Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

sanesaint
post Mar 14 2008, 03:43 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(Alan88 @ Mar 14 2008, 02:41 PM)
Hi all, could someone please answer my question here :
i)Is the medical degree offered by local Unis (eg UM,UKM,USM) recognised worldwide?
ii)Is it possible for a graduate from local Unis to practise oversea?
iii)Will a graduate from local Unis be able to undergo/pursue his specialist course in unis oversea? (eg. Ireland)

Thanks in advance !
haha i was just gonna ask that.

hey is neurosurgery a good profession to be involved in? thinking of becoming a neurosurgeon.
sanesaint
post Mar 14 2008, 04:58 PM

359 posts

onli 6 oncologist? r u sure? how about neurologists? and wat do u mean by 20 years? i tot onli around 9 years or so?
sanesaint
post Mar 21 2008, 11:42 AM

359 posts

hey medical students. just asking, shud my fren go to um, uiam or uitm? he's interested in taking up medicine and rite now, he just cant make up his decision whether to enter the asasi sains hayat programme at um, the asasi perubatan programme at uiam or the asasi sains programme at uitm. wat are the pros and cons of each programme? is the uitm/uiam medical degree recognized worldwide?

thanks guys
sanesaint
post Mar 21 2008, 02:24 PM

359 posts

is the syllabus taught in english?
sanesaint
post Mar 24 2008, 02:49 PM

359 posts

hey guys just asking, can i enter the medical programme at imu if i do asasi programs at local iptas such as um, uiam and uitm? cuz i just called and they said they do accept. just wanna double check
sanesaint
post Mar 25 2008, 11:00 AM

359 posts

hey guys just asking, can i enter the medical programme at imu if i do asasi programs at local iptas such as um, uiam and uitm? cuz i just called and they said they do accept. just wanna double check
sanesaint
post Mar 25 2008, 04:24 PM

359 posts

yeah i did call imu and they did say yes cuz the local asasi programmes are considered matriculation for them and the min. requirement is 85%. so yeah i just wanted ot double check. better safe than sorry i always say
sanesaint
post Apr 16 2008, 10:31 PM

359 posts

hey there, just wanted to ask, does anyone know the when's the intake for medical students at monash malaysia and nus? and are there any imu students here whu got into imu thru MUFY? and among this 3 unis, wic 1 is the best? i noe all 3 are good, but the quality of lecturers and the atmosphere differ from place to place. moreover, i heard tht imu students study all the time and have tests every two weeks, wic is totally effed up. and is there any difference between studying at monash malaysia and monash oz other than the fees and cost of living?

and apart from imu and monash, what other good local medical unis are there?

This post has been edited by sanesaint: Apr 16 2008, 10:41 PM
sanesaint
post Apr 17 2008, 11:33 AM

359 posts

ohhh ok... how bout monash and nus?
sanesaint
post Apr 17 2008, 12:52 PM

359 posts

i know NUS is damn good, im just looking at all my options. cuz my parents cant afford aussie or uk, so im just looking at unis in the region.
sanesaint
post Apr 17 2008, 01:52 PM

359 posts

ok noted. anyway, how did u get into NUS to do medicine? did u do a-levels? and when's the intake for medical students? been searching for it at their website but to no avail
sanesaint
post Apr 17 2008, 02:07 PM

359 posts

oh i finally found it! awesome!

now to just decide which coll to go to for a-levels....
sanesaint
post Apr 17 2008, 10:04 PM

359 posts

the thing is, im looking at imu cuz im interested in the twinning program and monash cuz of its reputation and the fact tht there's no diff between studying in monash oz and monash m'sia apart from the living costs. but if i was gonna do it at a local ipta, i wana try for UM or UIAM. i'm not really interested in UCSI or CUCMS or AIMST because they're not recognised by the malaysian medical council and they dun offer any sort of twinning program.

wat do u guys think about Penang Medical College? is it good?

This post has been edited by sanesaint: Apr 17 2008, 10:09 PM
sanesaint
post Apr 18 2008, 11:50 AM

359 posts

ah. but im not planning to stay at aussie. prob singapore, but i'll see when i get to tht stage
sanesaint
post Apr 21 2008, 05:41 PM

359 posts

any forumers studying at PMC/IMU/Monash Malaysia?

This post has been edited by sanesaint: Apr 21 2008, 05:42 PM
sanesaint
post Apr 23 2008, 05:12 PM

359 posts

hey lagrima wat uni are u at?
sanesaint
post Apr 24 2008, 05:42 PM

359 posts

hey noob question here. how long does it take to specialise in these fields:

a) cardiothoracic surgery
b) plastic surgery
c) surgical oncology

and what are the job prospects in malaysia and singapore?

and my dad said to be accredited by the american board of medicine is the highest medical qualification there is and that the sky's the limit if ure accredited. is this true?
sanesaint
post Apr 30 2008, 01:30 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 30 2008, 12:55 PM)
that mean, if i don't take bio in my f4 & f5, then i'm taking physical science stream in matriculation, my hope for medic is gone. Am i right?
kk lets end this once and for all. it doesn't matter if u don't take bio 4 spm, but u would have to take bio for pre-u if u reali want to pursue medic. this is because since u dint take bio for spm, u wud have to take up bio during ur pre-u to gain some knowledge of the subject. of coz u wud have a lot to catch up on, but if u have the will to succeed, then anything is possible. nothing in life is easy after all.

now i'm not really sure what physical science is, but if i remember correctly, physical science gears u up for engineering and stuff. so yeah, if u go for matriculation in that particular stream, then ur hopes of doing medic r probably dashed unless u somehow manage to change to biological science stream. then again, i'm not too sure about this, so u wud have to check with the unis if they wud accept u into their medic program with a physical science background. never hurts to call them up, eh?

now, i've read some of ur earlier posts here n i saw tht u wanna pursue medic because its easier to obtain a scholarship compared to engineering? FAT CHANCE bro, seriously. medical scholarships are reserved for the best of the best as sponsors want value for money (and it's a whole lot of money). furthermore, there are very few medical scholarships offered compared to engineering. dont believe me? do a research on both scholarships and get back to me on that.

now, i noe several people have touched on this, but a person should only pursue medicine if they are really committed towards becoming a medical expert. u must have tenacity, determination, the i-won't-take-no-for-an-answer attitude and of course, intellectuality. now, some people have said that money should never be the reason to pursue medic, i would say tht it is naive for people to think people pursuing medic are not doing it in the hope of securing a stable financial future, cause that's just the reality of it. but i agree that it should not be your sole reason, cuz if it is, i say jump on the business/finance bandwagon if u wana make money fast.

i have a piece of advice tho, if u're still at crossroads about what u want as your future, pray to God and ask for a divine intervention. buat solat hajat in the middle of the nite, God will surely guide you thru ur decision.
sanesaint
post Apr 30 2008, 02:13 PM

359 posts

if ur serious abt medicine, then by all means change. if ur still at crossroads, u better decide fast.

and i'm pretty sure they do. how come ur not aiming for UIAM or UM?
sanesaint
post Apr 30 2008, 02:52 PM

359 posts

ahh. allrite. well, i'd suggest u take up life science if ur serious. lol if not just do STPM la and then apply to go overseas or do at local IPTS.

the onli MBBS degress recognised outside of malaysia at the moment from local IPTAs are from UM and UKM. just thought u shud noe

0.0243sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:27 AM