4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 20 2008, 10:27 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Leto Kynes @ Oct 19 2008, 12:13 AM)
I'm just wondering guys, but for those of you who are studying medicine now..

What subjects did you take during A-Levels?

Would Chem+Bio+Physics+Maths be a good choice?
Chemistry is a MUST.

SUSOptiplex330
post Dec 1 2008, 08:13 AM

12,696 posts

The Why and How to solve is right there in the news report:

"He said these doctors were either psychotic or neurotic but still managed to get into medical schools because these schools were not screening students meticulously enough."

Start with selection of students.

SUSOptiplex330
post Dec 4 2008, 08:14 AM

12,696 posts

I am sure some psychological test and interview can weed out some before they enter medical school.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 2 2009, 11:17 AM

12,696 posts

With Sterling Pound at RM5, you should seriously consider doing the degree in UK because it will only cost about RM100K more over 5 yrs.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 2 2009, 01:19 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 2 2009, 12:03 PM)
there is some serious flaws in the maths here........rm100k/5 years is 20k/year.........even the cheapest ipts med school here (aimst) charges more than that........ blink.gif

most uk med school fees only are about pounds sterling 20k/year....
I reckon with everything in, study in one of the cheaper UK university is about RM600+K whereas in Monash Malaysia would be RM500+K for the entire 5 yrs course. Hence the "RM100K more" calculation.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jan 2 2009, 01:22 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 2 2009, 02:50 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 2 2009, 02:42 PM)
my bad, i missed the 'more'........ biggrin.gif

no, monash fees is 400k over 5 years.......

remember there is significantly more cost in living expenses in uk, and factor in the airfares once or twice a year over 5 years........
If you go for the cheaper location like Leeds in UK, your tuition fees + living cost for 5 yrs should be around RM600K+.

With Monash Malaysia fee + living cost, it would probably be around RM500K+ for 5 yrs.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 2 2009, 03:36 PM

12,696 posts

Leeds total tuition + living comes to RM620K.

I know for certain you can get by with GBP4K/yr or 20K/5yr or RMRM100K/5yr in Leeds because it's the cheapest in UK and if you are careful with money. Of course if you wanted to go to London's Imperial College or go to pub every night, then this budget flies out of the window.

And mind you, Monash fees increases every year unlike Leeds which are fixed upon 1st entry.

http://www.rbs.co.uk/content/personal/curr...iving_Index.pdf

Added on January 2, 2009, 3:50 pm
QUOTE(Visualize @ Jan 2 2009, 03:36 PM)
If I'm not mistaken, Monash 1st year fees is 80k, but for every subsequent year, the fees increases by x%, forgot how many %. So the total after the fee increment each year would total up to around 500k+. That would be tuition fees alone.
My own calculation comes to:
5 yrs tuition fee (including annual increase) RM460K
5 yrs living expenses RM90K
Total RM550K.

Excluding London. UK ranges from RM620K to RM750K depending on which uni you go to. All courtesy of the falling Sterling Pound.

In other word, doing the cost in UK is only about RM70K to RM200K more than MM.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jan 2 2009, 03:50 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 2 2009, 04:17 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 2 2009, 04:04 PM)
i think you need to relook at the figures........the rbs article is based on part time work covering part of the cost, ie net outlay after taking into account term time part time work.......it is not possible for a medical student to do any significant part time work.......certainly not in the clinical years......

if you look at the average expenses, it already comes to 130+73 (living +rent) ie 200 pounds a week......ie 10k pounds a year..........

if you take the cheapest of the two figures from 2 different cities, it's still 150 pounds a week, or 7.5k a year........
Leeds own calculation comes to GBP 5200. So if you are very careful with money, GBP4K is possible. I know of someone doing just that and that is where I got that figure.

http://www.leeds.ac.uk/students/cost_of_living_postgrad.htm

Added on January 2, 2009, 4:20 pm
QUOTE(Visualize @ Jan 2 2009, 04:07 PM)
What I don't get is the hype about Monash.. I've seen lots of people being so happy/proud simply becuz they're from Monash.. Their quality of education have not even been proven yet as their first batch will be graduating end of this year and the fees are skyhigh for a local programme..
I think one can indeed be proud to be in Monash when you compared it with the other private uni offering medicine. I heard their admission requirement is the strictest.

I reckon the biggest advantage would be being recognized by the Australian medical council.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jan 2 2009, 04:20 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 10 2009, 12:38 PM

12,696 posts

Correct me if I am wrong.

If you really wanted to be a doctor, go to the cheapest place you can find. If it's recognized, fine. If it's not recognized by any country, also fine.

Then go sit for United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE).
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 10 2009, 01:00 PM

12,696 posts

If you are academically intelligent and have the right attitude and perseverance, I don't think it really matter where. You could go to Indonesian university which should be cheap. Learn what you can and go sit for USMLE.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 15 2009, 03:34 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Jan 15 2009, 01:46 PM)
Hard to really understand it. So does IMU/PMC/Monash will make grads to study in Singapore?
AFAIK,

IMU entirely completed in Malaysia. No.

IMU+Twinning with RECOGNIZED UK/Aust uni. Yes because Clinical year done in UK/Aust.
(Note: Not all UK/AUST uni are recognized)

PMC. No because Clinical year not done in Ireland.

Monash. No (for the moment).

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 15 2009, 07:32 PM

12,696 posts

I am not quite sure how that works out. Take for example 2 different types of teaching, the traditional approach and the newer PBL.

With the traditional Pre Clinical, you simply study all the scientific knowledge about the human body. Purely academic. This I think shouldn't be too difficult for IMU to do. After that, the partner overseas university takes over.

But I can't understand how a oversea uni that practice PBL integrate with IMU's program.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 20 2009, 07:56 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jan 20 2009, 06:54 PM)
The problem now is not with influx of foreign grads, but newly built IPTS sweat.gif
My prediction. When these new IPTS graduate comes out and have no vacancies for them, our government could easily de-recognized those from overseas. After all, recognition has always been politically motivated, including the Australian.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 28 2009, 10:25 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jan 28 2009, 02:45 PM)
With UEC, you can apply for National Taiwan University which is recognized by SMC. Not necessarily need to go angmoh country to study.
With UEC, your choice of country to go to do medicine are greatly reduced.

I know of a student who got excellent UEC result who decided to redo the A level just to go to angmoh country to do medicine. She probably just like the different anhmoh environment.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 29 2009, 08:18 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Yeyechan @ Jan 28 2009, 05:46 PM)
But I have to be very lucky to be picked, i mean SUPER lucky coz they only give out 3 places in their medicine programme for the WHOLE uec science student in malaysia. So the ratio will be like 1:???......

It isn't really easy going there too. =)
You surely don't mean all the Taiwanese universities ALTOGETHER only give a combined figure of 3 medicine places to UEC students? If yes, then it sure is EXTREMELY tough in comparison to those doing STPM and A Level.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 29 2009, 04:38 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Jan 29 2009, 10:20 AM)
Regardless of qualification, regardless of medical school, entrance into any medical school should NOT be "easy". Taiwanese universities has no obligation to Malaysian students. If you really know how things work there you should be grateful they take in International students to start of with.
Bugger, I forgot sarcasm does not work for many Malaysians.
I do not know anything about Taiwanese universities but for UK/AUST etc, education is a big money earner. It's just another form of business but due to far more applicants than there are places, they can still afford to pick the more qualified applicants.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 30 2009, 02:42 PM

12,696 posts

If you are lousy doctor, sure you can do what you want. Knock off work at 5pm and to hell with the patients. Have a relaxed life and watch soap opera on TV. Not possible at all if you wanted to be a good doctor.

To be a good doctor is a calling. You must genuinely want to help people and have good interpersonal skill. And of course, work like slave when still a junior doctor in hospital. Not a profession I fancy at all.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jan 30 2009, 02:48 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Feb 1 2009, 06:51 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Feb 1 2009, 06:37 PM)
there are certain conditions to get admitted into NUS, ie straight A's in all subpapers, gud interview/essay performance, strong CCA, MUET band 6.  there's no nid to cry lar.
National University of Singapore. They don't want our low standard Cambridge or Edexcel A Level. They have their own higher standard Cambridge Singapore A Level.
SUSOptiplex330
post Feb 1 2009, 07:36 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Feb 1 2009, 07:07 PM)
u can use malaysia Alevels to apply there wat
Assuming 2 equally matched applicant with same A Level grades. They will pick the one with Cambridge Singapore A Level and not the normal Cambridge A Level from Taylor.

SUSOptiplex330
post Feb 10 2009, 08:53 AM

12,696 posts

SUBANG JAYA (Feb 9): Did you know that the stigma of HIV/AIDS, and discrimination against those afflicted is higher among the medical fraternity compared with others?

Malaysian Aids Council (MAC) president Prof Dr Adeeba Kamarulzaman said it is important to campaign with the medical profession, before engaging the rest of the community because there is still a strong discrimination within the group.

"All I ask of medical students who are going to graduate is to always put aside emotions and moral judgments in their profession," she told some 270 medical students at the East Asia Medical Students Conference (EAMSC) 2009 at Monash University Sunway Campus recently.

"Many of the older doctors are the worst people to stigmatise HIV/AIDS patients and those from the marginalised groups.

"Sadly, in the Malaysian medical profession as a whole, its engagement within the community to advocate for HIV has been muted," she said in her keynote address at the opening of the conference

Adeeba said the task is often left to a few "to- be-doctors and advocates to educate the community and do prevention work".

She believes "you cannot teach old dogs new tricks" and hopes younger doctors will change that mindset.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0211sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:05 PM