Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

guanteck
post Apr 22 2008, 05:43 PM

Hi IMU students out there, need some opinions from u guys. How did u all do during ur interview? Is it really very important? Is the interview more important than the results?

Will a 4As A-lvl and SPM straight As student be rejected, given that he has done quite terribly in the interview? Do u all have any friends or experience of anyone with 4As that actually got rejected due to terribly done interview?

Thanks!
guanteck
post Apr 23 2008, 02:36 PM

QUOTE(chika138 @ Apr 23 2008, 08:23 AM)
i would say money>result>interview
i did just ok during interview, stumbled quite a lot, but still got thru
i don't know bout doing terrible, but my friend made a big obvious lie during the interview n he's rejected then
Thanks for the replies. Because i've just gone through my interview and i think i did pretty badly at the end. It was quite ok at the beginning but i got a bit stucked at the case scenario. I hesitated for like 10 seconds and my answers were not that good i think. I stumbled alot after that. I dun think i've actually answer that question. sad.gif

Hopefully my results can actually compensate my badly done interview. sad.gif

Oh yea, 1 more question. I know IMU will mail u a letter if u have been accepted. How if u were to be rejected? Will IMU still mail u to actually tell u that u din get through the interview and that u r not accepted?

guanteck
post Apr 29 2008, 03:33 PM

Hi, its been 1 week since my interview with IMU and i still haven't receive any letter from IMU. cry.gif I have frens who had received their letters just 1 week after their interviews. In fact there are 3 of them. So, I called up and asked. They said that there isn't any decision made regarding my application yet. Is this normal? I've this weird feeling that i am not getting the offer from IMU. cry.gif

I think i must have done pretty badly in my interview because my results are quite good. Are the interviewers the one who decide whether a person to be accepted in IMU?

Anyone here that had their interview on 22nd of April receive the letter?

What should i do now? cry.gif
guanteck
post Apr 29 2008, 06:50 PM

QUOTE(chika138 @ Apr 29 2008, 05:54 PM)
jz pray n wait lo
my juniors are also still waiting for the results ma
that day during interview did u see many malays?
Yea. That day was actually allocated for JPA students to interview. So, there are alot of malays there. I am a private candidate and i am suppose to be interviewed on the 24th. I can't make it on that day, so they put me on 22nd sad.gif Is it a good thing or a bad thing to be interviewed along with those JPA scholars? If i were to be compared with them, i am a dead meat. shakehead.gif
guanteck
post Apr 29 2008, 08:50 PM

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 29 2008, 06:57 PM)
they don't select on a day to day basis lah.....

if you have not been offered, you are likely on their hold list, awaiting people to reject offers.....the bad news is, for the 2nd intake, there fewer rejections as there are few intake alternatives at that time, and is a tougher group to compete with, ie those from a levels and stpm.....generally the easiest batch is the 1st intake......and lots will choose monash msia.......allowing many with rather low results to still slip in 2nd or even 3rd list....and of course that's the batch with the highest attrition rate at the end of the year......what's you results anyway?
I see. I guess i will just hope that someone will reject their offers then. sad.gif

I've got straight 12As in SPM ( 9A1,3A2) and straight 4As for my A-level, as in the forecast result that i handed in for application.

guanteck
post Apr 30 2008, 02:58 PM

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 29 2008, 09:45 PM)
you should be in the 1st list.......just wait for it.......btw, did you hand in you final a level results?.....if you haven't, you should quickly........
I haven't gotten my final A-lvls result yet. I will be sitting for it this may/june. So until then, i only have my forecast result with me.

So, normally wat are the percentage of people in 1st list to be able to be accepted in IMU? And when do i normally get to receive the letter? Crap, i hope it will be real soon. This waiting part is really torturing. sad.gif
guanteck
post Apr 30 2008, 04:50 PM

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 30 2008, 03:51 PM)
oh, i thought you are in the nov/dec exam........

in that case, you will receive a conditional offer, stating the minimum requirements, which should be something like ABB or something like that........you will need to pay up on accepting, but in the event you fail to make the grades, they will refund you....it's early days still, you should get offers maybe June........
Yea, my fren told me that his is a conditional offer and the minimum requirement is BBC. But, they will refund u? I thought they won't? I heard from my friend that u even have to meet a lawyer to make a vow that u will not attempt to ask for the refund if u've failed to make the grades. shocking.gif

Wow June? That's really late. Actually, frankly, i do not have any back up plan if i din get the offer from IMU. So, i guess i've to start thinking of one now, just in case i dun get the offer? What would u guys recommend? It seems that there are quite little option to pick up a twinning medicine course here, in Malaysia.

I've thought of Monash but it seems that there's only a 5 year local course there right?

I really hope that i will get the IMU offer. sad.gif
guanteck
post Apr 30 2008, 04:56 PM

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Apr 30 2008, 04:53 PM)
wow, BBC, those r the future drs in malaysia
Yea. I was quite shocked too. Wat? BBC? I always thought that the minimum requirement would be like at least a BBA. I heard the minimum requirement for Monash is much higher right?

0.0479sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:03 PM