127 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

lagrima
post Apr 22 2008, 09:34 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 17 2008, 01:23 AM)
it's the same for all the private med schools, for all ipts actually, and overseas too, on offer you are expected to pay 1 semester fees upfront to accept......

and obviously they want to know if you can really affort their fees, otherwise no point giving you offer.....

Yeah I had an issue with that too when I was accepting my offer here. Nobody actually told me they'll be demanding a FULL YEAR's tuition fee together with your response to offer form to confirm your enrolment. Mind you I had all of two weeks to come up with the cash, and had issues even explaining to them that I'd need more time since it involved transferring large amounts of cash from Msia. It all worked out for the best in the end. Just a heads up to those applying anywhere private, always ask beforehand so you can make the necessary arrangements.

In other news, thanks guys for telling me about Kamal's bookstore, I saved alot of money, and the place seemed pretty legit too. They had everything, including the obligatory drunk man sprawled on the sidewalk in front of the coffeeshop next door. I'll be going back there to get more stuff, since all my baggage allowance was taken up by books on the flight back.
All the money I saved has since been put to better use. Like nice shoes. LoL

guanteck
post Apr 22 2008, 05:43 PM

Hi IMU students out there, need some opinions from u guys. How did u all do during ur interview? Is it really very important? Is the interview more important than the results?

Will a 4As A-lvl and SPM straight As student be rejected, given that he has done quite terribly in the interview? Do u all have any friends or experience of anyone with 4As that actually got rejected due to terribly done interview?

Thanks!
Namgor2006
post Apr 22 2008, 06:36 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Mar 7 2007, 11:47 PM)
i would say heart > brain

i personally looked down on doc`s who`s mind only think of money, money and money
rclxms.gif Yup..im agreed with you,pipedream!!The most essential thing for a doctor is..he/she MUST be having a Good heart rather than a good brain..No point if they have a good brain but dont have a good heart..they'll just save the rich patient due to their money only..but how about to the poor patient?!!I think they'll just leave the poor patient at aside and without thinking of their live or death..Poor patient also human,they do need doctor to save and cure too..Doctor's who's mind only thinking of money..money..money but not patient is shameful for others..
wgy589
post Apr 22 2008, 07:56 PM

759 posts

erm, do u realise that is a last year post. it's 2007 not 2008.
limeuu
post Apr 22 2008, 08:00 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(lagrima @ Apr 22 2008, 09:34 AM)
Yeah I had an issue with that too when I was accepting my offer here. Nobody actually told me they'll be demanding a FULL YEAR's tuition fee together with your response to offer form to confirm your enrolment. Mind you I had all of two weeks to come up with the cash, and had issues even explaining to them that I'd need more time since it involved transferring large amounts of cash from Msia. It all worked out for the best in the end. Just a heads up to those applying anywhere private, always ask beforehand so you can make the necessary arrangements.

In other news, thanks guys for telling me about Kamal's bookstore, I saved alot of money, and the place seemed pretty legit too. They had everything, including the obligatory drunk man sprawled on the sidewalk in front of the coffeeshop next door. I'll be going back there to get more stuff, since all my baggage allowance was taken up by books on the flight back.
All the money I saved has since been put to better use. Like nice shoes. LoL
how's bond...... biggrin.gif

Added on April 22, 2008, 8:01 pm
QUOTE(wgy589 @ Apr 22 2008, 07:56 PM)
erm, do u realise that is a last year post. it's 2007 not 2008.
the nick and signature both still in 2006 and 2007......might explain it..... unsure.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by limeuu: Apr 22 2008, 08:01 PM
lagrima
post Apr 22 2008, 08:41 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 22 2008, 10:00 PM)
how's bond...... biggrin.gif
wonderful, thanks for asking. its very, very cozy.
limeuu
post Apr 22 2008, 10:06 PM

12,290 posts

you do know bond is not recognised by mmc.......yet anyway....
kailord_mawar
post Apr 22 2008, 10:29 PM

Hi, i'm from CUCMS. 3rd year student.
wgy589
post Apr 22 2008, 10:42 PM

759 posts

hey, how do u find CUCMS so far?

mabbe lecturer and facility wise?
limeuu
post Apr 22 2008, 10:46 PM

12,290 posts

actually, think about it.......unless one has actually attended another med school, and thus have a basis for comparison, how does one who have just been exposed to one particular med school make a judgement as to the quality of the programme and lecturers?.....

physical facilities of course can compare lah....i am very impressed with aimst and monash....but unfortunately, that does not necessarily translate into quality education......
kailord_mawar
post Apr 22 2008, 11:10 PM

The lecturer are very good and very friendly to the students. Facilities barely enough to accommodate every students.
chika138
post Apr 23 2008, 08:23 AM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(guanteck @ Apr 22 2008, 05:43 PM)
Hi IMU students out there, need some opinions from u guys. How did u all do during ur interview? Is it really very important? Is the interview more important than the results?

Will a 4As A-lvl and SPM straight As student be rejected, given that he has done quite terribly in the interview? Do u all have any friends or experience of anyone with 4As that actually got rejected due to terribly done interview?

Thanks!
i would say money>result>interview
i did just ok during interview, stumbled quite a lot, but still got thru
i don't know bout doing terrible, but my friend made a big obvious lie during the interview n he's rejected then
limeuu
post Apr 23 2008, 09:16 AM

12,290 posts

for imu, with the numbers they are taking in, the most important factor is money.....if you have reasonable results, (only need ter 91, BBB kinna result) and shown to be able to talk in the interview, and don't say stupid things, they will accept you........in fact, some claim that the most important question and answer in the interview is: 'can you afford it?......yes'
linkeong
post Apr 23 2008, 11:07 AM

813 posts

It also depends on the intake. Certain intakes, not enough students so they will accept you even though you fail your interview. Happened to ME108 batch at IMU (around 100 people rejected their offer). Remember if you did not get accepted, always call them up again, if many people reject their offer, you can get a place even though you screwed your interview. I also know some JPA students whose result only scrape through TER 88-90 and they had their interview 1 week before the registration day, this tuesday interview, next monday registration.
zltan
post Apr 23 2008, 11:50 AM

695 posts

QUOTE(linkeong @ Apr 23 2008, 11:07 AM)
It also depends on the intake. Certain intakes, not enough students so they will accept you even though you fail your interview. Happened to ME108 batch at IMU (around 100 people rejected their offer). Remember if you did not get accepted, always call them up again, if many people reject their offer, you can get a place even though you screwed your interview. I also know some JPA students whose result only scrape through TER 88-90 and they had their interview 1 week before the registration day, this tuesday interview, next monday registration.
shocking.gif I thought IMU has higher standards than that! 88-90 TER is a really really bad score. I'd rather that they have less number of students than have a whole crap load which will fail.

This post has been edited by zltan: Apr 23 2008, 11:50 AM
incx
post Apr 23 2008, 11:58 AM

135 posts

They will let you join. If you fail your exams later, then they'll kick you out, of course if you want to repeat, you have to pay again.
guanteck
post Apr 23 2008, 02:36 PM

QUOTE(chika138 @ Apr 23 2008, 08:23 AM)
i would say money>result>interview
i did just ok during interview, stumbled quite a lot, but still got thru
i don't know bout doing terrible, but my friend made a big obvious lie during the interview n he's rejected then
Thanks for the replies. Because i've just gone through my interview and i think i did pretty badly at the end. It was quite ok at the beginning but i got a bit stucked at the case scenario. I hesitated for like 10 seconds and my answers were not that good i think. I stumbled alot after that. I dun think i've actually answer that question. sad.gif

Hopefully my results can actually compensate my badly done interview. sad.gif

Oh yea, 1 more question. I know IMU will mail u a letter if u have been accepted. How if u were to be rejected? Will IMU still mail u to actually tell u that u din get through the interview and that u r not accepted?

lagrima
post Apr 23 2008, 05:02 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 23 2008, 12:06 AM)
Really? That's surprising, considering they recognize degrees from dodgy sources overseas, you would think they'd recognize a course where only 80 students are accepted per intake with personalised teaching, and access to some of the best facilities and lecturers in the field. On the one hand it's cool that I get one-on-one time with anybody I want, from the admin people right up to the dean, on the other hand it sucks that I can't skip lectures. Grrr.

No, I wasn't paid for all the above. Just had to do right by my alma mater. Haha.

Anyways I won't be going back to Msia anytime soon. Family's here and I love this place.

sanesaint
post Apr 23 2008, 05:12 PM

359 posts

hey lagrima wat uni are u at?
wgy589
post Apr 23 2008, 06:48 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 22 2008, 10:06 PM)
i tink Bond is not recognized by Spore medical council as well.

http://www.lokun.nhg.com.sg/registrable-degrees.html

127 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0228sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:47 PM