limeuu
post Dec 7 2007, 06:04 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Dec 7 2007, 05:57 PM)
hello guys, need suggestions from ya.

if money is not a problem and europe, USA, Australia is one of my migration destination [and to pursue postgraduate specialist ] after having a medical degree, where can i pursue my medical course?

russian degree is not recognised at most of the places....
how about Penang Medical College with ireland degree?
IMU twinning?

enlighten me plzz
what do you mean by that?
wgy589
post Dec 7 2007, 06:41 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Dec 7 2007, 05:57 PM)
hello guys, need suggestions from ya.

if money is not a problem and europe, USA, Australia is one of my migration destination [and to pursue postgraduate specialist ] after having a medical degree, where can i pursue my medical course?

russian degree is not recognised at most of the places....
how about Penang Medical College with ireland degree?
IMU twinning?

enlighten me plzz
wao, if $ is not a prob, den u realli haf the potential 2 do dat.
i think the best way is go IMU, study hard, and twin to Jefferson o any Canadian Uni. Then move 2 US n get into their residency (specialist). US is realli the country wif least discrimination against foriegners (if not S'pore).

Added on December 7, 2007, 6:43 pmrealli, it's the best way (if u haf the $),even if compared 2 Oxbridge/Melbourne, cos both UK n Aus r havin a system 2 protect their own people.

This post has been edited by wgy589: Dec 7 2007, 06:43 PM
Jedi
post Dec 7 2007, 08:25 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 7 2007, 06:04 PM)
what do you mean by that?
i mean i am going to migrate there.

Added on December 7, 2007, 8:26 pm
QUOTE(wgy589 @ Dec 7 2007, 06:41 PM)
wao, if $ is not a prob, den u realli haf the potential 2 do dat.
i think the best way is go IMU, study hard, and twin to Jefferson o any Canadian Uni. Then move 2 US n get into their residency (specialist). US is realli the country wif least discrimination against foriegners (if not S'pore).

Added on December 7, 2007, 6:43 pmrealli, it's the best way (if u haf the $),even if compared 2 Oxbridge/Melbourne, cos both UK n Aus r havin a system 2 protect their own people.
that means singapore and USA is my best option?
hmmm indeed singapore loves potential chinese...and no discrimination

This post has been edited by Jedi: Dec 7 2007, 08:26 PM
limeuu
post Dec 7 2007, 11:27 PM

12,290 posts

if migration is the intention, then go directly to the intended country and study there, if money is no object.......that would be ideal........

however, direct entry into med schools in some countries can be very difficult, due to foreigner restrictions or entry requirements.........

so a backdoor way is via imu......

whether you will be allowed to stay back and work depends on the policy of the country at that time.........this can change with time in some countries...........

generally, the us has the most favourable policies towards foreigners working, but is very restrictive in admitting foreign students......but the way around that is, you can train in any country, and pass at least the umsle step 2 to qualify to be registered to work there........
d(@@)b
post Dec 8 2007, 12:33 PM

724 posts

i thought Jedi mentioned he earned a medical degree already.... im confused here.... sleep.gif
Jedi
post Dec 8 2007, 04:32 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Dec 8 2007, 12:33 PM)
i thought Jedi mentioned he earned a medical degree already.... im confused here.... sleep.gif
no i have not. it is a case of if's. I am still considering all my options available to me
d(@@)b
post Dec 9 2007, 09:34 AM

724 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Dec 8 2007, 04:32 PM)
no i have not. it is a case of if's. I am still considering all my options available to me
well, its rather the other way round. for medicine course, it really depends which uni will choose. After my SAM, i applied for Adelaide, UNSW, UWA, Melbourne, Bond Uni, NUS, and lastly IMU. And only IMU accept me -____- though i fulfill all the requirements.
limeuu
post Dec 9 2007, 09:52 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Dec 9 2007, 09:34 AM)
well, its rather the other way round. for medicine course, it really depends which uni will choose. After my SAM, i applied for Adelaide, UNSW, UWA, Melbourne, Bond Uni, NUS, and lastly IMU. And only IMU accept me -____- though i fulfill all the requirements.
that is exactly what i have been trying to tell everyone, with limited success.....in any other course, you choose where you wanna go................but for medicine (and dentistry) the med schools will choose you, and you go where ever you are chosen.....if you get chosen.....

*caveat*: does not apply to non-reputable med schools where ability to pay overrides any other criteria in the selection process.......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Dec 9 2007, 10:07 AM
StarGhazzer
post Dec 9 2007, 10:16 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Dec 7 2007, 10:39 AM)
you still in IMU? what question did you get for your osce?
No lah hehe... already finished my pre-clinicals in IMU more than a year ago.
OSCEs are everywhere, in every medical school...

Woot !! Summer holidays now... yet raining everyday in Msia sad.gif

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Dec 7 2007, 04:38 PM)
wat's dat? OSCE, OCPE? Sounds very pro
Join the dark side and you will know, my young padawan.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Dec 9 2007, 10:21 AM
Sharvyn
post Dec 9 2007, 10:47 AM

ocpe and osce is just one of the exam in med school....wait till u join the journey of no return , then only u'll know..... hee....

from my point of u.....(being a med student for 4+ years in local uni), u can go for IMU if ur parents r rich...*_*. i would not reco u to go russia for med degree..... u would have a hard time searching for postgrad course later.....and a hard time for u to struggle in medical life as lots of doctors or specialists actually look down on russian grads... and u would end up being tortured by them all the way( that's what i usually see in my hospital). anyway, good luck!!!

This post has been edited by Sharvyn: Dec 9 2007, 10:50 AM
csrulez
post Dec 9 2007, 12:52 PM

Life is short, play hard.
1,114 posts

Objective Structure Practical Examination (O S P E). Haha. Go google around if you wanna noe. =] Man, there gonna be lots more exams and CA coming soon. Hoping to finish my pre-clinical years soon and get into hospital attachments. X]
wgy589
post Dec 9 2007, 01:25 PM

759 posts

so, OSPE/OSCE is part of pre-clinical izzit?
if so, it's not in my skol

Oppps, actualli i was havin CA (just over), so didn't bother 2 google it

wow, csrulez can't wait 2 get into clinical years. relak la, the rest of ur life probably end up in clinicals.
aerikh
post Dec 9 2007, 02:20 PM

399 posts

hehe.. osce/ospe's are one of the most fun exams around!
can't remember any exam when everyone will be grinning at each other like idiots at the end.. tongue.gif

my favourite is still long case... you really need to talk yourself out of hell to save yourself.. tongue.gif
finaltrooper
post Dec 10 2007, 02:15 AM

134 posts

can anyone here help me???!!! pls i need all the experienced medic students to guide me! i planned to go to IMU, cos it's damn good n damn near to my place, BUT i know it's difficult cos it requires a very high entry requirements + interview...

my question is, which type of pre-u is good for medic? i'd love to take A-levels but it's a farking 1 1/2 years.. so damn long time! so i'm confused between ausmat or A-levels or even canadian pre-u!

okay, so about the pre-u thingy, i know i need to take the sciences subjects... as usual they'll offer chem + bio + phy in the subjects for pre-u, my question is, can i take only chem + bio? and replace phy with some other subjects like psychology? will it affect my entry to IMU? i'm okay with physics except the farking dull n boring electronics!!! those signs and functions will make me puke..
Jedi
post Dec 10 2007, 10:46 AM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(Sharvyn @ Dec 9 2007, 10:47 AM)
ocpe and osce is just one of the exam in med school....wait till u join the journey of no return , then only u'll know..... hee....

from my point of u.....(being a med student for 4+ years in local uni), u can go for IMU if ur parents r rich...*_*. i would not reco u to go russia for med degree..... u would have a hard time searching for postgrad course later.....and a hard time for u to struggle in medical life as lots of doctors or specialists actually look down on russian grads... and u would end up being tortured by them all the way( that's what i usually see in my hospital).  anyway, good luck!!!
so that means even if u study 5 year IMU locally [MBBS] u will still be like higher ranking and more regarded than russian grads?
wgy589
post Dec 10 2007, 10:46 AM

759 posts

y not just email them leh? i'm sure they 'll give u the best ans
Jedi
post Dec 10 2007, 10:47 AM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(finaltrooper @ Dec 10 2007, 02:15 AM)
can anyone here help me???!!! pls i need all the experienced medic students to guide me! i planned to go to IMU, cos it's damn good n damn near to my place, BUT i know it's difficult cos it requires a very high entry requirements + interview...

my question is, which type of pre-u is good for medic? i'd love to take A-levels but it's a farking 1 1/2 years.. so damn long time! so i'm confused between ausmat or A-levels or even canadian pre-u!

okay, so about the pre-u thingy, i know i need to take the sciences subjects... as usual they'll offer chem + bio + phy in the subjects for pre-u, my question is, can i take only chem + bio? and replace phy with some other subjects like psychology? will it affect my entry to IMU? i'm okay with physics except the farking dull n boring electronics!!! those signs and functions will make me puke..
same here...this SPM trial i have worst marks for physics..63 and got a b3..my worst subject shakehead.gif
StarGhazzer
post Dec 10 2007, 10:55 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(aerikh @ Dec 9 2007, 02:20 PM)
hehe.. osce/ospe's are one of the most fun exams around!
can't remember any exam when everyone will be grinning at each other like idiots at the end.. tongue.gif

my favourite is still long case... you really need to talk yourself out of hell to save yourself.. tongue.gif
Yuck... OSCE is YUCK tongue.gif everyone is grinning like idiots because we were so dumbfounded like idiots during exams hehe

Long case... I'm so going to die.

OSPE is fun though whistling.gif

QUOTE(finaltrooper @ Dec 10 2007, 02:15 AM)

Email IMU or call them... How can we vouch for anything we say? We're not representatives of the admin anyway.

Then again, I didn't take Bio in my preUs... physics is much more fun. Bio = boring memorising... Physics... OH YEAH.
munak991
post Dec 10 2007, 01:06 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

Does medical stuff difficult?
in my knowledge i only knew a few medical course.
Biomedical Engineer,Phamarcy,Doctor(include Dentist),Nutritionist.
Anyother considered Pro course?
aerikh
post Dec 10 2007, 02:24 PM

399 posts

em... depends on how u look at it...
student from medical schools would say that medical courses are MD/MBBS...
might extend to dentistry too...

at my campus, there are 3 schools...
School of Medical Sciences (MD)
School of Dentistry
School of Health Sciences (Biomed, Dietetic, Nursing, Radiology)

127 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:14 AM