , 4600 , 4620) and that is why Intel wasn't so challenged by it or rather.
I think AMD might use its incoming Zen APU to tackle Intel G series of products.
Imagine polaris GPU embedded with Zen CPU... wishful thinking heheheeheh brows.gif

I forgot that Ryzen will have 3 series of product. (3, 5, 7) just like the Intel Core I series.
Here is the leak:

http://wccftech.com/amd-ryzen-5-1600x-cpu-benchmark-leak/

Original source is from china... that thread is deleted.

This post has been edited by yhsiau: Feb 17 2017, 09:02 PM
SUSsniperz
post Feb 17 2017, 10:51 PM

2,464 posts

QUOTE(yhsiau @ Feb 17 2017, 08:59 PM)
I think AMD might use its incoming Zen APU to tackle Intel G series of products.
Imagine polaris GPU embedded with Zen CPU... wishful thinking heheheeheh  brows.gif

I forgot that Ryzen will have 3 series of product. (3, 5, 7) just like the Intel Core I series.
Here is the leak:

http://wccftech.com/amd-ryzen-5-1600x-cpu-benchmark-leak/

Original source is from china... that thread is deleted.
I was hoping to go for Ryzen but if it's above the budget of mine, going for the Pentium G is actually in the mind (many might have forgotten, it was released this year!). Intel isn't going to lose this war actually like what they always say.

Maybe for the i5 to i7 parts, they shall lose for those wanting to spend RM5xxx to RM10xxx, feel free to vouch Ryzen then. innocent.gif
abu.shofwan
post Feb 18 2017, 08:40 PM

1,455 posts

I dont think Intel will lose to AMD anytime soon. They're too embedded in the industry for now, and have been known to illegally force OEMs to use their processors instead of AMD. they have the cash to do it, too.
TSterrorist
post Feb 18 2017, 09:16 PM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

QUOTE(abu.shofwan @ Feb 18 2017, 08:40 PM)
I dont think Intel will lose to AMD anytime soon. They're too embedded in the industry for now, and have been known to illegally force OEMs to use their processors instead of AMD. they have the cash to do it, too.
They won't lose la. All the while they are having majority share wad.

Now its good that AMD come out with something to compete them abit. End user will have benefits in term is more competitive pricing n better performance for both brands.
k!nex
post Feb 18 2017, 09:19 PM

Restless stars
3,327 posts

QUOTE(sniperz @ Feb 17 2017, 08:31 PM)
Ryzen dont hv integrated GPU.Ryzen is meant to be enthusiast platform. Majority of us has dicrete GPU. Low end should include iGPU, therefore its the job of the APU to compete with the pentium and celeron.
k!nex
post Feb 18 2017, 09:29 PM

Restless stars
3,327 posts

QUOTE(abu.shofwan @ Feb 18 2017, 08:40 PM)
It depends on which segment. Enterprise market, no way amd can defeat intel at least 10 years. The Xeon server and workstation market is more than 90% dominated by intel. Most corporate sector only change server once every 7 years. Maybe longer but no less than tht.

Enthusiast market maybe amd can claw back some market share if performance is great and sell at an irresistable price. This group of ppl are not many though. No volume.

Corporate desktops make up for majority of the cpu sales. Sadly though, AMD Ryzen is out of place here. No integrated GPU no talk. This is Intel territory althogh OEM like Dell and HP do sell AMD desktops though no takers from the corporate world. Every industry player only buy Intel. AMD needs invest heavily on marketting here in order to gain market share
SUSsniperz
post Feb 18 2017, 10:21 PM

2,464 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Feb 18 2017, 09:19 PM)
Ryzen dont hv integrated GPU.Ryzen is meant to be enthusiast platform. Majority of us has dicrete GPU.  Low end should include iGPU, therefore its the job of the APU to compete with the pentium and celeron.
That's why I want to see how much Ryzen can compare with it's 3/5 series against the Pentium G series (Celeron is meh already).
abu.shofwan
post Feb 20 2017, 08:30 AM

1,455 posts

They need something to compete with atoms too, IMO. There is quite a variety of form factors that use atoms. I would love to see a competitor for the intel compute stick from Amd. Also, Netbook may be dead, but it's successor lives on and people do buy them (though in less volume, admittedly). If AMD can get it to work on android, then alk the better, opportunity wise as it opens up a new market.
soulfly
post Feb 20 2017, 09:21 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,894 posts

AMD is not yet competing in the Pentium/Celeron class probably because it's an entry level segment which is a small market and low profit. They better target enthusiasts who build their own systems, or performance PC system builders.

Nobody really buy ready made PC with low spec these days, which confirmed by huge decrease in PC shipment since the past year or so. Pre-built PC market is taken over by laptops as well as mobile devices.

Besides AMD still has old APUs and FX CPU in their inventory that still needs to move out first. Expect more price cuts when Ryzen starts shipping out.
michaelchiew24
post Feb 20 2017, 11:30 AM

I think Intel doesn't really care even if they end up losing the market in normal consumer like us, since they already move on to mainly focus on the cloud computing.

Intel can price that much cuz they just don't give a shit at all.. tongue.gif

Anyhow, looking forward for upcoming Ryzen. Seems very promising.

On the other, Vega may still need some time to actually compete with Nvidia GTX1080 or Titan if it comes to high-end spec. As far as I heard, GTX1080 is too good to be handled by current high-end CPUs sweat.gif IMO though

This post has been edited by michaelchiew24: Feb 20 2017, 11:42 AM
TSterrorist
post Feb 20 2017, 11:59 AM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f-Kw4XFXB30

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ka5qkj_xycY

More information for Ryzen.

Seems verrrrrrry promising biggrin.gif
Harold2009
post Feb 20 2017, 12:04 PM

526 posts

hopefully new ryzen performance similar performance to i7 counterparts, but sell at i3 price, this is a big win to consumers.
seichirosano
post Feb 20 2017, 05:08 PM

293 posts

holy, that day draws near and im so excited! maybe its not time to switch to intel.
MKCL
post Feb 20 2017, 05:11 PM

304 posts

just wait for release and benchmarks, AMD has disappoint the hype several times in the past
herojack41
post Feb 20 2017, 05:17 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(seichirosano @ Feb 20 2017, 05:08 PM)
holy, that day draws near and im so excited! maybe its not time to switch to intel.
that is 1 toasty processor you are having there laugh.gif

im holding my gun now....gonna pull the trigger on the 1400x
seichirosano
post Feb 20 2017, 07:49 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Feb 20 2017, 05:17 PM)
that is 1 toasty processor you are having there laugh.gif

im holding my gun now....gonna pull the trigger on the 1400x
Same! 1400x, higher ghz with less core count. doesn't really need 6 core for gaming.

449 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 06:04 PM