Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

CyberSetan
post May 15 2009, 11:03 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(ShaneNg @ May 15 2009, 10:57 PM)
Hey, MBBSSiang had been having some network difficulties, which we'll be expecting him shortly, and shortly after that, he's off to MMA.
So, he made his mind after all, that is interesting. I'm waiting for his reasons for choosing MMA.
Ibrahimovic
post May 15 2009, 11:10 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

Haha, yeah MBBSiang used to update a lot of his story before stopped abruptly. Hopefully he say something on the condition there.
chika138
post May 15 2009, 11:26 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

haha i can ask him to post his latest update so far if that's what u guys want tongue.gif
and yes he's having internet problem (that's what he told me la through sms la)
hypermax
post May 15 2009, 11:31 PM

2,524 posts

Wow, guess he's becoming a super star here. Everyone keeps in touch with him biggrin.gif
limeuu
post May 16 2009, 12:59 AM

12,290 posts

pedantic mode on......

this is a med student thread, so sorry, all you prospective students will need to stop posting here, with you endless questions about entry qualifications, which uni, costs, recognitions of qualifications etc..........

doctors are also off topic here, you are no more med students.........

forum admin will need to take note......

pedantic mode off......

sigh......don't know why i bother really, it's amazing how sometimes people who wants and expects help and advise can still be so sarcastic and cocky...... rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by limeuu: May 16 2009, 01:15 AM
hypermax
post May 16 2009, 06:10 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 16 2009, 12:59 AM)
pedantic mode on......

this is a med student thread, so sorry, all you prospective students will need to stop posting here, with you endless questions about entry qualifications, which uni, costs, recognitions of qualifications etc..........

pedantic mode off......

sigh......don't know why i bother really, it's amazing how sometimes people who wants and expects help and advise can still be so sarcastic and cocky...... rolleyes.gif
I dun see endless questions about entry requirements in this thread, i only see endless enthusiasm in discussing about entry requirement in someone. It's surprising to see how delusional one can be. drool.gif

I guess most of us are fed up with discussing entry requirement. Just move on dude. doh.gif
Ibrahimovic
post May 16 2009, 10:54 AM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ May 15 2009, 11:31 PM)
Wow, guess he's becoming a super star here. Everyone keeps in touch with him  biggrin.gif
rclxms.gif

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 16 2009, 12:59 AM)
pedantic mode on......

pedantic mode off......

But this thread would not achieve 100 pages if not of this. Btw that 'sarcastic and cocky' not refering to me right cry.gif
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post May 16 2009, 12:54 PM

1,396 posts

wow, how did mbbssiang come abouts to giving you guys his number .

yeah mbbssiang is quite the super star. Okay i'm just gonna star the prospective medical students thread. anyone else has anything to add i'll just update the main 1st post from then on.
Ibrahimovic
post May 16 2009, 02:28 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

OK I be sure to be the first to post on that thread!
MBBS siang
post May 16 2009, 05:35 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ May 16 2009, 12:03 AM)
So, he made his mind after all, that is interesting. I'm waiting for his reasons for choosing MMA.
Hi! Im back!I have receive the offer letter from MMA even though it is an "easy"offer letter but I still feel very happy.Its because,at least I still have the chance to fulfil my ambition. smile.gif
The reason that I choose russian medical school is:

1. I have financial problem and the agent can definitely help me to solve this problem.

2. MMA is one of the Medical school that the JPA scholars are sent(recognition should
be no problem).

4. The russian uni is the only medical school that I can afford and (reason1).

5. I know there are some negative news and corruption in russian uni,but
believe the attitude is the key of learning.(Not all the russian medical graduates are
incompetent)

6. From some senior experiences,If I dont have other better choice(financial problems)
and want to study in russia.They recommend me to go MMA.

I started to get as much information as possible about MMA and trying to aware and avoid some stupid and irresponsible behavior.Im sure,I will not become killer.
My determination and serious attitude will lead me to be a competent and good doctor.Im sure for that.

All the senior here,please guide me! tongue.gif

thanks! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: May 16 2009, 07:50 PM
herbalifemalaysia
post May 17 2009, 07:09 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(smartymh @ Mar 7 2007, 02:47 PM)
I'm from IMU, partnered to Dundee,UK and now working in UK. Woohoo, after all these long years as medical STUD-ent.

I need to clarify something first of all. You don't need to be genius to be a medical doctor. All you need is a good results from A-level, STPM or equivalent to qualify into a medical school. Once you qualify, all you need is brain cells to memorize all (not all, but MOST) of the medical facts that you will learn. Once you pass and grad as a doctor, all you need if to be street-smart i.e. be empathic, work hard and have a good clinical skills. As a doctor, you learn from working experience. So stop showing off by talking medical (trash) terms or conversing in medico-latin words. I hate some smart-alecs from year 1 or 2 who talk trash about anatomy and physiology which they just learn from few hours of lecture and not knowing how to apply it on human beings called patients.

Therefore, if you don't like medicine don't 'try' it. Medicine is boring if you don't have the interest. With re: to studying in IMU, I can say I have no regrets. IMU life is one of my best part of my life. Ppl you met in IMU are awesome, and believe me IMU is just great.
hey there been accepted for august 09 intake to study pms medicine at IMU..was wondering after you;ve graduated from your uk uni, what doeps it take for you to get a work permit after you've done your housemanship?? do you have to work twice as hard to just prove you're worthy of havin a work permit?? am scared they'd send me back to my home country(egypt) after av completed my studies in the u,k :S
SUSOptiplex330
post May 17 2009, 08:05 AM

12,696 posts

IMU twinning to UK medical school. After you graduate, can you automatically get the 2 yrs work permit to work?
chika138
post May 17 2009, 09:50 AM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

ya 2 years housemanship is guaranteed
MBBS siang
post May 17 2009, 09:57 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ May 17 2009, 10:50 AM)
ya 2 years housemanship is guaranteed
Wah! so good! rclxms.gif
ShaneNg
post May 17 2009, 11:36 AM

217 posts

How about after the housemanship?
I heard that they're no longer employing foreign doctors right?

Same applies to Australia?

Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post May 17 2009, 12:53 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(ShaneNg @ May 17 2009, 11:36 AM)
How about after the housemanship?
I heard that they're no longer employing foreign doctors right?

Same applies to Australia?

as of now UK allows a foreigner to get the HO years doen, after which they wont allow you to enter post graduate. I think if you're desperate, go marry a local and inherit a UK citizenship just for the sake of getting post grad : )

i have not heard of Australia turning away foreign graduates.
hypermax
post May 17 2009, 10:26 PM

2,524 posts

If i am not mistaken, all foreign graduates including those from UK and US have to take AMC in order to practice in Aus. Anyone can clarify on this?
Ibrahimovic
post May 17 2009, 11:05 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ May 16 2009, 05:35 PM)
Hi! Im back!I have receive the offer letter from MMA even though it is an "easy"offer letter but I still feel very happy.Its because,at least I still have the chance to fulfil my ambition. smile.gif
The reason that I choose russian medical school is:

1. I have financial problem and the agent can definitely help me to solve this problem.

2. MMA is one of the Medical school that the JPA scholars are sent(recognition should
    be no problem).

5. I know there are some negative news and corruption in russian uni,but 
    believe the attitude is the key of learning.(Not all the russian medical graduates are
    incompetent)

6. From some senior experiences,If I dont have other better choice(financial problems)
    and want to study in russia.They recommend me to go MMA.
I started to get as much information as possible about MMA and trying to aware and avoid some stupid and irresponsible behavior.Im sure,I will not become killer.
My determination and serious attitude will lead me to be a competent and good doctor.Im sure for that.

All the senior here,please guide me! tongue.gif 

thanks! notworthy.gif
Waa the superstar return! rclxms.gif

Well it is easy to enter but have to work hard upon entering. I almost thought you will enter IMU or AIMST. But anyway goodluck!

So after PMS in UK, it would hard to get a work permit eh? Any PMS-IMU student you know live in UK as a doctor?

CyberSetan
post May 17 2009, 11:19 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ May 16 2009, 05:35 PM)

So what is the estimated cost for the entire 6-years of medical study there (tuition fees, food, books, travel, accomodation)?

Are you certain that it will be cheaper?

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: May 17 2009, 11:26 PM
wgy589
post May 17 2009, 11:30 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ May 17 2009, 10:26 PM)
If i am not mistaken, all foreign graduates including those from UK and US have to take AMC in order to practice in Aus. Anyone can clarify on this?
If i'm not wrong, UK graduates who have finished their 2 foundation years are exempted from AMC exam. It was introduced few years back. can't find the link though.

127 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Top

0.0342sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:11 AM