AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform
goldfries
Feb 11 2017, 09:41 PM
40K Club
QUOTE(herojack41 @ Feb 11 2017, 09:39 PM) AMD is always about value for money and performance of coz is far cry if you compare it with intel.
no matter how AMD still have upper hand in pricing and performance is targeted at every segment of intel, in this ryzen They used to but not for the past 2 - 3 years though. Looking forward for them making a come back.
herojack41
Feb 11 2017, 09:43 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 11 2017, 09:41 PM) They used to but not for the past 2 - 3 years though. Looking forward for them making a come back. yes....Phenom 2 was the last hurah that doesn't really make any impact. it just playing around with more core,higher clockspeed and cheaper pricing despite that they still lose battle and APU shit stuff appear
goldfries
Feb 11 2017, 10:00 PM
40K Club
FX-8320 / FX-8350 were good, FX-8320E was awesome but came late.
FX-9590 / FX-9370 sucks so bad I hentam them kau kau.
APU - mixed feelings, overall good stuff packed with technology but raw processing power not as good as the Intel Core i3, very hard to recommend in the end.
soulfly
Feb 11 2017, 10:02 PM
revving towards 10,000 rpm
First Ryzen R7 1700X benchmark: https://videocardz.com/65825/first-amd-ryze...hmarks-are-hereBrief info on test setup CPU: R7 1700X 3.4GHZ (no turbo enabled or detected), 8c/16t Mobo: MSI A320-based RAM: DDR4-2400 @ 17-17-17-39 I assume the budget A320 will somehow disable turbo function or does not support XFR mode This post has been edited by soulfly: Feb 11 2017, 10:18 PM
SUSsniperz
Feb 11 2017, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 11 2017, 10:02 PM) First Ryzen R7 1700X benchmark: https://videocardz.com/65825/first-amd-ryze...hmarks-are-hereBrief info on test setup CPU: R7 1700X 3.4GHZ (no turbo enabled or detected), 8c/16t Mobo: MSI A320-based RAM: DDR4-2400 @ 17-17-17-39 I assume the budget A320 will somehow disable turbo function or does not support XFR mode Interesting fact is that it cost around USD$400 meanwhile Intel costed USD$1000 more for their best i7 core chipset. Am I right with the latest news?
Vigilant
Feb 12 2017, 12:03 AM
QUOTE(herojack41 @ Feb 11 2017, 09:39 PM) dear ketum bro AMD is always about value for money and performance of coz is far cry if you compare it with intel. no matter how AMD still have upper hand in pricing and performance is targeted at every segment of intel, in this ryzen so...go topup yours How do you compare RM900 retail price for FX9000 Bulldozer to RM1000 6600k Skylake Ivy Bridge? http://www.techspot.com/review/1180-overwa...arks/page5.htmlIntel's performance per core is way better. You can also check other CPU benchmark in gaming. AMD is still inferior to Intel for these past years. Of course they have the cheaper price, but not worth it. I used to have both systems, ended up selling away my AMD platform for Intel upgrade. So IF Ryzen has a good price point, then AMD can compete. IF. Then again, from the leaked benchmark, Ryzen is still behind So get your ketum's fact right first. This post has been edited by Vigilant: Feb 12 2017, 12:04 AM
herojack41
Feb 12 2017, 01:15 AM
QUOTE(Vigilant @ Feb 12 2017, 12:03 AM) How do you compare RM900 retail price for FX9000 Bulldozer to RM1000 6600k Skylake Ivy Bridge? http://www.techspot.com/review/1180-overwa...arks/page5.htmlIntel's performance per core is way better. You can also check other CPU benchmark in gaming. AMD is still inferior to Intel for these past years. Of course they have the cheaper price, but not worth it. I used to have both systems, ended up selling away my AMD platform for Intel upgrade. So IF Ryzen has a good price point, then AMD can compete. IF. Then again, from the leaked benchmark, Ryzen is still behind So get your ketum's fact right first. ching ah chong everysingle year intel introduce new architecture and u take that new architecture compare it to such a old amd architecture  also read carefully..... on my follow up post This post has been edited by herojack41: Feb 12 2017, 01:16 AM
SUSYottabyte
Feb 12 2017, 07:30 AM
QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 11 2017, 10:02 PM) First Ryzen R7 1700X benchmark: https://videocardz.com/65825/first-amd-ryze...hmarks-are-hereBrief info on test setup CPU: R7 1700X 3.4GHZ (no turbo enabled or detected), 8c/16t Mobo: MSI A320-based RAM: DDR4-2400 @ 17-17-17-39 I assume the budget A320 will somehow disable turbo function or does not support XFR mode Wow, I want to believe. Zen has smaller floating point module than Intel. So inferior FP heavy computations is expected. But perfectly fine for most home users, gamers, even data centers. HPC market maybe in next Zen iteration.
Cruxs
Feb 12 2017, 07:34 AM
ANy proc to replace my A8 FM2?
soulfly
Feb 12 2017, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(Cruxs @ Feb 12 2017, 07:34 AM) ANy proc to replace my A8 FM2? Since we're talking about AM4 here, and looks like you're looking for APU replacement you might want to wait for Bristol Ridge. I assume that the retail version will come out once official AM4 boards are released. The APU itself already released last year but through OEM channels only (PC manufacturers).
area61
Feb 12 2017, 11:27 AM
Damn thats a very sexy stock cooler » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « And seems to be RGB ready as well » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Meanwhile in Intel.....
WhiteFlag
Feb 12 2017, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(area61 @ Feb 12 2017, 11:27 AM) Damn thats a very sexy stock cooler » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « And seems to be RGB ready as well » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Meanwhile in Intel.....  intel stock cooler sctually do the job well
soulfly
Feb 13 2017, 03:07 AM
Rumored Chinese MSRP for Ryzen Source: https://www.overclock3d.net/news/cpu_mainbo..._ryzen_lineup/1
but from this list it looks like the cheapest Ryzen cost around the same as the highest i3 SKU really hope that at least there will be a sub-MYR500 cpu when it reaches our shore that is. damn it weak ringgit!
iguana_dude_619
Feb 13 2017, 08:56 AM
QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 13 2017, 03:07 AM) Rumored Chinese MSRP for Ryzen Source: https://www.overclock3d.net/news/cpu_mainbo..._ryzen_lineup/1
but from this list it looks like the cheapest Ryzen cost around the same as the highest i3 SKU really hope that at least there will be a sub-MYR500 cpu when it reaches our shore that is. damn it weak ringgit! whats with bold lines? is it AMD contender vs Intel? or same price range? or ... I dont speak Chinese
SUSsniperz
Feb 13 2017, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(iguana_dude_619 @ Feb 13 2017, 08:56 AM) whats with bold lines? is it AMD contender vs Intel? or same price range? or ... I dont speak Chinese  http://www.forbes.com/sites/antonyleather/...9/#466602404bb7
edmund_yung
Feb 13 2017, 12:33 PM
I hope the 8 cores and 6 cores parts can OC well...
SUSsniperz
Feb 13 2017, 04:11 PM
Some of the prices weren't actualized yet but I believed that the Ryzen 3 / 5 will sell like hotcakes provided the price and value it will bring to Malaysia.
This post has been edited by sniperz: Feb 13 2017, 04:12 PM
soulfly
Feb 14 2017, 12:34 AM
QUOTE(sniperz @ Feb 13 2017, 04:11 PM) Some of the prices weren't actualized yet but I believed that the Ryzen 3 / 5 will sell like hotcakes provided the price and value it will bring to Malaysia. They need a lower price point 4c/4t to counter the lower i3s and Pentiums unless they're reserving that segment for the AM4 APU, but Raven Ridge is not going to arrive until the 2nd half of 2017.
SUSsniperz
Feb 14 2017, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 14 2017, 12:34 AM) They need a lower price point 4c/4t to counter the lower i3s and Pentiums unless they're reserving that segment for the AM4 APU, but Raven Ridge is not going to arrive until the 2nd half of 2017. I believed the recent AMD Ryzen 5 is enough to convince me to resell my Intel i5 CPU altogether to rebuild a new one. Let's see how long it takes to arrive to Malaysia. http://wccftech.com/amd-ryzen-3dmark-bench...ntels-i7-6950x/It's just amazing. Considering AMD Ryzen 5 1400X for the least. This post has been edited by sniperz: Feb 14 2017, 10:38 AM
khelben
Feb 14 2017, 03:43 PM
Seems promising looking at the above links. But still, gotta wait till the actual products and reviews are out.
Intel needs a competition, way long overdue.