Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

limeuu
post May 21 2007, 07:45 PM

12,290 posts

there is no such thing as the "best".............

you med students here better learn a new concept..........med schools are NOT in the businese of creating "best" student or doctor............but the best cohort of students..........

ie ALL student and newly minted doctors must be ALL well trained, ALL competent, ALL knowledgable, ALL empathic etc.............

therefore careful selection of students is of upmost importance..........

so "best" med school?....those whose selection process is the MOST stringent........
klifex
post May 24 2007, 10:41 PM

847 posts

best med school??..
i prefer the question should be best country?
as far as i can say it's definately not in Malaysia...from my point of view.

The chance of getting into Master programme is too slim...and most of the doctors opt for MRCP/MRCS so that they have higher chance of getting a place to do their master...
a master degree overseas will cost you 1 mil...almost impossible to go for it without scholarship or funding from government...
In certain countries such as US, UK...
after students done their housemanship, they can do their masterdegree while working under the teaching hospital. Then sub specialize in their field. The timeframe from a medical student to become a specialist is much more shorter...compare to malaysia's medical system..

you'll need to complete your housemanship and MO, 4 years, and if u lucky...continue with master (3-4years), and serve under supervision of consultant specialist...(maybe another 2-3 years)...then sub specialize again...(3-4 years)...
by the time u get out as a specialist...you're somewhere around 32-35 y/o...
compare to western countries where their can do master and sub specialize at the same time...they can sub specialize before the age of 30...
bmwlover
post May 26 2007, 01:19 AM

145 posts

I have some questions here...

1. I m from matrics...now facing big dilemma in choosing courses...i m a bio student...and i don rily noe isit suitable for me to go into medic...i m somekind of cold-blooded person...hardly develop sympathy towards ppl...is this a sign of not being a gud doctor...also...i m lack of patience...

2. I heard the job as a doctor can be very boring but can earn lotsa $$$....but doctor's life very hectic and no time to enjoy life wan right? Or can anyone clear me up on how a doctor's life will be?

th!!!
Elephant^^
post May 26 2007, 01:13 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ May 20 2007, 01:37 PM)
Hi, everyone. I'll matriculate into NUS (National University of Singapore) this August. Hope to join this forum soon.
oh dear,medic in NUS? u lucky one, i wanted that badly!! but they offered me pharmacy with full scholarship...which i turned it down................................... and ask them to go to hell, cry.gif

Added on May 26, 2007, 1:14 pm
QUOTE(bmwlover @ May 26 2007, 02:19 AM)

1. I m from matrics...now facing big dilemma in choosing courses...i m a bio student...and i don rily noe isit suitable for me to go into medic...i m somekind of cold-blooded person...hardly develop sympathy towards ppl...is this a sign of not being a gud doctor...also...i m lack of patience...

2. undefined th!!!
ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif dun be a doctor!!!!!!!!!!!

This post has been edited by Elephant^^: May 26 2007, 01:15 PM
limeuu
post May 26 2007, 03:07 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(klifex @ May 24 2007, 10:41 PM)
best med school??..
i prefer the question should be best country?
as far as i can say it's definately not in Malaysia...from my point of view.

The chance of getting into Master programme is too slim...and most of the doctors opt for MRCP/MRCS so that they have higher chance of getting a place to do their master...
a master degree overseas will cost you 1 mil...almost impossible to go for it without scholarship or funding from government...
In certain countries such as US, UK...
after students done their housemanship, they can do their masterdegree while working under the teaching hospital. Then sub specialize in their field. The timeframe from a medical student to become a specialist is much more shorter...compare to malaysia's medical system..

you'll need to complete your housemanship and MO, 4 years, and if u lucky...continue with master (3-4years), and serve under supervision of consultant specialist...(maybe another 2-3 years)...then sub specialize again...(3-4 years)...
by the time u get out as a specialist...you're somewhere around 32-35 y/o...
compare to western countries where their can do master and sub specialize at the same time...they can sub specialize before the age of 30...
klifax, you are painting a very confusing and most wrong picture of the postgraduate specialist training systems in the various countries............it is too complex, and at the moment fluid, for me to expalin, but those interested, please follow this link.........

http://forum.malaysianmedicine.com/
klifex
post May 31 2007, 11:14 AM

847 posts

o... u must talk to doctors to get those info... and of course public resources will tell you how easily you can obtain a master degree in various way...
but if you're practising in Malaysia...trust me..this is how it's going to be alike...
well, it doesn't matter anyway...complete the housemanship first then decide what to do later...

TSlegstrong
post Jun 4 2007, 03:25 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(klifex @ May 31 2007, 11:14 AM)
well, it doesn't matter anyway...complete the housemanship first then decide what to do later...
hoho...i can't agree more than that with you.
aerikh
post Jun 8 2007, 12:33 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(bmwlover @ May 26 2007, 01:19 AM)

2. I heard the job as a doctor can be very boring but can earn lotsa $$$....but doctor's life very hectic and no time to enjoy life wan right? Or can anyone clear me up on how a doctor's life will be?

th!!!
be a doctor because u WANT to be a doctor... not cz of ur results / family pressure / financial purposes

the medical profession is a very honourable one.. the reason why doctors are under such scrutiny & being in the news for all the wrong reasons is because of people who became doctors for the wrong reasons..

doctors are people who help others in need, using their knowledge and expertise in the medical field...
they are not people who can earn a lot of money / have stable financial life / people will hormat or sembah them / super duper cream of the cream of the cream of the nation...

if u enjoy relieving the pain & suffering of others, talking to people in need, working your a$$ off so that a stranger can sleep soundly at night,
then go ahead and be a doctor!

a doctors life should not be judged on how many cars / houses he owns.. or even the number of lives he has saved...
instead it should be the number or souls he/she has touched with kindness & compassion..

on the subject of the BEST medical school:

i agree that there's no BEST school... there's only the matter of LOCATION...
either the location BEST atau TAK BEST je...
like people dowan 2 go USM cz it's far away in KELANTAN... not becoz it's the worst Uni in Msia..

just my 2 cents here.. hope i don't offend anybody!

This post has been edited by aerikh: Jun 8 2007, 12:43 AM
TSlegstrong
post Jun 17 2007, 04:56 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(aerikh @ Jun 8 2007, 12:33 AM)
they are not people who can earn a lot of money / have stable financial life / people will hormat or sembah them / super duper cream of the cream of the cream of the nation...

i have to say, last time ppl do actually sembah doctors notworthy.gif ..hehe..

i for me, money is a form of a reward for serving to mankind. At least your kindness is paid.... rclxm9.gif

Elephant^^
post Jun 17 2007, 08:32 AM

128 posts

money money money
we r all future docotrs, eh ?
Aying
post Jun 18 2007, 05:19 PM

118 posts

exam.. sad..
TSlegstrong
post Jun 30 2007, 03:18 AM

33 posts

it' seems it's been very quiet here lately......i assume everyone's having exams? I just had mine tho.

Elephant^^
post Jun 30 2007, 04:12 AM

128 posts

no. busy in the hosp everyday
xelrix
post Jun 30 2007, 04:41 AM

419 posts

does egypt ok? alexandria universitiy?
seniors said foods there r good and cheap. u buy yogurt by kilos. can get apples 50 cents per kilo. sumore alex uni is next to medi sea, tourism area.
u can visit pharoahs RIPing places. sounds like heaven to me.

though i dunno how about med edu facilities ther in alex. care to share anyone?
shatterday
post Jun 30 2007, 07:01 AM

36 posts

egypt best..hehe..my batch,alexandria uni is reserved for MARA scholars only..200++ of them there..their class does not mix wt egyptian..and,everday must wear formal..haha.. tongue.gif tongue.gif ..luckily im not in alex tho

alex is very BIG city..so many places to go..and every summer can mandi laut n 'cuci mata' haha..winter season,mmg cannot go mandi laut...the alex library also nice..biggest in africa i think..huhu..

food here are cheap,except for the imported ones..local foods are nice..
bout the fruits,depends on the musim laa..like now,summer is for grapes,peach,melons,apples..very cheap,grape 1 kilo for 1.5 LE-2.5 LE max..equivalent to rm 1-rm 1.5..huhu..winter season u'll find strawberry,strawberry,strawberry..u eat them everyday sampai muak..hahaha

bout the med faculty in alex,all i know the system is different frm other unis..e.g,we 1st n 2nd year students learn basic science-anatomy,physiology,biochem,histology,but in alex in 1st year they learn the 4 subject+pharmacology+pathology,+ egyptian studies n arabic language..
u have to ask the seniors to make sure,maybe im mistaken..hehe..thats all i know..

oh yeah,so glad that exam is over, icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif can go back home yeah

++ the arabs in alex,mmg 1st class,because most of them mix with the europeans,so most of the arabs look like omputih laa..hehehe drool.gif drool.gif

This post has been edited by shatterday: Jun 30 2007, 07:04 AM
mofonyx
post Jun 30 2007, 07:41 AM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

Just done with my first year. Missed a distinction by 2 marks sad.gif

Well, 8 more merits to go then for the honours.

Added on June 30, 2007, 9:03 amFunniest thing I learnt in Year 1: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sonic_hedgehog

This post has been edited by mofonyx: Jun 30 2007, 09:03 AM
TSlegstrong
post Jul 11 2007, 05:43 AM

33 posts

very well now, anyone coming to manipal soon? you better get yourself a golf umbrella before coming. Trust me, it helps. We're having the rainy days now.

cheers all!
zergg
post Nov 19 2007, 05:37 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(mini_me @ Mar 30 2007, 07:53 AM)
Yr 2 med student from Unimas (its in Kuching, btw!)
Am i the only student from gov-u in LYN?

Peek-a-boo in my life: Its 7.52am and Im studying for my Prof 1 (now taking a break la). I do not wake up early, only sleep REALLY early.. Get my point?
hey, im ur senior here.. rclxms.gif
-what can i say, always thought id be alone here...anyway, i bet u r in ur 3rd year now, so how sibu?? thumbup.gif
d(@@)b
post Nov 20 2007, 10:40 PM

724 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ May 20 2007, 12:37 PM)
Hi, everyone. I'll matriculate into NUS (National University of Singapore) this August. Hope to join this forum soon.
matriculate? you're enrolling into medical course no?
limeuu
post Nov 20 2007, 11:00 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Nov 20 2007, 10:40 PM)
matriculate? you're enrolling into medical course no?
matriculate in this usage means 'enroll'........... nod.gif

127 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:22 AM