127 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

Gratificator97
post Nov 26 2007, 03:45 AM

42 posts

Hey guys. Im a newbie here.

About me : A rare mental disorder sufferer spared to hav wasted 8 years. Luckily by the utmost God's blessings,
successfully subdued the hardest times & found the right doctor that treats me. Im on the recovery to
go on a normal life.

Hope u guys can help me out : Im 25 years old by now. Do u guys think its too late to pursue in Med field? Bcoz of
the mental disorder, I left only wif SPM qualification. Btw, watz the approximate cost
for A-Lvl? The last question is, watz the duration to become a medical specialist?
(in Malaysia, Singapore, or Oz perhaps?)

Im truly grateful of the presence of this forum. It really offers great information. Frankly, I've done plenty of
psychology tests & I am meant to be a Physician in Medical field. I totally agree wif the fact that a great doctor is a
doctor wif a great heart. I really appreciate ur help TQ.

wgy589
post Nov 26 2007, 12:23 PM

759 posts

i dun think age is of form of obstacle to stop u from pursuing medic, but
instead $ n enthusiasm r the decidin factors.

duration from SPM to become a specialist realli depends, just 2 many factors, eg country, speciality, ur ability 2 pass the exam, subspecialty.... i would say it's from 15 to 20 years. but again, it depends
ironboots
post Nov 26 2007, 06:13 PM

29 posts

after your pre-u provided u have the grades, u will need 5-6 years of undergrad med school and followed by another 6 years (very optimistic and general ball park figure.. usually more) before u get to be a specialist in oz anyway.

different countries different pathways. msia expect longer unless u bumi. in UK very long also due to their system. SG i have no idea.

u can shave 1-2 years off ur med school by going to dundee which is a 4yr program

also medicine is not cheap to study unless u get into local u but since u r taking A levels i guess u r not looking that way.
limeuu
post Nov 26 2007, 09:46 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(ironboots @ Nov 26 2007, 06:13 PM)
after your pre-u provided u have the grades, u will need 5-6 years of undergrad med school and followed by another 6 years (very optimistic and general ball park figure.. usually more) before u get to be a specialist in oz anyway.

different countries different pathways. msia expect longer unless u bumi. in UK very long also due to their system. SG i have no idea.

u can shave 1-2 years off ur med school by going to dundee which is a 4yr program

also medicine is not cheap to study unless u get into local u but since u r taking A levels i guess u r not looking that way.
wrong.......dundee is a normal 5 year programme, but for the purpose of twinning with imu, they admit students after 2 1/2 years at imu into the 4th year for another 2 clinical years, making it 4 1/2 years. Aberdeen is 2 1/2 years making it 5 years, and the rest are 3 years making it 5 1/2 years or more, depending on how you fit into the partner med school timing......some may need to wait 9 months before they can start the 2nd half of the programme at the partner med school............
ironboots
post Nov 26 2007, 09:55 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Nov 26 2007, 09:46 PM)
wrong.......dundee is a normal 5 year programme, but for the purpose of twinning with imu, they admit students after 2 1/2 years at imu into the 4th year for another 2 clinical years, making it 4 1/2 years. Aberdeen is 2 1/2 years making it 5 years, and the rest are 3 years making it 5 1/2 years or more, depending on how you fit into the partner med school timing......some may need to wait 9 months before they can start the 2nd half of the programme at the partner med school............
o rly my mistake then. so what uni r u from? sound like IMU if u know so much about our pms program
Gratificator97
post Nov 27 2007, 12:07 AM

42 posts

wonder where u guys take A-Lvl? Or u guys gained entry thru STPM qualification?

Btw, can recommend any excellent A-Lvl Centre? I heard so many complaints from Inti, Sunway, HELP, UCSI especially. Is Brickfield Asia College (BAC) A-Lvl recommended for students who wish to pursue in Med field? As far as I know, BAC is famous for the Law, A-Lvl for Medicine? = No Idea.
csrulez
post Nov 27 2007, 09:26 PM

Life is short, play hard.
1,114 posts

yup, of course you will be able to pursue your medical studies! FYI age doesn't matters, i've had a senior here who's already 37yo and just graduated from his 5 year MBBS course. He's currently waiting for government posting.

Cost for A levels, depends where you wanna take it. It can range from 10k to 28k depending on how many subjects you're taking as well.

Duration to become a specialist? You have to count it yourself, normally this is how it goes: 5 years of undergraduate studies, if you're doing your internship in Malaysia, they have increased it to 2 years. After your housemanship, you will need to serve the Malaysian government for 3 years. You can start your specialisation programme on your 2nd year of government service. For the duration of master programme, it'll take between 4 to 7 years depending on what you're taking? This i'm not really sure, sorry guys! Do clarify for me. =]
onelove89
post Nov 28 2007, 07:34 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

hey guys, i'm off to aus for foundation next yr , target MBBS =) hopefully I get in and pass the test and interview T.T wish me luck.

This post has been edited by onelove89: Nov 28 2007, 07:35 AM
wgy589
post Nov 29 2007, 09:40 AM

759 posts

take it ezy man, Aus is not dat tough 2 get in if u realli haf the ability 2 do medic. quite a no of my friends got in, but not studyin there cos of financial prob. not sure y they applied in the 1st place ...lol

All the Best.
haya
post Nov 30 2007, 02:26 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(ironboots @ Nov 26 2007, 09:55 PM)
o rly my mistake then. so what uni r u from? sound like IMU if u know so much about our pms program
I suggest you use something called the internet, and find out information on your own, instead of thinking youre 1337 just because you know "o rly". Not all of us are even doing MBBS, but we know something called research, instead of waiting to be spoonfed like a typical Malaysian.

http://www.imu.edu.my/partner_medical.html
http://www.dundee.ac.uk/prospectus/undergr...fs/Medicine.pdf

No one below the top 1% should even consider Medicne.
Huey_nee
post Nov 30 2007, 05:25 PM

460 posts

Hi... I'm biomedical electronic engineering student from UniMAP.. can i join? unsure.gif
ironboots
post Nov 30 2007, 07:45 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Nov 30 2007, 02:26 PM)
I suggest you use something called the internet, and find out information on your own, instead of thinking youre 1337 just because you know "o rly". Not all of us are even doing MBBS, but we know something called research, instead of waiting to be spoonfed like a typical Malaysian.

http://www.imu.edu.my/partner_medical.html
http://www.dundee.ac.uk/prospectus/undergr...fs/Medicine.pdf

No one below the top 1% should even consider Medicne.
i used o rly as a short form and i admitted my mistake.
all i did was ask him what uni he was in and i assumed he was a med student. i asked him before that post as well so please dont make baseless accusations.
seriously what's your problem?

and i hope you are not implyig that my grades are not in the top 1% of my pre-u course with your last statement because u seem to like making a lot of assumptions.

edit: i suppose i'm guilty of making the assumption that limeuu was a med student since he knew about specialising and details of IMU's PMS program and guilty also for assuming that dundee would only be 4 years program because people from IMU only do 2 years of clinicals. so if limeuu is not a med student and was offended that i took the liberty of assuming as such, i do apologise. and if there was anyone who was misinformed by my post about dundee i also apologise to you.

Added on November 30, 2007, 7:48 pm
QUOTE(ironboots @ Nov 25 2007, 11:58 PM)
lol he was probably just confused with her getting accepted as a registrar in anesthetics after 2.5yrs as intern and resident
btw where/what yr r u in? dont think u introduced urself

edit: fixed some mistakes cos i'm posting half asleep
where i asked him the same question just out of simple curiosity as was the same reason the 2nd time I asked.

This post has been edited by ironboots: Nov 30 2007, 08:22 PM
StarGhazzer
post Dec 4 2007, 12:14 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

^ Geesh..... peace people, peace... no point bashing each other up over a little misunderstanding.

QUOTE(Gratificator97 @ Nov 26 2007, 03:45 AM)
Hey guys.  Im a newbie here.

About me : A rare mental disorder sufferer spared to hav wasted 8 years.  Luckily by the utmost God's blessings,
                successfully subdued the hardest times & found the right doctor that treats me.  Im  on the recovery to
                go on a normal life.

Hope u guys can help me out : Im 25 years old by now.  Do u guys think its too late to pursue in Med field?  Bcoz of
                                            the mental disorder, I left only wif SPM qualification.  Btw, watz the approximate cost
                                            for A-Lvl?  The last question is, watz the duration to become a medical specialist?
                                            (in Malaysia, Singapore, or Oz perhaps?)

Im truly grateful of the presence of this forum. It really offers great information.  Frankly, I've done plenty of
psychology tests & I am meant to be a Physician in Medical field.  I totally agree wif the fact that a great doctor is a
doctor wif a great heart.  I really appreciate ur help TQ.
WOW... Good for you.

Age is not a problem at all. 25 is not really that old anyway... if everything goes well you'll grad by early 30s.

There used to be a 36 year old engineer in IMU before... M1/01 batch I think. Never seen him before but heard news about him. Over here in my batch there's hell lots of post grads who are already in their 30s. So no worries there.

Just finished exams last week... Stuffed OSCE again. Damn.
aerikh
post Dec 6 2007, 02:48 PM

399 posts

wow, haven't been in this thread for quite some time... laugh.gif

for gratificator..

STPMm SAM, A-level equivalents: 1-2 years

IPTA MD/MBBS 5 years

housemanship 2 years

govt service 2 years if you wanna further studies, 3 years if you wanna open your own clinic

master's programme 4 years

subspeciality 2-3 years

so, with hard work & a little luck, you could be a specialist in 14 years, or a superspecialist in 16!

since you're 25 (1 year older than me only), you can specialize at 39 y/o..
& if you keep yourself healthy & alert, there can be longer years of service ahead for you... smile.gif

age is never a barrier.. it's your will & determination! icon_rolleyes.gif nod.gif
wgy589
post Dec 6 2007, 03:50 PM

759 posts

n $ of course
aerikh
post Dec 6 2007, 04:12 PM

399 posts

lol.. yeah... forgot bout that important detail... tongue.gif
d(@@)b
post Dec 7 2007, 10:39 AM

724 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Dec 4 2007, 12:14 PM)
^ Geesh..... peace people, peace... no point bashing each other up over a little misunderstanding.
WOW... Good for you.

Age is not a problem at all. 25 is not really that old anyway... if everything goes well you'll grad by early 30s.

There used to be a 36 year old engineer in IMU before... M1/01 batch I think. Never seen him before but heard news about him. Over here in my batch there's hell lots of post grads who are already in their 30s. So no worries there.

Just finished exams last week... Stuffed OSCE again. Damn.
you still in IMU? what question did you get for your osce?
csrulez
post Dec 7 2007, 03:07 PM

Life is short, play hard.
1,114 posts

lol, we got OSPE here at AIMST. I guess diff has diff practical exam?
wgy589
post Dec 7 2007, 04:38 PM

759 posts

wat's dat? OSCE, OCPE? Sounds very pro
Jedi
post Dec 7 2007, 05:57 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

hello guys, need suggestions from ya.

if money is not a problem and europe, USA, Australia is one of my migration destination [and to pursue postgraduate specialist ] after having a medical degree, where can i pursue my medical course?

russian degree is not recognised at most of the places....
how about Penang Medical College with ireland degree?
IMU twinning?

enlighten me plzz

This post has been edited by Jedi: Dec 7 2007, 05:58 PM

127 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:23 AM